Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,679 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Jan 172009

Civic

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2007 Honda Civic ex coupe in August 2007. I noticed a loud vibration/thumping noise coming from the back of my car at around 15K miles. I kept an eye out and did not notice anything wrong with the car. I am now at 25K miles and I just had to get my two rear tires replaced due to sever cupping and uneven tread wear on the tires. I researched the issue and found there is a known problem with the 2007 Civics in regards to uneven or rapid rear tire wear and also found a service bulletin from Honda admitting there is a problem with the rear upper control arms. I realize that the factory tires that are put on new cars are not the best tires but they should not be so severely cupped and worn at 25K miles. I spent $400 on two new tires this past weekend and I am afraid after reading hundreds of complaints regarding this issue that I will have to replace the tires again after another 20-25K miles if this problem is not fixed. I believe it is Honda's responsibility to issue a recall for this issue because they admit there is a problem and it is also extremely dangerous to be driving on tires that are severely cupped and uneven. Please help in doing something about this issue as it is as much about safety as it is forking over the money to replace tires every 25K miles.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #24

Jan 142009

Civic

  • 26,000 miles
I was experiencing loud road noise from the trunk area as well as uneven tire wear on both rear tires. This vehicle has 36250 miles on it. I have had the vehicle to my mechanic to determine the cause of the noise and tire wear. They were unable to find a root cause. After doing research I found that Honda is aware of this problem on the Civic, but they have not notified owners of the potential for high-cost repairs and new tires.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #23

Dec 202008

Civic

  • 36,600 miles
I have a 2007 Honda Civic si. I have approximately 36600 miles on it and I have been having the 3rd gear syncro issue since summer 2008 (I bought the car 2/2/08. When I took my car in the other day to have them address the 3rd gear syncro issue after they took the car apart they told me my clutch plate was severely warn down and needed to be replaced and that it was not covered under my extended warranty. I asked them if this was caused from the 3rd synchro and I was told "no" but I have been reading that it is a direct result. I am not happy with Honda and they need to include all the gears synchros and the clutch in the tsb. Also the tires wear on inside and I was informed that the si was not included in the tsb because it has a different suspension.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #22

Nov 282008

Civic

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Roaring sound from rear of vehicle (sounds like I'm driving on 4X4 tires)!. Firestone dealer says both rear tires are heavily 'cupped'. this problem became noticeable at approximately 18K miles. The rear tire noise is so loud now, that I cannot hear my engine running while underway. Approximately 50% treadwear.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012008

Civic

  • miles
Consumer had issues with the service on 2007 Honda Civic at the dealership. The consumer heard a rotating chiming noise coming from the vehicle. The dealer informed the consumer the noise was coming from the rear tires that had flat spots due to improper tire pressure or panic stops. The consumer went to another dealer and was told a tsb had been issued for the rear control arms. The consumer was informed the noise would continue until the tires were replaced.

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 102008

Civic

  • 21,000 miles
I took my Honda Civic hybrid in for a service at the Honda dealership it had just over 21000 miles on it and I was told I needed to replace all of my tires due to uneven ware.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 102008

Civic

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had my 2007 Civic hybrid in for service last week and was told that there were parts subject to a recall that affected the tire wear and the ride. The recalled parts, rear suspension, and the installation were covered by Honda, but the excessive tire wear was not. Mike (service) checked with Honda who said they would only pay for 30% of the new tires, so I would still be out hundreds of dollars. I am disappointed that 1) Honda would have a defective part causing excessive wear and bad performance, but not notify the owners to bring their cars in; and 2) that the effect of this faulty part caused excessive wear in the tires, and that Honda would not pay for new tires. I now have to get new tires at 29,000 miles which I feel is in appropriate. Finally, I have researched the appropriate tires for this vehicle and there are many choices well under $100 per tire, and for the dealership to tell me that my replacement tires would cost $100 + per tire, plus installation, balancing etc., is too costly. I do not feel that I have been treated fairly and am very disappointed in Honda. When a defective part is not communicated to the owner who could bring the car in to get it fixed before the tires were totally damaged, that is the fault of Honda.

- Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA

problem #18

Jun 192008

Civic

  • 18,000 miles
Excessive tear wire, car purchased in March 2007, needed new rear tires, after only 18,000 miles.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #17

Sep 122008

Civic

  • 27,000 miles
Rear tire noise and vibration from 25,000 miles on. Visual inspection shows flat spots on both rear tires. Took in for service and Honda service related that there was an updated version of the rear suspension control arm which they replaced for free. However they were not willing to replace or even prorate tire wear stating that 30K miles warranted no replacement. Front tires show no wear at all. The tires have worn to a unsafe level and Honda has known about this service related problem for months. I have not received any notification from Honda on recalls or service bulletins. Serious safety issue.

- Finksburg, MD, USA

problem #16

Aug 112008

Civic

  • 22,000 miles
Rear tire howling from 12,000 miles on and were wearing very quickly on the inside which is not visible from casual glance. The tires worn down to a unsafe level and Honda has known about this service related problem for months and never notified me as a owner and I had the vehicle in there twice for service. The upper rear control arms were replaced at 22,000 miles and they refused to do any tire coverage even though the failure caused the problem. I feel this is a major safety concern as I did not notice it on time to keep the tire from being worn to a point of safety concern. I hope you can do something to help warn consumers whom may have bad hearing and may not notice this until the rear tires can blow out on the inside.

