Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Yes, the Honda Civic receives a lot of complaints because so many were sold. And sure, car parts only last so long and things eventually break. But it's never good to see this many transmission complaints, especially when the average mileage at failure is just north of 100,000 miles.

Especially when you consider that it's predecessor also has a nasty history with transmission complaints.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #13

May 252012

Civic

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic with yokohama trz avid tires, line size P225/60R/16. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the vehicle started to jerk and the tires started to make a loud noise. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who was unable to determine why the failure was occurring but stated that the tires were not safe and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The tires were replaced. The dot or VIN were not available. The failure and current mileage was 106,000.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #12

Sep 042009

Civic

  • miles
One evening, I found my parked 2002 Honda Civic had a flat rear left tire. There was no apparent damage to the tire, and when the tire was replaced, the technician confirmed that the tire suffered a valve stem failure. The next day, as I was driving on the freeway at 65 mph, the rear right tire blew out. Again, the tire had a valve stem failure. I bought both these tires (Goodyear weatherhandler ls) at the same time. They have now been replaced, but I am concerned about my two front tires, which are the same brand, and which I bought about six months after the two rear tires.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 042009

Civic

  • miles
One evening, I found my parked 2002 Honda Civic had a flat rear left tire. There was no apparent damage to the tire, and when the tire was replaced, the technician confirmed that the tire suffered a valve stem failure. The next day, as I was driving on the freeway at 65 mph, the rear right tire blew out. Again, the tire had a valve stem failure. I bought both these tires (Goodyear weatherhandler ls) at the same time. They have now been replaced, but I am concerned about my two front tires, which are the same brand, and which I bought about six months after the two rear tires.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 072008

Civic

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Sunday 9-7-08 at apx. 0945 hours I was driving East on I-64 in huntington, wv at mile marker 14 on my way to church. I started to hear a flapping noise and then a grinding noise so I immediately exited at the adjacent exit #15 and pulled off the roadway. A witness saw the tire smoking and was concerned for my safety so he pulled off to help me. This good samaritan changed my tire for me and put on the small emergency donut and I proceeded to church in barboursville arriving 15 minutes late. Cooper tire was contacted and a claim for damages to my vehicle was submitted. No decision on replacement or repairs were made at the time of this complaint. The tire tread on both sides of the tire had completely separated from the lower portion of the tire. I am concerned because the other 3 tires on my Honda Civic are the same brand and model and were purchased at the same time on 5-5-08.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #9

Jul 312008

Civic

  • miles
Tire valve stems cracked and caused tire to go flat. "town fair tire" the installer claims the stems they used were not involved in tech int'L recall. The sidewall of tire was destroyed. Two other stems on vehicle (3 of 4) were similarly affected. All valve stems were replaced along with two tires as set had wear.

- North Granby, CT, USA

problem #8

May 222008

Civic

  • 144,500 miles
While driving on a highway at approx. 65 mph, the tread separated from the tire which resulted in uncontrollable driving. No accident occurred because there was no other traffic at that time of day. Damage to the vehicle included the driver's side of the rear bumper was torn off, the steel frame to which the bumper mounts has been twisted and bent, broken driver's side tail light, dents and paint scratches are found from the rear of the car to the mirror on the driver's side. Nothing has been done to correct it. I was never notified of a recall.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #7

May 262005

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had 4 new Bridgestone potenza re 92 tires mounted on my Honda Odyssey on July 29, 2004. One tire would not hold air. I returned to to Honda service center and had tire remounted. Tire held air after remounting. In recent months, vehicle developed unexplained vibration at highway speed. Tire rotation and alignment did not correct vibration. On May 26th, 2005, the tire in question fell apart (tread seperated from sidewall) leaving me driving on the rim at about 65 mph. The tire had less than 11,000 miles on it. I was able to keep the vehicle under control and pull off into the breakdown lane. On May 27th, 2005, I had a local service center mount a used tire on the existing rim (the rim appears to have not been damaged). I've since driven the vehicle on the highway and noted that the vibration is gone. That is, the vehicle drive better on the used tire that it had been on the tire that failed. To date, Bridgestone is unwilling to replace the tire under warranty because I can't provide the tire to them for inspection (it ws left on the highway in pieces.

