Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,679 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Mar 232015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 101,450 miles


Had a flat tire that would not hold air, so attempted to put on the spare tire that was purchased new with the vehicle (by me) at nalley Honda of union city, ga. It was the wrong size spare tire. The lug pattern would not fit. It was a 16" spare instead of the 15" that my car calls for. The dealership would not swap it out for the right size spare tire, even though it was the first time out of my trunk (2007 car, and 2007 date coded spare). Luckily, the flat happened in my driveway instead of my daughter being stranded on the interstate.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #64

Aug 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Rear tires wear bad on the inside.

- Shippensburg , PA, USA

problem #63

May 012013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I have had my vehicle for 2 years now. In that time I have put only 20000 miles on the vehicle. I have had to replace my tires twice already on the vehicle due to uneven wear on the tires. The camber of the tires is affected by the rear control arms. This also caused the rear suspension to wear, which I have already had to replace on the vehicle. When breaking my steering wheel shakes affecting my steering. This is caused by the uneven inner tire wear on this vehicle. I am concerned for the safety on this vehicle and I believe other similar vehicles might have the same issue. It is also become a quite expensive problem for me to have to deal with on this vehicle. To whom it may concern, thank you!

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #62

Dec 212013

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles


2007 Honda Civic. Consumer writes in regards to motor mounts uppers and lowers cracked and replaced twice in two weeks. The consumer stated while driving, she heard a rumbling noise and the steering wheel and dash started shaking. At the time, she didn't know the driver's side rear tire had blown out, until she arrived at the repair shop.

- Panorama City, CA, USA

problem #61

Mar 112013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The tires on my 2007 Honda Civic kept show bad wear and had to rotate every 10,000-15,000 until couldn't do it anymore, bought several sets of tires:: solved the problem buy paying almost $900 to fix the arms on the rear end. Said thing is Honda knew and knows about this problem but wont do a recall... good news is after all my sets of tires and $900 dollars my car is now getting good wear out of the tires.

- Portage, UT, USA

problem #60

Sep 102010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 23,444 miles
My 2007 Honda Civic wear out rear tires extremely fast, causing loud vibrations and safety concerns.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #59

Jul 302012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 68,600 miles


I replaced the original tires on my 2007 Honda Civic at 49,749 miles. I thought this was a little premature, but the tread was getting thin so I went to discount tire on 12-28-2010 and had 4 new tires placed on the vehicle. After less than 19,000 miles on the new tires, the passenger-side rear tire was making a loud noise. The technician at discount tire inspected it and stated that the inside edge of the tire is cupping (or looks choppy) and this is typically due to bad suspension, wheel bearings or alignment. I took the vehicle to tom's auto repair and had it inspected for the wheel bearings and shocks and had a 4 wheel alignment done for $55. They stated the wheel bears and shocks looked fine and that the alignment wasn't that bad. I then took the car back to discount tire and they agreed to replace the passenger-side rear tire for the replacement cost of $13.25. The technician commented that the driver-side rear tire was also starting to show signs of the same wear pattern, I.e. cupping on the inner edge. The tire which they replaced is not available as it was disposed of by discount tire. I researched on-line and found Honda had issued technical service bulletin # 08-001 back on April 11, 2008, with a revision issued on February 5, 2009. From reading numerous on-line consumer comments about this tire issue (which is directly attributable to a Honda design flaw in the vehicle suspension), I get the feeling Honda's fix will not actually fix the problem.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #58

Jul 252011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 57,317 miles
Approximately a week after buying lifetime alignment and 4 new Bridgestone potenza tires in July 2011 at Firestone, el paso, tx, my car started to vibrate in the road while driving at speeds 50mph through 60mph. After many research and diagnosis from Honda parts and service shop, different Firestone locations and local mechanics, the conclusion is that the upper/rear control arms, front and rear camber arm and bolts are defective as per Honda manufacturers. My tires are excessively and unevenly wearing. I have already bought 6 sets of new tires in the last 12 months because of this Honda issue, which they admit it is a defect made by the manufacturers. They released a service bulletin (service bulletin 08-001 dated April 11, 2008) that informs Honda dealer shop of this issue/defect, but they refuse to take responsibility of repairing it free of charge. I believe that it is not fair that customers buying Honda have to pay for defective parts made by the manufacturers. I would like these defect to be solved and paid by them and I would like refund for at least the last set of tires that I recently bought and are already unevenly worn out (this makes it a useless tire). In case it is needed I have all the paper work that can be a clear evidence to this complaint. Like me, there are other Honda owners with the same issue.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #57

