Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,006 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 16 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Mar 062006

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,169 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 50 mph, the vehicle began to jerk. The vehicle was immediately driven to the dealership and before arriving, the check engine and tcs lights illuminated. The dealership determined the vehicle needed a new transmission. The contact previously received a recall letter, #04V176000, concerning the automatic transmission. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for inspection, but the dealership determined the recall repair did not need to be completed, and no repairs were made. The manufacturer has been alerted and offered to pay for the parts and labor. Updated 03/28/06.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #31

Jan 302006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey mini-van transmission slipping taking off or between 1st & 2nd gear. Recalled for 2nd gear cooling jet issue, but this transmission failure appears related to similar failures described by numerous owners of this vehicle between 1998 & 2005. Dealer denies any related claims made to Honda, but many documented on this site and other automotive journals and websites.

- Hampton, NH, USA

problem #30

Nov 102005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,628 miles
I have a 2003 Honda Odyssey ex with 41,631 miles. The transmission started slipping between all the gears. The transmission slips at 20-30 miles with sudden braking, like accelerating and braking (stop and go type action). Very unsafe!!! sometimes, reverse gears don't even work just like neutral. When I changed gears I could hear loud clunkng and clicking noise from the transmission. I replaced the fluids at 40,536 miles and there were fine metal particles sticking onto the bolt.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 252005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I previously submitted complaint (ODI id number: 10141918) and I am updating the issue. Which includes: As mentioned, transmission slips in 1st and 2nd gear. I would like to add that my wife had mentioned that as she was returning from work that it felt like the vehicle was locking up. I took vehicle into dealership and they said they had drove the vehicle and also put it on a scope where no codes came up about the transmission. I questioned the diagnostic check to management because when I had took my vehicle in for the recall of transmission...I was told they put a camera inside the transmission and viewed the components. Why not this time if I didn't have the problem till after I took the vehicle in for the recall? now I was told by the dealer that they cannot do anything until they see it for themselves. They use "no" code as defining the problem and "drove" the vehicle and had no problem. I imagine standard protocol. I was assured by management from my previous maintenance/issue that if problems persists that a new transmission would not be a problem. This is the third time I have taken vehicle in for transmission issue (including recall). After viewing other similar complaints I am leary of Honda intentions and fear to drive vehicle. A part of variability and negligence/liability in case-law and/or administrative law-class action. I also would like to mention that I had told them about a humming noise and they said that it was the exhaust. It is on order where they are going to fix it. It is still under warranty. A two year exhaust system" product life cycle"

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #28

Aug 252005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Sporadic 1st and 2nd gear in transmission slips. Transmission slips got progressively worse where 1st and 2nd gear tends to grab when acceleration is applied to gas pedal to move vehicle. I had previously had vehicle in at dealership for 2nd gear issue/recall of defect in transmission and oil transfer. I had no prior problems before taking vehicle in for recall. Problems arose after taking vehicle in for initial recall. Contacted dealer of problem where appointment has been made to resolve problem.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #27

Sep 152005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
9/16/05 just had stopped to get gas was pulling out into traffic when my transmission failed I was lucky not to be killed semi truck thank god had barely missed me I was dead in the roadway.my vans transmission was slippin. Took to Honda said trans had failed.I took care of my van kept by book serviced by Honda.

- Shelby, NC, USA

problem #26

Nov 152004

Odyssey 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 625,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall NHTSA 04V176000. Honda performed the oil jet kit "repair" 8/5/2004. Vehicle began shifting "hard"; returned to Honda dlr 8/30/2004. Transmission completely failed 11/2004. Honda said "out of warranty", there's no coverage on transmission. Complained to Honda corporate that this was recalled part and was to be replaced. Eventually Honda area rep said they'd cover cost of "rebuilt" transmission, but I had to pay labor ($520.08). Safety recall campaign stated "work will be done free of charge". rebuilt transmission leaked & had to be replaced 1/6/2005. Need your assistance to obtain refund of labor charges from Honda ($520.08).

