Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,732 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Element seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Element:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Element Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Jun 092016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mayville, NY, USA

problem #30

Sep 222016

Element

  • miles
I received notice in late June 2016 regarding the recall, and called at the beginning of July, scheduled an appointment for July 13, 2016. I received a call on the day of the appointment from the dealer saying they did not have the parts to fix the recall. I was told they would call me back when parts were available. I called in August and again on September 22, 2016 and I received the same response. On the recall it suggests for no one to ride in the passenger's seat until the air bag is replaced. I feel that we are approaching 90 days with no resolution is a bit too long.

- Mayfield, KY, USA

problem #29

Sep 132016

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #28

Jun 132016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #27

Jun 142016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall : airbag recall slip, no parts available, steering seems to have issues on drivers front, while in motion, transmission whines, while backing and driving any road style, remote key lock issues, stationary

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #26

Jun 012016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall: I have received a recall notice for this vehicle. I note that the dealer is required to address the issue within 60 days of an appointment date. Our dealership is garcia Honda in albuquerque nm. Over the last two weeks I have tried numerous times to schedule an appointment. When I call I am forwarded to a number which rings, and rings, and rings.... and no one ever picks up. Seems inappropriate to try to get around the 60 day requirement by never allowing someone to schedule an appointment.

- Hillsboro, NM, USA

problem #25

Apr 082016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag light is on and will not go off and I also have a knocking and ticking noise on the front passenger side when turning my steering wheel.

- Garland, NC, USA

problem #24

Mar 232016

Element

  • 180,000 miles
Takata recall. At less than speed limit of 35 mph, vehicle encountered icy conditions on hill, and vehicle rolled approximately 100 feet off of road into gently graded area. Vehicle was able to drive straight out without any significant body damage, yet airbags both deployed upon exiting the road, most likely due to rolling over a small curb before leaving roadway. This was a city street, early in the morning of March 23, 2016, with my licensed and insured 16 year old daughter driving. But for the airbag deployment she would have driven away without incident, but dual deployment resulted in burns to her jacket and right arm and a laceration to her left knee due to her reaction to the unexpected deployment. I believe the airbag initiators were overly sensitive or on a hair trigger. Estimated speed at time of deployment is 25mph or less. Vehicle was previously owned and registered in New Mexico and apparently in storage for a period where it would have been extremely hot and/or humid at times, but at time of incident was owned and registered in North Dakota. Police and insurance reports are pending at this time. Police, insurance and ambulance reports would not even exist but for shock of airbag deployment as there was no impact, no other vehicles involved, and no tickets issued or driving cited.

- Watford City, ND, USA

problem #23

Mar 012016

Element

  • miles
2003 Honda Element. Consumer writes in regards to unsatisfactory customer service at dealership with ignition switch and airbag repairs. The consumer stated the air bag light would come on occasionally. Also, the key would get stuck in the ignition and the vehicle would not start at times when the consumer turned the key in the ignition.

- Wallington, NJ, USA

problem #22

Jan 202016

Element

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. While driving 30 mph, the contact's vehicle struck another vehicle on the driver side. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) a month ago and stated that the vehicle was repaired. The contact sustained three broken ribs and liver damage, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Scottdale, AZ, USA

problem #21

Apr 202015

Element 4-cyl

  • 183,645 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V353000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/18/15 updated 01/11/16. Updated 1/12/2016

- Limor, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 032015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #19

Jun 052013

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp flashed and remained illuminated for an extended period of time. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) months ago and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available.

- Wheat Ridge, CO, USA

problem #18

Feb 152015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 10V364000 (electrical system), 14V351000 (air bags), and 14V700000 (air bags). The parts were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repairs. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #17

Dec 012014

Element 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Just entering the information concerning the slow response to replacing the airbags on my 2003 Honda Element (see VIN above). Car was taken to dealership in February 2015, but dealership cannot get parts to repair the vehicle. Recall numbers: 14V-700 and 14V-351. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #16

Apr 012015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V353000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 172014

Element 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer stated the vehicle has been repaired. Updated 7/6/2015

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #14

Sep 022013

Element

  • miles
Recall for air bag, no parts available. Vechicle not safe to drive ? called Honda about concerns for children in vehicle.

- Gilroy, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 012014

Element

  • 95,000 miles
Air bag warning light turned on.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 012015

Element 4-cyl

  • miles
Honda has failed to fix the two open recalls on my vehicle. I have contacted the dealer multiple times for repair and have been told that the parts were not available. I initially contacted the dealer in early January and was told it would be a few weeks until parts were available. I then called in February and was told it would be mid-March. Again the parts were not available. It has now been nearly 3 months since initial contact and the two recalls have not been corrected.

- Alto, MI, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?