- Oakhurst, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 112008

Civic

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed rough ride and noise from back of car. On inspecting, can see where the tread is separating from the tire. Took car to local Firestone dealership and was told they have had 8 2007 Honda Civics with the same problem recently. They stated this is a known problem at Honda. Dealership is giving me the run-around. Oh yes, car has 24K miles and was purchased new.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #14

Aug 142008

(reported on)

Civic

  • 22,000 miles
2007 Honda Civic. Ltr. Regarding resolution of issues outlined in Honda service bulletin 08-001. The consumer experienced uneven/rapid tire wear. The consumer was informed that there were several cases where tires on 2006 and 2007 Civic's required tire replacement within 11,000. The consumer stated the problem was not the tires, but its condition outlined in the bulletin.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 122008

Civic

  • 26,914 miles
I was experiencing excessive tire noise from the rear of my 2007 Civic LX coupe. I also felt a slight shimmy coming from the rear of the car. I had the tires rotated and immediately began hearing a much more pronounced hum/vibration noise coming from the front of the car. Additionally, there was very perceivable shimmy on the steering wheel between 50 and 60 mph. I concluded that whatever was wrong in the back of the car was now transferred to the front and it had to be tires. I took the vehicle to my local Honda dealer and they confirmed that flat spots had developed on the front tires (which had been on the rear until the day before). These flat spots were the cause of the vibration/hum. They also informed me that Honda does not warranty tires. The dealer said I needed to replace both front tires and that I should also allow them to replace the rear control arm as a warranty repair. The dealer never actually said that the original factory rear control arms lead to my premature tire wear. They only said that Honda was advising customers to have them replaced as a warranty repair. I had to pay for two replacement tires and labor - about $280.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #12

Jul 012008

Civic

  • 30,000 miles
Honda civi 2007 LX coupe; noise coming from wheels/tires. Took to dealer they said tires. Went to tire dealer, they said not tires but rims. Noise gets really bad around 70. This has been ongoing for a few months. Getting expensive, frustrated.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #11

Jun 112008

Civic

  • 8,300 miles
On Wednesday, June 11, 2008 I was driving from Mar vista, ca to san leandro, ca with my 4 year old son and 20 year old sister in law. We were on the 580 w driving in the far left lane at 65mph at 11:30 am when we heard an explosion in the rear of the car. When we inspected the car, the right rear tire was blown through. The side walls were intact, but the whole top part of the tire was not connected to the side wall. My car is a 2007 Honda Civic coupe ex and it had about 8300 miles. I purchased the car in July 2007. The crash caused significant damage to the front left side of my car. The car is now at a body shop and is being repaired in san leandro, ca. We have the defective tire. After doing more research I found that Honda had issued a service bulletin about uneven or rapid tire wear. Tsb 08-001 on February 8, 2008. I did not receive notification of this serious defect because Honda is not required to notify consumers regarding tsbs. This defect is serious and affects nearly all 2006-2007 Honda Civics. This tsb needs to become a recall. All owners of 2006-2007 Honda Civics need to be made aware of this life threatening defect. I understand that tires should be checked regularly, and many consumers do, however, my tires did not give me any warning of uneven wearing. Actually, it would be hard to notice since my 2007 Civic coupe ex is not quite on the road and you can feel any little bump in the road. I was told that this was normal because of the stiff suspension. Overall, I seriously hope that this is addressed quickly. Many unsuspecting drivers, many of whom have driven Honda's in the past are not expecting this type of problem which can cause tire blowouts and possible fatal accidents. It would be unfortunate that a class action suit or the death of innocent consumers prompt Honda to make this tsb 08-001 notice a recall notice.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 112008

Civic

  • 8,300 miles
On Wednesday, June 11, 2008 I was driving from Mar vista, ca to san leandro, ca with my 4 year old son and 20 year old sister in law. We were on the 580 w driving in the far left lane at 65mph at 11:30 am when we heard an explosion in the rear of the car. The car began veering toward the right. I tried to pull over into the emergency lane, but the car keep veering toward the right and we hit the center divide. The car was perpendicular to the divide. We were in dublin, ca near the tassajara rd. Exit. When we inspected the car, the right rear tire was blown through. The side walls were intact, but the whole tread of the tire was not connected to the side wall. This also caused the right rear splash guard to detach from the car and the rear bumper was slightly detached. My car is a 2007 Honda Civic coupe ex and it had about 8300 miles. I purchased the car in July 2007. The crash caused significant damage to the front left side of my car. The car is now at a body shop and is being repaired in san leandro, ca. We have the defective tire.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 102008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Unusual rear tire wear and high road noise.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Sep 182007

Civic

  • 6,000 miles
I have a Honda Civic si, 2007 model, that I had a flat and replaced one tire. Tire dealership replaced tire at around 6000 miles, when going in to Honda dealership for maintenance (rotation tires, oil change) the shop foreman informed me that the tire was bad because my car was now pulling. When stating pulling, it was a major pull, not slight pull. I took car back to tire dealership and they refused to even drive my car, said it was normal to have it pull. Took car to another tire dealership and they replaced tire. Upon going to dealership again for maintenance, the new tire was rotated to front of car again and it was pulling again. Shop foreman insist it is the tire. I bring car back to tire dealership at which time he realizes that the tire is not the right tire. Orders the correct tire and installed it and the car still pulls. Now this is not repeat not a slight pull, but a major pull. If I do not hold the steering wheel to the right I would be in the ditch or other lane upon taking off. The pull is really a hard pull. I have taken the car back to dealership, because tire dealership says its the car, car dealership says its the tire" can someone help" please

- Prairieville, LA, USA

problem #7

Mar 122008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 35,500 miles
Strange/excessive tire wear.

- Blackwater, VA, USA

problem #6

Apr 192008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,591 miles
Noticed excessive vibration while driving the car in the expressway and thought that must be time to rotate tires so I pulled in my garage and noticed both rear tires have bumps and excessive wear while front ones look like new. Current mileage is 31,591 and noticed this been happening and slowly getting worse.

- Breese, IL, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?