If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,708 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda Civic electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Oct 012002

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to defective ignition switch recall notice. The consumer stated he received a recall letter in the mail regarding the ignition switch. He took the vehicle to the dealer and the ignition switch was replaced free of charge. Last week, as he was driving at a considerable speed, the engine suddenly cut off. It started up again, but cut off again, after he moved about 20 feet. It repeatedly stalled 15 more times. A couple of days later, he experienced another episode of the vehicle stalling. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and even before they inspected the vehicle, the dealer knew exactly what the problem was; the ignition switch. Their examination of the vehicle, confirmed their theory, the ignition switch was replace at a cost of $ $331.34. The dealer stated they were aware of the recall, but they could not waive the cost, because so much time had passed.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #37

Mar 012012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 171,000 miles
In compliance with NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000, a technician in the service department of an authorized dealer replaced the ignition switch in 2003. However, due to worn contacts, now this switch causes the engine to stall without warning and thereby increases the risk of a collision.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #36

Dec 012010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Vehicle stalls intermittently while driving, stopping, and accelerating. It will restart after a time period or after multiple attempts to restart. Vehicle stalled exiting the freeway, approaching a stop, and leaving an intersection, multiple times. Honda refused to repair the ignition switch even though a recall has been issued. Ref Honda recall id #43534, NHTSA #02V120000 I was not contacted by Honda for a repair even though I am the original owner. A search of the internet reveals hundreds of similar safety complaints regarding the ignition switch failure. I am now forced to repair at my own cost.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #35

Nov 012007

Civic

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. The contact stated while driving 55 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who replaced the distributor and the ignition cable. The repair did not correct the failure and the vehicle continued to stall while driving various speeds. The manufacture would not assist with the repair because the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 02V120000 electrical system: Ignition: Switch. The failure mileage was 183,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Miami Beach , FL, USA

problem #34

Mar 132011

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 154,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. There were no warnings prior to the failure. The contact was able to immediately restart the vehicle. The failure seemed to occur every other day. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired according to recall 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch) but the failure occurred again in 2011. The current mileage was approximately 155,000. The failure mileage was approximately 154,000. Updated 05/12/11 updated 05/26/11 updated 12/02/11 updated 2/8/12

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #33

Jan 292010

Civic

  • 152,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. The driver attempted to accelerate from a stop but the vehicle suddenly stalled. Upon restart, the vehicle operated normally. The failure continued to occur intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that various engine and fuel components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where it was repaired. The failure continued. The contact called the manufacturer and referenced recall 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch) but was told that the vehicle was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 152,000 and the current mileage was approximately 160,000.

- Muldrow, OK, USA

problem #32

Mar 012010

Civic

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Faulty ignition switch on a 1998 Honda Civic ex at 110,000 miles. It was causing frequent stalling and dangerous situations at times. We have had it replaced but not sure it solved the problem. We were never notified of this safety issue on this car.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #31

Dec 242009

Civic

  • 205,000 miles
I am having problems with my car starting. The key will not turn it takes a while and when it starts and I get out and then back to start it the same thing happens. I was told it was the ignition switch.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #30

Oct 272009

Civic

  • 194,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. The contact was driving approximately 70 mph on normal road conditions when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The identical failure occurred on a separate occasion. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The contact experienced the identical failures mentioned in the recall; however, the VIN was excluded from the recall. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure mileage was 194,000. The current mileage was 195,000.

- New Bedford , MA, USA

problem #29

Jan 212009

Civic

  • miles
Car wouldn't start, Jan 10, 2009 was taken to service station, battery ok engine ok, charging system ok, computer system ok they couldn't find anything wrong, car would start fine, nothing was done to it. 11 days later car wouldn't start, so ignition starter was replaced. Car was ok until Jan 26(5 days after new car ignition switch was replaced) car is still in repair shop. Just found out on internet about problems and recall of 98 Honda Civic ignition switch. Please advise as to what to do next, need car for work travel. I am afraid for my life to use this car now. I do not feel safe in it at all.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #28

Mar 042008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). He took the vehicle to the dealer and they attempted to charge him to remove and re-install his aftermarket alarm system, in order to perform the recall repair. The contact believed that he should not have to pay for the re-installation. There had been no failure to date. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 144,872.

- Plainfield , NJ, USA

problem #27

Jan 032008

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
On October 30, 2004, I had the ignition switch replaced on my 1998 Honda Civic per the recall. In late December of 2007, I began having trouble starting my car. On six occasions, my car completely shut down while driving -- once on the interstate (under construction -- with no shoulder). The dealership diagnosed the problem as a faulty ignition switch, but said that since it was previously taken care of per the recall, I had to pay to replace the 3 year old replacement ($364.). I saved the ignition that they replaced this time -- they did not allow me to save the ignition the first time (2004) (they said, because it was a recalled part). Note: This is a Honda Civic (this site will not allow me to choose the correct model from the pull-down menu).

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #26

Sep 172007

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle shut off completely. The contact depressed the clutch pedal to restart the vehicle. The vehicle would not start unless the key was in the ignition for approximately one block. The dealer stated that the ignition switch failed. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The current mileage was 125,000 and failure mileage was 124,000. Updated 10/24/07.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #25

Nov 212006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Civic. While in motion the vehicle would lose power sporadically and without warning. A recall was made, but the manufacturer stated that it did not include the contacts vehicle. The current and failure mileage were 118000. Consumer stated it was a recall on a faulty ignition switch but it does not pertain to his VIN number. Consumer also states that he has contacted the dealer to see if his vehicle can be fixed. Update/12tr

- Baker, LA, USA

problem #24

Jun 262006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,021 miles
Ignition switch caused car to stop running while on highway. Car was recalled several years ago to replace faulty switch. New one has same problem.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #23

Jul 042005

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,900 miles
My Honda Civic 1998 engine stalled and I almost got into an accident. I took my car to the mechanic, after inspection he told me that the ignition switch has a flaw and Honda had a recall. I checked with Honda and they said my car was not included in the recall. The recall # is 97V193000. I believe my car has the problem and should be included in the recall.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #22

Jan 212005

Civic 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer received a recall notice(02V120000) ignition switch. The consumer had the work done at the dealer problem still there. Service manager ron hamilton. Please provide additional information.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #21

Nov 122002

Civic

  • 25,000 miles
Since the ignition switch recall 02V120000 was performed the consumer has been experiencing an on going problem with engine stalling that the dealership was unable to correct.

- Eden Prairie, MN, USA

problem #20

Aug 162001

Civic

  • miles
Failure of ignition switch and coil. The vehicle stalled while driving. The consumer discovered that several 1997-2000 models were recalled for faulty ignition coils (recall number 02V-120000). The consumers vehicle did not fall within the scope of the recall however the vehicles ignition switch and coil failed which in turn shorted out the igniter. The consumer requested reimbursement. The distributor cap cracked and the rotors failed.

- East Dundee, IL, USA

problem #19

Sep 222002

Civic

  • 75,000 miles
Problems are the result of dealer repair, NHTSA recall 02vro (ignition switch). ***dimsii IVOQ entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis****770756***

- Syracuse, NY, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?