Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 10 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #286

Nov 062007

Odyssey

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Odyssey with 39,000 miles: Transmission slips and disengages between 1st-2nd and 2nd-3rd gear shifts. Took van to dealer to have transmission recall update performed. Dealer was able to duplicate trans shift problem(s) exactly. They contacted american Honda to see what they wanted to do with the trans. Dealer performed the oil-jet re-call work and changed the trans fluid, that's it. (evidentially, am Honda said no to warranty replacement). I received a call from the dealer that the van was ready for pick-up. On the way home from the dealer the trans slipped between 2nd-3rd gear. I called the dealer to tell them that the problem was still present. They told me I would have to bring the van back and duplicate the problem for them!!! what, they got the trans to fail when it was in their hands and then let me go with a known trans problem. It's apparent through their actions that Honda is doing what's best for Honda, not the customer and their safety. After all, this was a safety recall. I started to sense there was some sort of issue going on with the transmissions. So I hit the web to do some research and found out all about the trans failures Honda vehicles were having (civics, Accord, Odyssey, Pilot). Honda extended the trans warranty to 7yrs 100K mi on the '99-'01 Odyssey's resulting from a class action suit. This did not include the '02-'03 odys. Honda should have included the '02-'03 odys, but that would have been the "right thing to do". I understand the trans problem was "fixed" for the new-body style '04 Odyssey. So basically the '02-'03 ody owners are pretty much on their own to battle with am Honda $$ to get a remanufactured transmission to replace the original transmission which is known to have "heat build-up" problems and fail. Even the recall notice states there is a heat related problem. I can't believe the trans failed at 40K mi and I paid for it!. money does matter, but it's the point that Honda is not standing faithfully behind their product.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #285

Apr 052009

Odyssey

  • 87,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey- engine light came on at 86,000 miles. There is a harsh jerk when shifting gears and problem accelerating with high RPM. This problem has been going on for about two years. The car was taken to the dealer and they said nothing was wrong before. On April 7, 2009 at 87,000 miles the dealer said the transmission is slipping and needs to be replaced. Frequently the car does not accelerate and the engines rev up. This is hazardous potential on the roadways. The Honda dealer has contacted american Honda and they offered to pay for 50% of cost which is $1700.

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #284

Apr 072009

(reported on)

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey had a recall for transmission problem. Consumer states that this is the second transmission failure. The consumer stated the transmission seized.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #283

Apr 012009

Odyssey

  • 103,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda Odyssey with transmission problem at 103500 miles, gear slip, rough up and down shift, also whisper nose from bearing.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #282

Mar 272009

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the transmission was slipping in his vehicle. Honda recommended that they repair the vehicle. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle downshifted without warning. The contact pulled over and turned off the vehicle. Once it was restarted, the service engine indicator illuminated after the vehicle had been operating normally. The dealer stated that the vehicle was still safe to drive. The failure lasted for only 40 seconds and then the vehicle would operate normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the transmission needed to be replaced due to an incorrect gear issue. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The repair would cost $4,000. The failure and current mileages were 112,000. Updated 08/04/09 updated 08/05/09.

- Toledo , OH, USA

problem #281

Mar 252009

Odyssey

  • 98,011 miles
I own a 2002 Odyssey Honda that has 98000 miles on it. The transmission has failed and I think Honda motor company should take responsibility for this. This car has not pulled any extra weight.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #280

Mar 082009

Odyssey

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission on my 2002 Honda Odyssey completely failed for the second time on Sunday 3/7/09. The mileage on the van at the time was approx. 112,000. Fortunately, no one was injured. I was able to drive the van, albeit slowly, to a nearby Honda dealer, gustman of appleton, wi., where I left it. This is the second time this odyessey's transmission has failed to the point were a complete replacement was necessary. On or about 6/17/05 at 56,427 miles the original transmission was replaced by lakeland Honda in sheboygan, wi. Presently, Honda of America will only cover 55% of the total repair bill at gustman in appleton. And, besides the new or remanufactured transmission Honda is requiring that the odyessey's $800 computer also be replaced. The total cost is expected to run about $4,300. Subtracting Honda's 55% leaves me with a bill of at least $2,365. I am concerned that should this 3rd transmission fail an accident may result and someone could get injured. So far I have been lucky. In my view Honda of America is not concerned about the owners of their vehicles.

- Manitowoc, WI, USA

problem #279

Mar 132009

Odyssey

  • 88,000 miles
Transmission not shifting gears. Intermittent failure. New transmission required on 2002 88,000mi Honda Odyssey.

- Highland, UT, USA

problem #278

Mar 182009

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
I own a 2002 Odyssey Honda that has only 50000 miles on it. The transmission has failed and I think Honda motor company should take responsibility for this. I paid top dollar for this car expecting it to go much farther than 50000 miles before its dead. I have no hitch. This car has not pulled any extra weight.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #277

Mar 012009

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the transmission felt as if it were slipping. The vehicle would occasionally fail to shift into gear and would also jerk when shifting. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission), but the dealer stated that it would cost $4,500 to repair because the recall only pertained to vehicles up to the year 2000. The failure and current mileages were less than 84,500. Updated 5/5/09 updated 05/06/09.

