Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 6 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #366

Apr 082010

Odyssey

  • 83,263 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tca and engine malfunction lights came on and vehicle suddenly dropped speed from 100km/hr to 40km/hr. Lost acceleration even with RPM between 3000 to 4000. Later informed that van is loosing 3rd gear to neutral. Transmission failure detected.

- Wetaskiwin, 00, USA

problem #365

Apr 132009

Odyssey

  • 65,000 miles
My 2002 Honda Odyssey has transmission issues. It slips and is on its way to complete failure. It started just after we bought it with just over 60000 miles on it.

- Winsted, MN, USA

problem #364

Feb 032010

Odyssey

  • 89,000 miles
Purchased used 2002 Odyssey Feb 2010 with 89,000. In March 2010, vehicle transmission started to slip during driving. Engine would rev up but vehicle would not accelerate. After slowing down transmission would engage again and operate. Shortly after the check engine light came on and vehicle was brought to a deal for diagnosis. Dealer stated that the code for the engine light indicated the transmission gear ratio was incorrect and that meant that the transmission was slipping and need to be replaced. This has occurred approximated 10 times from Feb 2010 to April 2010. This could be a safety issue if the transmission locks up or a person needs to accelerate to avoid a collision and transmission fails to respond. In viewing the internet, this issue appears to be an extremely common problem with 2002 to 2004 Odyssey. Honda issued a recall on these models which included a visual inspection of the 2nd & 3rd gear for discoloration. If no discoloration is evident, no repair is performed. This is subjective at best. There appears to be an engineering failure with this transmission with the number of failures I have seen in my research as well as Honda on recall.

- North Prairie, WI, USA

problem #363

Apr 162010

Odyssey

  • 158,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Odyssey LX, 158,200 miles, well maintained & serviced. Suddenly started missing downshifts (to 3rd gear I think) while coasting down in stop-and-go traffic, dropping completely out of gear into neutral. Stepping on the gas just caused the engine to race. Down-shifting manually also had no effect. After slowing to the next shift point, it would re-engage. Happened multiple times (15~20). Later, it also began occasionally missing 3rd gear up-shifts too. Started looking for replacements immediately. About 2 1/2 weeks later (April 16th) at 60 mph, it suddenly kicked into a lower gear and threw my wife forward like stomping on the brakes, three different times. After that, the check engine locked in and transmission drive indicator started flashing. We are replacing the transmission with a re-manufactured unit through our mechanic on next Friday, April 23rd. The old unit *could* be available, but will probably be sent back for the core, unless you contact us before that.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #362

Mar 302010

Odyssey

  • 86,600 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey transmission. While driving on they highway at approximately 65 mph the transmission unexpectedly began to slip. My engine revved up than the rpms suddenly dropped. A couple of seconds later it felt as though I had jammed on the brakes causing my vehicle to suddenly jolt.the transmission had failed almost causing a serious accident on the roadway. Fortunately no accident happened. I brought the vehicle to the dealership. The dealer replaced the transmission. The vehicle had 86,600 miles on it. Cost $2400.

- Farmingville, NY, USA

problem #361

Apr 162010

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,860 miles
Automatic transmission slipping in lower gears. Honda dealer says it will cost over $4,000 to replace the transmission and then continue to assess other damage that may have occurred from the transmission going bad. The van only has 80875 miles on it. The 7 year/100,000 mi certified used car warranty expired July, 2009.

- Linwood, NJ, USA

problem #360

Mar 242010

Odyssey

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that when shifting from first to second gears, the transmission malfunctioned. While drving 20 mph, the engine would idle extremely higher than normal and the vehicle would not shift into third gear. The dealer stated that the failure was due to the gear lock. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current was 56,000.

- San Fransisco, CA, USA

problem #359

Feb 182010

Odyssey

  • 123,000 miles
My wife and I have had this 2002 Odyssey since new and have seen issues with the transmission ever since we bought it. The dealership stated the issues (strange deceleration issues and jolts around 35-40 mph) were normal with the Odyssey. Well, the transmission finally failed even though we had the recall and other things taken care of associated with the transmission. I contacted Honda like others had done to see if there was assistance and they stated no. I probed further and they stated every customer is different and they were unwilling to share any further information. The dealership was no help. I ended up paying $4,900 for the transmission replacement. I plan on being part of a class action lawsuit as soon as they include this year like they have done with earlier years of the Odyssey. Another customer who won't go back to Honda after have three of them in the past. Obviously they don't care about customer service.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #358

Apr 042010

Odyssey

  • 129,000 miles
Transmission failure.

