1.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
115,432 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Odyssey drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

May 132008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 56,675 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission first failed while my wife was driving on the freeway with my 4 children as passengers. The car started shifting irradically and becoming very unpredictable and put her in a very dangerous situation in traffic. Honda replaced the failed transmission under warranty but did nothing to prevent what was to come. Now on 2/25/12 at 108622 miles, the second transmission failed again while she was driving it started shifting to a neutral state between gears and jumping from one gear to another and emitting a loud whining noise. Again, a very unpredictable behavior on the road with my children in the car. This time there is hassle coming from Honda to honor a replacement. I also fear that the replacement won't be performed with a corrected unit as per my previous experience. This is an unacceptable safety issue knowing that this vehicle could fail at any time on the road.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #52

Feb 212012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The transmission began slipping between the 2nd and 3rd gears. The vehicle would slowly move forward with very little apparent thrust then would suddenly "kick" into the next gear and lurch forward, then slowly move into the next gear. Also the tcs light came on and stayed on and the green drive (D) indicator began to flash. This problem is primarily with the drive gear and not so much the reverse gear. The check engine light came on two weeks ago and has remained on. An obd code reader on 22 Feb 2012 indicated 3 different fault codes -2 generic and 1 manufacturer- with the majority of explanations indicating specific transmission faults and one- a tcc code -electrical.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #51

Mar 252003

Odyssey

  • 43,865 miles
While driving back from vacation in nashville, tn on I-65N the transmission began slipping and the vehicle began to slow down rapidly. The particular area in nashville did not have much of a shoulder to pull off on. My family and I were very fortunate to find an off ramp soon and exit the interstate. I found a Honda dealer in nashville and was told I would have to wait three days to wait for any kind of service. We were able to make it home to indianapolis. The transmission had to be replaced. This has happened at 43,865 miles, 85,069 miles, and just recently at 152,000 miles.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #50

Feb 062012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 143,169 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failure @ 143,169 miles on 2001 Honda, Odyssey ex van. Transmission had all required maintenance performed on the unit prior to failure. I believe this transmission was defective due to a poor manufacturing design. Honda wouldn't do anything regarding this problem due to being out of warranty even though they had extended the warranty on these transmissions because they knew there was a defect with these units. A transmission properly taken care of should last a minimum of 200,000 miles not any less and many A/T go to 300,000 miles without any problems. This transmission problem could have been life threatening if the transmission had gone out on a major interstate at high speeds.

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #49

Dec 092009

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 96,789 miles
** not buy a Honda**** purchased a Honda Odyssey on 9.22.09, had nothing but problems with the transmission a week later, trusted Honda dealer to fix the problem, problem still exists, still having problems with the transmission, its been costing me time, more time, money, aggrevation, quality of life, Honda just dont care.they cant build transmissions but they are allowed to sell cars in America!!! when will somebody do something about this!! I never owned a care like this ever!! they just cant build transmissions !!

- Mt.Vernon, NY, USA

problem #48

Feb 022012

Odyssey

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Odyssey. The contact was driving 60 mph when the transmission failed and caused the vehicle to stall. Smoke was released from the engine and the contact called the fire department in case of a fire. The contact also called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The vehicle was neither diagnosed fro the failure nor repaired. The failure mileage was 145,000.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #47

Jan 232012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 99,860 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the original owner of a 2001 Honda Odyssey. In October, 2007, the transmission failed at 99,860 miles. The vehicle was brought to the dealership of purchase, where I was informed that the transmission needed to be replaced at a cost of approximately $4500. I gave the dealership acknowledgement to proceed with the work.the next day I was informed by a private mechanic that american Honda had entered into a court settlement which recognized the deficient transmission design and that my vehicle should be covered under the settlement. I contacted the dealer and they registered no knowledge of such a settlement. Upon my insistence they agreed to check with american Honda. My claim was substantiated and I received a replacement transmission at no cost. Unbeknownst to me, the replacement transmission contained the same design faults and failed this week with 57,000 miles recorded. The dealer and american Honda has refused to compensate me for a second replacement transmission in spite of their awareness of continuous design flaws which continue to lead to inevitable transmission failure. I believe that Honda should acknowledge that the continuous transmission failures are due to a design and manufacturing defect and take full responsibility for its replacement. To do otherwise would represent a total lack of concern for complete customer safety and protection, particularly considering the extended period of the known defect and safety hazard of a transmission failure.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #46

