Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Sep 072007


  • 28,000 miles


On Sept 7, 2007. I complain to Honda dealership in carson, about a roaring sound on my real wheels. Aside from that there was uneven wear on both inner side of the tires. The sound was like a bearing failure. They told me that I need an alignment. So I paid for it. Plus I have to buy new tires. Then today 9-2-08. It happened again with the same issues. I was told they wound not cover since it was out of warranty. My car 55,000 however on February of this year 2008. There is a service bulletin regarding this issue. With the same symptoms on 2006 and 07 Honda Civic LX and ex not si. So tried to argue about the service bulletin both Honda dealership and Honda Motors North America. They are giving me a run around and wont pay me for my tires and alignment cost. But they will fix the problem which is replacing flange and upper control arm as stated in service bulletin. I request your kind office and recommend a recall on this issues of alignment because they said its just a service bulletin and not a recall. So its not mandatory. So they wont pay for my third tire and alignment. And the can get off the hook. This is a safety issue because not all people recognize this and still drive their cars unit the tread comes out and the whole car shakes when they are bad and wobble the front steering.I'm a mechanic for (yrs never have a hard time getting issues straighten out.

- Placentia, CA, USA

problem #34

Aug 202008


  • 63,000 miles
On the days leading up to the incident, heard a roaring in my tires. On wed. Aug 20th. I heard a loud pop coming from the rear of my car. Drove into work, left work and rear passenger tire was tilted inward. Had to get tow truck take it to dealership. On 8/22, clerk at dealership stated that the rear upper control arm had broke. She said they looked at it and believed it was a "leaky shock", I knew that wasn't the case. They then said it was result of an accident my car was involved in 2 years ago!!!. I contacted insurance company and they immediately said that accident couldn't have caused that major damage. Insurance adjuster told dealership same thing. I was told that it was not a defect. From my documentation and research, there's numerous complaints about the rear upper control arms on the 06 & 07 Honda Civics. I was told that my extended warranty would not be honored and I had to pay for what I know is a defect at the manufacturer. I've complained to Honda hq with no action being taken thus far. I'm frazzled!! I can't believe they won't own up to this defect!! I need help with this!! I can't afford to pay for the repairs. Please respond asap!! they are still saying it's related to "an accident"(non-existent).

- Nashville, NC, USA

problem #33

Aug 052008


  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While driving 35 mph, the contact noticed a growling sound coming from the rear of the vehicle. The dealer stated that the rear passenger side bearing needed to be replaced. There were no warnings prior to the failure. The failure mileage was 61,000 and current mileage was 64,355. Updated 09/29/08. Updated 09/29/08.

- Independence, MN, USA

problem #32

Aug 152008


  • 16,423 miles


Started hearing a rotational noise from back wheels of car. It got louder as speed increased. Took to Honda dealer. They performed a service bulletin to replace the rear upper control arms and did alignment. The incorrect parts were installed at the factory. However, the bad parts allowed the rear tires to 'cup' causing the noise. The dealer (and manufacturer) are refusing to do anything about the premature tire wear caused by the incorrect parts installed during manufacturer.

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #31

Aug 142008


  • 27,860 miles
Noted loud tire wear and excessive vibration from the rear at speeds in excess of 45mph. Took the car to the dealer and they replaced the rear upper control arms per a Honda tsb. However, they would not cover any %of the tire replacement- which is, of course, a direct consequence of the faulty control arms. Driving with "chopped" tires is a known hazard, which the Honda corporation is promoting by virtue of not taking responsibility for being the cause of the problem. Further, the tsb should be upgraded to a "recall".

