Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Yes, the Honda Civic receives a lot of complaints because so many were sold. And sure, car parts only last so long and things eventually break. But it's never good to see this many transmission complaints, especially when the average mileage at failure is just north of 100,000 miles.

Especially when you consider that it's predecessor also has a nasty history with transmission complaints.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,932.00
Average Mileage:
100,615 miles
Total Complaints:
59 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. Replace transmission (32 reports)
  2. not sure (20 reports)
  3. warranty must be increase by honda from 100000 to 160000 (5 reports)
  4. purchase extended warranty (1 reports)
  5. solenoid was sticking. cleaned solenoid and works great now (1 reports)
2002 Honda Civic transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Aug 202008

Civic LX 1.7

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Honda Civic LX coupe. My transmission failed at 80,000 miles only 6 months after I had the car. I'm a college student. I don't have a lot of money so I figured I'd get a good old reliable Honda so my parents wouldn't have to worry about me. I drive back and forth 3 hours away from my parents home to college. I live 3 hours away. The day I moved to college..no lie I get off the highway with my car completely packed full of my boxes of stuff..I get to the first stop light and then when it turns green to go my transmission breaks on me when I press the gas!!!!! 1st gear is completely fine..2nd and 3rd gear shift very rough and clunk. I burst out crying and freak out! The first day I move out on my own and this happens to me!!! I bought this car used from a dealership. Never will I ever do this again! I had no warranty..never called honda or anything. I had to take money out of my college fund the pay for this!!!! I love my honda civic..don't get me wrong. But reading other peoples reviews and knowing this or worse happened to other people makes me lose faith in honda. Sadly. And I dislike american cars! Prior to this car I had a Jeep that had tons of problems. With my Civic now I haven't had tons of problems besides the tranny. Maybe little things such as timing belt, water pump that my dad fixed for me. But other than that no big deal. I honestly don't know what to think now. I hope nothing else goes wrong with my Civic.

- , Davie, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 092008

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

had my 2002 civic ex 1.7 auto transmission since it had 10,000 miles once it reached 36,000 tranny started slipping/stalling. now has 52000 and same problem ive taken it to dozens of places and repairs are over $2000, just called honda and a manager will call me back monday hopefully they will pay for a replacement tranny

- , Newark, NJ, USA

problem #17

May 132009

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,900 miles

My '02 Honda civic transmission failed yesterday. I had the car serviced at the dealer on 4/11/09. Always dealer maintained. I mentioned I was hearing a small strange noise, especially in the mornings, but could not put finger on it. Together with their 110 ? point inspection, they did not find anything wrong. The maintenance done was oil changes, tune-up, and replace the timing belt ( recommend at this mileage- which I knew), and I also put on 4 new tires with the alignment special. After reading these posts here, I believe that the dealer knew of the defect taking place at around this mileage. Given the fact that he wanted to sell me a new car and claimed that mine was in good condition. No bumps- no bruises.- I also contend that they avoided this inspection or simply did not tell the truth so that they could soak me for $2800 on the tranny overhaul.-knowing that the tranny was going to go soon. I have had many cars over the years and never had a transmission fail at 90,000 miles. Never. Even my '76 Cordoba has over 220,000 on its rebuild. Something smells here and it smells like greed.

- , Vanu Nuys, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 212009

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I experienced complete transmission failure over the course of minutes. Went from running perfectly to slowly while engine RPM increased to complete slippage in the course of about 30 minutes. No movement no matter what engine speed. The vehicle has been maintained reliably with fluid changes within specified periodicity. It failed during a chilly night on the day after servicing.

- , San Diego, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 152008

Civic EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles

I just had my transmission rebuilt a month ago...which I already posted about.

Now when the car is still cold I am noticing the car taking a long time to shift and revving an extra 1000rpm mostly between 2nd and 3rd gears. The problem goes away after driving it about 10 minutes and it acts normally again. I'm calling Honda to complain about this known problem. I'm really worried that the transmission will fail again.

- , Fairhaven, MA, USA

problem #14

Feb 172009

Civic LX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Another victim! Tranny slips going into 3rd and 4th and so on! Almost like my foot goes on the clutch to long even though its automatic! Talking to Honda as I write this info! We must STAND UP AND FIGHT! Call and be heard! GET THE MEDIA INVOLVED!

