Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Honda Civic Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 282016

Civic

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Me an my boyfriend almost got into an accident when the engine of our vehicle stopped working in the middle of the highway. Luckily we were able to pull over at the last second when the engine actually stopped. We were still in a dangerous area and I couldn't even describe to aaa where were. Fortunately a tow truck driver was passing by and saw us on the side of the road and stopped to help us. Just to give some back story my boyfriend was reading an article about a recall for the piston ring/clip affecting the engine on the 2016 Honda Civics and we immediately went to our dealership and had the car inspected. We were told that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and that there was not a recall on the vehicle. Later on warning lights in the car started to turn on included the brake and engine light. We had a worker at autozone check the lights with one of their tools and were told the lights may have been turned off in the initial inspection of the vehicle prior to our purchase. We went back twice speaking to the manager and service team and were turned away with a list of all of the lights on in the vehicle with no remedy to fix any of the issues. When we brought up the recall again we were told our car did not fall under it. Because of their negligence I and my boyfriend could ave lost our lives in an accident on the highway. We bought the car May 2016 and the recall was issued February 2016 and was still open at the time of purchase considering the parts to fix the piston problem would not be available until summer. So we were sold a car with an open recall and the issue was not fixed prior to purchase. Now I am stranded without a car because the engine has sustained damage due to this issue. I want my money back and I no longer want this faulty and unsafe vehicle, and I do not trust Honda to fix the issue. We need your help NHTSA!

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #15

Oct 132016

Civic

  • 10,745 miles
Car stalls; with no warning just turns off this happens with no rhyme or reason and has happened multiple times many of which is not documented because it was not taken into a dealer; I could not afford a tow. I have now signed up for aaa and had it towed into a dealer this last occurrence. Documented with dealerships on 5/12/16 car had 396 miles on it; 6/3/16 car had 2722 miles on it; 10/13/16 car had 10745 miles on it and this is the time the service department had it happen to them nine times before it suddenly stopped happening. Happened going 75 mph going down the interstate. Happens when pulling out of a parking lot. Happens driving down a city street. Have contacted Honda Corp (case#05150093) and asked for help but have not had a resolution. The Honda service department has recreated the issue (copy of service ticket attached) then all of a sudden they could not get it to happen again so they told my son to come get it and drive it until it happens again then call them to tow it back in. This car is unsafe and he could lose his life and potentially many others. Please help. I don't want to lose my son or any other life be taken because Honda will not stand behind their product.

- Richburg, SC, USA

problem #14

May 012016

Civic

  • 200 miles
Bought this car brand new off the lot. When car is started, it randomly makes a mechanical grinding noise. It is getting worse with time and beginning to happen more often. I've taken it to Honda multiple times and they have even replaced the starter with no solution. They tell me they have no idea how to fix it and to wait for a recall. Car is beginning to idle high and jerk back and forth while accelerating in traffic.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #13

Sep 232016

Civic

  • 600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During cold start up or warm start up, there is mechanical grinding noise. The grinding noise does not happen constantly but at random, indicating there may be a mechanical malfunction on engine component.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 202016

Civic

  • 320 miles
We bought this care brand new for my daughter from a Honda dealer. Two weeks later while my daughter was driving back home from school at an intersection in our neighborhood, engine went from 15mph to 6mph to zero. Engine completely failed. Later I found out that this model has been recalled for a problem with a piston ring. Honda service is telling us the a new engine will be installed on the car, dont know what to do, none of us in our family feels safe about driving this car, because if she was on the highway going 55mph and this happened, it would be a disastrous situation and we are so thankful that this did not happen. Honda roadside assistant came an towed the car to service department. This car has 320 miles on it.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #11

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
I have a brand new 2016 Civic 1.5T ex-L with 1,000 miles and a cracked engine block. We noticed the engine oil all over our garage. It's been leaking for a while, probably since we got it, but we didn't realize until today that the oil was coming from our brand new car. After our own investigation, we ruled out all of our other cars and took it into dealership today.

- Moorpark, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 112016

Civic

  • 6 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Every since the repair of the recall the engine pulls not even an hour after the pick up the car had to go back in the shop for belt repair. It makes noises as if something is loose. I've called several times to speak with patrick never to get a call back. The care is in motion. The smart connection doesn't work it stop recognizing any device

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #9

Feb 292016

Civic

  • 122 miles
I leased a brand new 2016 Honda Civic on Friday, February 26, 2016 and drove off the lot with 5 miles on the odometer. On Monday, February 29, 2016, my car started to shake, the engine light came on as well as other indicators on the car, I was not able to accelerate or properly operate the vehicle. Fortunately, I was able to pull over and called the dealer who towed the car to the service department. I am being told that it is a low compression problem in the cylinders and that it had to do with the rocker arm not that it is part of this piston problem. However, I do not know what to think at this point. They are keeping my car until Wednesday. I have notified the manufacturer to see if my car was part of the stop sale order. I am concerned because this is a safety issue because I drive my grandchild on a daily basis and do not want to lose engine power and I will have this car for 3 more years.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 092016

