Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 18 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #126

Dec 092006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,798 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey with an odometer reading of 83888 miles. The engine light turned on December 9, 2006. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer about a week later. The dealer performed a diagnostic which revealed an error :"code 103 pool code stored P1750-clutch pressure failure." The dealer recommend installing a clutch pressure control solenoid. The dealer service representative at valley high Honda of victorville ca, quoted $500 to replace the part and if it did not work, the contact was told that the vehicle may need a new transmission at a cost of $4000. The contact took the vehicle without repairing it. The contact called corporate Honda at 1-800-999-1009 and left a message. On December 12, 2006 the contact received a call from corporate Honda and was informed of a 2005 recall on 2002 and 2003 transmissions of these vehicles, campaign id 04V176000. The contact was also told that the vehicle had a 100000 mile warranty, and that the vehicle was covered under the recall. The contact took the vehicle back to valley high Honda of victorville ca, and was told that since the engine light was not on they could not work on the vehicle. The contact called corporate Honda office at 1-800-999-1009 and spoke to michael bodan case number N012007-01-1601830, who confirmed the vehicle is under warranty, and to continue to drive the vehicle until the light comes on again. Then take the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The contact wants to file a complaint against Honda and the dealership because of their response, as well as, the unfair business practice by the dealer when the vehicle was taken in the first time. The dealer did not inform the contact that there was a recall or a warranty that covered the vehicle for this issue. The failure milege was 83798 miles.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #125

Jan 182007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey is 5 yrs old with 50K miles. For several months, upon a slight incline when accelerating, the RPM would increase a lot but the speed remains about 10-20 mph until the transmission shifts. During 1 event on Jan. 18,2007, the problem was so severe that it lasted for awhile and fearing for our safety, we pulled over the car to the curb and stopped the car for several minutes before proceeding again. The fear was not only of stalling but if the transmission finally shifts, the minivan would lurch forward and rear end the vehicle in front. I have brought it in to a Honda dealer on Jan. 19 and still await an answer on whether Honda would cover the cost of replacing the transmission. The Honda service personnel said that it may not be covered at all which is very strange given the number of complaints regarding the 2002 year model and the class action lawsuit that Honda lost regarding the '99-'01 models.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #124

Jan 092007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Honda Odyssey 2002 transmission let motor rev up until I took my foot off gas, malfunction indicator warning light came on. Dealer said transmission needs to be replaced and warranty covers only 99 - 01. Did research and notice a lot of 2002 Odyssey have same problems. Consumer guide automotive website says automatic transmission problems prompted company to extend warranty to 7 years/100,000 miles (2000-03). Service dealer wants me to pay them. Called manufacturer and was assigned case number N032007-01-1100849. Van should be ready tomorrow 12 Jan 07 for pick up. We are being charged over 4,000 which I believed I shouldn't pay or get reimburse. Will check with legal department.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #123

Jan 052007

Odyssey 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Honda Odyssey with a transmission problem that is making me fear for the safety of myself and my children. The van is lurching and/or halting when accelerating at various times throughout the day. I am in stop and go traffic on a daily basis and have had to pull over on the side of the road in 6 or 7 instances when the rpms are revving but car is not accelerating. I have nearly hit the car in front of me when the van has lurched unexpectedly at the speed of 25-30 miles per hour. My van is at the Honda dealership today, January 5, 2007.

- Greenville, RI, USA

problem #122

Dec 132006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
Took van to a dealer to get appraised, and got a very low appraisal due to the transmission shifting hard. Unaware it was the beginning of a faulty transmission, and being used to driving another vehicle, I thought it was just the way the transmission shifted. Took the vehicle to a local mechanic, who performed a transmission flush, but the problem didn't go away. In fact, that very day it started slipping when shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear, and from 3rd to 4th gear, particularly when the vehicle was cold. In fear of my safety due to slipping and unexpected lurching in stop-and-go traffic, I took it to the service department at a local Honda dealership, who stated it was a faulty clutch in the transmission, and that the transmission will need to be replaced. Vehicle had 74,000 miles on it, and was out of warranty. Manufacturer covered the transmission, and I paid for the labor to install the transmission and the mandatory 4-wheel alignment after installation. Was told by the service representative that the new transmission was better than the original, and carries a 3-year 36,000 mile warranty.