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #6

Oct 212004

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I purchased 2 kelly charger tires-size 215/40R17-on 10/13/03-my tires blew in June of 04 then again in July of 04. They blew once again on 10.21.04, causing a major accident on my part on 95 South. I lost control of my car and was run over by an 18 wheeler flat bed. Luckly I obviously survived with no injuries, however, I am filing this complaint because of the numerous times I had to replace the tires. The car I was driving was destroyed and I am curious regarding the liability of the manufacturing company. I have photos of the accident scene and the police report which has a statement from a witness stating that he saw my tire blow out. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, elizabeth ponte.

- Riverside, RI, USA

problem #5

Mar 232003

Civic 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
All four tires wore out prematurely which resulted in the vehicle sliding when driving on wet surfaces. Goodyear indicated that it was a factory defect and was willing to pay half for a new set of tires. The vehicle could not gain enough traction. The consumer was told that two more tires would be needed. The consumer requested compensation for all four tires.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #4

May 152003

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The car was purchased new on April 20, 2002. Since the very first day several problems were discovered which Honda has been unable to resolve. One ongoing problem is a vibration at 55 mph in the steering wheel, which Honda has attributed to a wheel balance problem and tire problem. The car has been serviced 14 times by Honda and Firestone (tire manufacturer) and merchant tire (balance). Honda tried to balance the wheels and after several failed attempts told me it was a problem with faulty tires (oem). Honda told me they could do nothing further about the problem and told me I had to take care of the problem on my own with the tire manufacturer despite the fact that the car was obviously still under Honda warranty. None of the balancing solved the problem and Honda told me it must be defective (original) tires. Firestone them replaced 3 tires under warranty and the problem still persisted. They attempted to balance the wheels 2 more times. I went back to Honda and they balanced the wheels again with no success and they would not investigate the problem further. There are several other problems. One is a problem with hissing and static in the radio reception when the rear window defogger is on (since new). Honda replaced the radio and defogger switch but the problem is still there. Another problem is a visibility problem in the rear window (since new). A hazy sticky film develops on the rear window. It is very difficult to clean with household glass cleaner. Another problem is that the original Honda floor mat wore right through when the car was not even a year old. I had to purchase a whole set for about $90. The drivers seat upholstery also began to wear prematurely. Another problem that developed over the past year is a damp moldy musty odor coming from the air conditioner/heater vents. The odor is sometimes strong and when I turn on the ac or heater it makes me cough and feel ill. I am very disappointed in the quality of this vehicle.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #3

Feb 062003

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I would like to file a formal complaint against grace Honda located at 345 el camino real, san bruno ca. Last 11-03-02 my husband enrique lim purchased a brand new Civic Honda si. Grace Honda had pre-installed after market wheels and tires. This modification was not approved by the manufacturer Honda. 02-06-03 I brought back my brand new vehicle to grace Honda complaining that my two front tires have several bubbles on the wall of the tire. I informed grace Honda that these after market tires and wheels mis-match odd sized rim and tires will cause potential tire explosions, serious injuries or death. 02-07-03 sales mgr. Roman tioseco and bobby quema refused to replace these faulty poor quality products. They stated that these wheels and tires were not covered under warranty. Grace Honda said that these wheels and tires were more susceptible to damaged caused by road hazards, pot holes and uneven street pavement. I requested grace Honda to replace these after market wheels and tires and install the original Honda equipment but they refused to resolve these serious safety issues. Grace Honda modified the vehicle original equipment to mislead consumer that they replaced the original equipment and convinced me that they installed a better quality tires which I payed additional $ $1,595. Grace Honda did not disclose that these wheels and tires were more susceptible to damage caused by road hazards, pot holes and uneven pavement.grace Honda were engaged in very unfair business pratices, gross reckless negligence and having no regards for safety. My vehicle is only three months old but the vehicle has become a ultimate lemon because they modified the wheels and tires and installed poor quality produts. These wheels and tires will explode anytime and will cause serious injuries and deaths. Grace Honda informed me last 02-28-03 that they will not replace the wheels and tires.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 142002

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
While driving and making a turn the vehicle was being pulled in the opposite direction at turn. 185/70R14, dot# W2rvs9H, original equipment, 622 miles, Honda, Civic 2002. Tires were very noisy. Dealer stated that the manufacturer changed the suspension and maybe this is causing the problem.

- Asberry, NJ, USA

problem #1

Dec 162001

Civic

  • miles
Left front tire blew out at 60 mph on the highway with only 82 miles on the brand new car. I had 2 passangers at the time. This happened at 8 pm and traffic was light on I-84 in Connecticut. I was able to move the car to the shoulder and had it towed to the dealership. (tiresize: P185/65R15)

- West Hartford, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?