Civic

  • 40 miles
I purchased the new car on 11/30/2015. Since then, it has been driven 22 miles. I learned of recall on 2/9/16 on news. I was not contacted by dealer or Honda about it. I contacted dealer on 2/11/16 who in turn contacted Honda. Being a new car with only 22 miles on it (3 trips--the first being the drive home from the dealership), I requested a replacement. I believe this is more than reasonable.. Honda refused. I was advised tools to examine for the problem and repair parts were not available. Since the car can not be fixed at this time, it is a safety liability, and Honda was not willing to do the right thing, I filed a lemon law complaint with the Ohio attorney general. They were of no help with Honda now refusing to refund my money or replace the car. To date ( 2/25/16), I have received no recall paperwork from Honda. They expect to send it out sometime in March. Driving this vehicle presents potential dangerous safety- liability issues for me, my family, passengers and others should it stall, cause an accident or catch fire. I did not buy this new vehicle to drive under these conditions. But since Honda announced the recall and stop sales order on 1/29/2016 until now, this is what I face and who knows how long it will continue. Parts may be available this summer. What are we supposed to do" this is not the new car experience I expected, and I did not buy the car to be injured, to damage the engine, or be held responsible for an accident with my insurance picking up the tab. I am not the only 2016 Civic owner in this situation. Why so long to notify us of this dangerous recall to the engine no less? I see Honda has indemnified itself. What about us and our safety" I want my vehicle replaced or a refund. I did not buy a new vehicle to repair it with only 22 miles on it. This is far from the typical safety recalls we usually see.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 132016

Civic

  • miles
Today I found out that Honda issued a recall of approximately 45,000 model year 2016 Civics in the U.S. and Canada because the engine can stall while the car is in motion. This is due to a piston clip that was not installed or may have been improperly installed into the piston during assembly. I also found out that Honda sent a stop sale notice to all dealers on February 2nd however; my 2016 Civic car was sold to me on February 13th from a Honda dealer located in phoenix, AZ. I did contact the dealer and am taking my car in tomorrow but I read that the part or inspecting instruments won't even be available until the end of March. Not sure if the dealer will even be able to inspect my car tomorrow but I feel very unsafe driving a car that could potentially have a very serious issue. Can't believe Honda is putting lives at risk until the new part and inspecting instrument are available.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jan 292016

Civic

  • 8 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was sold a 2016 Honda Civic on the day (January 29, 2016) that american Honda notified NHTSA of a 'stop-sależ and I am forced to drive a vehicle that may have a potentially life threatening defect until they fix it. Honda was aware of the problem, and I should not have been sold a vehicle with a safety concern as great as engine failure.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #5

Feb 012016

Civic

  • miles
I was sold a Honda Civic two days after the stop sale was issued by Honda. It would seem the dealer is negligent and should be responsible. Honda is going to open these new engines? it would seem the whole car should be recalled.

- York Beach, ME, USA

problem #4

Feb 102016

Civic

  • miles
Took delivery of 2016 Honda Civic 1 1/2 weeks ago. Currently 350 miles. Contacted american Honda today in regards to piston snap ring recall. Currently Honda has no fix for vehicles affected. Would like for Honda to provide alternative transportation until engine can be repaired/replaced or buy the vehicle back since dealers have been forced to stop selling 2016 Civics. I do not feel safe driving brand new car any longer. Every time I start vehicle Honda is putting my life and the lives of everyone else around me in jeopardy!

- Granite Falls, NC, USA

problem #3

Feb 052016

Civic

  • 23 miles
The 2016 Civics with 2.0 liter motors have and been put on a "stop sale" are going to be recalled due to the possibility of engine failure, damage, and even possibility of engine compartment fires due to possibly having faulty piston snap rings. I bought one a week before this "stop sale" and I am apparently going to be forced to drive a vehicle that may have a potentially life threatening defect until they fix it which will not be until this summer according to Honda customer service. I was given a claim number and I have requested a rental from Honda so that I can stop driving the vehicle until they make sure it is safe. "engine failure" on any roads much less a busy highway is dangerous and an obvious major problem, and I am more concerned about what could happen to my toddler if my brand new Honda Civic dies on me or catches fire. Will someone rear end me" will I be stuck in traffic" who knows. I just hope Honda does something for their loyal customers who have already purchased this vehicle, considering it's serious enough that it can not be currently sold by dealerships until fixed..

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #2

Jan 302016

Civic

  • 240 miles
I was sold a brand new 2016 Honda Civic the day after a recall and stop of sale was issued. Now 5 days later I am having issues with the car. I contacted America of Honda and they confirmed my car does have a recall and I provided me with a case number. Can someone please tell me who indeed to talk about this issue with?

- Deale, MD, USA

problem #1

Jan 302016

Civic

  • 1,600 miles
Piston clip ring recall from Honda with no fix until mid-March as told by Honda customer service. Recall not publicly released by Honda at this time. The result of this part failure is engine failure, and/or stalling. It is unsafe to drive this vehicle with such looming and unresolved issues.

- Riverside, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?