- Fuquay Varina, NC, USA

problem #121

Dec 142006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,627 miles
TL *- the contact stated that his vehicle is constantly hesitating. He has been experiencing the hesitation about 3 times a week for the past 9 months. The contact stated at slight acceleration the car hesitates terribly, as often as, once a day and, as many as, 5 times a day. While he was driving into a driveway the vehicle hesitated and then it accelerated causing the vehicle to almost go through the garage door. After that incident the vehicle check engine light came on. The contact took vehicle to a local mechanic and the mechanic told him that there was a safety recall for his vehicle. He states that he called the dealership that sold him the vehicle and they stated to him that the day he brought it in for a maintenance check they also installed a new oil jet kit on 8-24-04. The contact stated that he is furious because he was never contacted about the recall and that the dealership never told him that they installed the new oil jet kit. The contact stated that since 2004 he has experience problems with his car hesitating and, that the transmission is faulty. The contact can provide any repair invoices if needed.

- Rokville Center, NY, USA

problem #120

Dec 162006

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My transmission failed with 55K on the vehicle...yes it was a Honda so I thought, but as I research the problem I am finding that thousands of consumers are being screwed by Honda with this defect. What can we do to make Honda do a recall.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #119

Dec 092006

Odyssey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
Purchased Odyssey '02 on 9/11/01. In that first year, noticed sluggish shifting from 1st into 2nd. Returned to deal twice, both times said there is no problem they can find. In summer '04, returned to dealer for transmission recall "band-aid". again, no problem found with transmission. 11/06 returned to dealer for more dramatic shifting issues, now said we will need new transmission. 12/09/06 transmission failed, sporadic shifting up & down, slipping, not moving beyond 2nd gear much of the time. Drove backroads to dealer for repairs...waiting for diagnosis & damage report.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #118

Oct 312006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,400 miles
: the contact stated the engine hesitated when accelerating from 30 mph. There was a NHTSA recall, # 04V176000, regarding the power train: Automatic transmission. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #117

Nov 292006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
My 2002 Honda Odyssey is currently having a 3rd transmission put in. I purchased this vehicle new and it has 70,000 miles. The dealer has been co-operative in the repairs, but what happens when my warranty expires?!

- Denair, CA, USA

problem #116

Nov 272006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 40 mph, a noise was heard and the transmission light on the dashboard illuminated. The transmission would not shift into second gear. The vehicle was maneuvered off the road and slowly driven to the dealer. There was a NHTSA recall, #04V176000, regarding the automatic transmission. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #115

Aug 202006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
: approximately two weeks after the vehicle was serviced, and the transmission was checked, it started to slip, the vehicle would jerk and appeared to downshift to 2 gears at once. The next day while driving, the vehicle's speed was drastically reduced from 70 to 30 mph. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop and it was diagnosed with complete transmission failure. Updated 12/18/06.

- Grafton, MA, USA

problem #114

Nov 162006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to shift gears reverse to drive the vehicle malfunctioned and would not switch gears. The local dealer was called who determined the vehicle was not included in any recall due to the VIN. The contact found a recall, #04V176000, regarding the power train: Automatic transmission. There were no repairs made.

- Chanute, KS, USA

problem #113

Sep 012006

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Odyssey transmission went out. The consumer received a safety recall in the mail and took the vehicle to be inspected and corrected. The consumer was told the repairs had been made, however 2 months later the transmission failed. The local dealership told the consumer they would repair it, if she paid for the labor.

