Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
22 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,703 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Odyssey seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Mar 122008

Odyssey

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. While driving at 35 mph, another vehicle crashed into the driver side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not disclose if a police report was filed. The contact sustained back and hand injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #39

Nov 102014

Odyssey

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact mentioned that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags), 14V700000 (air bags) and 15V045000 (air bags). The contact believed that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 138,000.

- Aibonito, PR, USA

problem #38

Oct 312013

Odyssey

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the supplemental restraint system warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V045000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #37

Oct 272014

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Larchmont, NY, USA

problem #36

Jan 222015

Odyssey

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving at 5 mph, a vehicle crashed into the front passenger side and the air bags did not deployed. The contact sustained injuries to her ribs and medical attention was not required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) and believed the recall was related to the crash. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #35

Nov 162014

Odyssey

  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the contact crashed into another vehicle. As a result, the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a concussion that required medical attention and the driver of the other vehicle sustained unknown injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 168,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #34

Sep 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 03 Honda Odyssey is equipped with both a faulty transmission and faulty airbags manufactured by takata. I requested airbag replacement through a Honda dealer two months ago and was told repeatedly they were ordered, but I have to wait several more weeks. As a owner who has faulty transmission and airbag, I have a higher risk to be killed or injured because the transmission could fail without warning and result in clash, and the airbags could be deployed and kill or injured myself and family member. What a nightmare! I call for immediately action from Honda to take care of this problem. How long do I have to wait?

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #33

Nov 202014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
I contacted one Honda dealer for air bag replacement. The dealer replaced the front driver side inflater and ordered the front passenger side inflater for my 2003 Honda Odyssey ex-L. when I asked the dealer about the status of the order for front passenger side inflater, dealer responded "do not understand my question". I tried to contact www.Honda.com. I could not locate any email contact. I am hard-of-hearing and I know nothing about twitter. I do not want to touch twitter. Will you please help me.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 202014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
I called the Honda recall telephone number listed on their web site. I had read that 2003 Honda Odyssey may contain takada air bag inflators manufactured with inadequate manufacturing control. The current recall (as stated on their web site) is limited to 13 U.S. states and territories that "consistently experience high absolute humidity". the list does not include Indiana. The Honda representative said there was no way of knowing what airbag inflator was installed in my van even with the VIN. The representative suggested that I contact a dealer. I then contacted a dealer in clarksville Indiana and asked if they could tell me what airbag inflator was installed in my vehicle based upon the VIN. The dealer said no. Honda & the dealer both confirmed that there is inadequate part traceability in their vehicles. Without such traceability to the VIN, no recall that is conducted could ensure that all of the defective parts have been replaced. Letting the manufacturer determine how a recall is conducted is not in the best interest of the public. Manufacturer negotiation and bargaining with NHTSA concerning recalls is also an inadequate process. It lacks transparency that the public deserves in matters that are related to life and death safety issues. The dealer told me that they had already conducted air bag recall work on many Honda Odyssey vans in Indiana (10 - 20). This contradicts the scope of the current recall listed on Honda's web site and calls into question the honesty of the entire process. The dealer offered no assistance. When a manufacturing safety related defect as serious as the Honda issue arises, the public deserves to have their interests placed ahead of the profits of any manufacturer or dealer. The confusion around this issue and the lack of transparency also casts a shadow upon the effectiveness of the entire regulatory system.

- Seymour, IN, USA

problem #31

Oct 202014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The dealer replaced the driver side air bag under the recall. They claimed that there was no need to replace the passenger side air bag. I now have two issues. Since the manufacturer takata is known to have lied about defects, can I be certain that the replacement that was installed is safe" since there is a recall, 13V-132, now on record, was I lied to about the need to replace the passenger side air bag? this recall; speaks of passenger air bag problems. What corrective action is planned to assure that the replacement air bags are safe and when will they be available"

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #30

Oct 292014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Phoned the Honda telephone number listed on a document from Honda's web site entitled "a message to our customers about airbag safety" I provided all of the requested information and asked the Honda representative if my vehicle had a "takata" airbag installed in the vehicle. The Honda representative said that this information was not accessible to them. I told the Honda rep that I was concerned because the primary driver of the vehicle was of small stature, which influences the seat positioning, and therefore I wanted to confirm if a "takata" airbag was installed in the vehicle. The Honda representative said that the only way to be 100% certain was for me to take my vehicle to a Honda dealer and have them disassemble the car and take out the air bag and determine the manufacturer of the airbag visually. The Honda representative said that it would be my responsibility to pay for that service and that it would not be covered by Honda. I think this is very shoddy customer service and it is unacceptable that a manufacturer of automobiles does not have sufficient traceability such that the maker and part number of a component which is so obviously important to safety (an airbag) is known for a particular vehicle. NHTSA is the line of last resort for consumers in situations such as these. The Agency should protect the driving public from manufacturers who refuse to recall defective product that they have long ago sold and reaped the profits from.

