Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,096 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Fit seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Fit Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Nov 022016

Fit

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: I received a letter from Honda on 3/26/2016 informing me that my airbag was defective and was recalled. The letter stated they would send me another letter soon informing me when I could get it fixed. I never heard back from them, so I called them on 7/18/2016. They said that I could get it fixed by late September at the latest and that I would receive a second letter informing me when I could get it fixed. Now it is 11/2/2016 and I still have not heard anything from Honda. If my car truly has a dangerous airbag that needs to be replaced, I think that more than 7 months is longer than I should have to wait to get it fixed. I want them to fix my airbag as soon as possible.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #45

May 272016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #44

Aug 272016

Fit

  • miles
I received two notices of the airbag recall for my Honda Fit (2011) and the part was supposed to be available by late summer/fall. I made an appointment online for 8/27/16 only to find out when I got there that my local Honda dealership (Honda of oakland) still did not have the part even though I was able to make an appointment online specifically for the recall. It's been over 90 days and I still have yet to receive notice from my local dealership regarding this recall. Please remedy this situation as soon as possible. I have never had to wait so long (over 4 months) for the part to come for a recall, especially when it involves life/death.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #43

Oct 212016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact inquired about part availability for NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had a case open with Honda. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #42

Aug 292016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The dealer was contacted to schedule the recall repairs, but indicated that the parts were on a national backorder. The contact was placed and received no response from the dealer for over sixty days. The contact was uncertain of when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was unable to provide a reasonable time frame to supply the parts to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #41

Jul 152016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Signal Hill, CA, USA

problem #40

Oct 062016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #39

Jul 232016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #38

Jul 112016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was not available.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #37

Mar 152016

Fit

  • miles
Takata inflators. I received a recall notice in March 2016, and within a day or two contacted my local Honda dealer, mc grath Honda, located at 1411 E main street in St charles, il. They supposedly put me on a waiting list. I have called them 3 times, and even stopped by once to inquire on the status O my vehicle. They have never called me back. Even on my drop by visit, I was not given an answer, just told someone would call me back the next day...did not happen. I have now been waiting over 180 days to get the repair. I have even contacted the Honda dealer schaumburg, il, but have had no better luck with them. If this is such a safety concern, maybe they should concentrate on fixing the cars that are already on the road. Help me get my car fixed. I rely on it to take my handicapped mother to her doctor's appointments in Chicago.

- Campton Hills, IL, USA

problem #36

Mar 182016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #35

Sep 162016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall it has been over 60 days since first contacting my Honda dealership (automation Honda of valencia) for a repair appointment. They have neither remedied the defect in my vehicle, nor made any attempt to assure my safety of my family. Multiple attempts to call to speak with someone to try and resolve the situation have been in vain.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #34

Mar 012016

Fit

  • 24,300 miles
Takata recall - NHTSA recall 16V-061 - notice sent from Honda automobile division, american Honda motor company, Inc. Regarding safety hazard with front air bag inflator March 2016; we called dch Honda of temecula (dealer) for remedy April 2016 - they are waiting for parts; called Honda 7/13/2016 - they are ordering passenger airbag - driver side is separate - we are in queue; called Honda 9/15/2016 - they are still waiting for parts; we are driving a vehicle that is defective and a safety hazard and need it remedied. Is the Honda dealership obligated to give us a loaner vehicle while we are waiting?

- Bonsall, CA, USA

problem #33

May 012016

Fit

  • 75,000 miles
I brought my car in to be repaired and they notified me that it would be an extended time that my car would be out. I explained that I drive uber and that was my main form of income, when I couldn't drive a regular enterprise, I spoke to Honda and did the second option of paying for it upfront and being reimbursed 6-8 weeks after I filed my receipts. This was going on in April-may and it is now September. I am out $1200 and do not know how to get them to reimburse me my money. They have been dragging their feet always requesting more information and wanting more and needing me to explain. This is absolutely ridiculous and I want to take legal action. So tired of being stepped on by the big guy.

- Castaic, CA, USA

problem #32

Jan 012011

Fit

  • 0 miles
I received a letter that I would receive a notice to replace the air bag this summer

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #31

Sep 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to recall parts available to customers with rental vehicles before other customers.

- Mint Hill, NC, USA

problem #30

May 232016

Fit 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Takata inflators. I have called ocean Honda many time to schedule this recall. Service dept. Said parts on order and would be process per vehicle owners requesting repair. I called initially in April 2016 to get in queue; I call back in June 2016 and they said I hadn't called before. Ventura, ca is a high humidity location and thus should be one of the first to get repairs. I've called multiple time since and still "no parts." My daughter drives this car with this potentially lethal flaw. I request NHTSA do something to speed up remediation and assess stiff fines for lack of compliance. Thank you.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #29

May 062016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall dealer ordered replacement airbags in early May. Still not available.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #28

Jul 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V3460000 (air bags) was received in July of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #27

Aug 232016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Washington, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?