- , Bronx, NY, USA

problem #13

Feb 202009

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am very disappointed with Honda. My 2002 Civic only has 73,000 miles and now I am needing a new transmission. Unbelievable. My car has always had the scheduled tune-ups done on time. It is too bad that Honda does not have a recall and would back their product they so prize or extend the warranty to cover their mistake. They are going to loose customers especially since people can use sites like AutoBeef to warn others before buying faulty cars.

Update from Nov 14, 2009: Turns out that my Transmission was fine it was the connection between the computer and the transmission that was sticking. They cleaned it and it works great now.

- , Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #12

Dec 232008

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,235 miles

bill rogers in Albany OR CAN put a redone one in for $2200 1550 for the Transmission and 560 to put it in just to help people out with what its costing me to fix NY

- , Salem, OR, USA

problem #11

Nov 232007

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

i got the car with 54000 miles on it all the parer work for it from day one it has always been a littie wired at 65000 i had it fhuh and that didt help now i gor 8500 on it and its getting bad i just called Honda and hoping they will help out with 50% or so i last Honda 1998 civic ex in a auto i put 170000miles on it and never had any thing go bad one it

- , Salem, OR, USA

problem #10

Dec 012007

Civic DX 1.4L L4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,992 miles

this problem has been going on for little over a year now, it started out when during the cold winter months we noticed the transmission would take an abnormally long time to switch gears and seemed to be slipping, at first we attributed this to the cold weather and the car not being properly warmed up as it seemed to go away after a while driving in the car.

at this time this year, before we can even go anywhere we must let this horrible little car warm up for at least 15mins and even then after that we must drive very slowly as if you even think about hard acceleration the car practically stalls in between gears and it can be especially scary.

this car has been a good car, up until the air conditioning broke during the summer and this large transmission problem, i am just surprised that it hasn't broke fully yet as i read about this problem happening and the transmission completely going within a couple of days.

all i can say is that i am getting rid of this car soon and i am never buying another Honda as our odyssey has had body troubles.

i plan on buying an Audi A4, BMW 3 series, or Lexus IS very shortly, hopefully one of those will be a more satisfying car

- , Toronto, Ontario, Canada

problem #9

Nov 152008

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just add me to the list. Every bad point mentioned her. And I agree, Honda has lost this customer and hopefully, everyone I else I speak with. I'm sure they'll find it real interesting their are hundreds of posts about this and that each one represents 10 (or is it 100) that do not post.

- , Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 212008

Civic V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Right after work on October 21, 2008 As I was pulling away my 2002 Honda civic transmission started slipping. At first just a little which just started last week. All of a sudden it got worse. Thankfully, I made it across a busy intersection but it was getting so bad that I had just started to think may be I should pull over.

As I pulled into the first open parking lot that I could see the transmission gave out. I ended up on an incline and while I was in drive I couldn't move. I had coasted right near the top of the incline but not over it. I had put my foot on the brake once I released it the 2002 honda civic began to roll backward even though I was in drive.

I knew I was in trouble then so I called my wife who has our dodge caliber to give me a push. I was sitting right in front of a building where employees were leaving from their work day. The security people must have thought I was waiting for someone they just waved and kept walking by. As my wife arrived she pushed me into a parking stall which was no more than 50 yards away.

We called for towing but now it looks as if I will be spending $1,200 or more on a problem that the 2001 Honda transmission has, as well as the 2002 Honda civic transmission. I keep mentioning the 2002 honda civic so that when google or yahoo searches for "2002 Honda civic transmission slips no gears" like I entered others who may run into this trouble can find my complaint as well as the rest here.

It is amazing I have had no problems with my 2002 Honda civic since I bought in December 2001 but yesterday could have proven a disaster had I not made it across the busy intersection. It is disheartening that the 2001 Honda civic transmission has 205 complaints. I am only at 70,000 miles maybe other people will be experiencing the same thing in coming months. I did make a complaint here and at http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/ thanks Radhames A.

- , Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 142008

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,200 miles

have a 2002 Honda civic transmission started slipping when car was cold took car

to Honda dealer and was told transmission needed to be replace.I called Honda of America

and talked to a rep I told him i had the transmission serviced by their dealer when the

car had 80000 miles on it and of course he had not heard of problems with this transmission

before .dealer called later that day to tell me that rebuilt trans would cost $2300

but if I pay $1500 Honda would pay for the rest took the deal not happy but better the nothing

- , Centreville, MD, USA

problem #6

Mar 012008

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles

Just getting to 120K and the transmission started slipping. Had it serviced and it didn't fix the problem. The mechanic looked at it again and it will have to be replaced, probably $3500 for rebuilt. Car is in excellent condition and has been maintained well. Total surprise to me to have such a major problem after six years of trouble free driving. Had hoped to drive it to 150K but now am faced with having to replace it unexpectedly.

- , Amenia, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 212008

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

The transmission in my 2002 Honda has been slipping for a while. I have religiously had every service maintenance done at the dealership where I bought the car. They even told me a few servicing ago that the transmission was slipping, but said they were going to try to replace the transmission fluid and see if that helped.

The slipping kept getting worse and worse. I finally had it looked at by a private mechanic since the car was out of warranty, who told me that the transmission needs to be replaced. He said that the transmission fluid was black, and did not look as if it had ever been replaced. He said that it would cost a lot to fix, and that because of this problem, other parts should be replaced as well, so they didn't know if it was really worth it because after everything was added up, the cost may be prohibitive.

After the Honda dealership told me the transmission was slipping, I asked about it the next two times I took the car in for servicing, but they acted like they didn't know what I was talking abut, when clearly Honda is aware that this has been a problem..

I called the Honda hotline, and they told me that the car would have to be evaluated by a Honda authorized dealer before they do anything for me.

So now I have to get the car back from the private mechanic and take it back to Honda and get them to say it needs a new transmission.

I had always heard that Hondas were reliable, but now I would never buy another one! !

- , Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #4

Sep 182007

(reported on)

Civic EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Brought my used Certified Preowned Honda Accord Ex with 48K miles on it. At 70K the tranmission would jerk, slip and failed to shift out of 1st gear on a timely manner. It would reach over 4,000 RPMs before it would switch out. When letting off the gas the transmission would slip and go back to 1st. My Gas mileage was killed when this happens. The Honda dealer agreed to pay for this in Full under my 7 years/100,000 mile warranty with $0 from me. Im blessed to have a car which with a dealership that stands behind its product and promise of warranty. Thanks Honda!

(BUT you could warn me about everyone else having the tramissions problems with 02's before selling me the car!!!)

- , East Orange, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jul 182007

(reported on)

Civic EX 1.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

I purchased my 2002 used Honda Civic with 36,000 miles on it.

The transmission always seemed to shift into first gear hard, though I was assured by the dealer that "that's how Honda's are anymore". After driving the car 1 1/2 years, I was going down highway and the transmission slipped. 1 mile later - gone! boom! nothing! I called Honda and was quoted approx $3000 for a new tranny. With the large car loan I already had, that's the last thing I wanted to hear. I ended up getting a used one for $2400.

Unbelievable! It seems the older Honda's are STILL on the road, yet the newer ones are in the shop. What's going on?

- , Sweet Valley, PA, USA

problem #2

Mar 102007

(reported on)

Civic EX 1.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

The transmission on the 2002 Honda Civic EX, began slipping and would not move the vehicle in any direction. It has only 108,000 miles on it. Reported hard shifting at under 100,000 miles on my Honda Care extended warranty, but I guess nothing was done, as there wasn't an error code. Now I get an OBD II code of P0730 Incorrect Gear Ratio. This car has been a maintenance nightmare. The head had to be replaced less than a year ago under the warranty, then it started using 1/2 a quart of oil per month, now it is up to 2 quarts of oil per month, with no leaks. I used to only use Mobil 1 and premium filters, now I'm using standard 10-30 just to slow down the consumption. I was told by the Honda dealership that it was because a new head was put on a vehicle with over 90,000 miles on it. There have been many other smaller problems such as having a wheelbearing replaced at 30,000 miles. I am looking at spending approximately $1,800 to replace the transmission with a used one, just so that I can sell the Honda Civic EX. This is our first Honda, I thought they were dependable, but we will never own one again.

- , Tollhouse, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 132007

(reported on)

Civic LX 1.7

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Kia , Hyundai is better than HONDA at least Kia and Hyundai give you 160000 km power warranty. Buying a name brand CAR for nothing except pain in the ass. SOON EVERY ONE WILL BELIEVE IN KIA and HYUNDAI

- , Brampton, On, Ontario, Canada

Not what you are looking for?