Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,755 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Element seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Element:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Element Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Jul 072016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received passenger airbag inflator recall notice, have called the Suburban Honda dealership - farmington hills, mi every month since July 2016 with no resolution. They say the part is unavailable.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #37

Sep 132016

Element

  • 170,021 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred after the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The dealer confirmed that the air bag warning indicator was illuminated; however, the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 170,021.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #36

May 232016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #35

May 232016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Burgaw, NC, USA

problem #34

May 262016

Element

  • 200,000 miles
Passenger side airbag deployed while I was driving. I was driving about 55-60 on a paved highway. The estimate for repairs is over 3000. Honda took all the info and was supposedly going to get back to me. Many unreturned phone calls later, I have nothing to show for this except a recall notice covering other airbags. Of course at this point, none of my airbags are functioning; thus there is no point in complying with the recall notice. The date below is approximate. The Honda dealer looked at the problem and gave me an estimate on 5-31-16. The mileage on the next page is also approximate. My contact # at Honda is 310-781-5259. Rio graciously gave me his direct line, then did not return any calls.

- Miles, IA, USA

problem #33

Jul 062016

Element

  • 69,776 miles
NHTSA recall 16V-344 the local dealer replaced my front passenger airbag on 07.06.2016. The dashboard warning light for my airbag system has been on since this date. I have emailed the local Honda dealer here in cedar rapids Iowa 10 times with no response from them. I also found 2 screws on my floorboard after their work on my car.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #32

Jul 102016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the part for the repair would be available within a few months. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was unavailable.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #31

Jun 102016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The dealer scheduled an appointment and then provided no explanation as to when the parts would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the parts would be supplied to the dealer from the manufacturer to receive the repair. In addition, the air bag warning light remained illuminated while waiting for the dealer to supply an appointment for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Chestnut Hill, MA, USA

problem #30

Apr 052016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall: I have been on a waiting list for a recalled airbag replacement for several months. Neither the Honda service department nor the Honda general managment will return my calls. Honda's "recall resolution team" has been attempting unsuccessfully to get the Honda dealer to respond to me. The dealership is: Proctor Honda, 2373 w Tennessee St, tallahassee, fl 32304. Tel: (850) 576-5165. As a result of being placed on a waiting list, and then ignored, I have been driving a vehicle that could potentially injure me. It has been more than 2 months. I don't recall the original date I was placed on the waiting list, but it could be 6 months or more.

- Havana, FL, USA

problem #29

Sep 242015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V32000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ramona , CA, USA

problem #28

May 272015

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #27

Jan 122015

Element

  • 110,000 miles
With reference to recall 14V-700, the following was sent to Honda in May. They did call a month later stating that the parts would be in soon and that Honda of bowie would contact me for the repair. Nothing has happened since, it has been seven months since the recall. 3 May 2015 kevin schehr 5522 lake ridge terrace bowie, md 20720 301 801 1353 (M) kevinfschehr@yahoo.com american Honda moror company. Inc. Honda automobile customer service 1919 torrance blvd torrance, ca 90501 310 783 3023 (F) reference: NHTSA recall 14V-700 dear sir/madam: In January of this year I received the aforementioned recall notice. As a result, I called Honda of bowie, md asking if they could accomplish the repair and asked if they had the required parts in stock. They replied affirmative, so an appointment with the service center was scheduled for 6 February. My 2004 Element was delivered to the service center for the air bag (driver and passenger) replacement. They were only able to replace the driver's airbag - turns out that the passenger components were not in stock. I was assured that Honda of bowie would call when they arrived. The service manager informed me that parts were on back order and expected shortly. Beginning in March I have made at least four telephone calls to the parts department asking about the back order and always receive the same response - "should be here shortly". it is now may, five months since the recall was published and still no action on the repair. What do you think? sincerely, kevin schehr

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #26

Apr 012015

Element

  • miles
Re: dot case # 804204 on or about June 5, 2015 I filed the above case number advising your representative that I have been waiting for a replacement of the recalled airbag. I hhave been in contact with hoehn Honda of carlsbad who advised the part was on back order. After filing a complaint I received a call from patricia with America Honda on June 9,2015 approving a loaner until the replacement part was available, case # N032015-06-0500291. On June 9, 2015 I received a message from stacey at hoehn Honda regarding an appt. I returned her call leaving a message advising I would return in two weeks. On June 15, 2015 I received a message from hoehn Honda advising the part was available and to call and schedule an appt. I returned the call on the same day and requested an appt for June 22, 2015. On June 16, 2015 I called hoehn again requested an appt. I spoke with anna who advised the earliest appt would be June 29, 2015. I was.informed the repair would take two hours. I am scheduled for an appt June 29, 2015 for 7:15 am.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 012015

Element 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Honda Element. Consumer writes in regards to airbag inflator recall. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer was informed the part was not available. Updated 07/06/15.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #24

Jun 012015

Element

  • miles
2004 Honda Element. Consumer writes in regards to airbag inflator recall and lack of parts. The consumer referenced recall # 14V351000.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #23

May 262015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. While driving at an unknown speed, another vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained whiplash, cervical strain, neck pains, X-rays, and further medical treatment. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken by the insurance company for body repairs and the air bag failure was not diagnosed. The dealer had not diagnosed the vehicle. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags). The contact received the notification on April 15, 2015, but was unable to schedule the recall repairs within a reasonable timeframe because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Fairhope, AL, USA

problem #22

May 262014

Element

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator was illuminated. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was started. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Belleair, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 152014

Element

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the front driver side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the driver side seat belt switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Gurabo, PR, USA

problem #20

Feb 102015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #19

Feb 112015

Element 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I am complaining because of the time I have been waiting for the recall replacement of the airbag for the passenger. I first called my dealer, space coast Honda, on February 11, 2015. I have called them after 30 days and after 60 days. Then after 60 days I get the second recall letter for the driver airbag. I understand this is a huge recall, but Honda knew about this long before we customers were notified and we should not be warned not to drive the car because it could kill us, when they are doing nothing about it....at least in my case. I am wondering if my dealer is playing favorites. We do not go for regular service, oil changes, etc. After all it is a 2004 car and a walmart oil change is good enough. The car has 100,000 miles on it and we are planning to keep it. My husband is 80 years old and cannot get in the back seat easily (which is what Honda recommends). And then there is the driver air bag...driver cannot sit in the back seat! thank you.

- Cocoa Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?