Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,552 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #61

Jun 062016

Odyssey

  • 195,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda refusing to address the following recalls on my vehicle Jan 16, 2003 - NHTSA# 03V014000 - fuel system April 15, 2004 - NHTSA#04V176000 - power train December 11, 2012 - NHTSA# 12V573000 - electrical system vehicle was towed to braman Honda of manhattan located at 627 11th ave New York NY on June 6, 2016. They have had my vehicle for 93 days. On September 8, 2016 they call me to tell me to pick up my vehicle and they are not completing any repairs because there are no current outstanding recalls for my vehicle. The above mentioned recalls for my vehicle were never addressed by any Honda service location.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #60

Jul 072016

Odyssey

  • 253,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. While the vehicle was parked with the key removed from the ignition and the emergency brake engaged, the vehicle rolled away in reverse and crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not towed, diagnosed, or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 253,000.

- New Melford, CT, USA

problem #59

Oct 012015

Odyssey

  • miles
Every time I go to close the doors by pulling the handle whether inside or outside, they don't close. I was parked in a flat paved driveway with unleashed dogs in the yard. I didn't realize they were unleashed by they started running toward the car and the doors would not close!!! my 3 year old daughter was in the back seat. This is a huge problem as her safety and my 8 year old sons safety is being compromised. This is a problem for many Odyssey owners and it should be recalled and fixed by the manufacturer. At this point when the doors finally close they are not closing smoothly on the rail. The paint and side bar have literally come off and are now being held up by duct tape. I'm so disgusted!! I don't have the money to pay for a repair especially when this is a manufacturing defect. The only way I have successfully closed the doors is by hitting the inside button but even that needs to be pressed nearly 5-6 times before it closes fully. I have tried to manually close the doors but they are so heavy I just dont have the strength.

- Carbondale, PA, USA

problem #58

Dec 172015

Odyssey

  • 256,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that immediately after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system), the vehicle failed to start as the key remained in the off position. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who diagnosed that the ignition casing needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 256,000.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #57

Jan 152015

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #56

May 052015

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the SRS warning lamp remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver side air bag needed to be replaced. The air bag was replaced, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they indicated that the side air bags needed to be replaced. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V045000 (air bags), 14V700000 (air bags), 13V412000 (air bags), and 12V573000 (electrical system), but the contact never received any recall notices. The dealer did not indicate that the VIN was included in the recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Bowling Green , KY, USA

problem #55

May 062015

Odyssey

  • 51,256 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the ignition switch failed. The two original keys and one additional key failed to turn and would become stuck. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and it was determined that the shift inter lock lever needed to be replaced. The contact asked about NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system); however, the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 51,256.

- Mount Vernon, NY, USA

problem #54

Apr 092015

Odyssey

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the ignition key failed to turn in order to start the vehicle. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the cylinder switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Sparks , NV, USA

problem #53

Apr 262015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
I parked my car and took the key out of the ignition. Only problem was that the car was still in drive. I know this was an known issue (recall) with the car. I had it fixed at a dealer to address the recall on this specific issue. Obviously it didn't fix the problem.

- Hollis, NH, USA

problem #52

Mar 232015

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V045000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The manufacturer stated that the electronic control unit would not be available until later in the summer. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oak Harbor, WA, USA

problem #51

Feb 042013

Odyssey

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the rear sliding doors failed to open when using the fob. The contact mentioned that if the doors open, they do so without any warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and it was determined that the electric ball used to open the doors had failed. The manufacturer stated that the doors were not under recall and the vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #50

Nov 282013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
The key was stuck in the ignition and would not turn or come out.

- Chciago, IL, USA

problem #49

Jan 202015

Odyssey

  • 108,000 miles
I recently had airbag recall work on my car. All of a sudden, 2 days ago my doors unlocked while I was driving. I relocked them and a few minutes later they unlocked again. This keeps happening. I am thinking that this is related to the recall work that was done about a month ago. This is a very dangerous situation. I don't know if any other owners have reported these occurrences. I spoke to Honda and they told me I have to take my car to the Honda dealer that did the recall work to check out the problem, but I would have to pay the dealer to check it out. I don't think this is fair. Please note that I did not have an accident. Your system forced me to put in an accident date to be able to send you the complaint.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #48

Mar 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Honda Odyssey. The vehicle will shut off while driving. The vehicle shut off on four separate occasions. The consumer believed when the vehicle was taken to the dealer for the interlock recall, the problem would be resolved. However, they were unable to diagnose the problem. Also, the battery was replaced.

- Rockport, TX, USA

problem #47

Jul 212014

Odyssey

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the key would be stuck in the ignition and was unable to be removed. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000. (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000. The VIN was not available.

- Belle Ville, NJ, USA

problem #46

Apr 112014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 134,703 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the interior dome lights and radio failed. The contact changed the fuse approximately 10 times but the fuse continued to exhibit the same issue. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but declined to provide additional information to the contact. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 134,703. Updated 06/10/14

- Lancaster , PA, USA

problem #45

Apr 252011

Odyssey

  • 89,850 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle rolled away and crashed into another vehicle. No police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the ignition switch under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V573000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,850.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #44

Dec 212013

Odyssey

  • 96,500 miles
Service safety recall regarding SRS malfunction was performed on my van by paul miller Honda in caldwell, NJ on 12/21/2013. After the work was done, the SRS malfunction light comes on after 30 minutes of driving. Notified dealer and american Honda. American Honda opened a case for this, N012014-01-0200225. Was advised for a complete diagnostic report from the dealer. Went back to dealer for test on 1/4/14 and a dtc code 53-31, internal failure of SRS unit, was called out on test. Wants SRS unit replaced at my own expense. Advised by dealer that this not related to recall. The recall was adding wires on the harness wires set to the SRS unit. I was advised by american Honda to seek diagnostic test to other dealer. Went to garden state Honda in passaic, NJ on 1/22/14 for a more thorough test. The dealer insist on replacing 2 year battery as this might causes dtc 53-31. Cca on battery was 450, recommended is 550. Told advisor that cca is for cold cranking/starting of van and irrelevant to the problem as long as output is a sustained 12 vdc and I do not have problem when starting the van. Forced to comply at my own expense. Problem still exists with new battery. On 2/6/14 and after 3 trips, dealer recommends replacement of SRS unit on my own expense and not related to recall like the first dealer. The dealer is uncertain if this will resolve the issues. This will be elimination process at my own expense. Van has never had any SRS fault for 10 years. Only after the recall was done when SRS fault light comes on. Now, safety of the driver and passengers are compromised. Air bag may deploy or may not deploy if and when needed. American Honda will not cover the expenses based on the recommendation of dealer. Honda should shoulder all expenses related to the resolution of the SRS fault and the safety of the vehicle. Driver and passenger... updated 02/27/14

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #43

Jan 232014

Odyssey

  • 158,722 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the key would not turn in the ignition switch after several attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 158,722.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #42

Jan 312013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Trying for over an hour to get the key to turn over so I cant start the van it keeps happening everytime I try to start the van switch keys with my husband and the same issue keeps happening. Its a serious issue that I truly believe is a defect with Honda.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?