Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #95

Dec 052006


  • 8,000 miles


My 2006 Honda Civic fishtails terribly, especially in the winter but even in the summer on dry pavement when I hit even little bumps the car shifts to the side. It forces me to slow down but it gets worse between 30-40 miles per hour. I have not crashed due to the problem (yet) but in certainly concerns me and my wife refuses to drive our car!

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #94

Jun 012010


  • 55,000 miles
Just wanted to give a shout out to Honda... for leaving me freaking high and dry holding a repair bill they created. I know now the problem is well documented... too bad it's people on the freaking internet helping out, rather than Honda. Sorry... but it's absolutely horrible for this "service bulletin" to get swept under the carpet and not sent to the owners of the affected vehicles. I can understand why Honda doesn't want to do a recall on it... it'd be very costly. However, they should have been required to send this "service bulletin" to all owners, and then they could have the option to change the part if they had been experiencing issues of ridiculous excessive tire wear. I know exactly what Honda is hoping... that most of the owners of these cars will find out there is a problem after the warranty expires... like I did... nice Honda... afreakingp'reciate it. I mean heck... it takes thousands upon thousands of miles to realize your tires are wearing out prematurely. And even after you replace the tires, you just kinda just chalk it up that you simply needed a new set. It's not until you go through maybe that 2nd set, when you start to think... is it my imagination, or are these tires wearing faster than they should? being that I was a student in 2007, I could only afford to replace two tires at a time. It came out of nowhere how fast the tires degraded... sounded like a damn helicopter was about to land on my roof... the rear tires were bad. I replaced the two tires at a walmart service center. Within six months I had to replace the other tires I hadn't replaced the last time. Full circle... 10 months later and sounding like the back of the car is going to fall off. Kinda sounds like when you open up only one window (three inches or so) going down the road at 70 miles an hour... bop.. bop... bop.. bop..bop over and over.

- Augusta, KS, USA

problem #93

Aug 112010


  • 20,000 miles
First set of tires repeatedly became cupped and caused high road noise. Rear end bounced and swayed. Repeated tire rotations and spin balancing of all four wheels failed to rectify. I replaced ties at 33,800. Second set of tire because cupped, rear end unstable. Tire rotation made problem worse. Replaced rear shocks. No effect; continued unstable and rear end swayed. When on rough pavement. Second set of tires cupped and noisy by 33,000 miles. Went to Honda dealer asked for complete analysis. They said front end and suspension are sound. I was told that we have "outdated" upper control arms on the rear wheels that are "famous in Honda garages for eating tires." Service manager said these parts must be replaced before alignment is possible. He said there has never been a recall issued. I called american Honda. They informed me they did want to discuss the issue and that they would offer a small amount toward my replacing the parts. They will not stand behind this part even though it was a known manufacturing defect which was subsequently replaced on newer models. I consider the car unsafe due to rear end instability.

- West Sand Lake, NY, USA

problem #92

Jul 082010


  • 95,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. During a routine wheel alignment by a local mechanic, the contact was informed that the rear tires were wearing faster than normal due to a problem within the suspension system. An authorized dealer was notified and informed the contact he needed to have a cross bar replaced on the rear suspension. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000. The current mileage was 97,000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #91

Mar 152009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. The contact stated the alignment of the rear upper control arm was defective and causing the inside of the tires to wear prematurely. The contact would have the tires rotated at each oil change, and the failure would persist. The dealer advised any repairs would be at the contact's expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 89,000. Updated 09/29/10 the consumer stated the problem was corrected at no cost to him, except for the alignment. Updated 10/01/00

- Cocoa Beach, FL, USA

problem #90

Jun 252010


  • 44,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic ex 4 door sedan. Problem with the rear upper control arms: I was driving the car, and noticed suddenly that the tires start making horrible noises, almost sounding as if I had a flat tire. The effect on driving was very bad- control and steering were effected. I checked the tires, but didn't notice anything specific except for wear issues. Taking it in to Honda, they said that "no one could fix the problem except for Honda". they said that a "new, updated part" had been released a year and a half ago (when my car was still under warranty). There was a technical service bulletin issued, so the problem was well known. They still have not issued a recall. This is a serious danger to driver safety.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #89

