Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Sep 262011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


Premature catastrophic failure of water pump pulley caused by pulley bolts falling out of pulley, pulley detaching and than causing failure of serpentine accessory belt. Honda will not cover this under tsb 08-039. This is a saefty issue as well - loss of power steering, cooling, engine could blow. I have to bring into dealer contacted Honda asked them to cover 100% of cost they only cover 40%. replaced with upgraded parts not same flawed design. Honda must cover 100% of this. Case number: NO12011-09-2700942 car always dealer serviced and oil changes purchased new.

- Maplewood , NJ, USA

problem #44

Jul 052011

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While driving 10 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled on the road. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, whom denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 15,445. Updated 09/21/11 the consumer was informed the spring tensioner was broke, which caused the alternator, water pump and serpentine belt to fail. Updated 10/05/11.

- Horsham, PA, USA

problem #43

Jan 202011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 55,400 miles
Engine stopped unexpectedly with no prior signs of trouble while driving about 25 mph on residential street. Car towed to repair shop. Found bolt which holds engine accessory belt tensioner in place had failed. Replaced tensioner and bolt with new Honda parts. Five months later same bolt again unexpectedly broke resulting in engine stoppage again fortunately at 25 mph in light traffic. Car was towed and repaired. Both repairs used Honda replacement parts. I have both bolts. Bolts are not suppose to break under these conditions. Fortunately failure did not happen in heavy traffic or high speed but they could have.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #42

Dec 152010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles


The bolt that holds the serpentine belt tension idler pulley has failed twice on my vehicle. It's a fatigue failure from bolt bending load; a design failure. I have been fortunate that both failures occurred at low speeds on side streets. If this occurred at speed where I could not pull over immediately, I could have been in severe danger with loss of power, engine seizing and a possible fire.

- Guilford, CT, USA

problem #41

Dec 082010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 43,700 miles
I have a Honda Civic 4dr sedan 2006 purchased in Nov 2005, it currently has around 43800 miles. When I turn on the heater, I can smell strong burning antifreeze/coolant and smoke coming from the engine. Finally I took it to the dealer after living with the problem for 3 days and he said I had a engine leaking coolant with a cracked engine block and Honda is ready to replace the engine block as the vehicle is under warranty. I am worried it might happen again. Please ask Honda to issue a official recall notice so that my engine is covered for atleast that particular problem, so that I don't have to pay if the same problem happens again once my warranty is done.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #40

Dec 022010


  • 77,200 miles
Smelled burning antifreeze yet no evidence of leak initially. Later significant leak. Took car to dealer said it is extended warranty issue and they are going to replace the short block. This is a known issue to Honda.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #39

Aug 012009


  • 50,000 miles


I have a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid which is experiencing ima system problems. According to Honda, everything is fine, but the battery won't hold much charge. In addition, Honda installed a software update to the car's computer that changes the way the engine is managed, using the ima system less and not allowing the battery charge to go below 1/2 charge. As a result, the ima system will only work (randomly) about half the time the car is running. So engine power will not be available at crucial times, I.e. accelerating, pulling out at an intersection, etc. This makes the car unpredictable and unsafe. There are many Honda Civic hybrid owners who are experiencing this same problem (as witnessed through online forums) and have received the same response from Honda, 'everything is operating normally'. well, it's not.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #38

May 082009


  • 90,865 miles
I was driving in 5/8/2009 on interstate 205 in California. My engine began making loud metallic clanking sounds and then I heard what sounded like liquid flowing under the car. My car began to decelerate quickly and I forced to pull over to the side of the highway. Once I was stopped on the side the metallic sound got louder and the smoke started coming from the right side of the hood. I had to have the car towed to the local Honda dealership where they stated that the engine block had leaked coolant and had caused the block to crack. After checking online I found out about tsb 08-044 a problem which the engine block cracks and coolant leaks from it causing overheating, and spoke to the service manager there about it. He was originally wanting to repair it for me but was overulled by his regional manager who said they would not repair it because I was out of warranty. I went on to send complaints higher up the chain at Honda but continued to be told I was not under warranty so they would not help me and that it would end up costing me over $5000 to replace the engine. I then ended up having to go to a private garage and ended up spending $2,878.53 in 7/2009 to replace the engine, plus $432.96 for a rental car for me to drive. I had recently checked back to see if they had updated the tsb to a recall but more owners have had this problem, so I wanted to issue this to see if can be investigated.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #37

Sep 262010


  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. While traveling 40 mph the contact noticed that the vehicle had suddenly shut off without and could not be restarted. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the contact had the eps circuit replaced, however the contact is still experiencing the failure. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 81000.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #36

Aug 272010


  • 70,000 miles
My Honda Civic ex 2006 model suddenly started overheating problem, I realized this after my recent oil change at Honda round rock Texas. I believe this is a serious safety issue to myself and my family. There was small bit of blue fluid leak that I could see but at times ignored, this I saw after recent oil change.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #35

Aug 192010


  • 83,000 miles


Cracked engine block in the 2006 Honda Civic, 83,000 miles.

- Goldens Bridge, NY, USA

problem #34

Jul 282010


  • 94,000 miles
Cracked engine blockn !!!!!!!!!!!! 2006 Honda Civic..........shame on you american Honda for not issuing a recall yet !!!!!!!!!! shame on you !!!!!!!!!