- Carthage, NY, USA

problem #30

Jul 152008


  • 18,000 miles
Rear upper control arms on 2006/2007 Civics were manufactured too short yet installed at the factory and sold in new cars. This, in turn, caused the rear of the vehicle to slide and kick out while in turns, especially in the rain. It also caused the rear tires to wear excessively fast. I had to take my car to the Honda dealer 3 times before they admitted they had issued a tsb that gave the dealers the ok to replace the parts, properly align the car, and cover the tires only if it had less than 25,000 miles on it. I find this to be a very dangerous practice on Honda's part and feel a recall should have been issued because it is a safety concern. Tsb's are only distributed to the dealers, not the end consumer. Therefore if a an owner doesn't go to the dealer, they are never aware the car is unsafe. My request is to make Honda issue a recall of the effected cars, not just issue a tsb whereas it's the same as a "you-call" and make the owners responsible for the rapid tire wear $. shame on Honda.

- Millis, MA, USA

problem #29

Aug 012008


  • 25,000 miles


When my tire store showed me my 20,000 mile tire with the steel belts exposed I was stunned-what if no one had seen it? a subsequent alignment check revealed the rear suspension of my 2006 Honda Civic had much more negative camber than is safe and there is no way to adjust it as in other cars-it is a design flaw. Because of the high mileage on my car, it may be a bell weather. I have 150,000 miles on my 2006 Civic and have bought 5 sets of tires that are supposed to last 70,000 miles each. The entire time my car was under warranty Honda did not officially admit the problem or offer a solution. Honda dealers and corporate reps are generally uncooperative and will not issue a public recall and generally have to be pressured to do anything about this substantial problem. Your shedding light on this issue would be a true public service and probably help thousands of people who are not used to dealing with a large corporation with an unreproachable image of public responsibility. There are many more Honda customers like me- this Honda users group will offer more perspective. w. scott moyer

- Fleming, CO, USA

problem #28

Aug 032008


  • 43,000 miles
I was under the vehicle and noticed the rear tire tread was bald on the inside. The outside was still showing plenty of tread. The tire was very close to failure, but it is difficult to notice the uneven wear unless you are under the vehicle. The internet showed many people with the same problem. Apparently the control arms are failing on many of the vehicles. Honda issued a service bulletin to dealerships but has not notified the owners.

- Gretna, NE, USA

problem #27

Jul 082008


  • 64,365 miles
Cupping of rear tires caused by rear control arm premature wear. Parts not covered by a recall, car out of warranty, cost to replace faulty control arm, $453, cost to replace ruined tires, $200. Due to the fact that this part is not on a recall at this time, no action has been taken, the faulty part is still on my car. The replacement part is on back order because of high demand for replacement on other cars like mine.

- Murdock, KS, USA

problem #26

Dec 112007


  • 16,000 miles
Honda Civics 2006, 2007 have faulty rear control arms that ruin tires and cause unsafe control of the car. Customer service isn't. I have a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. I am trying to get bad tires replaced that Honda's faulty rear control arms ruined. My local dealer replaced the control arms. Honda never sent a recall. Honda reps have blamed me for not rotating the tires every 5000 miles perfectly. The tread isn't gone. The tires are warped from misalignment - not a rotation issue. In fact, if I had never rotated the tires, at least the front ones would not have been ruined. At this point, I feel ripped off and lied to. Tires with about 18000 shouldn't be unsafe and need to be replaced. My first complaints were at about 16000 miles when I my car was the worst car on the road in snow at 5 mph. (I put snow tires on from then to April, but I never had to do that before with normal wear all season radials.) Honda America has been talking in circles and making me wait for another decision. Check the net. These control arms are a real issue.

- Saco, ME, USA

problem #25

Apr 032008


  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact experienced tire failure on wet roads. He noticed that the rear tire was completely bald. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that he would be responsible for purchasing new tires. The dealer made other repairs to the vehicle's control arm due to excessive tire wear. The repairs totaled $250. The failure mileage was 21,000 and current mileage is 33,984. Updated 09/10/08.

- Green Castel , PA, USA

problem #24

Jan 172008


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. While driving 65 mph, the rear struts punctured the rear tires, causing the vehicle to "ride like an older vehicle". the contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the rear struts and rear tires needed to be changed. He also received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V399000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:wheel speed sensor), which he believed was related to another issue that required him to pay out of pocket. The current mileage was approximately 60,000 and failure mileage was approximately 30,000.

