Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,760 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Feb 252015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to dealerships failure to remedy the airbag defect recall within a reasonable period of time. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #68

Feb 102015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete airbag recall.

- York, SC, USA

problem #67

Apr 132015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V353000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #66

Jul 252014

Civic

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My seatbelt/SRS light went came on and when I took it to the Honda dealership I was told that there is an issue with the SRS sensor but is not covered under any warranty. To me it seems like a safety issue that Honda does not cover the SRS sensor in the buckle. With this sensor going bad it could cause an issue with the airbag. My Honda has had multiple recalls on the airbag but nothing on the sensor. I believer Honda should cover this as a safety issue.

- Plain City, OH, USA

problem #65

Jan 012015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Compton, CA, USA

problem #64

Mar 202015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Driver was injured when the vehicle's airbag deployed and shot shrapnel through the airbag and into the driver's neck. Driver was airlifted to the er for emergency surgery to remove the piece of metal from his neck.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #63

Jun 032014

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V70000 (air bags, exterior lighting) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #62

Jan 122015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the driver side air bag was replaced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V353000 (air bags) back in September. Shortly after, the contact received a notice stating that the passenger side needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The technician stated that the parts needed were not available and that the passenger side air bag did not need to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted, who explained to the contact that the notification was sent in error and that the passenger side air bag did not need to be replaced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bag). The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 4/27/15 updated10/9/15

- Plantation , FL, USA

problem #61

Mar 022015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall replacement issues and not hearing from dealer as to when to bring the vehicle in for repairs.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #60

Nov 212014

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wind Gap, PA, USA

problem #59

Oct 292014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 78,241 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was informed by american Honda my vehicle needed to be serviced for airbags in Oct. 2014. I took my Honda on 10/29/14 to be serviced. When I showed up I was informed it was not there for service as they previously stated, but to be inspected. They informed me I needed a passenger side airbag & they would be in touch w/ me. It has been well over 60 days now & nothing from Honda of ocala.

- Silver Springs, FL, USA

problem #58

Feb 052015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St Mary, OH, USA

problem #57

Nov 132014

Civic

  • miles
The contact owned a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, a buck jumped into the road causing a crash. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the back that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact was made aware that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Tate, GA, USA

problem #56

Sep 182014

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
We saw a news report about the air bag recalls for these vehicles in late summer last year. We called the dealership when our SRS light came on to see if our vehicle was part of the takata-brand airbag recall. When we called, the dealership stated that our vehicle was not included in the recall. We reset the SRS computer. We never received any paperwork stating there ever was such a recall. While out running errands on 01/31/2015 we heard a news report about a prior recall for the takata airbags did not work properly. Our SRS light is back on after a couple of computer resets without a code ever pulling up on the vehicle. When we got home we decided to do a recall check by VIN on Honda's website. The vehicle has incomplete recall from 06/19/2014. The call number is 14V-351. This is a serious issue when it comes to safety: 1. for not being notified of a potentially dangerous recall, 2.for being lied to about the recall when calling the local dealership. We are going to try going to the dealership with a copy of the online search using their system on Monday 02/02/2015. Hopefully we can get some answers, but our prior experience with this is unacceptable.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #55

Jan 012010

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the vehicle was repaired. The contact was unable to provide the details of the repair. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) after the repair was performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #54

Dec 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
2003 Honda Civic. Consumer states airbag light is on and it needs repairs. Customer service stated the vehicle was not on the recalled list.

- Springfield, NJ, USA

problem #53

Dec 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
200 Honda Civic. Consumer went to dealership to have air bag inflator replaced. However, he was informed the parts were not available.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #52

Dec 062005

Civic 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The driver side air bag light came up. After taking to the dealer - I was recommended to replace the whole system since dealer did not have ability to identify the issue and the repairs will not be covered under any warranty.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #51

Nov 072014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
Collision occurred in the early evening, dry pavement, warm weather. The SUV ran a red light and pulled of the Honda Civic, which had a green light. The Civic struck head-on into the SUV passenger side door. The Civic front end crumple zone was compressed as designed, the front bumper sheared off, however the driver airbag did not deploy. No other passengers in the affected vehicle.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #50

Nov 082014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was recently repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the clock spring needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,000. Updated 01/09/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The airbag warning light was repaired and the clock spring was replaced on November 22, 2014. Updated 06/3/2015

- Coral Springs , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?