Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,563 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Apr 102007

Civic

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle failed to shift into third gear. The contact mentioned that when the vehicle was in third gear, it shifted to neutral independently. The vehicle was taken to an independent where it was diagnosed but the failure was unable to be duplicated. It was unknown if the vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred intermittently. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 03/01/16

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #30

Dec 072015

Civic

  • miles
I have a rear wheel bearing failing. I have learned of a Honda service bulletin (07-055). The Honda dealership states that the work has been accomplished. The last step in the inspection/repair procedure (step 13) instructs to: Center-punch a completion mark below the seventh character of the engine compartment VIN: *slide open the frame number door on the center cowl cover. A long punch to reach the VIN. (see service bulletin for example) there is no punch mark on my vehicle. If this portion of the process was not completed, how am I to be ensured that the procedure was performed completely?

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

problem #29

Oct 052015

Civic

  • 160,000 miles
I was driving my car on highway at 60 mph and suddenly I felt jerk and car was shaking. It was very dangerous to drive. Suddenly engine light was on. Next day I took my car to my mechanic he told me it is problem with transmission. Soi took my car to transmission repair shop. The guy told me that transmission is failed, you can not drive the car. He told me Honda has problem regarding transmission, so I called to Honda and filed a complain, but they said we can not do anything. You have repair yourself.

- Old Bridge, NJ, USA

problem #28

Aug 242015

Civic

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While attempting to shift gears, the shift lever would not shift out of the park position due to a faulty brake light switch. In addition, the rear brake lights failed to illuminate. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 07V402000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #27

Jun 232015

Civic

  • miles
Manual transmission making grinding noise. Its hard to shift in to 2nd and 3rd gear. Its really dangerous when your in traffic and unable to shift gear. Big chances of crash. Transmission making grinding noise and it could get stuck if you google these year Civics there are lot of people complaining about this issue

- Cockeysville, MD, USA

problem #26

May 012015

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the vehicle jerked and lost power. In addition, the contact stated that coolant had to continuously be added to the vehicle and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to multiple dealers, who were unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 09/03/15 updated 09/10/15.

- Chulo Vista, CA, USA

problem #25

Sep 252013

Civic

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son was driving and in the middle of a 5 way intersection car would not shift into gear. My car is a manual transmission car made loud rubbing noise. Car was towed to Honda dealer. I was told in was a complete transmission failure and need a new transmission and clutch. I contacted Honda warranties I bought the car as a certified used Honda. It had 100000 mi warranty which I was past. Honda advise it was $3900 if fix and agreed to pay 1300. In reading all the complaints about the 2007 year I feel they should have paid more. Since owning the car I have received notices from Honda about engine leakage problem and that engine is covered for 10years, also rear control arms, and I just received in mail a class action law suite about premature break ware. At around 70000 I had to replace motor mounts that was covered by my extended warranty. I also had to replace the rear drum brakes at 90000. I have always driven a manual transmission car I have never had to replace a clutch every and keep most cars for over 150000 mi. And drum brakes should never have gone at 90000. I have to say very disappointed with Honda and from reading other complaints on your site there is problem with transmissions on this year.

- Harleysville, PA, USA

problem #24

Sep 082014

Civic

  • 103,000 miles
When I am driving my car and it goes into a shift gear it tugs back and forth than it kicks in, in only does it at certain speed than it stops. I want to know if there any recalls on the transmission and if any repairs are being done or have been done. I am afraid that it will just break apart in the middle of the expressway and cause some pileup and my life or others may be in danger.

- Olmito, TX, USA

problem #23

Jan 212013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
3rd gear failure in transmission. Gear blew out the bottom and top casing of the transmission and destroyed the entire thing. Had to have it completely rebuilt (almost $3000). This was determined to be a mechanical failure. Prior to this, I noticed the 3rd gear was sticking/failing to shift properly and had the transmission checked and flushed. This only appeared to have masked the issue. After driving for about 30 minutes, there was a loud noise and the speedometer jumped to 0. the car wouldn't move, had to be towed (additional $100) and the repair had to be made. For anyone with 3rd gear issues - please have this checked asap and prevent yourself the extreme expense I had! it appears as if, after searching online, several people are having this issue...

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #22

Apr 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
I have Honda Civic si 2007. I have been experiencing a problem with 3rd gear. It pops out and sometimes it's hard to get it in the 3dr gear. The problem happened more frequently when the weather is cool and it's intermediate. It could happen 2 times a day or 2 times a week depending on the weather/driving time and conditions. I took my car to the Honda dealership in Mahwah, NJ (as I been told car has been taking for the test drive 7 times and total 22 miles on it)and nanuet, NY(2 times total 10 miles) and I also called Honda of America to file a complaint about it 3 times(case # [xxx]). as a result dealerships couldn't replicate the problem and Honda of America only can advise me to go to the different dealership. I have extended warranty on this car it will expire in August 2013 and as I was told at Honda of America it becomes my problem after warranty will expire. This is the worst costumer care service owning a car I have ever experienced, and it's Honda. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #21

Jun 042008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3rd gear pops out for no reason. Honda will not fix my problem as it is no longer under warranty. I reported the problem when was still under warranty but they could not replictae the problem. Now they claim is too late for them to fix it. I did not find out about the service bulleting until recently. After being a loyal customer with more than 2 Honda vehicles I will never buy a Honda again especially when the us manufacturers are now making reliable and gas efficient cars.

