Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,706 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #88

Apr 012016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles


2006 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to unsatisfactory customer service at dealership with issues in replacement of auto tensioner pivot bolt service bulletin 09-007. The consumer did not believe the tsb was completed as indicated by the dealership. The consumer stated the oversight, has led to a catastrophic malfunction of the vehicle.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #87

May 012015


  • miles
2006 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to coolant leaks coming from engine block and transmission. The Honda dealer verified the engine block was cracked. The consumer was informed the vehicle was not covered under warranty even though the VIN was the correct year to be covered. The consumer was informed it would cost 5,000 out of pocket.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #86

Nov 202014


  • 114,846 miles
Damaged and faulty engine mounts cause excessive rattling to motor/car. Appears this is a very common issues which can lead to further issues.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #85

Oct 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 98,500 miles


The engine block leaks coolant, the motor overheats to a degree that is audible, you can hear the steam escaping from the coolant container, the heat damages the thermostat and burns the gaskets and it becomes a self-destructing cycle because the motor is incapable of cooling itself without the thermostat and, the coolant. In some cases the crack in the block that leaks is apparent; in my case the crack is not visible or easy to see and the dealers technician is refusing to honor the recall that Honda has already in place for this particular model. The service manager explained to the consumer, that even though all the symptoms of the vehicle indicated that there was a cooling fluid evaporating, the motor was overheating, the heat was burning the gaskets and the thermostat, he had to rely on the technician diagnosis telling him that his particular motor was not cracked exactly where it was supposed to be. The hose to the radiator, gasket were replaced. However, the engine light illuminated. The dealer reset the light. Updated 10/31/13

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #84

Mar 262012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
Uneven tire wear and vibrations when traveling on highway. Honda had a recall to repair control arm. Had repair done 6 years ago. It was a factory/manufacturing problem. It is happening again. Called dealer who said Honda only honors one repair. Any subsequent repairs are at my expense. Dealer will not do permanent fix. Tires wear unevenly due to problem. Have bought several tires. Have had premature brake wear and strut replacement due to manufacturing issues. Also, catalytic converter now going out prematurely. Nothing covered by Honda. Many complaints on the internet. Class action lawsuit forming. Why does Honda not stand behind its product and permanently repair manufacturing defects/problems?

- Pacoima, CA, USA

problem #83

Nov 232009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 72,949 miles
The serpentine belt tensioner bolt has broken 5 times in the past 30,000 miles. This requires removing the broken bolt and replacing the bolt, tensioner assembly, serpentine belt, water pump and/or pulley each time. Honda has known about this problem because in February 2009, I received a "product update: Rerouting the drive belt" which also recommended replacing the bolt. Prior to this, on October 3, 2007 at 35,954 miles I took the car to Honda because of a whining noise and they rerouted the belt - but did not replace the bolt. In addition to the November 23, 2009 incident above, the bolt also broke May 20, 2010 at 78,198 miles, and again on October 12, 2010 at 81,895 miles and that time was fixed by wade raulerson Honda, gainesville, fl. When it broke on September 18, 2012 at 98,000 miles I was in gainesville and had it towed to Honda of gainesville but their estimate was $850 and included a new water pump which we later found it did not need. So I had it towed 25 miles back to williston and my son, an experienced mechanic removed the bolt and replaced it, the tensioner and belt. On November 13, 2012 at 101,000 miles, the bolt broke again and he had a more difficult time removing and replacing it. All the replaced parts have been Honda parts. If I had been on the interstate this time, it could have caused a bad accident because there was no warning and the engine stopped immediately. I will never have the confidence to drive on the interstate or for any distance again but, now that I'm living mostly on social security, I cannot afford car payments. I expected this Honda to last me as long as I would need a car. The repair costs I've paid have been $1,800 and don't include my son's labor.

- Williston, FL, USA

problem #82

Oct 012012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


The RPM down to 0 while stopped at a red light. Tried restarting the car, the RPM would go up for a few seconds while a lot of metallic noise of loose parts flying around under the hood. Took it to two mechanics, turned out the drive belt tensioner bolt snapped in half, half went into the block.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #81

Jul 202012

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
A couple months back I took my car to the Honda dealer to fix my A/C. so when my A/C was not throwing any cold air out again this week I took it back to Honda and they told me my condenser had a whole in it probably from a pebble. There is nothing covering that area on the car so after I pay almost $700 it can possibly happen again. There is no warranty for this. I feel it is a defect of the way the car was built. I feel Honda should fix this problem. Or atleast reimburse the customers.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #80

Aug 172011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for repairs under a manufacturer's engine block failure warranty in March 2012. The local mechanic replaced the engine coil and the engine sensor, but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle developed an engine coolant leak. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer inspected the vehicle and located the failure as the engine block being cracked due to defective aluminum. The dealer replaced the engine block, the timing chains and the spark plugs. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and denied assistance with the repairs. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 63,000. Updated 04/25/12 the consumer stated she experienced several problems related to the crck engine block, which wasn't located until March 2012. Updated 06/25/12

- Washingotn , DC, USA

problem #79

Feb 022012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Pulling out into traffic very loud squealing noise...pulled off road and noticed the pulley holding the serpentine belt was it towed to the dealership and they said the bolt holding the pulley was it fix and now 13 months later it has happened again if the pulley breaks off or the belt comes off in traffic I could be in serious trouble.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #78

Dec 262011

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles


Coolant leak. Engine block cracked, confirmed by mechanic.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #77