- Dalton Garden, ID, USA

problem #276

Feb 142009

Odyssey

  • 108,683 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle is a 2002 Honda Odyssey ex-L. the vehicle was subject to a recall for its automatic transmission (NHTSA campaign id number: 04V176000). Recall service was performed for my vehicle by replacement of the original transmission in 2005. I had not noticed any significant changes in performance since I purchased the vehicle in 2006 that alerted me to any new problems with the transmission. When the incident occurred, I was driving the vehicle on the interstate at 62 mph. Spouse and four young children were passengers. Without warning, a loud "clunk" was audible from the engine and the vehicle lurched, after which the transmission completely locked, the front wheels quit turning, and the vehicle skidded to a stop within around 100 yards or less from the initial point of failure. The front tires were smoking and nearly burning when the vehicle came to rest, having been worn down to the belts despite them being only about one year old. It was later determined by the dealer that when the transmission locked, it also caused the engine block to crack, the shift cable snapped, and the right axle was broken into two pieces. American Honda agreed to install a remanufactured transmission, a salvage engine, new right and left axle assemblies, and new front tires. The dealer was instructed to send the transmission back to Honda. I was able to maintain only very limited control of the vehicle when the front wheels locked, and it is remarkable that there was no crash, injuries, or fatalities considering that this occurred at highway speeds in a narrow urban construction zone with moderate traffic. At least two other vehicles avoided hitting mine from behind only by quickly braking and swerving into the adjacent lane. This is a well-known defect for this transmission that has not been corrected by the recall. Many owners are on their 3rd or more transmissions, and I have seen reports of similar incidents (lockups at high speeds) to mine.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #275

Nov 152008

Odyssey

  • 135,000 miles
2002 Odyssey, purchased new. Transmission failure at 135,000. When shifting from 2nd to 3rd, it slips into "neutral" and will not re-engage. I've read about many failure of the same type. Dealer will not help cover costs and said 135,00 is "pretty good" for the life of this tranny and then requested $4000 to have it rebuilt. So much for Honda quality.

- Taylor Mill, KY, USA

problem #274

Dec 042008

Odyssey

  • 98,000 miles
Honda Odyssey 2002 NHTSA campaign id: 04V176000 vehicle automatic transmission is "popping" out of gear while driving. When this happens there is a low whirring and grinding sound. This transmission was part of a recall mentioned above. Upon inspection by Honda dealer, conclusion is that transmission must be replaced. American Honda is refusing to pay for replacement transmission. Please advise as to what my options are regarding legal recourse. I am afraid that this is a serious safety issue.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #273

Feb 282009

Odyssey

  • 71,500 miles
No unusual events led to the failure. The vehicle was being driven in Suburban traffic, mostly at highway speeds, with the occasional stoplight. The failure is that the automatic transmission fails to shift, or shifts with a lurch or a shudder, generally in the higher gears. It also occasionally fails to shift into reverse and requires several movements of the shift lever. The dealer has stated that the transmission has failed, and is a known defect of this year transmission and vehicle. The transmission has not yet been repaired.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #272

Feb 202009

Odyssey

  • 104,260 miles
Complete transmission failure on a 2002 Honda Odyssey. This occurred imo because Honda has failed to properly handle the quality issues with their transmission. This stranded my wife and children, and could have been very dangerous had this been on the interstate or in heavy traffic.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #271

Feb 272009

Odyssey

  • 127,500 miles
Transmission disengages/slips on numerous occasions.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #270

Feb 252009

Odyssey

  • 58,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey transmission-on going problems with transmission slipping. Dealer has done all service work and recalls issued to date and transmission still is not operating properly for a well maintained 2002 Odyssey with only 58,000 miles. The transmission is a safety hazard. When backing it into the driveway yesterday, the transmission slipped and the van would not move. The dealer wants $4,000 to replace?

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #269

Feb 192009

Odyssey

  • 106,000 miles
When putting car in reverse, will not go forward for several seconds after the car has been put into drive. Transmission problem. Honda covered this problem for 99-01 Odyssey's but not 2002. Problem obviously was not corrected prior to 2002.

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #268

Nov 202008

Odyssey

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact received a recall notice in 2004 for NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission). An authorized dealer performed the recall repair. On a separate occasion, while driving less than 60 mph and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle would not shift gears. The RPM indicator shifted from 2,000 to 4,000; however, the vehicle would not accelerate. After several attempts, the vehicle finally engaged. The condition worsened and the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that there was a solenoid issue, which needed to be replaced at the estimated cost of $600. The repairs were made, but the warning indicator remained illuminated. The dealer replaced the transmission. The failure and current mileages were less than 86,000.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #267

Dec 152008

Odyssey

  • 89,000 miles
Vehicle exhibits problem with automatic transmission slipping when shifting from second to third gear resulting in revving of the engine and loss of acceleration and causing traffic obstruction. Internet research has shown that a model years 2002 through 2004 of this car have similar issues. Hard shifting from first gear to second gear and then slow engagement of the third gear. A spokesperson from Honda America has made a comment about the "third gear clutch pack" disintegrating and contaminating the transmission. As of yet, Honda has been replacing transmissions only if owners have complained sufficiently and can prove that the dealers have performed maintenance. Other persons who have maintained cars themselves have had to bear the replacement costs of nearly $4500 if they cannot prove that the vehicle has been maintained by a Honda certified facility (I.e. dealer). A previous recall for the second gear overheating issue has not reduced the likelihood that the transmission longevity would improve. I would like Honda to admit technical issues with their transmission design and offer to replace the defective part (transmission).

- Westwood, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?