Jul 182012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Apparently cannot be aligned properly. I'm replacing 3rd set of tires within 50K miles.

- Lancaster , PA, USA

problem #56

Jun 222012

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving heard loud humming noise and the ride was rough. Brought vehicle to Honda dealership in burlington. They said the tires were badly cupped. Needed to replace tires and get an alignment. Brought vehicle for a second opinion. Mechanic told me Honda had technical bulletin in 2008 for uneven wear in rear tires. The rear camber assembly needed to be replaced. Cost $250. Honda won't pay for it even though they were aware of the problem and never said anything. Add four new tires and wheel alignment and your looking close to $1000. If you don't get it fixed the tires will wear down regardless if you get tire rotations and blow out. Luckily no one has dies from this but this shouldn't be the reason for not having a recall. Look at the blogs, etc. Honda just tells everyone to replace tires and get an alignment. People do and keep coming back to replace tires. Honda has hid from this problem. I haven't replaced my tires but if I listened to Honda I would have replaced tires and been back again in 20,000-30,000 miles to replace tires. I should not have to pay for a serious problem that Honda hid from it's owners. Please help.

- Elon, NC, USA

problem #55

Sep 082009

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,785 miles


Popping noise while turning at 5,268 miles. Replaced two tires at 19,785 miles. Need a front end axle replacement at 31,839. Diagnosed and adjusted torqued rear suspension noise at 60,136. Replaced rear upper control arms 61,275. Replaced shocks, and cv boots at 61,275. Struts were making noise due to cupping. Struts were replaced at 61,275. Two new tires that were recently replaced were replaced again. Both tires were feathered and making noise. Vehicle is maintained in good condition and is following the manufacturer's maintenance recommendation. Car was aligned as required by manufacturer. However, cupping or feathering of the tires still happened. When the rear control arm was not replaced yet, the rear noise was so loud and driving was bad. The tires felt flat and the shock absorber did not seem to be working. It is very hard to deal with both Honda America and kolbe dealer. Both companies tried to play ignorant of the issues although they knew it all along. I spent $1,419.11 for premature expenses. American Honda blamed the premature damages to me. American Honda nor kolbe Honda did not notify me of the technical bulletins that were issued. Also, just because there is a technical bulletin or corrective action does not mean that the problem will go away. Design of the rear upper control arm must be reviewed again and tested for geometry with other parts of the vehicle. Honda America should tightened its quality control and quality assurance so that its manufacturing facility will not release cars that have defective parts. Honda knew very well that the rear upper control arms have design flawed starting with 2002 Honda Civic. Why are they still using this design" is it because they manufactured so much of the wrong parts" the battery, and water pump pulley were replaced, updated 07/16/12

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #54

Feb 162012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Rear tires are cupping and they've become very noisy after 5,000 miles. Problem first noticed: November 2011. The rear tires were always slippery in tight curves at normal speed. Went to route 23 Honda, NJ for a check up on 02/16/12. They blamed my new tires (10000 miles old). Charged me $96.25 for a 4 wheel alignment, no problem found with the rear wheels. I have asked them about service bulletin 08-001 (uneven or rapid rear tire wear) but they did not admit any fault. They've said my car does not need a repair as per sb 08-001 mentioned above. I have contacted (opened account with) american Honda motor co. They did not call back.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #53