- Seymour, IN, USA

problem #29

Oct 222014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
Honda currently has a recall on 2002-2004 Odyssey driver-side air bag for vehicles purchased or registered in "high relative humidity" states (NHTSA recall 14V-351). My '03 Odyssey is purchased and registered in Illinois and not included. However, the vehicle is currently driven by my daughter who is attending college in state of Alabama, one of the "high relative humidity" states included in the recall, for quite some time now. I called the american Honda to discuss about the situation and they did not want to include my vehicle even though it's operated in those affected states. I'm writing to you to express my concerns about the ways this recall is handled. This recall is climate-related safety issue. Any owner who can show proof of operations in those affected region should be allowed and be included in the recall, like my case presented. I'd appreciate your investigation into this matter and make Honda to expand the recall to include vehicles that's "operated" in those states, not just "purchased" or "registered". sincerely.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #28

Jul 242014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
On July 24th, 2014 my wife was driving (with one of our young sons) her 2003 Honda Odyssey about 30-35 mph on a neighborhood street. Without any collision or contact with any other object both front airbags and the driver side airbag spontaneously deployed. She was able to pull off to the right shoulder of the road and called me for assistance. Not long afterwards a town of mount pleasant police officer stopped to render assistance. We explained what happened and he confirmed there was no collision and advised me to take photos of the vehicle (which I did). He stated he couldn┐┐T write a police report since there was no collision or accident. We had the Odyssey towed to a body shop. My wife suffered a large contusion, burn and hematoma of the left arm which has been very painful requiring her to visit her physician. We contacted the local Honda dealership (rick hendricks Honda) who told my wife that what happened with the airbags was impossible without a collision and stated there was no recall regarding airbags for this car. We contacted the national Honda customer service center who assigned us a case manager. We found out on our own there is a recall for the airbag sensor because of this very issue (spontanious airbag deployment). We were never contacted by Honda about the recall. A month latter, Honda still has our car and has not fixed the problem.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #27

Feb 012013

Odyssey

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V412000 (airbags). However, the failure recurred. Also, the contact noticed a seat belt sensor code intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the seatbelt sensor associated with the air bag malfunctioned. As a result, the independent mechanic referred that the contact to an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- San Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

Apr 022014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 189,515 miles
My father just had exited the highway (going 70 mph) and 10 seconds later after taking the exit, he heard a loud bang (described as an explosion) and all the airbags in our Honda Odyssey 2003 model deployed. There was smoke and he could not see. His arm was injured and bruised in this process. Since this was a major cross-section at an overpass above the highway, he immediately pulled over and got off the car. There were tons of cars and subsequently the other drivers started honking since he was right at the intersection while turning left. Keep in mind this is a major intersection! if his airbags had deployed just 10 seconds earlier, who knows what would have happened. A little bit about the car: Honda had recalled this car so my dad had brought it in to their showroom. Honda had then said everything was okay! how could this have happened if everything was okay" this is a major safety issue! my dad is now terrified of driving the car because who knows if it will happen again. After this incident happened, triple a brought the car to Honda's showroom. Honda then had the audacity of accusing my father of "maybe getting into an accident or rear ending someone." They then went on to charge my dad money to even run the diagnostics of the car. Why would he lie" clearly his arm is bruised and this is an honest man! again, this was a recalled car and this car put my dad and other drivers in harm's way. Honda refuses to even acknowledge that this was their fault. Something must be done, Honda and other car companies cannot keep getting away with this. Poor consumers buy their products because we trust them (we own two Honda, including me!). now even I am terrified that something like this could happen to me and my Honda civic.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #25

Feb 212014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 141,298 miles
Driving children to school at 20 mph, driver seat belt locked with a pop and would not let you move forward, passenger seat belt locked with a pop and would not let you move, about 5 to 10 secs later loud bang and front passenger bag deployed another 5 to 10 secs later another loud bang from the front passenger airbag area. SRS light came on, seat belts still locked will not move in or out. Driver airbag not deployed. Drove vehicle to local Honda dealer.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 162013

Odyssey

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the supplemental restraint system sensor light illuminated. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, who advised that the SRS sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Vacaville , CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 212013

Odyssey

  • 96,500 miles
Service safety recall regarding SRS malfunction was performed on my van by paul miller Honda in caldwell, NJ on 12/21/2013. After the work was done, the SRS malfunction light comes on after 30 minutes of driving. Notified dealer and american Honda. American Honda opened a case for this, N012014-01-0200225. Was advised for a complete diagnostic report from the dealer. Went back to dealer for test on 1/4/14 and a dtc code 53-31, internal failure of SRS unit, was called out on test. Wants SRS unit replaced at my own expense. Advised by dealer that this not related to recall. The recall was adding wires on the harness wires set to the SRS unit. I was advised by american Honda to seek diagnostic test to other dealer. Went to garden state Honda in passaic, NJ on 1/22/14 for a more thorough test. The dealer insist on replacing 2 year battery as this might causes dtc 53-31. Cca on battery was 450, recommended is 550. Told advisor that cca is for cold cranking/starting of van and irrelevant to the problem as long as output is a sustained 12 vdc and I do not have problem when starting the van. Forced to comply at my own expense. Problem still exists with new battery. On 2/6/14 and after 3 trips, dealer recommends replacement of SRS unit on my own expense and not related to recall like the first dealer. The dealer is uncertain if this will resolve the issues. This will be elimination process at my own expense. Van has never had any SRS fault for 10 years. Only after the recall was done when SRS fault light comes on. Now, safety of the driver and passengers are compromised. Air bag may deploy or may not deploy if and when needed. American Honda will not cover the expenses based on the recommendation of dealer. Honda should shoulder all expenses related to the resolution of the SRS fault and the safety of the vehicle. Driver and passenger... updated 02/27/14

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #22

Jan 212014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
SRS light appears. The mini-van was taken to service center and I was informed that the driver side airbag inflator module was defective and it needs to be replaced. I note that there is a recall on the 2003 Honda Odyssey driver side airbag inflator module recalls recalls and other components. However, Honda refuses to include my van in the recall. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration should include all 2003 Honda Odyssey in the recall.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #21

Nov 272013

Odyssey

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the driver was traveling approximately 30 mph and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was seated in the front passenger's seat and sustained a concussion, severe neck pain and was transported to the hospital via ambulance. The police were called to the scene and a report was filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Chatham, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?