- Romeoville , IL, USA

problem #20

May 132013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
I live in Arizona and my car is immaculate. I took my car in to have two service bulletins fixed: 3rd gear pops out/ grinds and knocking noise from front when turning. I thought Honda dealer or american Honda Corp. Would come thru and fix what was inadequately designed/built. The dealer treated me like I was an idiot, and Honda Corp. Said I should have known and reported the problem under warranty. $1700 for 3rd gear, and they denied there was a knocking noise from front end. I didn't even complain about my rear tires wearing badly because they wont wreck my car, like the transmission and engine mount problems. Do they think I'll trade the car into Honda, so I wont have to deal with the problems, and buy a new car from them? I like my sporty Civic, but no, I wont give them my money. Very disappointed in what use to be a good car company.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #19

Feb 042013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 57,860 miles
The car goes out of third gear out of nowhere. I have had three close calls on the freeway due to the fact that as your accelerating the gear stops working and leaves the car in neutral when you should be going forward. This causes the car behind you to brake suddenly or you to loose Focus of what's in front of you since you tend to look down to see what the problem is and do not expect you car to be out of gear.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 092012

Civic

  • miles
I have a question about the 2007 Honda Civic, I purchased the car on October 31st, 2011 and I noticed that the front end was making a noise and a vibration when I decelerate. Took the car to the dealership and they put new tires onto the vehicle and the problem still existed. Over a little time until today, the noise and vibration is still there and wont go away. I dont know if its coming from the engine or the drivetrain. I think its something serious but I cant really tell not being a certified mechanic. Is there a recall on something related to the drivetrain/front end or engine problem?

- Windsor, NC, USA

problem #17

Dec 262006

Civic 4-cyl

  • 2,648 miles
Purchased 2007 Civic si sedan new in November 2006. Shortly afterwards, began noticing difficulty when shifting into 3rd gear. Gear would not engage and would sometimes "pop" out. Usually this occurs when engine is cold, but has also occurred after driving for awhile. Notified service technician one month after purchase. Was told that I must be shifting incorrectly and that they could not duplicate the problem. Problem continued and I advised them again in Feb. 2008 that 3rd gear was still having resistance/grinding/popping issues. I found that a tsb was issued for the problem in July 2008. I have been back to the dealer numerous times and was never informed of the tsb.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #16

Apr 162010

Civic

  • 35,000 miles
Purchased vehicle in April 2010 (approximately). I noticed car was shuttering/jerking when accelerating, most notably between 1500 and 1800 RPM from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd gears. I brought to the dealer and complained of issue. Honda dealer stated that because there was no engine light on and when checked the cars computer did not register any codes there was nothing they could do. They did not test drive the vehicle either. I returned multiple times following this and documented it each time. The vehicle is still running with 80,000 miles on it. I brought it to another dealer recently in md for brake service and told them about the issue and they test drove the car and the technician diagnosed it as a torque converter issue. I am going to take it back to the first dealer I have been complaining to and demand they drive the vehicle.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #15

May 232011

Civic

  • 72,743 miles
Engine over heated and froze up due to losing coolant through engine block crack. Crack caused from defective engine blocks as admitted by Honda Corp. Total loss of power on highway in heavy traffic created a safety hazard to the young teenaged driver. Car was bought used on a salvage title and driven a year without incident until this failure occurred. Honda will not replace engine still on warranty due to salvage title.

- Brookshire, TX, USA

problem #14

Jul 012009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic hybrid. While driving approximately 5 mph uphill, the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts with no illumination of the battery warning symbol. The failure usually occurred when driving uphill and had been experienced at least ten times intermittently. The contact stated she received a software update notification letter from the manufacturer but did not have the updates performed. The dealer was contacted and the service manager informed the contact that the update could hurt the fuel mileage significantly. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 05/04/11

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Feb 072011

Civic

  • 103,000 miles
I had car crash two weeks ago with Honda Civic exi 2007, during driving past three years I complained in service center few times last year about car stability in turns and after drive test they came up with nothing, it happened with me few times that after taking sharp turn the care swing and the car go out of control. This time I was taking exit from the bridge and turning down to the main road, I realize that the turn is sharp and I tried to slow down but the care doesn't response instead the crazy movement happened again and this time I was holding the wheel and make strong brake surprisingly the car accelerate and turn back to hit the side steel rail, I couldn't explain to police and all the people passes by the accident shocked about what happened that it seem up normal car response, I was in conversation with friend has the same car and I shocked after I know he has made accident the same way, not only him but in visiting the show room the dealer had the same accident but with jazz car, I realize that Honda has serious problem in stability and I urge all Honda drivers to take care and drive safe and try to get rid of this car and I urge all concerned person to act or conduct the complain in order to find solution before we Honda kill more life's.

- Dubai, 00, USA

problem #12

Dec 152010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Honda Civic hybrid ima no assist or lack of assist and mileage reduction after ima software recall update. I had no issues prior to the ima recall software update performed at the dealer. The car seems to now use less electric motor power to accelerate or to go up hills. This can become dangerous in certain situations. Also the car has seen a decrease in fuel economy of 16% city and 24% highway. Contacted 2 different Honda dealerships and they both said some people have the same issues but Honda does not have a solution for them. Called Honda motor Corp. Directly to try to get warranty fix or at least for them to uninstall the ima sw update and they said they cannot do that. They will not replace my battery which is still under the 8 year warranty or resolve my sw update issues. It seems with so many people having an issue someone like the government should step in and force Honda to rectify the issues for free rather than having people waste their time going to small claims court or filing a class action suit.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?