Dec 112010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have less than 65,000 miles on my car. It has received regular scheduled maintenance from the Honda dealership. After replacing the 4 original Michelin tires @ 38,000 miles I have had to replace the rear tires 3 additional times. The car has an extremely loud "humming" noise coming from the rear end. It eats up the rear tires quickly, which cause the car to mishandle. Each new set of rear tires wears out more quickly than the previous ones. I just bought the 4th new set of rear tires on 12/18/2011, drove down to the los angeles area from sacramento. When I returned, I went to the tire store where I purchased the new tires, to gage/check out any possible wear that may have occurred on the trip. At less than 1000 miles (850 of these being highway miles), the new rear tires were already down to 8/32. The humming noise is so loud you can not have a normal conversation in the car, or hear a siren for that matter and the steering appears to be/feel loose. I am afraid to drive this car any short/long distance.

- Loomis, CA, USA

problem #52

Dec 052011


  • 42,000 miles
I am now on my 3rd set of tires for the rear of this car. It keeps wearing the inner rear tires until the belt becomes exposed and heat up. There is a danger that if gone unnoticed that one of the tires will rupture causing a blowout and a high speed accident!

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #51

May 312011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 67,825 miles
I replaced the original 2007 tires at 41,887 miles in 2009 with premature wear. Eighteen months later, I had terrible road noise. I thought it was the bearings. It turns out that despite an alignment and proper rotation, my tires were all cupped in less than 26,000 miles. The mechanic mentioned the problem Honda had with the rear upper control arms in this vehicle. I just spent another $218 to get updated rear upper controls arms on top of $800 for new tires and another alignment. Honda is responsible for the poor quality control and not alerting me that this was a problem. The tires I just replaced were good for 85,000 miles.

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #50

Aug 052009


  • 15,000 miles
My 2007 Honda Civic si appears to wear out rear tires faster than front tires. The car is front wheel drive. Rear tires become worn uneven and get bumps on them, this causes my car to shake and vibrate very bad, also makes it hard to drive in the rain. Appears lots of other peopole have had the same problem.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #49

Jul 012011


  • miles
2007 Honda Civic. Consumer states problem with vehicle tires the consumer stated the rear tires had to be replaced three times. The consumer stated it was a known defect as Honda issued a tsb to the dealership describing the problem, but no notification was ever sent to the consumer.

- Willard, MO, USA

problem #48

Feb 052011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Unsafe handling. The rear of the car abnormally "darts" laterally when going over concrete expansion joints, potholes or similar road imperfections. This momentary "darting" - or inability of the rear suspension to track correctly - is more pronounced when cornering, especially at highway speeds. I experienced a spin-out (fortunately, no collision) on a wet road at 45-50mph due to overcorrection for this "darting" condition. In conjunction with poor rear suspension handling, accelerated and excessive inner rear tire wear is experienced. Effectively shortening the lifespan of a 35,000 to 50,000 mile tire by at least half, if not more. It is even more excessive and accelerated if the tires are not rotated. After my spin-out, I started researching 2007 Civic handling / tire-wear on-line and it appears many, many 2006-2007 Civic owners have one or both of these conditions and that Honda is aware, but not willing to recall this unsafe rear upper control arm design/manufacturing flaw.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #47

Sep 022010


  • miles
I also saw there is a tsb recall (Honda tsb 08-001) on the 2007 Civic but not on the si on replacing the rear arms. My 2007 Civic si has the same visible tire wear and tread cupping which would be fixed by the recall but my car is not included. The fix is a simple replacement of the rear chamber arms. I bought this car brand new and had it in on a recall for the 3rd gear. I'd like that same treatment and to be included on the recall to change my rear chamber arms. I'm annoyed that Honda will fix the problem on all the other trim lines but not the Civic si.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #46

Sep 222010

(reported on)

Civic 4-cyl

  • 21,560 miles
2007 Honda Civic. Consumer writes to express discontent with Honda motor co. The consumer stated at 21,560 the original tires on his vehicle were replaced due to extreme uneven wear. The consumer stated his mechanic informed him of a service bulletin that was issued in July 2009 regarding rapid/uneven rear tire wear. The consumer stated he has since purchased his third set of tires for the vehicle.

- Sturgeon Bay, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?