Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,691 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Civic brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Nov 292011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 26,526 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle purchased new from a Honda dealership in waukesha wis. On 11-28-2008. One yr. After purchase we noticed the engine would suddenly accelerate, when backing up, braking. The engine would suddenly accelerated for no apparent reason. The driver would need to depress the brake pedal with greater force, and then shift auto. Trans into neutral. We took it back to the dealer 3 separate times, and they indicated they were unable to find the problem. On one occasion per their suggestion we purchased the rubber all weather Honda floor mats at a cost of $110. I doubted this would fix the problem. In November 2011 the same problem was experienced a fourth time in a parking lot. While waiting in a parking lot the engine accelerated suddenly, and more pressure was applied to the brake pedal and shift into neutral. I notified the dealership of the continuing problem. On 11-29-2011 we left the Civic at the dealer, and wayne nicklas the (ahm) would also examine the car with a mechanic. The mileage was 26,526. Mr. Nicklas met with us. He explained how they checked the tire depth, pressure, and the overall condition of the car. I then asked for specifics about the sudden acceleration, and he indicated they were unable to find the problem. According to Mr. Nicklas, there was no abnormal engine code, and it was possible that the problem did not occur long enough for the computer to record it. He denied other similar problems reported with Civics. We found similar consumer complaints filed on web sites with Civics involved in accidents. It was suggested we trade in the vehicle. We felt unsafe in continuing to operate the vehicle. The Honda dealer left us hanging, and offered us no further help with trading in the vehicle. We incurred a substantial loss when we traded in the Civic at another dealership. Research found this is not an isolated issue by any means.

- Big Bend, WI, USA

problem #22

Oct 042011

Civic

  • miles
Front tires make a loud grinding noise and wear down the brakes on both sides of the vehicle. Very dangerous if not taken care of. This problem has happened to all Honda vehicles from 2008 to present. Dealerships are all saying it is normal but the sound the car makes is not. The grinding can be heard from inside and outside the car. The government should look into this problem for the american people since Honda is not willing to make it a safety recall.

- Poplar Grove, IL, USA

problem #21

Oct 082011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Front brake pads wore out at 23,000 miles. Pads wore unevenly.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #20

Jun 252011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 25,448 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Honda Civic hybrid. Consumer states air condition failure and problem with indicator lights the dealer informed the consumer that rodents eating acorns had dropped the shells into the air conditioner intake. The consumer also stated the park and drive light illuminated. The park light was steady, while the drive light blinked on and off. The consumer shut the vehicle off. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, where they determined a rodent had damaged a cable. Also, the trunk failed to open on command, the consumer believed the problem occurred when the vehicle was detailed which caused the protective gasket to lose its protective lubricant. The gasket was lubricated and the trunk lid now opens on command. The consumer stated the rear brakes had to be replaced, the tires were worn and needed to be replaced. Updated 06/26/13

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #19

Jun 012010

Civic

  • 7,000 miles
When the car is shut off, all assist to the brake pedal is lost within 30 minutes. The si models are manual transmissions. When the clutch is depressed to start the engine with normal foot pressure on the brake pedal, the car will roll if on an incline. Very heavy pressure is required to prevent rolling. The dealer agrees the problem exists but says that is how it is designed. I have 30 years of experience with manual transmissions; no other vehicles I have driven exhibit this trait. The risk for pedestrian and property damage in parking areas on an incline seems significant.

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #18

Jun 072011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 28,970 miles
Brake booster, booster hose/check valve failures. Nineteen occurrences of hard brake pedal and low performance of the brake system on 2009 Honda Civic 4 door sedan. The 1st Honda 2009 Civic sedan had the same brake issues as the 2nd one that I own now. I had an accident on June 7, 2011, the car did not brake normally. My problems with the current car started on May 19, 2010. I purchased the car on April 27, 2010. I continually have a hard brake pedal on application of the brakes on the first 3 or 4 applications of the brakes after starting to drive. The dealer continually claims they can find nothing wrong with the brakes and can't duplicate the problem on test drives. An independent Honda garage inspected the brakes 1 week ago and did the Honda booster brake test procedure, they found that the booster hose/check valve assy failed the test. It took them 45 minutes to complete the inspection with the test. I took it to the dealer the same afternoon and they only spent 19 minutes on the clock, having the car for 5 days. The dealer still claimed they could find nothing wrong with the car again. I drove the car the 2 blocks too my truck and the applications of the brakes were all hard pedal, requiring harder pressure on the pedal to stop the car. The next morning the car did the same thing coming down the hill to the freeway. The brakes seem to recover after the 4th application of the brakes. I have continually complained about this to the dealer service dept. They replaced the booster hose/check valve on the 1st car and then just as I was reaching the end of the warranty, they replaced the booster on the car. By that time I was done with the car and traded it in on another one, same model, same year. I figured it couldn't happen with another one. Same thing happened 3 weeks later on this one and so far 19 instances have been logged with dates, time and locations. This info is in the police report and a certified letter of complaint sent to the dealer.

