Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,993 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Oct 232014

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive tire wear coming from both back tires.they both wear from the inside. Had new tires put on car, they both are already wearing on inside. Honda did an alignment when tires were new. These tires were rotated to the front and now I getting excessive roaring sound in the front and vibration when at slower speeds.car also now pulls to the left. Took car back to Honda and they said they find no problems.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #23

Sep 302010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Affected parts on the online form does not list "tires". like many other complaints I detected extreme uneven wear on the rear tires. When I took my vehicle to a tire center the guy said that this is a known issue with this car. He said that there is no recall and that I could go to a Honda service center and have a wedge installed that would prevent this wear. Since this is not a recall item I would have to pay out of pocket. I have not pursued this wedge but in my opinion extreme uneven wear due to a known mechanical issue is a safety problem and there should be a recall to install this wedge at no expense.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #22

Sep 272014

Civic

  • 136,000 miles
I had uneven wear on my tires and had an alignment accomplished by a certified mechanic at Firestone. After several attempt to align the camber on the right back rear tire they were forced to leave it at -1.7...which is.02 out of tolerance. The camber adjustment are is in proper working order but the mechanic says this is a constant problem with 2006-2009 Honda due to the arms design. This is a serious problem that can cause steering, suspension, and tire wear issues.

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #21

Mar 302013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 28,391 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Back on 3/30/13, I had my vehicle in for service, and my tps light was on, as it typically came on for tire pressure. I didn't think anything of it previously, as we would always just add air as needed. However, the tire pressure was lower than usual. So we have been monitoring it more closely. I live in new england and put 4 snow tires on around November and remove them around April. I purchased the 2009 Honda Civic as a left over in Jan 27, 2010. I purchased 4 blizzak snow tire in 1/10, 2 tires in 4/12, 2 more blizzak snow tires in 11/13, as they were worn, 2 more tires in 4/14 and will be purchasing 2 more blizzak snows this winter. I only have 45,244 miles on the vehicle. Recently, I have had an issue requiring the rear tires to be patched. On 5/22/14, the tps light was on, so I went to the garage on my way to work to get some air. On 5/23/14, the light came back on so I stopped again, they looked at the tires and found I had a leak, requiring a patch. In August, the same issue. The light came on, filled with air, only it didn't come back on until 5 days later. Stopped at the garage closer to my office and I needed 2 patches in both rear tires. One of which was patched 6 months ago. The light just came on again last week and while I was filling up with air (the psi was 27 in both rears as they should be 32), there was another Honda Civic behind me with the same issue. Needing airs and already had a patched tire. This is getting really expensive, as well as ridiculous! my father has a heart condition and I don't need to worry about faulty tires if in case of an emergency!

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #20

Jul 032009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 25,970 miles
We have had to replace an incredible number of tires, including michelins, due to very irregular wear and extreme vibration, beginning with our first set of tires in 2009. The rear end has been the worst, where one wouldn't think great tire wear and flat spots etc. Would be normal -- as we are very busy people and live in a rural area, we have just put on new tires, got repeated alignments, and moved on etc. Finally, our local mechanic has finally advised us just a few days ago our problems have been due to the control arm interaction with tires issue from the factory, that have reportedly occurred with this 2009 Honda Civic model (that he would solve with new control arm ass'Y and alignment for $842.29).

- Warrior, AL, USA

problem #19

Dec 172013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
I bought a set of Continental procontact tires 205/55/16 for a Honda Civic. On 12-12-13 and drove to harrisonburg va about 200 miles on 12-17-13. That night the tire pressure indicator lit up since it was late we waited until morning to check the tire at which time it was flat. Embedded in the tire was a wire going from near the wheel along the sidewall toward the tread. It was about 5 inches in length and about 0.125 inches in diameter. Both ends were in the tire and there appeared to be a slice in the sidewall beneath the wire. Went to walmart where the tire was examined, they pulled one end out but the other didn't budge. Had to go to another store for the replacement. They were also not able to pull the wire out. Upon returning home I took the damaged tire to the store it was originally purchased from. They contacted Continental and I received a full refund and the tire was returned to Continental. Upon examination it seemed that the wire was embedded in the tire during manufacture as evidenced by the "slice" in the sidewall from which the wire emerged while driving leading to air loss, the impossibility of pulling the wire from the wheel area and the absence of penetration of the wire on the wheel aspect.. I do have photos of the wire and sidewall and tire interior showing the above. My strong feeling, and that of the original tire shop, was that the wire was molded into the tire during manufacture. The diameter of the wire was much greater than steel mesh wire. Most likely the wire was forced to the surface as a consequence of tire compression during the drive. I almost feel that it was intentionally added to the mold because of the length and position as well as the diameter.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #18

Dec 012012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Road noise becoming louder and louder along with vibrations being transmitted into the cabin. Checking the rear tires, the inner 1 1/2" of tread is much more worn and unevenly so than the balance of the tread. Same problem as I had on a 2006 Honda Civic.