- Boiling Springs, SC, USA

problem #112

Jun 012006

Odyssey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,980 miles
: the contact stated a NHTSA recall # 04V176000 for the power train: Automatic transmission was serviced in August of 2002. The problem still existed after the service dealer signed off on the recall repair. The transmission slipped out of gear as the vehicle was accelerated to 30 mph. The service dealer was unable to reproduce the problem and informed the contact to wait until the problem was more pronounced, so they could identify the problem and make the repair. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #111

Sep 212006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,869 miles
Our 2002 Odyssey has had transmission problems since shortly after we purchased it in July 2002. It has a very hard shift, causing the vehicle to lurch and jolt from gear to gear. This has made acceleration difficult and deceleration almost as bad, because the van goes from slowly accelerating to an unexpected jump in speed with a neck cracking lurch. We have taken our van to the shop repeatedly starting at 6869 miles, again at 7867, complained at every servicing, had the transmission recall work performed, continued complaining with no result. We gave up for about two years. When the problem worsened we switched mechanics in 2004. Our new mechanic worked on the transmission and throttle, but was unable to access the codes in the van's computer to truly diagnose the problem. On 21 September 2006, he made arrangements for a Honda mechanic (who is a close friend of his) to look at the van again. The Honda mechanic said that he cannot understand how Honda could tell us nothing was wrong for so many years - the van computer was full of codes concerning the transmission. This is because the transmission is a 2001 transmission in a 2002 van. He said the transmission is part of a Honda recalled group of transmission from the 1999-2001 model years. This is why the transmission does not work properly, why it has such a hard shift, why it cannot accelerate smoothly, why it cannot decelerate smoothly, and why it drops out of gear when traveling at highway speeds.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #110

Jul 222006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Started to notice engine revving but no acceleration between 2nd and 3rd gears. When I took my Odyssey in for it routine maintenance, asked mechanic to check to see if the fluids were ok and if anything seemed wrong. Everything seemed ok, but the revving engine with no acceleration problem continued. My mechanic investigated further and talked with a transmission specialist who stated "it's the beginning of the transmission failing". our Odyssey has 70000 miles on it, but the reason we bought it was Honda had a reputation for reliable cars with few major repairs. We maintain it regularly and do not drive in harsh conditions, no mighty mountains or dirt roads. Just regular old Suburban driving.

- Millersville, PA, USA

problem #109

Aug 232006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,300 miles
: the contact stated without warning the transmission would not go above 20 mph. The dealership determined the transmission needed to be replaced. A NHTSA recall, #04V176000, was performed on the vehicle concerning, the automatic transmission. When the recall was performed, the vehicle did not require a transmission. However, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #108

Jan 012006

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission of 2002 Honda Odyssey van fails to shift gears while accelerating causing near rear-end collisions in traffic. Honda representative and dealer claim that there is an internal memo from Honda to their dealers about this problem being caused to these specific transmissions by typical transmission service (flush). If true, and I was shown part of the document, the public is being kept unaware of what appears to me to be a manufacturing defect that is endangering lives. In addition, by blaming the vehicle owner for having transmission service performed outside of the Honda dealership, Honda is avoiding responsibility for the problem.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #107

Jul 312006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
: the contact stated that prior to having transmission problems a recall letter # 04V176000 was received pertaining to the transmission 2nd gear inspection. The vehicle was taken to the dealers who stated that the recall was on a voluntary basis only and that they would inspect the vehicle. Upon inspection, the dealer determined that transmission only needed to have an additional cooling line run through the transmission and a flushing. After the recall remedy began having problems with the transmission. While driving, there have been several almost accidents due to a malfunction of the transmission stalling. After the most recent incident, the vehicle was towed to the dealer. Upon examination, the dealer determined that the transmission needed to be replaced but they will not replace the transmission under recall. The consumer also experienced brake problems. Updated 09/13/06.

- Enfield, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?