Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Fit seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Fit Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Mar 152016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received notification from Honda in March, 2016 stating that replacement parts 'will become available in the summer of 2016' and that I would receive an additional letter from Honda. I've never received another letter. Since I live near the coast I am concerned about the higher humidity causing problems with the inflator. It has been 6 months without resolution. This is unacceptable.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #52

Sep 262016

Fit

  • miles
In March 2016 Honda promised that the parts would be available in summer 2016 and Honda would notify me. It is now almost October 2016 and the parts are still not available.

- Sammamish, WA, USA

problem #51

Sep 262016

Fit

  • 18,200 miles
Takata recall: I received a letter in March 2016 that this defect could potentially kill or hurt me and my passengers. I've called the dealership on at least 3 different occasions and told the part would be in soon. I called again today, more than 6 months after getting the letter, and sat on hold from more than 15 minutes waiting for an answer about my part, stating again my safety concerns. I finally gave up and called Honda national and was told that this was such a massive recall, getting the parts is slow. So in the meantime, I drive a car that puts me and my family at risk. Today, for the first time, I was told I could get an alternative car to drive in the interim. Better, but still not comforting to know my car is not only defective, but getting a resolution is proving to be problematic and potentially dangerous to my family. My concerns are: 1. why does it take this long" that seems completely unacceptable when potential death is involved. 2. why didn't my dealership offer a car earlier for my safety? 3. why am I on hold for 15 minutes with a dealership inquiring about my part with no answer? it shouldn't be this difficult. 4. my car was barely two years old when this happened, why couldn't I have just been given a new car to replace this defective one since it's such a safety concern" this situation really makes my car a lemon!

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #50

Mar 292016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #49

Apr 012013

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 152016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The parts needed for the recall remedy were unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #47

Sep 092016

Fit

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda has not taken corrective action regarding the air bag recall on my vehicle.

- Sugarland, TX, USA

problem #46

Mar 192016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #45

Jun 142016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall notice received from Honda in March, 2016. I ordered the airbag recall repair from gary smith Honda in fort walton beach, fl on June 14, 2016. It has been almost 90 days and they still do not know when the order might be received. My notice says I can file a complaint with NHTSA. I am hoping this will work. Or do I have to write a letter on paper and snail mail it?

- Santa Rosa Beach, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 142016

Fit 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/17/16 the consumer stated its been over a year, since he received the recall. Updated 11/22/16.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #43

Sep 012016

Fit 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair recall notice.

- Destin, FL, USA

problem #42

Sep 012016

Fit

  • miles
I received an important safety recall notice in March of 2016 saying that the airbags were potentially defective. It says that "the remedy parts needed to conduct driver's airbag inflator recalls will become available in the summer of 2016." At that time I will receive another letter telling me to contact the dealer. The summer is quickly waning to a close so yesterday I went to the dealer in person (jl freed in montgomeryville, pa) and was told that they are still months behind, that some people have had to leave their cars there for 3 months. I do not see this as an acceptable situation and think Honda should take this car back now without penalty. They clearly cannot rectify the problem in a timely manner. My wife does not feel safe driving this car. We have been patient, but Honda is not living up to its promise. I do not think we should have to wait until an incident happens to get a safe car, nor do I want to be sending photos as a widower. Thanks in advance for your attention to this matter.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #41

Mar 012016

Fit

  • miles
2013 Honda Fit. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts or remedy still not available to repair vehicle defect.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #40

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. Despite a recall in February, six months later apparently parts are not available, and more to the point no loaner cars have been or are yet available, either from my now-local dealer (yonkers Honda, 2000 central park ave, yonkers, NY 10710). When I checked last in June they said parts would be coming in the summer, but still no parts. I am very nervous driving a car that could cause my death in a crash, and don't understand why Honda has made loaner car available to some people, but not others (like me).

- New York, NY, USA

problem #39

Mar 142016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #38

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Greenfield, MA, USA

problem #37

Aug 222016

Fit

  • 13,000 miles
Takata recall purchased new to haul working dogs and outfitted with protective covers etc in order to do so. Received the safety recall for driver's airbag on March 9th and made first dealer contact in March 2016.. due to the vehicle use, Honda dealer never provided a rental car. In mid-August I made additional contact with corporate and dealer to no avail. I then traded off the vehicle at a loss due to the feet dragging by Honda. They provided an unsafe car and failed to offer me a remedy. The dealer did offer to sell me another car at normal pricing and offered a low trade in value since they stated they could not resell my unsafe car until a repair is made. Entire dealing was very unacceptable. Faulty product with failed remedy. Never another Honda. Never lost so much money but they have no fix currently for the drivers air bag. I was honest with the dealer stating I almost was in a wreck and enough is enough..this product is defective and Honda failed to remedy it. I feel legal action against Honda is appropriate. Vehicle had 13,000 miles on it when traded for different vehicle at significant loss. My choice, but my safety also matters at least to me.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #36

Aug 222016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #35

Mar 232016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V06100 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/27/16

- Yellow Spring, WV, USA

problem #34

Aug 062016

Fit

  • 17,400 miles
Takata recall: It has been more than 60 days since I requested my new airbag inflator. I have not been given a date to expect replacement of my faulty airbag inflator. I asked to be let out of my lease due to this issue. I was given an appraisal on my car that would let me out after 2 more paymetns. I made those two payments. Then I was given a new appraisal saying I would have to give the dealer [Honda of seattle] $2700 to get out of my lease. I am frustrated with the double speak of the dealership. I am frustrated with the lack of information about when to expect a replacement airbag inflator. I am frustrated at the breach of trust at work here. This was a known problem, but was kept from me for 2 years of my lease, and now I am expected to pay more because of the manufacturer's error.

- Seattle, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?