10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,762 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

May 232016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - my recall lookup says remedy is not yet available, but the initial estimates say I should expect a recall in late summer/fall of 2016. If a remedy is not available in a timely manner, the lookup says to file a complaint.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #26

Dec 312016

Civic

  • miles
Takata inflator. Honda sent recall notice one year ago but opportunity to repair/remedy is not yet available even though they proposed that it would be by 6-9 months. No incident has occurred.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #25

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall - my complaint is with the amount of time it is taking for parts to become available to repair a Honda Civic I purchased for my daughter and her family. I received a letter in July 2016 indicating that the 'remedy parts needed to conduct passenger frontal airbag inflator recalls will become available in late summer/fall of 2016'. I also was advised I would receive another letter when the parts were available. Until such time as the vehicle is repaired I was advised: "Honda suggests that you avoid having a passenger sit in the front passenger's seat until the recall repair has been performed." As of today, December 30, 2016, I have not received the 2nd letter. It is extremely stressful for a mother to have her child sit in the front passenger seat when she knows this poses a danger. However, when the car is used for a single mom with three children, there are no other options. I feel Honda should compensate families by providing a safe rental car until parts are available to repair the car affected by the recall. Thank you for reading my concern.

- Defuniak Springs, FL, USA

problem #24

Jul 152016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was informed of an airbag recall in July 2016 and was told parts needed would become available in late summer/fall of 2016. It has been 5 months and still no communication from manufacturer and no repair has been made.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Dec 022016

Civic

  • 90,000 miles
I was involved in a crash Friday, 12/2 and neither my airbag or seat belt did what they were supposed to do. I accidentally rear-ended someone on the highway in moderate traffic going approximately 20-25 mph, and my airbag did not deploy, and my seat belt did not lock, which led to me hitting my head on the steering wheel.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #22

Jul 012016

Civic

  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall received recall letter 07/2016 and there is still no remedy available on 10/29/2016. Letter claimed that remedy would be available in the late summer or fall. Letter also advised not to have anybody sit in front passenger seat which is extremely inconvenient.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 152016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received my safety recall letter in July which stated I parts would be available late summer/fall. We proceeded in not allowing someone in our passenger side of our car. We called about the recall and were told the parts were not in. We called again and where told noone had put our name down for them to order the parts. We left our name and we were told they should be in in a week. We called back and the parts were not in and were told they would call as soon as they got them. We are now at the end of October and after several calls we have not been called back or received any more information. We have called again and same answer no parts. We use our vehicle to Transport our children to school. We have not even been offered a free car rental to use until they get it fixed. This issue started in July.

- Pikeville, NC, USA

problem #20

May 242016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #19

Jul 162016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact recieved notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 192016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Went to Honda dealer this week. Asked if there were any recalls since having problems with visors. Honda service rep said none. Found your website mentioning recall with air bags that didn't know about, also complaints (not recall) with visors. Both sun visors have separated at seams, same problem as my 2006 Civic. Unfortunately by the time I heard about recall I had traded my car in. But it's the same problem, the visor will not stay up and this is a safety hazard. The Honda service rep said no recalls. Honda dealer wants me to pay $63 plus tax for a new driver visor (forget replacing passenger visor). It should be recalled since it's the same problem as the past Civic models. Now need to pursue them on air bag recall since I wasn't aware of this and he said there were no recalls when at Honda dealer this week.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jun 202016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Duarte, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 152016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #15

Jul 022016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall I was informed by my friend to check the VIN of my car for a recall on 6/24/16 because he received a noticed about a recall on certain models of Honda vehicles. I searched my VIN on the rick case Honda davie website and found out my car was affected and made an appointment to go in on 7/2/16 12 pm. When I went in to the dealership for my appointment with arnold fernandez, he stated that they do not have the parts and had to order it by each car's VIN. He told me he ordered the part and when it was ready someone from Honda would call me and help me make an appointment for me to bring my car in to fix it. He told me it would probably take 2 weeks. Late July I finally received a letter from Honda informing me about the recall. At this time it had been 3 weeks since the part was supposedly ordered, I called Honda's customer service to see if the part was in yet and they said if I didn't receive a call from them then its not in yet. I asked the customer service rep to check to make sure the part was ordered and she said she could not check and I had to wait for the call. It is now 8/31/16, exactly 60 days from the day I made my first appointment with them on 7/2/16. This issue has not been resolved. I have been driving in a car for 60 days that is unsafe for me and my family.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 252016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Laughlin, NV, USA

problem #12

Jul 202016

Civic

  • 50,000 miles
Takata recall: I am trying to determine whether I need to take my 2011 Honda Civic sedan in to check the air bags and possibly replace them. I thought the most recent recall notices cited the Honda Civic 2011 passenger side airbag as a potential problem. I have not had any accidents or malfunctions so far, but I am very concerned.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #11

May 232016

Civic

  • 63,000 miles
I was stopped at a stop sign at an intersection. A GMC SUV went through the stop sign, at a high rate of speed, across from me, T-boned a Subaru that had the right of way, and then the GMC crashed into my front end. The accident destroyed my front end and moved my car into an angle. Neither my drivers or passengers airbags deployed. It is possible that the accident missed an airbag sensor, but I would be amazed.

- Navesink, NJ, USA

problem #10

Oct 012015

Civic

  • 35,000 miles
My vehicle have trouble with alignment every time I was driving my car not staying in the lane alway turn to left or right even my hands was holding on the wheel also the wheel very light, I was light turning to the lift or right my vehicle almost get of from the road. And also the wheels thru to the asphalts the wheels was very noise it look like the wheels gonna run out,

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #9

Sep 132015

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Civic. While driving approximately 45 mph on a slippery road, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a curb. The air bags did not deploy and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 11/18/15

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #8

Nov 122013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Dashboard indicator light came on for airbag system. Took to a shop and they read to codes to determine that it was a faulty pressure sensor in the passenger seat that is causing the problem.

- Pekin, IN, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?