Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.6

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Element wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Element:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Element Owner Comments

problem #3

Nov 262007

Element

  • 1,056 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I replaced the tires on my new 2008 Honda Element on 10/21/2007 at 869 miles since the tires that the came with the vehicle had poor traction in rain. A month later, the TPMS light came on and I took it to the dealer on 11/26/2007 at 1056 miles. Honda of seattle concluded that the system just needed a reset and proceeded with doing so. Several days later, the TPMS light came on again so I took it to Honda of seattle on 12/05/2007 at 1161 miles. They found that one tire sensor was not sending out a signal so it was replaced. Several weeks later the TPMS sensor came on again so it was taken to Honda of seattle on 01/04/2008 at 1840 miles. This time Honda of seattle replaced another TPMS sensor and the TPMS receiver unit, however the TPMS light was still on. At this time, Honda of seattle concluded that the new tires that were installed (elsewhere) had too much carbon in them thus blocking the signals from TPMS sensors and therefore the problem would not resolve itself until the tires were replaced. Five years later, since I was wanting to replace the tires again, I took it to Honda of seattle to confirm their previous diagnosis that the tires were a problem. Now they stated that the TPMS light was on due to the failure of all four sensors related to water corrosion. They replaced all four sensors on 09/25/2012 at 28206 miles. Shortly thereafter, the TPMS light came on again and Honda of seattle found that one of the new TPMS sensors had failed so they replaced it on 10/03/2012 at 28317 miles. After that, with no light coming for weeks, I felt comfortable that the TPMS problem was finally corrected and replaced all four tires on 10/20/2012 at 28518 miles. However on 11/11/2012 the TPMS light came on again and the car was taken to Honda of seattle on 11/14/2012 at 28691 miles. Two of the new sensors had failed again and were replaced.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #2

Apr 272009

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Element. The contact purchased four new rims and a tire pressure sensor monitor. Last fall, the TPMS icon flashed on the instrument panel, which indicated that the tire pressure sensor was not working. The dealer had to enter a new code into each set of TPMS' to enable the system. Five months later, the dealer changed the tires. After leaving the dealer, the TPMS light flashed again. The contact feels that the dealer is ripping off consumers by charging $50 to enable the code to activate the TPMS. The current mileage was 8,000 and failure mileage was 7,500. Updated 5/27/09 updated 06/01/09.

- Frenchtown, MT, USA

problem #1

Jan 302008

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,056 miles
The TPMS light on my 2008 Honda Element ex will not turn off. It has been this way since November of 2007. After five visits, the Honda dealer concluded that it was the tires and nothing to do with their TPMS. The vehicle only has 2,000 miles on it. At 500 miles I replaced the original tires with Bridgestone dueler alenza's of the same size. It is these tires that Honda is saying is the problem. My response is the TPMS should work with all same size tires!

- Seattle, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?