Apr 012007


  • 15,000 miles


I own a 2006 Honda Civic. The rear tires are cupping (others call it see-saw pattern ). there is technical service bulletin for the lower control arm, dated February, 2008 that exactly describes the problem. The vehicle had three sets of new tires since it was purchased. First I thought it was a tire problem and I kept changing the tires, only to discover after the car was out of warranty, that it was a manufacturing defect. I contacted the manufacturer, and I spoke to matt caldarella from american Honda motor who refused to offer any assistance, stating that it was my fault that " I did not give them the opportunity to fix the car". the service bulletin was not communicated to me, I found out through my research, but in the meantime the warranty expired.

- Jeannette, PA, USA

problem #88

Jun 252010


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While traveling 45 mph the contact noticed a rubbing sound coming from the bottom of the rear driver side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be determined. There were no prior warnings. The failure mileage was 28000 and the current mileage was 33000.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #87

Feb 172009


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the rear tires wore unevenly. The contact referenced a related tsb for the lower control arm, dated January 22, 2008. The vehicle had three sets of new tires since it was purchased and the lower control arm was replaced by an authorized dealer February 17, 2009. The failure continued and the vehicle needed another set of tires at the time of the complaint. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they could offer no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000. The current mileage was 66,163.

- Butte , MT, USA

problem #86

Apr 182010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 75,613 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic ex. While driving at 75 mph, the right rear wheel bearing failed, causing the rear right wheel to separate from the vehicle. The rear of the vehicle began to spin and crashed into a center median. The vehicle was then facing oncoming traffic when the front end hit the center median again, forcing the contact to pass three lanes of traffic and end up on the right sided of the road. A passenger sustained minor injuries to the back and neck and a police report was filed. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were 75,613. Updated 06/15/10 updated 08/18/108jb

- Fort Irwin, CA, USA

problem #85

Jul 092008


  • miles


Rear suspension, premature tire wear: 2006 Civic si, turned down at dealer even with warranty in hand at about 30,000 miles for repair or replacement of rear control arm/parts without paying out of pocket. States not covered. Have had the problem since and 4 wheel alignment is not the remedy. Notice bad cupping to inner rear tires and harsh vibrations and noise.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #84

Apr 222010


  • 55,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic ex 2 door. Honda has a service bulletin for a bad rear upper control arm. Over time due to this defect inner tire wear is excessive. This can lead to tire blow out. Honda is only replacing the part when asked. Due to this defect I have gone through two sets of tires, a brake job, and now need a new wheel bearing. Honda is only willing to replace the control arm. They are charging for alignment, wheel bearing, and tires. This really seems like something that should be a recall. Tires only lasting 10,000 miles before becoming dangerous is not good.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #83

Apr 162010

(reported on)


  • miles
Ltr on behalf of (ca) re request fwd to NHTSA in 2006 re Honda Civic defective rear suspension, wants verification that info sent via mail was rec'd by NHTSA, (reply to campbell, ca ofc (reply attn danielle duong on envelope only) the camber strut was replaced.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #82

Mar 282010


  • miles
Honda 2006 defective rear upper control arms that causes rear tires to wear on the inside. Honda service bulletin 08-001

- Glenolden, PA, USA

problem #81

Feb 092006


  • 35,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic - rear control arms (camber arms) cause severe inner tire wear. 85000 mile tires last approx. 30000 miles before inside of tires wear and cup. Honda issued a tsb 08-001 which addresses the problem, but Honda refused to fix as a warranty claim until recently 3/10/10 and then only covered 25% cost of repair. Rear control arms were replaced and alignment completed 3/13/10.

