Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
103,705 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Mar 192012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tensioner bolt broke in half because it was the wrong bolt put in by Honda.. needs new engine and Honda refuses to do anything about it... only have 42000 miles on it...

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #41

Mar 122012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I was driving down the road when the pivot bolt broke on our 2006 Honda Civic... took it to a reputable auto mechanic and they said there was a campaign on for my Honda Civic VIN number but when I had it towed up to Honda they claimed it wasn't for my Honda at all but for the 2007... well my Honda was one of the last ones made in 2006 and I think it had a 2007 motor put in... my car only has 42000 miles on it and it needs a new engine"????" which Honda refuses to fix... this wasn't anything I had done it is a manufacturing mistake and I think Honda should be responsible for it... I was fighting them but no attorney will take the case against Honda... I am a poor working man who can't afford to fix a car I paid 20000 dollars for a mistake that is Honda's fault.... please help!

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #40

Aug 232014

Civic

  • 51,000 miles
Cracked engine block was discovered after coolent escaped and car overheated and stalled.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #39

Jun 302014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 183,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Know problem with 2006 Honda Civics that Honda failed to recall-- cracked engine block caused 2006 Civic ex coupe to overheat and break down in raleigh nc. Was stranded for 4 hours in a potentially dangerous part of town and had to have car towed. Honda extended the warranty on the block rather than recall it. Car is currently at the Honda dealer and says that the head is warped due to the overheating. I called Honda of America but they stated that they will not cover this expensive collateral damage of the warped head because they only extended the warranty on the block even though the faulty block caused the head damage. Honda representative on the phone implied that I had been negligent in some way, perhaps by ignoring a check engine light causing the damage. I bought the car new in 2006 and never had a check engine light until the moment the car broke down. Honda is acting irresponsibly with this issue.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #38

May 082014

Civic

  • 99,755 miles
I on a 2006 Honda Civic ex. Yesterday I came to a stop light and applied the brakes and as I did so the car stopped and then the engine began to race and roar. I applied the brakes harder as the car began to try to jump forward into the intersection the engine raced even more and the brakes were not holding the car back so I quickly put the car in park and turned off the engine. I waited about 30 seconds and then started the car again and kept my foot on the brake. The care engine was normal this time and the engine did not race so I drove home. The next day I took my car to the Honda dealership and they put it on the computer and did not find anything wrong, but when they did a visual check of the gas pedal, they found that the gas pedal had come loose from the floor mounting. They tighten this part and charged me for labor and the time on the computer (which came to $104.). they said there was a recall on this part for some of the 2006 Honda Civics, but that mine was not the right VIN number for this recall. When I look on you website it type in my VIN number and make and model, it says it is on recall and that they have a modification kit for the gas pedal that they send to the dealership to repair the car for free that is supposed to prevent this from happening again. I feel that they should have order the repair kit for my gas pedal and told me that they would service my car for free. My life or someone else's could have been at risk with this incident and possibly without this modification kit, it can happen again in the future. I would like to know how to get my car included in this recall and free installation of the modification kit as it should not be excluded since I obviously suffer the same risk as those other 2006 Honda Civics with the approved VIN numbers. I would also like a refund on the $104.

- Aberdeen, WA, USA

problem #37

May 022014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
Car began to overheat rapidly at highway speeds. Smoke and burning smell was coming from engine. Was able to pull over and have car towed to Honda dealership. Found all engine coolant had leaked out through crack in engine.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #36

Apr 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving about 50 mph when my car started slowing. No matter how hard I pushed the gas pedal it wouldn't drive over 30 mph. It then started smoking, so I pulled to the side of the road and called a tow truck. The repair shop said I had a cracked engine block and that the oil probably leaked completely out in a matter of minutes.

- Temple Terrace, FL, USA

problem #34

Dec 202013

Civic

  • 55,523 miles
History from ODI # 10572660: 6-18-09 Honda dealership did Feb 2009 recall (replaced auto-tensioner pivot bolt & reroute belt) at 28,324 mi. 9-15-12 engine failed (48144 mi.) approaching stop intersection. Subsequently would not crank to start. Towed car to service station. 9-18-12 vehicle repaired -- due to broken pivot bolt, a new Honda recall belt kit, including new bolt, belt, belt tensioner assembly & water pump pulley had to be installed. Approximately 20,000 mi. After recall kit & new bolt was installed to prevent the pivot bolt from breaking, the bolt broke and stopped the car from functioning completely. Had I been in higher speed traffic the results may have been disastrous. ----------------------------------------------------------- 12-20-13 car died approaching intersection -- towed for service. Again pivot bolt had broken, causing cascade of events preventing car from functioning -- this time within only 7000 mi. After new belt tensioner recall kit & new pivot bolt was installed. When this occurs, the car is inoperative. This bolt has been replaced three times and broken twice. I am now afraid to drive car for fear of it ceasing to run at any time. Honda internet forums specifically for the 2006 Civic mention many similar occurrences.

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #33

Sep 162012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 48,144 miles
6-18-09 Honda dealership did Feb 2009 recall (replaced auto-tensioner pivot bolt & reroute belt) at 28,324 mi. 9-15-12 engine failed (48144 mi.) approaching stop intersection. Subsequently would not crank to start.towed car to service station. 9-18-12 vehicle repaired -- due to broken pivot bolt, a new Honda recall belt kit, including new bolt, belt, belt tensioner assembly & water pump pulley had to be installed. Approximately 20,000 mi. After recall kit & new bolt was installed to prevent the pivot bolt from breaking, the bolt broke and stopped the car from functioning completely. Had I been in higher speed traffic the results may have been disastrous.