- Collinwood, TN, USA

problem #33

Aug 032010


  • 50,140 miles
Daughter was driving home from work when she noticed smoke coming out of the engine; luckily she was near the dealership where the car was purchased from and drove to it. The dealership called my husband to inform him that the engine block was cracked. This 2006 Honda Civic was purchased on July 25, 2009 and has this type of problem a little over a year later (8/3/10) at 50,140 miles!! ironically my husband bought this car because he wanted to provide our teenage daughter with a safe car to drive! we are awaiting to hear if dealership will be able to get Honda to pay for this. After reading so many complaints on this 1 website, they better or I will be contacting every media outlet until we get satisfaction!

- Sharon, MA, USA

problem #32

May 112010


  • 143,000 miles
I am the original owner of a 2006 Honda Civic and have had all the recommended scheduled maintenance at the dealership where I bought the car. With my long commute I'm up to 143,000 (highway) miles. I was on my way home from having their "B13" service when the engine light came on; it needs a new engine(!) they told me this is a common problem with 2006 Civics and that dealership has handled "several, one just this week", and that it manifests itself arbitrarily, "the engine is fine and then it just breaks". most Civics less than 5 years old are still under warranty (or close enough) so I imagine that these people haven't felt the need to report this. But even with them managing to get Honda America to pay 25% of the cost I'll still pay over $3000 in repair costs. Hondas are "supposed" to be very reliable, so having a well-maintained engine die at less than 5 years old feels like I've been cheated. But more significantly, if Honda knows this is a problem, I think they should take more action and responsibility about fixing it. Even with their "service bulletin" they said it won't be a recall unless it's a "safety issue" like seat belts. I don't think it's safe for people to be driving around Civics where the engine could fail at any moment without provocation.

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #31

May 142010


  • 102,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I just wanted to notify your Agency about a vehicle that I financed almost 2 years ago, but there's issuing regarding Honda manufacturer not covering the defects to leaking coolant from the engine block of 2006-2008 Honda Civic, (except hybrid & si models). This is an actual issue that I've read through and either Honda would not pay at all or Honda would pay a portion of the repairs and leave the rest for customers to take care of. My concern is that this problem is not caused by individuals, but on its own. Also, these major repairs are very cost effective and some of us are not able to pay for this, me especially. Majority of these Honda owners are just past warranty or way past warranty. This problem could possibly cause your vehicle to overheat and catch on fire, especially if you're driving long distance. Please email me as to what your Agency can do to resolve this problem and possibly have Honda recall or repair these defects 100%. thank you for taking your to read my voiced concern. [xxx]

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #30

Mar 272010


  • 95,000 miles
I have around 95K miles on my Honda, there have been no problems to date. I was driving out of town, going uphill, when my engine light began flashing. I pulled over immediately and turned the car off. We got a tow to the Honda dealer on Saturday 3/27/10, today 3/29/10 they called to inform me it was a cracked engine block that will cost approximately $5000 to repair (no longer under warranty). I began researching online and noticed I was not alone, I saw hundreds of threads complaining of the same problem and referencing service bulletin 08-044. The fact that it is a well known, documented issue and not recalled is outrageous!

- Sedro Woolley, WA, USA

problem #29

Feb 232010


  • 89,600 miles
I have 89,000 miles on my 2006 Honda Civic. The other day I was driving it to work and it overheated. When I popped the hood, I discovered that there wasn't any antifreeze in it. I have not noticed any leaking, and when I took it to the dealer, they said it was because it was leaking out a crack in the engine block. While my car is high mileage, it is also only four years old, so it shouldn't be having issues this serious so soon.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #28

Jan 042009


  • 109,000 miles
I drive a 2006 Honda Civic, without warning, other than a burning smell a single day before, the remaining coolant sprayed out of the internal side of the engine block. Recognized as a porous block, manufacturing defect in the aluminum casting of the block. This was played off as not common but investigations online proof this is an issue not addressed by Honda. If I was in the desert on my way to la with my family, like we had planned a week after, it would have been a catastrophic failure the engine and disabled the car. I had to have the entire block and related parts replaced at a significant cost. This should be a recall for the initial model year for the Civic in 2005-2006. I should be compensated for the expense and this should be investigated.

- Queen Creek , AZ, USA

problem #27

Feb 032010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
I was on my way home from work when my engine began to overheat. After pulling over to the side of the road, I called a tow truck and got my car towed to a local Honda dealership where they informed me that my engine block was cracked and that the engine needed to be replace. My Civic ex only has 46,000 miles on it! how can a car's engine crack with only 46,000 miles on it. Had I not been paying attention, the engine could have caught on fire due to overheating. Luckily, my engine is covered under warranty, but after much research, it appears that I am not the only one who has experienced this issue. According to tsb 08-044, a technical bulletin released by Honda, it appears that this is a known issue with 2006-2007 Honda Civics and yet they have not issued a recall on the engines. Honda is refusing to pay for a rental car on my behalf so I am now forced to spend $450 on a rental car. Something needs to be done about this!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 192010


  • 35,000 miles
My 2006 Honda Civic ex with only 35,000 miles started overheating. I took the car to my reliable mechanic who discovered a crack in the engine block. He told me to tow the car to the Honda repair shop as this was a fault with this particular year. Honda is covering the cost to repair. However, I will be without a car for 2 weeks and thy will not cover for a rental car. Shame on Honda. I will reconsider ever purchasing a Honda ever again.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?