- Andrews, IN, USA

problem #80

Jan 012006


  • 1,000 miles
The problems the consumer is having are with the suspension and tires on the vehicle. Since the consumer purchased the 2006 Honda Civic ex coupe in October 2005, since then she has had problems with the tires which wear rapidly and in an abnormal pattern. The vehicle has been in for service multiple times so consumer could get this problem addressed. She has even stated to dealerships that there is a problem with the suspension and tires when her vehicle was in for normal recalls and checks. Every time she stated to the dealership that there is an issue with the vehicle's suspension she was told there is nothing wrong and everything is normal, except the tires are "cupped" or defective. She has since had to replace the vehicle with (4) sets of tires since 2005, it is not possible that the consumer purchased (4) sets of defective tires in a row. Consumer found ( tsb 08-001 ) stating "uneven or rapid rear tire wear" from alldata online & Honda customer information website. Since this problem was never fixed when it was addressed by the consumer to Honda, it has since cost the consumer over $1,700 to replace tires. Consumer is seeking reimbursement or replacement of (4) Goodyear Eagle F1 tires in a 225/45/17 size due to poor workmanship of Honda dealerships. Total of $718.46 if an agreement is not met, consumer is considering a lawsuit against american Honda motor co. Inc for jeopardizing safety of the consumer.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #79

Feb 082010


  • 25,000 miles
I own a 2006 Honda Civic. The winter of 2007-2008 the car would fishtail almost uncontrollably on snow and ice - not a snow or ice storm necessarily, but really whenever there was snow cover or ice on the roads. We changed tires - twice. The winter of 2008-2009, we were still having the same problem. This time, the dealership suggested an alignment. We had that done, but the tech's who did the alignment would not rotate our tires because they said our tires were bald. We discovered that the tires were not bald on the outside edge, only on the inside. We entered the winter of 2009-2010 with the same problem - took it once again to the lithia Honda dealership in ames, ia. We read internet anecdotal evidence blaming the rear sway bar. The technicians checked it and the rear shocks but didn't discover anything wrong. Lithia's service dept refused to do anything else because they could not be assured they would be reimbursed for their costs. Lithia of ames did not contact the national manufacturer, american Honda, until we asked them to. We did more research. One man in british columbia had posted about his car having the exact same problem as ours - complete with many of the same words used to describe the problem as we had used and that technicians had determined it was the control arm. The control arm is too short. We asked them to contact american Honda - the control arm has a bulletin - but only for uneven tread wear. My family and I - our friends, even - are afraid to drive in this car. We cannot take it over 35-40 miles an hour even when it's sunny outside because snow cover will cause it to have this problem. The car doesn't track straight when traversing bumpy roads. On a trip down South last winter, the car hit a small patch of ice and felt like we were going into the ditch. We are going to continue to see problems with the uneven tire wear. The american Honda representative, said, our rear alignment is the worst she's ever seen. Please help!!

- Ames, IA, USA

problem #78

Mar 172008


  • 15,000 miles
My rear tires cup and make excessive road noise and causes car to shake. Honda replaced the control arms as part of a service bulletin and paid for half the cost of new tires. However, the problem continues and Honda won't do anything. I took the car to a local service garage after Honda claimed it was now an alignment issue. Local service garage told me alignment was all within specs. I've found through research on the internet and discussions with other owners that this is a very common problem.

- Greentown, IN, USA

problem #77

Aug 012009


  • miles
I have noticed that there is noise during driving which appear to be from the tires and it can be annoying at points. I read about the service bulletin about the upper control arms and my car has the problems that occur to having a bad control arm. The inner portion of my tires are wearing out faster than the other parts of the tires. Honda and the dealership I go to won't cover the replacement of the control arms because I am out of warranty. I didn't know about the control arm issue until recently. I have bought another set of tires because the first set started to make the steering wheel vibrate during speeds above 60 mph. Honda should make this a recall or cover all the costs of replacing these parts even if the car is out of warranty. The car owner shouldn't have to pay for fixing this issue.

- Mendota, CA, USA

problem #76

Nov 012009


  • miles
Premature tirewear & tire roar on rear tires. Also premature brake pad replacement on front disc brakes. Original tires replaced at 41,591 miles. New tires have approx. 15,500miles. Front disc pads replaced at 33,489. Car now has 57,096miles.

- Windsor, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?