10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,641 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #104

Jan 182017

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms remedy not yet available.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #103

Jan 122017

Civic

  • miles
Takata inflators - we have not received notification from manufacturer for airbag recall and fix

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #102

Jan 112017

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall recall letter in spring 2016 stated replacement parts would become available in late summer/fall of 2016 and a follow up letter would be sent. As of January 2017, no additional information has been sent.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #101

Jan 112017

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall was dated 5/23/2016 to replace the passenger side air bag. I was notified this past summer that the parts were not available but I would be notified late summer/fall of 2016. It is now 1/11/2017 and I have not received a notification from them to replace the air bag. This is not acceptable since I can not have a passenger ride along until this is fixed. I would like this fixed asap or know what kind of compensation can be made. Thank you

- Lincoln, IL, USA

problem #100

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
It sure if it is a takayuki inflators recall - but the notice from Honda indicated that the repair would be available later summer or fall. It is now late December and I have lost the use of my front passenger seat with no update as to when this will be rectified. I have owned 6 Honda and this may be the last. It is pathetic that we cannot even get an update. I want a car where all the seats are usable!!!

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #99

Jun 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall: The dealership is not calling me to replace the passenger side airbag and/or piece that needs replacing. This is our family vehicle and we need the vehicle to travel from tucson, AZ to lodi, ca for the christmas holiday, 2016. It is dangerous to have a passenger in the front seat. It was supposed to be remedied by fall, 2016. I am ready to sue Honda!! I need an immediate fix for the vehicle or a replacement vehicle to use until my vehicle is fixed. Honda is not offering to give me a replacement vehicle!!!! I cannot put a passenger in my vehicle for fear of causing their death if there should be a vehicle accident. What am I supposed to do now? I have contacted Honda, gone repeatedly to safercar.gov, and I am getting no response! help please!

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #98

May 312016

Civic

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side air bag light lights intermittently whether car is stationary or moving. This has been happening over the last 6 months.

- Caddo Mills, TX, USA

problem #97

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Springhill, FL, USA

problem #96

Nov 282016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #95

Sep 102014

Civic

  • 50,000 miles
Takata recall. Yes they are saing they can't do the rcal right now or are waiting for parts as dangerous time is passing. Also this is my second Honda Civic 2007 and 2008 where the cruise control activator button has failed @50,000 miles. Is this not a hazard as a person plays with the broke equipment while driving.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #94

Jun 142016

Civic

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda sent me a safety recall notice on July 2016, of defective airbags that could injure occupant of the front passenger's seat. No further notice received on my end and since then I wasn't able to use the front passenger's seat.

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #93

Jun 152016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #92

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. I received notice of the recall July 2016. The recall call has not been remedied.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #91

Jul 152016

Civic

  • miles
I received a letter from Honda notifying me of a recall on my passenger air bag in July. It is now November and the parts are still not available. This is unacceptable for me to be driving an unsafe car for this long. I have a road trip planned in a couple of weeks and need my car to be safe for it.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #90

Nov 112016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a letter July 2016 about the recall. I called my local dealership, performance kings Honda and was told I was "on the list." I called back today, 11/11/16, and was told that they do not have the part to fix it and wouldn't have it until June 2017. I look on your website and see that all these recalls are being fixed...why is it that performance kings Honda will not have the part in until 2017? that is too long to wait. I have to drive clients as part of my job and am risking the safety of others and myself.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #89

Mar 312016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall we received a recall notice that stated we should not operate the vehicle until it is repaired so now a eight months later are still waiting and have to use the car.

- Dubois, PA, USA

problem #88

Oct 282016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall - this issue has not been resolved in a timely manner. I continue to drive around terrified that I will get in an accident and my airbag will deploy. I should feel safe because of my airbags but instead I feel fear. I kept my car in Florida from 2008-2012 and understand that the heat may make my vehicle more vulnerable. I would like to get this resolved as quickly as possible so that I can feel safe driving my car and having passengers with me. Thank you.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #87

Jun 232016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was invalid. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #86

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) was received in July of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Wentzville, MO, USA

problem #85

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?