- Empire, CO, USA

problem #17

Mar 212011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 34,189 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After putting 19,111 highway mileage on my 2009 Honda Civic dx, I was told by my Honda dealer that I needed new front brakes. I did as I was told, and purchased my brakes for $226.39. This repair was done in August of 2010. 8 months later at 34,189 miles, I was told that I needed new front brakes again. I was furious and upset, because I recently got my brakes replaced. I made a complain to the store manager, and he was not helpful at all. I ended up paying another $229 to replace the front brakes. I was also told that my front rotors were worn out as a result of my bad brake pads. I did some research to see if other people had problems with their front Honda Civic brakes, and it seems like this has been a recurring problem with 2009 - 2011 Honda Civics. I am afraid of the safety of this vehicles, and something needs to be done before someone gets hurt because of this issue, that Honda is not willing to rectify.

- South River, NJ, USA

problem #16

Dec 282010

Civic

  • 19,916 miles
A rubbing, grinding, metal on metal noise from the front brakes after a little over 19, 916 miles. I had the dealership perform an inspection of the brake system and was told that it was not under warranty. The pads have worn down to the point where metal-to-metal contact is occurring, my vehicle may not be able to stop safely, and damage may occur where the brake rotors or drums need to be replaced.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #15

Dec 092010

Civic

  • 28,085 miles
2009 Honda Civic LX - $28,085 miles. Front driver's inside brake pad worn down to 1 millimeter. I noticed the squealing sound last week and it has progressively gotten worse. The inside piston on the driver caliper is not recovering after brake is applied therefore causing pad to wear out prematurely. This is an ongoing issue with Honda Accord but after researching this, it is an ongoing problem for Honda Civics as well. Honda dealership said brakes/tires are not under warranty so they will not replace them for free or even discount the price and said they were not aware of a problem with the Civic's brakes.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #14

Jul 222010

Civic

  • 12,978 miles
Front brakes were worn down over a very short duration. The car did not have many miles on it, nor had the car been driven erratically, but the brakes needed to be replaced.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 222010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have a 2009 Honda Civic with 24,000 miles on it. Recently we noticed that there is a very high pitched sound when the car is in reverse and you brake. We called the dealer and was told that it was probably brakes. We explained we had a 2004 Civic and didn't have to replace brakes for 113,000 miles and this didn't make sense. Then we went online and found there is a huge problem with Honda's braking system in the 2008-2009 models.

- Lemont, IL, USA

problem #12

Oct 202010

Civic

  • 21,640 miles
Brakes fail on rough or bumpy roads. It feels very unsafe. This happens every time the road is rough, bumpy or is lined as in new paving. The brakes will not stop car appropriately. Today I went 4 feet past the stop sign on a new lined road.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #11

Oct 012010

Civic

  • 10,500 miles
I was backing up and my brakes failed. I had to use the emergency brake to stop the vehicle.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #10

Sep 012010

Civic

  • 23,333 miles
My 2009 Honda Civic LX needed to have the front brake pads replaced (worn to minimum) at 11K miles and now again at 23K. Normal usage, previous 5 vehicles serviced at ~50K miles under same conditions. Appears to be defect in brake pad life time.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 262008

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Civic. While traveling 20 mph, the contact applied the brakes and noticed an abnormal squeaking from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the vehicle was performing as designed. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure persisted. Updated 11/19/10. The dealer stated the rotors were glazed and overheated. The brake pads were replaced and the rotors were resurfaced. Updated 11/24/10

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 242010

Civic

  • 17,000 miles
Honda Civic LX - 17,000 miles. Noise from front when braking. Dealership said that front brakes had to be completely replaced (pads and rotors). Refused to cover under warranty claiming that this was normal wear. Complained to american Honda and was told that this is not under warranty and clearly due to wear. They refused to comment when I asked how 17,000 miles for new front brakes could possibly be considered wear. Miles are all highway driven.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #7

Apr 012010

Civic

  • 6,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Civic. The contact stated that whenever she applied the brakes while driving at approximately 35 mph or less, the vehicle would drive extremely rough as if she were driving on an uneven road surface. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the rear rotors and calipers were damaged. The rear rotors were replaced and the rear calipers were cleaned. Approximately ten days later, the contact noticed the rear rotors were rusting. The vehicle was not taken in to be examined for the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 6,500 and the current mileage was 6,900.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 082010

Civic

  • 17,994 miles
At 17,000 mile service on my 2009 Honda Civic, front brakes had to be replaced. Front right brake was at zero. I paid to have new brake pads installed and called Honda America for explanation and reimbursement. Honda America refuses to take any responsibility. It says 17,00 miles falls within normal wear and tear.

- Laguna Woods, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 102010

Civic

  • 18,002 miles
Loud sound coming from front end, took it in for warranty repair and was told brakes were worn out at 18, xxx miles. I drive mostly highway miles and I argued that it was too early for that to happen and was told it depends on the driver. I have driven 5 cars in my life and the avg brake life was 60-70,000 miles. I am very disappointed I have to do repairs on a 2009 Civic that I purchased with 10 miles on it. I called and complained to corporate and was given the company line. No help!

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #4

May 082010

Civic

  • 15,854 miles
2009 Honda Civic was in for 15,854 oil change (new car) end technician reported brakes were wearing on 2 front brakes and would probably need replacement at 20,000 miles or sooner. Squealing noise at times when brakes applied. This is too soon for brakes to be replaced and have problems on a new car.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?