Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Mar 312009

Civic

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear upper control arms on 2006-07 Honda Civics were defective, causing severe tire wear that sent me toward my third set of tires after 60,000 miles. The tires "cupped" and caused loud road noise. Upon initial approach, Honda dealer same swope in louisville, ky., failed to fix saying the car was out of warranty.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #44

Mar 172008

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While driving 10 mph, the contact heard a loud rattling and roaring noise coming from the tires. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the front strut linkage. Immediately after the repair, the failure resurfaced. All four tires were replaced, but the failure continued to persist. A tire specialist stated that the rear passenger rear shock failed, but no repairs were made. The contact was advised by a technician to closely monitor the issue. He is in the process of having the vehicle inspected again. The failure mileage was 18,000 and current mileage was 46,000. 4/01/09 NJ* updated 04/07/09.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #43

Feb 052009

Civic

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that both of the rear tires on the vehicle were becoming worn due to the rear upper arm stabilizer. The Honda manufacturer stated that they would replace the upper arm control for free if the contact pays for new tires. While driving over 50 mph, the vehicle vibrates violently. The failure mileage was 16,000. Updated 03-04-09 updated 03/23/09. Upadted 03/23/09.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #42

Jun 012008

Civic

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive tire wear on my 2007 Honda hybrid - problems with the rear suspension causing the rear tires to wear out excessively fast on the inner portion of the tire leading to unusual tire wear patterns.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #41

Feb 102009

Civic

  • 46,000 miles
2007 Honda Civic ex: Uneven tire ware caused by rear fixed upper control arms. The alignment cannot be adjusted. The problem shows up with a roaring noise from the rear tires. If the problem is not fixed, then sever tire damage may develop causing a tire failure, accidents, property damage, tetc.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #40

Jan 302009

Civic

  • 32,000 miles
I have a 07' Civic si sedan. I had to replace my rear tires as well. I tried to have the rear alignment done, but the rear control arm were out and are not adjustable. The dealer stated there is a problem w/ the arms but it did not come out including the si, only the LX & ex. I hope it is just a matter of time before they include the si. It is the same part #.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 152009

Civic

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive vibration where it feels like the back end of the car is jumping up and down. Also has extremely loud tire noise. Tires have excessive wear. Dealer said I just need new tires, and when searching for new tires on internet, I discovered that others have this problem.

- Saint Charles, IL, USA

problem #38

Jan 142009

Civic

  • 1 miles
Extremely severe tire ware on rear tires of 2007 Honda Civic, 12,000 miles and the rear tires are worn to the belts on inside edge. Rear alignment appears to be wrong from the factory. Have been told by american Honda that there may be an issue with the rear control arms.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #37

Dec 012008

Civic

  • 27,000 miles
I am having rear suspension arm control issues with my Honda I bought this car new it now has under 30,000 and needs the rear arm controls replaced, this has been recalled on other Civic's but not on mine. I have contacted Honda corporation, and have not gotten a answer back from them. I have looked on like to find that many other Civic si owners are having the same problems. I am not only having to replace this faulty part, but to replace tires multiple time!...

- Turbotville, PA, USA

problem #36

Jan 142009

Civic

  • 26,000 miles
I was experiencing loud road noise from the trunk area as well as uneven tire wear on both rear tires. This vehicle has 36250 miles on it. I have had the vehicle to my mechanic to determine the cause of the noise and tire wear. They were unable to find a root cause. After doing research I found that Honda is aware of this problem on the Civic, but they have not notified owners of the potential for high-cost repairs and new tires.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #35

Dec 262008

Civic

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive and premature rear tire wear due to defective rear upper control arms.

- Salida, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 082007

Civic

  • miles
2006 through current Honda Civic si have a problem with the inability to adjust the rear camber of the tires. Normally what happens between 2,000 and up miles the owners are experiencing wear to the inside of the rear tires that goes undetected until a blow out of the tire occurs. The fault lies in the rear control arm that does not allow for camber adjustments of the tires. Honda sells these vehicles new with the suspension as is. The owners have attempted to get Honda and the dealers who sold the cars to make good on a repair that cost upwards of over $800. They wont. Having been an army accident investigator my concern lies in the failure of the control arm that does not allow for camber adjustments to the rear tires. Currently the rear tire or tires are allowed to rub against the rear suspension system causing a blow out of the rear tire (s) causing a loss of control of the vehicle and a subsequent crash. The potential problem could be remedied by the recall of si version Civics for installation of an adjustable rear control arm. It is my understanding original Civics have been recalled by Honda to correct or examine this problem. The number of accidents incidents or fatalities I do not believe has been investigated or reported. Buyers of these vehicles, insurance agents as well as accident investigators should be made aware of this potentially dangerous problem. It might just save a life or two. I believe that a data base for all Civics involved in automobile accidents should kept to identify this problems severity.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #33

Dec 172008

Civic

  • 40,000 miles
Car: Honda 2007 Civic si complaint: Car has been driven normally. Excessive inner tire wear on rear wheels eats tires to the threads. Tire must be inspected closely since most of it will appear with plenty of tread. This is a safety issue and Honda has already issued a service bulletin on many 2006/2007 Civic (but this excludes the si). The problem is identical on the si but Honda will not cover it as a defect. Honda refuses to acknowledge that this is an issue with the 2007 Civic si.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #32