Dec 172011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 74,619 miles
Two days ago I was pulling into a parking space in a grocery store parking lot. I was slowing the car down using the brakes. As I turned into the parking space I applied pressure on the brakes, the brakes became soft and suddenly the engines rpms increased and began jumping between 3000 rpms to 4000 rpms. The car began to move forward even though I had the brakes fully depressed and I was in danger of hitting other cars or people. I immediately put the car in neutral and the rpms jumped even higher. I turned the engine off and after a few seconds the engine stopped. I re-started it and drove to the Honda dealership. They have had the car for two days and can not find the problem (or so they say). This is the second time in 8 weeks this has happened in this car (see complaint number 10435619). This was not pedal error. My foot was only on the brake. After doing a google search I see hundreds of similar complaints. Honda is not admitting that there is a problem with the software in their cars but there is. Please look into this before too many people get killed. I could have easily run over the 2-3 people walking in front of me if I hadn't been through this before and knew to put the car in neutral right away. Both times when I put my foot on the brake I felt the brakes soften and the engine suddenly revved. It appears to me that there is some glitch in their software that tells the engine to downshift when braking. Instead of downshifting the engine accelerates. Something is clearly wrong with this car. Unfortunately the check engine light does not come on so Honda can not find the error. Clearly if you do a google search there is a serious problem out there with these Honda.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #76

Nov 152011


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after allowing it to cool and adding water to the radiator. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the contact was informed that the engine block was cracked. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Kuttawa, KY, USA

problem #75

Aug 082009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 89,549 miles
In August of 2009, at 89,549 miles the original serpentine belt tensioner failed. The tensioner bolt broke off in the engine block during the replacement process. Enough of the bolt was exposed to grip it and remove it from the engine block. Honda replacement parts were used including new tensioner assembly, tensioner bolt and belt. Local Honda dealer would not assist. Not warranty, no defect, no offer to assist. October, 2011, at 146,000 miles, the tensioner bolt broke causing misalignment of the serpentine tensioner pulley, tearing up the belt and stalling out the engine. The car could not be driven. Installed a second "belt enhancement kit" from local parts company, with new longer belt, new belt routing and new tensioner with a new bolt. Private mechanic had trouble removing broken bolt from engine block, but got it out. The local Honda dealer said my VIN not affected and they offered no assistance. Local parts dealers computers all showed a "belt enhancement kit" and so did the Honda parts department. Honda service writers not helpful, not their problem. What will happen the next time this bolt fails and damages the threads" or this failure damages the alternator, waterpump, power steering unit and other parts" this should be a warrantable failure covered by Honda.

- Independence, MN, USA

problem #74

Nov 192011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 60,080 miles
My 2006 Honda Civic ex completely stalled out without any warning, leaving me stranded in the middle of a busy intersection. It had been driving perfectly without issue before the stall, and has received all necessary maintenance in a timely fashion up until that time. My car was inoperable and towed to a nearby mechanic. I was informed that the tensioner bolt had broken off in my engine; however, part of the bolt was still stuck inside of my engine. Due to the bolt breaking, my alternator was subsequently damaged and caused the car to stall. After consulting with a separate independent mechanic, it was determined that due to the location and angle of the bolt, the engine would have to be completely dropped out to remove and replace this bolt and to prevent further damage to the engine. This problem is covered under tsb 09-007 (Jan 09 campaign - engine drive belt tensioner bolt replacement); however, even though my VIN falls within the range of affected vehicles, it is not an exact match.

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #73

Nov 262011


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that steam emitted from under the hood abnormally while sitting at a traffic stop. The contact discovered coolant was leaking from the engine and that the engine was cracked. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 35,000.

- Swanzey, NH, USA

problem #72

Nov 072011


  • 79,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact heard a loud squeaking noise inside the vehicle. The dealer stated the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who informed the contact that the tension belt failed and needed to be replaced. She took the vehicle to a different mechanic to have the work performed due to the cost. The manufacturer was notified of the failure; however, did not offer any assistance. The current mileage was 80,000. The approximate failure mileage was 79,700.

- Plantsville, CT, USA

problem #71

Nov 132011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 74,190 miles
Yesterday I experienced sudden acceleration when applying the brakes. I was approaching a red light going downhill at about 40 mph. I applied the brakes and the engine accelerated with the rpms jumping to 3,000. I applied full brakes and the car kept moving towards the intersection. To avoid an accident, I put the car into neutral. Rpms went up to about 4,500. The car slowly stopped. When the light turned green I put it back in drive and the car stalled. I put the car in neutral and re-started it and the rpms were normal. I took it to the dealership today and they could not find the problem. Surveying the internet I can see lots of other acceleration issues with the 2006 Civics. The dealership was unaware of any problems. This could have caused a serious accident.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #70

Sep 262011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Premature catastrophic failure of water pump pulley caused by pulley bolts falling out of pulley, pulley detaching and than causing failure of serpentine accessory belt. Honda will not cover this under tsb 08-039. This is a saefty issue as well - loss of power steering, cooling, engine could blow. I have to bring into dealer contacted Honda asked them to cover 100% of cost they only cover 40%. replaced with upgraded parts not same flawed design. Honda must cover 100% of this. Case number: NO12011-09-2700942 car always dealer serviced and oil changes purchased new.

- Maplewood , NJ, USA

problem #69

Aug 272011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I was driving about 25mph on a residential street when I smelled rubber burning and then my car suddenly stopped working. We had it towed to a trusted friend's shop to see what the problem was and then to fix it. We found that the tensioner bolt was broken. Our mechanic has done lots of research on this problem and have found that other owners of 2006 Honda Civics are also having the same problem. He is in the process of trying to replace this bolt. I only have 75,000 miles on this Honda and am very disappointed with this fairly new car. I hope it can be fixed.

- Sequim, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?