Jul 222008

Odyssey 6-cyl Diesel

  • 73,900 miles
1st transmission failure of my 2001 Odyssey came at 73,900 miles. Got warranted new transmission. At 84,000 miles 3rd gear pressure related to transmission had to be fixed. Not warranted. At 107,443 internal failure of transmission. Full replacement required. Service manager said that second transmission was out of warranty but agreed to charge me 50% of the $4800 dollar cost so I ended up having to pay $2410.35. Imagine, there have been numerous Odyssey transmission failures especially from my research, for the years 1999-2002. Many Honda Odyssey owners, including myself had to replace multiple Odyssey transmissions. Imagine I have only gone 107,443 miles and I'm on my third transmission. Honda has to know there was a design flaw etc., in those transmissions, but didn't recall them as they should have. I think there should be a recall of the Odyssey transmissions for the years 1999-2002. I shouldn't even have had to pay half the cost of my third latest Odyssey transmission. Honda has gotten away with murder. At least Toyota recalled the many cars that seem to be defective. Honda should be doing the same thing for its Odyssey customers.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #45

Jan 202012

Odyssey

  • 151,000 miles
Transmission failed unexpectedly while in traffic. This failed transmission was a replacement for a transmission that had already been replaced. Unusual to have 2 transmission failures in 150,000 miles.

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #44

Jan 022012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 80,726 miles
2001 Honda Odyssey transmission failed March 19, 2007 at 80,726 miles for the first time. Replaced by Honda under class-action lawsuit warranty. The replacement unit failed at 137,084 miles on January 02, 2012. Thus the warranty replacement unit lasted only 56,358 miles which is substantially less than the original unit. Called Honda January 05, 2012 and asked if they could pay for the transmission and I'd pay for the labor and shop supplies. Honda rejected the request and said they were unable to assist. Not sure it was it was ever the intention of the court in finalizing the class action law suit that failure of the replacement units would follow in such short order. It's unreasonable to expect that a warranty replacement unit should last less that the 109,000 miles the court agreed to. Honda customer care reference number[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 122006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission started slipping at 116,000 miles. David hobbs dealer (milwaukee) could not duplicate. Complete failure at 178,000 miles. Rebuilt at my cost of $1900. Failed again. At 231,000, rebuilt again. At 237,500 miles slipping again on 1/3/12. Honda should have acknowledged problem and provided a free replacement trans at original start of problem.

- Mccordsville , IN, USA

problem #42

Apr 022009

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 117,087 miles
2nd incident occurred 2 years and 8 months later. Same problem, a bad transmission at 172,868. 55,781 miles on 2nd transmission which was replaced by the dealer. Not covered because of 3yr/36K warranty.

- Efland, NC, USA

problem #41

Dec 282011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 262,000 miles
Transmission started slipping and engaging violently.

- Burtonsville, MD, USA

problem #40

Oct 042010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 215,000 miles
Transmission failed during a trip.

- Burtonsville, MD, USA

problem #39

Oct 142005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Transmission started slipping and engaging violently and finally didn't work.

- Burtonsville, MD, USA

problem #38

Oct 132011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 98,215 miles
Transmission would not shift into second gear.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

problem #37

Dec 102011

Odyssey

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Odyssey. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph and trying to accelerate, the vehicle would not respond. The contact was able to coast to the side of the highway and the vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer advised that the transmission would need replacing. The contact stated that the transmission was previously replaced at 70,000 miles. Less than 31,000 miles later, the vehicle would need a second transmission replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 128,000.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #36

Dec 052011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
Transmission failure, Honda has a history of failures of this kind with the 2001 Odyssey. Item should be recalled at the expense of the manufacturer.

- Calhoun, LA, USA

problem #35

Dec 132011

Odyssey

  • 143,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Odyssey. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when the vehicle jumped out of gear and decelerated until coming to a stop. The contact was unable to shift into any gear. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where they advised the contact that the transmission failed. The vehicle was previously been repaired under a manufacturer's safety recall for the transmission. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure and the current mileages were approximately 143,000.

- Dyer, TN, USA

problem #34

Dec 132011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
While driving down the road the transmission went out. Without any warning besides that morning it had a problem shifting into 2 gear. The vehicle had a new transmission put in 70,000 miles prior to this happening. But, it was very dangerous, just driving down the highway and it jerking down to 0mph and not even being able to get it to move off the highway, wouldn't go into any gear.

- Dyer, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?