- Richford, NY, USA

problem #357

Mar 122010

Odyssey

  • 113,500 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey transmission started to slip. Honda dealership said it was a part related to transmission and charged approx. $326 to replace it. Next day the transmission kept slipping and now Honda dealer says transmission needs to be replaced. They refunded most of the $326 and offer a discount on a replacement. The replacement however is a rebuild of the same one that is defective and will only last a few years and posses the same risk as the old one. I have researched this problem and have found that years 1999 to 2003 have many reported cases of bad transmissions. (I am sure new ones will pile up as they gain a some miles) I am on a list and am receiving E-mails of new complaints daily. Not only is this wrong but it is very dangerous because if the transmission goes out on a busy highway someone is going to be hurt or killed. You don't have to do much research to see all the complaints. This is a much bigger issue than the Toyota problem.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #356

Mar 152010

Odyssey

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failure the tranmission all the sudden kicks out of gear and you have no contoll of the van but to roll to a stop hoping you don't get rear ended.

- Laporte, IN, USA

problem #355

Feb 232010

Odyssey

  • 77,000 miles
I have had this Honda Odyssey van since Feb. 2010. I complained to the dealer that from time to time the transmission did not want to pull, sometimes in traffic & other times when a turn was made. Since the service dept. Said that it showed no codes on the computer & it didn't do it when they drove the van, it was a non-issue. My "check engine" light is now on and code "gear ratio". I spoke with the dealership and I was told that the recall was already fixed but it's not. Isn't there something that can be done? I am on a fixed income and can't afford a large repair bill.

- Clio, SC, USA

problem #354

Jan 012009

Odyssey

  • 90,000 miles
My wife and I are the only owners of a 2002 Honda Odyssey that we bought in January 2002. The van has always been maintained, including changing oil & transmission fluid when needed. While driving sometime last year, I noticed that I would get a harsh jerk & a hard shift as the transmission would shift from 1st to 2nd gear. Not long after, the check engine light came on & would not go off. I immediately took it to the dealership & they confirmed that the transmission had failed. By this time, I had to change the front end rubbers because of the continuous harsh jerking and clunking noise from that transmission shift. Now I am faced with the cost of getting a new transmission which is going to run about $3,000 - $4,000. I have checked into the problem and found numerous complaints from other Odyssey owners re this model year transmission failures. Honda needs to recall the 2002 Odyssey as they have done for the model years before 2002 or reimburse owners all or a good portion for the cost of replacing it.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #353

Dec 112009

Odyssey

  • 107,000 miles
Transmission started slipping in June 2009. Had transmission serviced and it subsided for a couple months. Started again in October 2009. Had transmission serviced again and it did not help. Wife and two kids use van and the transmission would slip in the middle of the intersection. A few times we were left in the intersection helpless until it came back into gear.

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #352

Mar 222007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,214 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. While the contact was driving 55mph the vehicle suddenly began to jerk forward and backwards followed by all the instrument panel warning signs appearing. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the entire transmission needed to be replaced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 121000. Updated 07/19/10. Updated 08/30/10

- Superior, CO, USA

problem #351

Feb 222010

Odyssey

  • 74,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey transmission slipping after coming to a stop, and also while proceeding forward in traffic. 74,000 miles on the vehicle. Never used for towing. Contacted two local dealers, each acknowledged it as a problem for this model, but said no extended warranty, $4000 - $5000 for repair and that they would try to get Honda motor co. To "assist" with payment, as they have done in the past. Would not give a number or % of repair "assistance".

- Lincoln, MA, USA

problem #350

Feb 272010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that whenever operating the vehicle, the transmission would slip. When depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would drag or it would fail to accelerate normally. The failure occurred at various speeds. He contacted three separate dealers and was advised to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing, at his own expense. The contact refused to take liability for the failure and believed that the manufacturer should have done so. There were no repairs made to date. The failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 04-15-10 updated 05/06/10.

- Lincoln, MA, USA

problem #349

Dec 152008

Odyssey

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stopped at a traffic light. When he attempted to drive forward, the transmission would not shift into second or third gear. The contact had to release his foot off of the accelerator pedal for a few seconds, in order for the transmission to begin shifting into the proper gear. The weather was not a factor. The transmission fluid was changed at 45,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for diagnostic testing who stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The transmission failure has occurred intermittently. The failure mileage was 42,000. The current mileage was 48,000. Updated 03/26/10.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #348

Feb 262010

Odyssey

  • 77,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey transmission failure. 77K miles and total slippage in second gear. Previously had the recall 2nd gear oiler in stalled. Never towed anything. Obvious engineering/manufacturing defect. Honda appears to agree as they offer $2K towards replacement. Since there are so many documented cases of this problem and the fact that NHTSA has not opened an investigation, even though there was a class action lawsuit for '99 - '01 Odyssey ats, it appears that people will have to die before anything is done.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #347

Feb 052010

Odyssey

  • 77,876 miles
Still having problems my 2002 Honda Odyssey transmission slips, it especially slips while merging in traffic on hwy ramps and when turning corners, have almost been in numerous accidents unfortunately Honda knows this problem exits and will not recall these vehicles as they did with the 1998-2001 models. So now what do I do when Honda wants $5200 to replace it? extended warranty ended in 2009 and it only has 78,000 miles on it..

- Wichita, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?