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #32

Jan 042014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving car up to states and vehicle started to cut out. Took to shop and car was diagnosed with blown head gasket. Could not get car to states (was in rosarito Mexico) so had head taken out and took it to states for valve and head job. Mechanic down here replaced and then said car has cracked block. Drove car up to states where independent certified shop said cracked block. Towed to pacific Honda and they diagnosed car with bad radiator and timing chain off by 4 teeth putting blame on work done in Mexico. My mechanic in Mexico was a certified mechanic in states before retiring. No independent shop will touch the car now because of cracked block but Honda will not admit to it. I don't know who to turn to now and I just bought the car a year ago. I have been without a car for one month. Honda does have an extended warranty for coolant seepage but state this is not my case.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #31

Jan 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 139,300 miles
I was driving 40 mph and noticed a weird sound coming out of engine and then smoke for the exhaust without and warning light on dash, I pull over and check there was no coolant, call the tow guy and tow the vehicle to dealer ship where the diagnose it as blown head gasket and repair bill of 1186,00 but next day called me and gave me the news that it is a crack in head and the estimate would be more than $4000. Contact Honda America and they said we are only responsible for crack in block as it is on recall but not crack in a head. I am a middle class man and cannot afford this sort of expense and neither Honda company not northwest Honda dealership standing behind their products and estimates and if don't authorize this repair still I owe the dealership $ 460 to tear down the vehicle.

- Reisterstown , MD, USA

problem #30

Dec 242013

Civic

  • 72,000 miles
Lot of vibrations. Howling noise when in reverse. I checked under the hood and found the hydraulic motor mount leaked and should be replaced. I heard there's a lot of this kind of problem in the internet. I guess you guys need to look deeper into this problem to protect us consumers.

- Monterey Park , CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 052014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled as the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who stated that the tensioner bolt was fractured and needed to be replaced. The tensioner bolt was replaced. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The failure mileage was 118,000. Updated 01-29-14 updated 01/29/14..updated 03/18/14

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #28

Dec 022013

Civic

  • 91,127 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle started to overheat. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the head gasket was blown and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 91,127.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #27

Jul 312013

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to engine problems. The consumer stated while driving back from a trip, she heard a slight ticking noise and the vehicle would not accelerate and it gradually slowed down. She pulled over to the side of the road, where her husband lifted and tried to check the oil, but there wasn't mush left of the dipstick. The vehicle was towed to the nearest repair facility. A diagnosis revealed a dead engine. The cost of replacing the engine was near the value of the vehicle. So, she and her husband, decided not to have the vehicle fixed.

- Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #26

Oct 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 98,500 miles
The engine block leaks coolant, the motor overheats to a degree that is audible, you can hear the steam escaping from the coolant container, the heat damages the thermostat and burns the gaskets and it becomes a self-destructing cycle because the motor is incapable of cooling itself without the thermostat and, the coolant. In some cases the crack in the block that leaks is apparent; in my case the crack is not visible or easy to see and the dealers technician is refusing to honor the recall that Honda has already in place for this particular model. The service manager explained to the consumer, that even though all the symptoms of the vehicle indicated that there was a cooling fluid evaporating, the motor was overheating, the heat was burning the gaskets and the thermostat, he had to rely on the technician diagnosis telling him that his particular motor was not cracked exactly where it was supposed to be. The hose to the radiator, gasket were replaced. However, the engine light illuminated. The dealer reset the light. Updated 10/31/13

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #25

Aug 142013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I have had five times starting about five years when my car would try to accelerate without my foot on the accelerator. In all instances the engine was cold (within one or two minute of starting). In three cases I was backing out of my garage and had to press the brake hard to prevent the car from running away. The surge in acceleration lasts for only 2-3 seconds but its really scary!. the last occurrence was last month when I finished backing out of my garage and put the car in drive. As I released the brake, the car accelerated on its own. At 25 mph or so I pressed on the brake to slow down and when I released the brake, the acceleration stopped. It may have been a coincidence the acceleration stopped when I released the brake but it didn't seem so at the time. In all instances I looked for foreign objects near the accelerator pedal but none were there. This seems to happen about once a year.

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #24

Sep 162013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
When I was driving down the highway my 2006 Honda Civic vehicle started to make a loud screaming noise. And smoke started to come out of the hood of the vehicle; I tried to exit off the ramp but the vehicle started to turn off on me while I was attempting to exit the highway; due to the vehicel stalling I was almost hit by a vehicle behind me which would had resulted in a major crash. My vehicle is currently at a repair shop which it was revealed that my engine is cracked and that Honda has had many problems with Civic engines. I feel that Honda needs to fix this problem.

- Bristol, IN, USA

problem #23

Jun 142013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 117,325 miles
While in heavy traffic on the highway during a traffic jam which was caused by an accident, the car broke down with no warning. There was a check engine light and nearly immediately the car stopped working entirely, so stranded for 3 hours on the highway waiting for a tow truck. Car towed to mechanic and was informed that the engine overheated - all the plastic pieces I.e. dipstick were melted, along with parts of the radiator - the filler cap was clearly melted. There was no indication there was any overheating occurring during the problem - again, a check engine light and then the car immediately stopped running on the highway. Later it was discovered there was a recall/tsb for this model Honda for the engine block cracking and overheating. There was no indication of overheating at any time and the vehicle did not allow even for nursing the car to the nearby exit. It is extremely fortunate the car was able to get to the side of the highway in heavy traffic - just barely, still in a precarious position. After the dealership "fixed" the engine, provided horrible customer service, and refused to fix anything the melted engine destroyed (radiator) the car has been in the shop (dealerships and otherwise) multiple times for other items "not covered" with the melted engine tsb so I will be reporting anticipated break-downs in horrible traffic with no warning here as needed.

- Elgin, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?