Nov 192008

Civic

  • 22,435 miles
Me and my fiance purchased a 2007 Honda Civic si. This is the second 07 si we have owned. On both of the Civics I had that problem with 3rd gear popping out and also grinds sometimes going into 3rd. About three weeks ago the car started driving funny, and the rear end was slightly moving side to side on the highway. I checked and noticed the tires were almost gone in the rear. With only 22000 miles the tires should not be wearing down so all of the wires are showing in the tire. I was trying to figure out what was causing it. I already knew the alignment was off, but I just felt like something else was wrong. I called my dad and told him what was going on. A couple days later he found a whole bunch of complaints about 2006-2007 Civics, with excessive wearing of the back tires. It turns out there are a whole bunch of people with this same problem. It is caused by bad control arms in the back of the car. I also found out that Honda has made a bulletin of this, but has not yet issued a recall. I called the manager to where we bought the car, and told him that my tires we wore down to the wires. According to him he considered that normal wear. Now that I know of this problem, I got in contact with the service manager who is looking at my car on Monday. I have printed off all of the complaints and the pics of their tires so I can show him. If I would have known this about the car I would have not purchased it. I have always owned Honda\'s, but I am not very impressed with this 07 si. My 1991 integra runs and drives a hell of a lot better. I am also calling Honda\'s customer service to make a complaint. They will only repair cars to your complaint if you have any of these problems.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #31

Dec 022008

Civic

  • 31,567 miles
I purchased new 2007 Civic in November 2006, got a recall for rear bearing possibly needing changing Dec 2007, I also noticed the inside of my rear tires wearing, so while warranty work was done Jan 2007, I had car aligned, I did not pay much attention until this week 12/3, and I noticed my right rear tire was "slick" wow, and more vwow, I took it immediately to dealer, pointed out what we had done in January, and had them look at tires: 2 front tires had lots of tread, left rear was almost "slick" right rear is "slick"... they told me that their was a "bulletin" out, not recall to replace the upper control arms on the rear of the car, no cost, free alignment, but I had to pay for 2 new tire, at their "cost" $258 with tax.....I am very disappointed Honda did not at least send me a note even a email alerting me to the fix....when they knew I was going to have this problem.....Bridgestone tire will love it....I thing Honda show come clean on this very dangerous problem, and pay for fix and prorated wear on my tires.......

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #30

Jun 012008

Civic

  • miles
Consumer had issues with the service on 2007 Honda Civic at the dealership. The consumer heard a rotating chiming noise coming from the vehicle. The dealer informed the consumer the noise was coming from the rear tires that had flat spots due to improper tire pressure or panic stops. The consumer went to another dealer and was told a tsb had been issued for the rear control arms. The consumer was informed the noise would continue until the tires were replaced.

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #29

Oct 312008

Civic

  • 19,000 miles
Noticed uneven tire wear and vibration on my Honda Civic hybrid, and notified Honda service about this issue when I brought in the car for oil change. The service department looked at the car and said that the rear tires were worn, and this was due to rear suspension problem. Honda would cover the cost of that fix, but I also needed four new tires -- not covered by Honda. He offered to move the rear tires up front and just Focus on the rear ($280 for two tires). After researching the issue and finding that there was a service bulletin issued last spring, I declined to have two worn tires with evidence of cupping put on the front of a front wheel drive car. I asked why I hadn't been notified of this design flaw when I had brought in the car for a pre-roadtrip check in July (he said if I did not tell him to look for rear tire wear they wouldn't look) or why he didn't note it two weeks later when I brought the car in because the A/C had failed on the trip (another known defect, I now realize). The car also seems to have an electric switching irregularity, which has yet to be diagnosed. The service rep said unless I specifically ask, they wouldn't have looked for the rear suspension issue -- even though there had been a service bulletin -- because "not every Civic has the problem." I cannot imagine that at 15,600 miles (where it was in July) that the tires did not then have signs of uneven wear that now has necessitated tire replacement at 19,000 miles. I replaced two tires, one of which Honda covered. We have issued a complaint with Honda to cover the cost of two other new tires, which they said would be resolved within three working days.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #28

Oct 012008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Honda Civic has a problem with the tires. Consumer states that the tires have uneven wear caused by defective control arms. The manufacturer was willing to replace the rear control arms, but not the tires.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #27

Sep 122008

Civic

  • 27,000 miles
Rear tire noise and vibration from 25,000 miles on. Visual inspection shows flat spots on both rear tires. Took in for service and Honda service related that there was an updated version of the rear suspension control arm which they replaced for free. However they were not willing to replace or even prorate tire wear stating that 30K miles warranted no replacement. Front tires show no wear at all. The tires have worn to a unsafe level and Honda has known about this service related problem for months. I have not received any notification from Honda on recalls or service bulletins. Serious safety issue.

- Finksburg, MD, USA

problem #26

Aug 272008

Civic

  • miles
Rear control arm need to be replaced. This is a safety issue that Honda for some reason doesn't want to do a recall on. This problem has made my tires wear faster than usual. Honda is offering very little towards replacing my tires. I have 17,000 miles on my car. My part was ordered a week ago and still waiting for it to come in. This is covered under warranty. I feel Honda should put new tires on my leased car. This is a safety issue and I worry about my long distance driving. Is this part going to break and have my tires fall off"??" I have filed a complainant with Honda. I think Honda should stand behind their product and replace the tires.

- South Kent, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?