Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The entire 2nd generation Odyssey (1999-2004) is just one giant transmission problem waiting to happen.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 24)

problem #466

May 212014


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while traveling 30 mph, the vehicle hesitated shifting between second to third gears while the speed decreased to 10 mph. The vehicle resumed to normal speed once it transitioned into forth gear. The failure occurred on four separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 70,068.

- Dade City, FL, USA

problem #465

Apr 232007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer writes in regards to transmission failure and seeks reimbursement for repairs. On August 16, 2004, the dealer inspected the transmission, as per the recall notice, but did not repair/replace anything. On aprl 23, 2007, the shifting problems were due to an internal problem; the transmission was flushed in an attempt to fix the problem. However, the shifting and slipping of the transmission continued. Over the course of two years, the fluid was replaced, and the dealer claimed they could not duplicate the slipping problem. The transmission was finally replaced on November 10, 2009, at a cost of $3632.82.

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #464

Jun 212012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 225,480 miles
The transmission has been slowly slipping since about 170,000 miles. I have been driving it slowly and being careful when it shows a struggle switching into the lower gears. Yesterday it really jerked when switching from 2nd to 3rd gear and the engine light and tcs light came on. I pulled off into the nearest subdivison and turned off the vehicle. I then restarted the 2002 Honda Odyssey and the tcs light went out but the engine light stayed on. I am concerned that this transmission was part of an earlier recall and I never got the chance to replace the transmission and now I am stuck paying full price for a transmission.

- Bluffton , SC, USA

problem #463

Mar 312012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


Transmission failure at 120K miles, failure to change gears while driving.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #462

Dec 152011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the transmission would not shift gears correctly and remained in neutral. The vehicle would not accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The contact had to wait approximately thirty seconds before the transmission would shift gears and accelerate as normal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where they stated that this was a common failure. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000 and the current mileage was 106,000. Updated 03/27/12 the consumer stated the automatic transmission failed to shift from 2nd to 3rd gear and the vehicle decreased in acceleration. Updated evoq 03/30/12.

- Foster, CA, USA

problem #461

Jan 022012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall campaign related to transmission the consumer was informed the recall had already been performed at 28,232 miles. However, the consumer has an invoice which showed the recall was not performed at that mileage. The consumer is seeking reimbursement for the transmission replacement. Also, the left middle seat recliner handle was replaced. Status updated 02/24/12

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #460

Nov 242011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 115,877 miles


At 115000 miles the transmission started getting stuck in neutral between 1st and 2nd gear. I took it in to a mechanic who said it looked like the transmission was failing but no codes were coming up. A couple weeks later as the transmission slipped my check engine light came on as well as the tcs light. I took it back to the mechanic who got the code P0730 and told me the transmission needed to be replaced. I got a hold of my dealer who could not help me but could replace the transmission at full price. Honda Corp. Just hung up on me when I started asking them about the recall back in 2004. I spoke with a co-worker about there 2002 Honda Odyssey and there transmission went 2 months ago with under 100,000 miles. He also had problems speaking with Corp. & dealer I will never buy Honda again!!

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #459

Nov 012011


  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer states problems with vehicle transmission the consumer was informed the transmission needed to be replaced for the third time, due to the gears slipping.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #458

Dec 132010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer states transmission failure. The consumer stated he has come to learn, the transmission in the 2002-2004 model year Odyssey's were defective. On December 10, 2010 the dealer found problems with the transmission and advised the consumer, the cost to replace the transmission would be $ $3965.69. Honda agreed to pay $1,000 toward the repair. On January 3, 2011 the consumer paid the remaining balance to have the transmission replaced. The consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #457

Oct 122011


  • miles
2002 Honda Odyssey with 147,000 miles on it. Transmission needs to be replaced.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #456

Jul 242011


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the transmission unexpectedly shifted into second gear with a violent jerk. Suddenly, the engine warning indicators illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure continued to occur during acceleration. On a separate occasion, the same failure occurred while in reverse. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where they detected that the transmission fluid was burnt and discolored. Also, there were internal malfunctions which required the transmission to be replaced. The transmission was rebuilt. The technician stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train: Automatic transmission). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #455

Jul 272011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
My 2002 Honda Odyssey at 59872 miles needs a new transmission at a cost of $5000 according to Honda dealer.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #454

