Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,608 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Fit seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Fit Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Jul 012016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #39

Aug 012016

Fit

  • miles
I was notified in July 2016 of the air bag recall. I called Honda at the end of July/August to request that the airbag defect be fixed. I was told parts would be in in 2-3 days. That was 3 months ago. I needed to drive with a full call and called Honda corporate to get a rental vehicle so as to not put any passengers in danger. They told me they would turn it around in 2-3 days. It took three weeks ot get a call back - nearly two weeks after my trip was completed. It took three months to get an appointment - Honda never called me to inform me despite having called them to ask about it several times.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #38

Oct 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall: Takata recall. I own a 2008 Honda Fit.I was notified of the NHTSA recall campaign number: 16V344000regarding the passenger airbag problem. I have called several local Honda dealers - no one has the parts! what is Honda waiting for, more deaths? I can't put anyone in my passenger seat. It has been over a year - this is taking too long - it is an unreasonable amount of time to wait for repair of a deadly defect.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #37

Oct 252016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall...when are my airbags going to be replaced" why do I have to drive day after day knowing my airbags can explode and kill me? why isn't something being done for my car model which seems to have no replacement in stock" other car models are being repaired but the Honda Fit 2008 is not so far. I want them replaced.

- Pacific Grove, CA, USA

problem #36

Jun 232016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #35

Jul 192016

Fit

  • miles
I called the dealer in anaheim on July 19, 2016 to get the repair needed for my Honda Fit 2008 and was told by marvin that kerry, manager was going to get back to me and to date I have not had a return call. I also called the dealer in santa ana, calfornia on August 23, 2016 and was told that they did not have the part to fix the car. I cant put anybody in the passenger seat because of this problem and it is causing a great inconvenience for me.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #34

Jul 152016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Homewood, IL, USA

problem #33

May 242016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Allchua, FL, USA

problem #32

Jul 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) over 60 days ago. The parts were not available for the repair. The dealer and manufacturer would not offer a loaner vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #31

May 232016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #30

May 242016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Reading, OH, USA

problem #29

Aug 302016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall: We were informed that we were on the recall list in May. I immediately contacted Honda for a loaner, as we are a one-car household. They told me to ride in the backseat, despite the fact that we bought/use this car for hauling large items. Fast forward to almost 3 months later--still no word on where our replacement is, and I'm still riding in the backseat. We've tried calling Honda multiple times--they fill out a customer service ticket and we never hear back. So basically we are unable to use the car in the manner we intended to when we purchased it, and there's no end in sight. I have never been given the run-around like this, and I cannot fathom why we haven't even been called back. I feel tricked and angry. Please help.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #28

Jul 222016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was not available.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #27

Jul 102016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the parts were on back order for three months. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/01/16

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 282016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
As per your recall notice, I too my car to the dealer, [xxx], but turned me back saying no air bag available and they have to reorder. But few days later I received their email saying my work is completed. See their mail here below copied. Dear [xxx], this email is to notify you that the service on your vehicle is completed. Our records show the following information: Year: 2008 make: Honda model: Fit VIN: [xxx] repair order:[xxx] please look into this matter and do the needful to get the job done. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #24

May 232016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bozeman, MT, USA

problem #23

Jan 012016

Fit

  • 85,000 miles
Takata inflator. The car was involved in a single-car, front end collision. The driver-side airbag deployed but did not inflate. Honda currently has a recall only for the passenger side and is not agreeing to repair/replace the defective driver side bag.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #22

May 242016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.....updated 09/19/16

- Somers Point, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jul 202016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Arlington, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?