- Nogales, AZ, USA

problem #17

Oct 132011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 13,577 miles
My vehicle was at my mechanics for an oil change. Part of their service is to check the tire pressure. A tire was a little low. Upon placing the air chuck on the valve stem, the valve stem exploded. Potential damage to the car and the person who would be adding air was luckily avoided. Honda had in July 09 (same month we purchased this car) issued a service bulletin concerning using only a shallow air chuck on Civics as they might explode. Honda and the dealership both refused to repair at no charge. Claiming that the mechanic was at fault. Note that the mechanic who was operating the proper air chuck at my repair shop is Honda certified and only used a shallow air chuck. Honda has a printed brochure in their show room that explictly states that a driver must go to a dealership or anywhere that air is available and fill to the proper pressure when the TPMS light comes on. Most air fill places at gas stations have the long handle version of the air chuck, which in the service bulletin is strictly prohibited! not only did Honda refuse to repair at no charge, they also charged us for a front end analysis. $175 because of a known defective part. My wife refused to drive the car on the interstate or to go above 50 mph after that because of the potential of a rock or some other object hitting the valve stem. We had many trips where we had to use my 1990 Jeep instead of the Honda at extra expense. We recently were finally able to get rid of the Honda and purchased a 2013 Hyundai elantra limited. We were not wanting to purchase a new car for at least another two years. The potential for vehicle damage, and even more important to the person putting air in a tire is tremendous. Also, what about a blow out, and then a wreck. All for an inexpensive part. We will never own another Honda if they are so blatantly willing to disregard their own findings.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #16

Mar 032012

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Civic. The vehicle was equipped with Bridgestone turanza EL400 tires, size 205/55/R16. The contact was driving approximately 60 mph and felt a severe vibration accompanied by a whining noise from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that both the rear driver and passenger tires were out of round and exhibited significant cupping. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000. The dot number was 0bt2 PM23208 updated 05/08/12 the consumer had all four tires replaced.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #15

Dec 162009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Car has 58,000K miles on it and replacing tires for the 4th time. The car continues to cause premature wear on tires even when car has a good alignment, tires are kept at correct air pressure level and rotated on a regular basis.

- Hughes Springs, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 252011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 25,448 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Honda Civic hybrid. Consumer states air condition failure and problem with indicator lights the dealer informed the consumer that rodents eating acorns had dropped the shells into the air conditioner intake. The consumer also stated the park and drive light illuminated. The park light was steady, while the drive light blinked on and off. The consumer shut the vehicle off. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, where they determined a rodent had damaged a cable. Also, the trunk failed to open on command, the consumer believed the problem occurred when the vehicle was detailed which caused the protective gasket to lose its protective lubricant. The gasket was lubricated and the trunk lid now opens on command. The consumer stated the rear brakes had to be replaced, the tires were worn and needed to be replaced. Updated 06/26/13

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #13

Jun 142011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 49,729 miles
I have a 2009 Honda Civic. Heard horrible noise coming from tires. Had them rotated to see if that would fix problem. It just got louder so I took it into for diagnostics. Was advised I had cupped tires and needed 4 new tires and an alignment. I replaced all four tires and had alignment done. On the alignment report was advised that the right rear camber and right front camber were out of specs, as well as the rear left camber is just in spec. Phoned Honda told them of issue, was advised they do not repair such a thing and that driving on cupped tires is fine. I called Honda, spoke to was advised it was a maintenance issue and that would do a toe at my expense. I have since learned how much of an issue this is, in fact a class action suit has been filed in the states. I was also advised by that the cupping resulted from the roads in which I live, which I find hard to believe as I live 5 minutes from theplant in. I was advised by my mechanic that the new tires will also cup unless this issue is dealt with. Honda claims to be about safety yet after research I have learned that driving on cupped tires is dangerous as the tires lose grip. Please help me I can't afford new tires every year or a $1,000 repair bill on a car that is less than 2 years old. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Beeton, Ontario Canada, 00, USA

problem #12

May 242011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 20,548 miles
Broken belt with only 20K miles makes the tire susceptible to blow-out and unsafe to drive. Dealer says Bridgestone attributes it to driver striking a hard object. So sad, this is the first broken belt I've had in my 40 years of driving.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 282011