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #25

Jul 172005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,512 miles
I was on a highway during the day. Air condition on. Cruise control off. I've been driving 45-60 minutes at 60-70 mph. Engine temp never changed. No indication that a failure was going to happen. The van lost speed and felt like it was stalling. Check engine light was on. Tried to pump the gas pedal but no power. I started to slow down and had to pull over the shoulder. Engine was still on and I can still rev rpms on park. I waited a min or two before I put it into drive but not able to get power from the engine. I couldn't get rpms up on drive. Fastest I could go was about 5 mph with the gas pedal to the floor. The van kept jerking back and forth while I tried to get off the freeway. I called for a tow truck. The tow truck driver looked at the car after I explained what happened but nothing could be done to correct the failure. He loaded the van onto his flat bed and went to his service office to pick up another car that was ahead of us. He eventually had to take the van off the bed to wait for another tow truck. From the time the my van had the mechanical failure to the point where the van was taken off the truck to wait for another tow truck about 3 1/2 hours passed. The tow truck driver told me to move my car closer to their office about 20 yards away since my van can still run. At that time I noticed that the engine seems different. I tested it driving up and down road and it's as if nothing happened to the engine. The check engine was still on but the van was running fine. I was able to drive it back home with no problem. I brought the van to a Honda service center they told me that they couldn't find out what caused the failure. All they were able to find out was that there was multiple misfire codes 71-1, 74-1, 75-1, 76-1 and #1, #4, #5, #6 cylinders. They said there's nothing to repair because the van checked out okay except for the check engine light which they reset and the error codes they got from the Honda diagnostic system.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 202005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
Had a recall for adding oil jet cooler for the second gear area. Don't have the recall # started having problems with the vehicle on the road or in town when you go to accelorate it revs up, it goes to 7,000 or 8,000 rpms. It doesn't shut off. Sometimes it will stay in 3rd gear. It does different things at different times. This occured in March the 1st time. Its done this atleast four times since then. Its like your driving along like it goes into neutral then it shifts out of gear and the rpms go up. Contacted the dealer they are going to fix it for half price.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #23

Jun 212005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The 2003, Honda, Odyssey, consumer received a recall letter concerning transmission. The recall was repaired a year ago. Subsequently, the transmission jet line that was added to the second gear loosened and transmission fluid spilled everywhere. This happened while driving. Now Honda recommended a new transmission. The engine light was on at the dashboard. Consumer was not having repair done and waited for a Honda response. The owner never had any other transmission work done before the recall. Owner had documentation to prove this.

- Winnetka, CA, USA

problem #22

May 172005

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey, and she said that back in October 2004 there was a recall on the transmission. She took vehicle into the dealer. Now, she has 40,000 miles on vehicle, and it is out of warranty. Transmission went out. The vehicle locked up while driving with three kids in the car. And she had to have the vehicle towed to the dealer.

- Hainesport, NJ, USA

problem #21

Sep 202004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall 04V176000 concerning automatic transmission. After having the revisions to the oil cooler return line performed. While driving 50 mph vehicle stalled. Vehicle was towed to a dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the transmission needed to be replaced.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #20

Dec 012003

Odyssey

  • 19,267 miles
Defective transmission, problem with second gear. And timing belt. This document is written in spanish.

- Mayaguez, PR, USA

problem #19

Oct 142004

Odyssey

  • miles
Recall 04V176000 concerning automatic transmission failure. Consumer stated vehicle was repaired once for this problem. Honda stated they could not do anything for the consumer.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #18

Oct 102004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,500 miles
I have a 2003 Honda Odyssey ex that I bought in Aug. 2003 from auto way Honda, clearwater, Florida. The vehicle had a recall early this year to install a transmission jet kit. October 2004, started the car up but the gear lights would not light up, the shifter would move up and down but no gear would engage. Someone suggested at work that rocking the car would work and it did. I thought nothing of it untill 2 weeks later the same thing happened. This time I drove the vehicle to tampa Honda land, tampa Florida. After a whole day at the dealorship, I was told that eveything was fine and that they could not duplicate the problem. I had no recourse but to take the vehicle back. I am afraid that the transmission might lock up or fail while the vahicle is moving, with my wife and kids in it. There are no service bulletins or any info. Available from Honda on this issue according to the dealorship. If this problem persists I am afraid I will have to lemon this vehicle.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 282004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall 04V176000 concerning automatic transmission failure. Dealer does not have the parts available.

- San Lorenzo, PR, USA

problem #16

Aug 162004

Odyssey 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall 04V176000 concerning automatic transmission. After having the revision to the oil cooler return line performed, and while driving 35 mph vehicle shifted gears on its own and stalled. Without warning. Consumer restarted vehicle, and took it to dealer for inspection.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #15

Apr 012003

Odyssey

  • 12,763 miles
While driving transmission gets into second gear while driving at 40-45 mph. Then, transmission does not pick up speed. Received a recall. However, the situation had not been resolved.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #14

Aug 092004

Odyssey

  • 19,000 miles
Recall 04V176000 concerning automatic transmission failure. No parts would be until febuary 2005. Hillside Honda, 718-657-7810. Dealership had not resolved the problem.

- Glendale, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 262004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer received recall 04V176000 concerning automatic transmission failure. Consumer was concerned that the dealer was unable to schedule recall repairs until the month of December.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?