Jul 122011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
One month ago, my Honda Odyssey transmission started to slip and hesitate when I drove into free way. Almost rear-ended by cars behind. And also, engine and tcs light came on. I had to turn on emergency light and drive at about 40 miles/hour on the free way. The slip seems to happen when the auto transmission switches between 2nd and 3rd gear. When putting on gas to accelerate, it can take long time (1 minute) to go from 20 miles/hour to 40 miles/hour, and during that time, it may suddenly accelerate if the transmission decides to speed up!!!! very dangerous!!!! since then, the transmission problem didn't go away. Contacted american Honda and they refused to cover any cost to fix it. A Honda dealer did agree to cover 40% of the repair. This problem happens very often on Honda cars, please urge Honda to step up and accept their transmission failure, and to cover 100% cost for the repair.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #453

Aug 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
Got 2002 Honda Odyssey works fine for me for 2 years and suddenly check engine and tcs lights on car slipping on 2nd&3rd gear. Mechanic told me that this problem is part of the recall that Honda suppose to fix!!! please help!!!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #452

Jul 272011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
On two occasions during the past six months I noticed the "D" light for my transmission selector flashing. Once I restarted the vehicle, the flashing stopped and did not occur again. On July 27 while on a trip to Canada with less than 78,000 miles on the vehicle, I again noticed the "D" light flashing. I also noticed abnormal transmission operation. I took the vehicle to a Honda dealer in cornwall, Ontario, Canada, where they read the codes as "P1740" for 4th pressure switch failure and "P0710" for atf temperature sensor failure. They reset the codes, and I was able to drive the vehicle home. However, the next day the "D" light was flashing again. My local dealer in bloomington, Illinois read the same two codes from the system and charged me $430 for replacing those two sensors. I called Honda America, and a representative contacted me. She told me Honda would not assist with the repair since the dealer told her that I had a non-Honda aftermarket transmission cooler installed. I've had no such device installed. She acknowledged that my Odyssey had been part of the 2004 recall and any potential problem with the transmission had been repaired. She told me that the local dealer determined my transmission issue was caused by improper trailer towing. The van has towed a light trailer about four times and never over lengthy distances. I was not towing a trailer on the trip to Canada. The Honda representative refused to acknowledge that 2002 Odyssey's have a known defective transmission that routinely fails with less than 80,000 miles.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #451

Aug 012011


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated while driving 45 mph the vehicle began to slip out of gear and stall. The contact stated the vehicle became very difficult to drive especially up hill. The contact noticed NHTSA campaign recall number 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission) and notified the dealer. The dealer informed the contact that the recall remedy was performed on the vehicle in 2004. The contact called the manufacturer who suggested to have the dealer perform a diagnostic test in order to determine if the failure was related to the recall. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer and stated that it was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #450

Jul 222011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
We have had two transmissions fail on our 2002 Honda Odyssey. The first time, the dealer denied we had a transmission problem during the warranty period. When the warranty expired, the transmission failed.even though there was a recall, we were never informed of it by Honda. After much wrangling, Honda paid for the parts but we had to pay for the labor, $1,100. We believe Honda installed a refurbished transmission and not a new one because 3 years and 7 months later., the second transmission failed too, stranding us in the dark with our two young children and requiring us to rent a car to get home. We had no idea that Honda has had almost a decade of transmission problems and that our year is the worst year. In our opinion, Honda has engaged in fraud.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #449

Jun 152011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
I bought 2002 Honda Odyssey last year and now it has a transmission problem. I got the quote from a few shops and minimum cost that I need to pay is $2000. This is ridiculous. Funny thing is that I have 3 friends of Odyssey owners that have the same transmission problem which is 2nd to 3rd gear converting problem. Honda! do something for this! you must know this problem so do recall service.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #448

Jul 062011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Transmission failure on 2002 Honda Odyssey. Long history of failure of Honda Odyssey transmission. Honda had a recall in 2004 and they installed a jet oiler kit which was supposed to fix the problem that led to the failure of our transmission.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #447

Mar 012011


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle would jerk violently while driving. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission), but the failure recurred. The dealer was contacted, but did not assist the contact with any repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 123,000.

- Garland, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?