Civic

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Honda Civic in July 2009 - manufactured 11/2008. Rotated tires every 5K mi. At 25K mi - June 2010, informed that tires needed to be replaced. Replaced all four tires with 40K mi rated tires, alignment performed and in Dec 2010 and rear tire were bald - 15K mi tot, 10 K on rear and 5 K on front. Replace these - all 4 - with 60 K mi rated tires and after 5 K mi rear tire were severely cupped. Replaced rear tires with the current front tires and 2 new tires for the front, alignment performed. Ran this set for another 5K mi and again the rear tires were severely cupped - 10 K total 5K on front and 5 K on rear. If there is any precipitation on the roadway what so ever, the rear end tends to lose traction. The mechanic (non-dealer) asked if I carry alot of weight around in the trunk and I said "no, 90% of the time I am the only one in the car". he did say that he had seen other makes of car that would "chew-up" tires quickly. I went home and did a search on the web for "excessive tire wear Honda Civic" and came up with a bunch hits that said there was a tsb for a control arm. I went to the dealer and asked if they have ever heard anyone else complain of excessive tire wear on a Civic and they said "no". so I told them that I found that there was a tsb for control arms on the web and they started researching 2009 Civic tsbs and said that there were none. I said that it seems very strange that many people are complaining about this problem and there are tsbs for 2007 and 2008 models but nothing for 2009 models. Dealer said since there is no tsb for the 2009 and since there are 50K mi on the car the warranty is expired - there is nothing they can do. They did offer to do an alignment for $75, I said "no thanks I'll resolve this by another means" and left.

- Tunkhannock, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 312010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 11,890 miles
Rear tires were making a humming noise while driving. Took car in to dealer and was told that the rear tires were cupped to the point of metal wires showing through. Vehicle only has 11,890 miles on it.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #9

Oct 082010

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Civic. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph and encountered a small obstacle in the road. The contact drove to the side of the road and discovered the rear driver tire was completely flat. The rim was also destroyed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer the where they stated the rim exhibited a three to four inch gash throughout. The rim was replaced. The failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 1/19/2010 updated 01/27/11

- Fisherville, KY, USA

problem #8

Oct 082010

Civic

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased my 2009 Honda Civic on 09/09. I had my tires rotated every 6 to 8K. On my third rotation (at 24000) there was a humming sound occurring at low speeds. Took it to Honda dealer and was told that tires had uneven wear (cupping in a diagonal pattern) and needed new tires. According to dealer it is not Honda?S fault (never is!!!), nothing wrong just normal wear. Unbelievable!!! normal!!! new tires plus alignment $600.

- Ames, IA, USA

problem #7

Aug 092010

Civic

  • 21,200 miles
Purchased a 2009 Honda Civic ex coupe in August 2009. Had all maintenance done at dealer and according to the maintenance minder. When I took my Civic to have tires rotated and oil changed today, they stated that it needed new tires. I only have 21200 miles on the vehicle.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

problem #6

Apr 012010

Civic

  • 12,000 miles
I purchased a new 2009 Honda Civic and at 12,000 the tire belts have slipped.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #5

Feb 232010

Civic

  • 11,016 miles
I purchased my Honda Civic on 12/31/08. On or around the beginning of May 2009, I had my tires rotated at 9532 miles. On May 22, 2009 at 9595 miles, I had them computer balanced and rotated again. There was a thumping noise that was occurring whenever I tried to stop. Had a tire replaced due to unsuccessful repair of flat (at 10,515 miles). At 11,016 miles, I was back at Honda again. Had to have a second tire replaced due to tread wear and warping. Both of these tires had initially been on the rear axle of the car when it was purchased. In July of 2009, at 14652 miles, I had tires rotated again. Two new front tires went to back axle. On 12/22/09, went to have tires rotated and balanced again due to rough riding (mileage 25148). Had to have two new tires (replaced by Honda) replaced again. Tires were on the rear axle, and were worn completely smooth after only ~14,500 miles. Again, on February 23, 2010, went to have tires rotated again (mileage 29834). Back two tires were worn completely smooth again. Goodyear tire company put this quote on my receipt, "no rotation due to tire wear in the rear. Rear tires are at 2/32." On February 25, I took the Honda Civic to the nearest Honda dealer (round rock, tx ~ 58 miles away). Had called ahead and made appointment, telling the service manager what the problem was. He called me at 12:45 and told me that they had put the car on the alignment rack and the car was not out of alignment, and that this was just natural tread wear due to my "driving". after getting home this evening, I began researching the Bridgestone turanza EL400 tires online. There are numerous consumer complaints for the same exact problem that I am having. I find it quite odd that Honda says no one else has complained, but there are so many complaints posted online about these same tires. I find them to be a safety hazard. I have to drive under 55 mph if it is raining. If I do not, my car hydroplanes all over the road. This is a hazard.

- Burnet, TX, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?