- Ribera , NM, USA

problem #23

Mar 152008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

- Hermitage, TN, USA

problem #22

May 122008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I heard a loud humming noise coming from the tires on the rear drivers side. The dealer replaced the rear hub and the noise stopped for about 8-10 thousand miles. I later found that they had issued a recall. I brought the car back and this time they had to replaced the upper control arms. Honda issued a service bulletin on this problem and I am reading many complaints on edmund's internet sight complaining about the same issue on the 2006-2007 Civics. The problem with the suspension ruined the tires on the car and caused an unsafe condition. The dealer did change the upper control arms but the car continues to make noise in the rear. The dealer tells me its the tires and the cupping in the tires is the fault of the tire, not the car which it not true. I called Honda and they refuse to replace the tires but admitted that they have a problem with the upper control arms on their cars. Are they waiting for someone to get killed when a tire blows out to notify people of the problem?

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #21

May 242008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 30,212 miles
Rear tires on 2006 Civic had to be replaced due to rear suspension geometry that could have been avoided had Honda installed rear upper control arm kit stated in Honda service bulletin 08-001 dated Jan 22 2008 I had to pay for replacement tires.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #20

May 282008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
My wife took my Honda Civic 2006 sedan to Goodyear tire for routine oil change and tire rotate. They discovered unusual uneven ware on the rear tires. Goodyear would not do the rotation and noted left rear shock blown and tires are cupped, needs 4 tires and aligned soon. They advised taking it back to Honda dealer and have checked. Honda service agreed with Goodyear that both struts are blown and needs the rear control arm kit. They wanted to split the cost of the struts and control arm repairs totaling $594.21 leaving me to foot $297.11. I would pay for new tires. I later became aware that there is a defect know by Honda and there is a bulletin out about this (08-001/NHTSA item number 10024687). I have found many more complaints about the same problem on various internet sites. I feel they are totally responsible and I plan to contact the pa attorney general if they do not correct problem and damage to the tires at their expense.

- Middletown, PA, USA

problem #19

Feb 012006


  • miles
Uneven tire wear and loud road noise.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #18

Jun 152007

Civic 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Car started having excessive tire noise in the rear. Then excessive wear on inside of tires. Took car into dealer and they said agreed it was a problem but could do nothing about it. Had to contact the tire company. Tried to do this but not successful. Replace rear tires at around 29,000 miles. Now at 45,000 miles the 2nd set of tires are making the same noise and have same wear problem. Found out on a blog site that Honda has a tsb out now to replace upper control arms that are defective on all 2006 and 2007 Civics except si model. Now trying to work with dealer to replace the upper control arms with new changed design. Apparently Honda now admits there is a problem with original control arms. We will see how cooperative the dealer is with replacing them. I have the technical service bulletin copy and will be taking it to the dealer. Blog says they will not replace tires - even though all the excessive wear and noise is caused by the defective parts. Am still concerned about the safety of the vehicle with constant excessive wear to tires. Do not know if there are other problems that can be cause by this.

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #17

Mar 102008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 13,700 miles
Rear suspension problems with my '06 Civic LX led to premature tire wear. Have an alignment policy with a local tire store & have it done on a regular basis. Even they commented on the wear and said must be another problem with rear suspension. Honda has a service bulletin 08-001 dated 2/8/08 on this matter. Just want this procedure done to fix the problem so my new tires don't suffer the same fate as the oem tires.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #16

May 142008

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
This 2006 Honda Civic hybrid wears out the rear tires within one tire rotation. The inner edges of both rear tires wear away causing instability of vehicle especially on wet surfaces. Honda is replacing the rear upper control arms under warranty as per a technical service bulletin but are not covering tires worn out after 21,000 miles. This vehicle has had 2 four wheel alignments and 2 tires replaced by Honda prior to getting control arms. I am now trying to get them to pay for the 2nd set of tires it has worn out. I believe there defect in the rear suspension geometry is putting people at risk by wearing out tires prematurely.

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?