Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,962 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #12

Dec 202014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 55,468 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a Suburban neighborhood street and went over a speed bump at a very slow speed (2 mph). I had not hit nor did I hit anything in the street. Rear passenger tire popped and went flat. Rupture was on the inside wall of the tire. Tires were manufactured 28th week of 2013. Tires were put on my 2003 Honda Civic LX on July 30, 2014 at 53496 miles and between July 30 and December 20, 2014 I had driven about 2,000 miles.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #11

May 182011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 39,954 miles
I installed 4 Goodyear integrity tires on my 2003 Honda Civic hybrid. On 5/17/2011 I drove it on rain grooved concrete (us 287) and when it hit the grooved pavement, it went into a violent shimmy. There was a cross wind but the tires performed normally on smooth concrete, asphalt, and in the same cross wind on E-w and N-S highways. When I came to the rain grooves I was driving between 60-65 mph and I had to slow to less than 45 mph to have any secure control of the car. It felt like the steering column had come loose or the wheels were going wildly. The car lurched 1-2 inches laterally while on the rain grooved concrete. I had to check a box for which tire position but it was at all tire positions that the car was shimmying. This tire is definitely not a safe tire on rain-grooved concrete highways.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #10

Jul 072010

Civic

  • 125,121 miles
Bridgestone tires 026325 insignia SE200 bl P185/65R15 86/S 65,000 mile tires tore at 57,000 miles causing wheel to shake and almost have several accidents. I took car in to mechanic thinking I needed a balance and he took off my tires showing that 3 out of 4 them were tearing. These tires were manufactured in 2006 and should not be tearing by themselves. Mechanic said the wear on the tread and everything else was normal and tearing was not caused by any mechanical or vehicle malfunction. I contacted Firestone and Bridgestone and was not assisted. I was able to keep one tire and have it in my garage for evidence. These tires were purchased after I already had my vehicle and did not originally come with the vehicle.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 152005

Civic

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I wish to make notice to NHTSA that the issue in braking for prius vehicles would seem to me to be related, in general, to hybrids, built in Japan, and not just Toyota. I have an '03 Honda Civic hybrid, and it has issues. It has been in an accident back in '05 and what was the issue? braking! the car went out of control under heavy braking (though all these vehicles have 4 whl ABS) in an "animal-avoidance" attempt. I ended up careening side-wise sliding until colliding with a utility pole, at the passgr side "a" pillar. Raccoon didn't survive. I had noticed on several occasions that the ABS, upon encountering bumps or jolts of any significant degree, will "cut-out" momentarily, and further, the "engine-braking' associated with the hybrid motor-generator also cuts out and does not return (until after the stop has been concluded using only the available braking methods left)(no ABS "chatter" is to be observed in these scenarios). The phenomenon is definitely reproducible; I have often found that such bumps are virtually unavoidable on certain places I commonly drive near my home. It is such an issue that I have learned to try to compensate for that when driving over these bumpy places, but one can't compensate when encountering same in a new, unfamiliar area/situation. Please do look into the concept that it could be more of a Japanese made ABS system-fault, (possibly including engine-regenerative braking system) rather than a Toyota-only thing. I would request that my note be acknowledged, myself be contacted so as to provide any further info needed, and my contact info be retained so as to be contacted regarding subsequent resolutions, ie recalls/legal cases/settlements. By the way, I had not "collision" insurance, thus I paid to repair my hch post that accident. I still drive the car today, though anyone would have called it "totalled".tires- were the same set installed as oem, were at least 60% even at 51K, they readily woreout afterwards-post-acc alignmt issues

- East Ridge, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 052009

Civic

  • 128,000 miles
Tire valve stems cracked, this caused a slow air pressure leak to the tire while driving only. This has happen to me twice in one week, causing damages to two tires and had to be replaced. This is not only a costly expense, but very unsafe driving.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #7

Aug 252008

Civic

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Civic. The vehicle has four dunlop sp20fe tires. One of the tires went flat and was taken to the tire repair shop. The mechanic noticed that the valve stem on the tire was cracked and shredded. The failure was repaired and a week later, another tire flattened. The contact noticed that the other tires had cracked and shredded valve stems. All four tires were repaired. The tire size and VIN were unknown. The failure mileage was 94,000 and current mileage was 97,000.

- West Port , MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 182008

Civic

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased new tires in January 2007, they had approximately 10,000 miles on them. There had never been any indication that there was a problem with the tires, or valve stems. They were balanced and rotated on a regular basis, and maintained as they should be. The first incident occurred in August 2008 while driving home. Shortly after getting on the road and while traveling approximately 70mph, I received a flat tire on the left rear tire; the flat tire occurred very suddenly and left the tire damaged beyond repair. After taking the tire to the repair shop I was forced to purchase a new replacement tire. About 3 weeks later, under almost the same circumstances, the right rear tire suddenly lost pressure and went flat. Upon taking it to the repair shop, I was told I was sold tires with faulty valves stems but was never made aware of any recall. I then had to purchase a two more new tires as a result of them not having the correct replacement in stock, and had the valve stem replaced the in the only original remaining tire. The damaged tires were disposed of by ntb, where they were originally purchased and where I bought new replacement tires.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #5

Nov 182007

Civic

  • miles
I had all four tire stems that went on my car blow out on 95 a major hwy. I have filed a complaint with the better business bureau and the attorney general updated 9/10/08 updated 09/11/08 the consumer stated the valve stem on the tires caused the blow out. Updated 09/22/08.

- Chepachet, RI, USA

problem #4

Aug 102008

Civic

  • miles
I, janadan jay naidu, was driving on highway 405, South towards los angeles after a trip to solvang at about 6pm, on 10 August 2008. While coming back, I was about to reach los angeles county, I could feel my car was not going straight, has it should while driving. I knew I had bought new tires from scott ribinson, Honda in torrance California. So I thought there is nothing wrong with my tires, so I continued to drive home. As soon as I reached home with my wife. I saw my rear back left tire has a flat. I inspected the tires could not find anything wrong. I changed with the emergency tire, and went to the 76, gas station to refill the tire with air, again cant find the leaks on the tire surface, suddenly I noticed a leak coming from the tire, dill valve. Omg I was shocked when I saw this, because I just got replaced my tires about a year ago. The tire which I have is Firestone. I will be taking a picture of the defect. Thanks to my lucky day, when something bad may endanger my life and my wife's. thanks to god to safely bring us home. I'm completely shocked, why do many defects are coming into new product just and its endangering american citizens, please advice. Thanks so much. Iam going to change all my tire to some other brand asap. Sincerely janadan

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 122008

Civic

  • 51,000 miles
A set of 4 yokohama as 430 tires were purchased from merchant's tire in glen allen, Virginia on January 17, 2007. Memphis-based tbc corporation owns merchants tire. On April 12, 2008, the front left tire valve stem catastrophically failed causing the tire to go flat while traveling at highway speed on I-81 near staunton, Virginia. It was damaged beyond repair. It had only 10,000 miles service. The tire and valve stem were replaced at the owner's cost. On June 4, 2008 the rear right tire valve stem catastrophically failed in a similar manner. The tire was again destroyed and was replaced. Upon inspection the remaining two original valve stems were failing and were also replaced. I claim that defective valve stems were being installed on tires by the tire dealer during January 2007.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #2

Apr 082004

Civic

  • miles
Vehicle's steering locked up resulting in consumer hitting an embankment. The steering wheel spun to the left and locked in the left position. The vehicle did not have brakes. It felt as if the vehicle shut off. The vehicle was declared a total loss. The two front tires were bald. The sway bar was broken and could have contributed to the spin out.

- Kealakekua, HI, USA

problem #1

Sep 012003

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,000 miles
1. whirring noise that increases with speed. 2. occasional clunking when braking. 3. right side door speaker vibrates on level 3+. 4. clicking noise when heater is on. Is this normal? 5. I find the car a very loud ride..a lot of echo underneath with every bump..I suspect the tires maybe. They are Firestone.

- Whitby, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?