Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,006 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 17)

problem #332

Jul 012015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles


2003 Honda Odyssey. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle slipping into neutral while driving.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #331

Oct 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Submission from constituent re recall 04-021:C "automatic transmission recall for Honda Odyssey 2003" (full document not imaged). The consumer stated according to an emission testing center, there was a problem with the transmission, the computer gave two codes, P0730 and P1750. The consumer was informed, the transmission recall, was performed on her vehicle in the past. However, the problem has since returned.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #330

Apr 282014


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated while driving approximately 50 mph with the accelerator pedal engaged, the vehicle decelerated independently. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #329

Mar 152014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles


The van started losing power right after the tcs light appeared. I slowed down to 45mph when I lost all acceleration and coasted to the side of the road when the vehicle stopped. The car is reported to have broken gears and the clutch in the automatic transmission that had a recall on it that reported it fixed.

- Provo, UT, USA

problem #328

Apr 172013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,766 miles
Was exiting toll gate on I-70 at Kansas City and transmission fluid came pouring out of the bottom of the tranny case. I had the transmission regularly serviced and approximately 2 months before this at service nothing unusual was detected. I had the car towed to topeka transmission service, Inc. The transmission was changed. In taking my Honda to the topeka Honda dealership for two other recalls, they told me that there was also a transmission recall, NHTSA-04V-176000. Because my transmission had already failed and been replaced they did nothing. I contacted Honda Motors America. They told me there was nothing they would do as I could not prove that what happened was a result of that recall. I told them they could not prove that is was not. I request your assistance in receiving compensation for this recall that I was never notified about and the subsequent transmission failure. The consumer stated she was never notified of the recall. Updated 02/06/14

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #327

Jul 202012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Honda Odyssey. Consumer states transmission overheated, began shifting erratically and the check engine light illuminated. The consumer stated he turned the vehicle off, to allow it to cool off. When he turned it back on, the engine light was still on, but he was able to drive the vehicle home. It was still shifting erratically, but it did not overheat again. He took the vehicle to an auto parts store to have the check engine light code checked. The code came up as a P0740; torque solenoid circuit. The consumer did some research on the code and discovered that his model and year had a recall on the transmission and several class action lawsuits had been filed due to the problem. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and it was determined that the vehicle needed a new transmission. The dealer couldn't say if the problem was definitive to the recall. Honda informed the consumer the vehicle was inspected in 2005, where an oil jet cooler was installed on the transmission. The consumer then examined his vehicle, and discovered there was no oil jet cooler on the transmission. The van remained in overdrive and would not shift into 2nd or 3rd gear.

- Bangor, PA, USA

problem #326

Nov 152003

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while parked on an incline with the key out of the ignition the vehicle began to roll backwards on its own and crashed into a lamp post causing damage to the front drivers side door. The contact depressed the brake pedal and was able to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred approximately seven different times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000....updated 11/09/12 updated 11/15/2012 the consumer stated after the transmission was supposedly fixed, the vehicle rolled down the street. Updated 11/26/12

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #325

Oct 052012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 141,057 miles
I purchased this vehicle new in May 2003. In 2004, an oil cooler was installed by the dealership as a result of Honda America recall (NHTSA campaign id: 04V176000). On 10/05/2012, engine and tcs lights came on. I took the vehicle to repair shop the next day. They informed me the codes on the computer were P0700 - automatic transmission fault and P0740 - torque converter clutch malfunction. The codes were cleared and they test drove vehicle and lights did not come back on nor were there any symptoms of any transmission failure. They suggested that I take the vehicle to a transmission specialist for diagnosis. The next day the same lights came back on and shortly thereafter the transmission failed completely.

- Eustis, FL, USA

problem #324

May 072012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,322 miles
I bought this Honda Odyssey brand new. After driving it for 89322 miles the transmission failed. I brought the car to the dealer that I purchased it from. The dealer was "Honda on grand" in elmhurst Illinois. They wanted to charge me $6000+ to replace the transmission. I believe that this transmission should be replaced at no charge. I believe that this transmission is under recall from Honda, but I have not received anything from Honda about my transmission.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #323

May 132009

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 85,500 miles
Had first tranny go in may of '09 at 85,500 mls had work done by Honda to put new tranny in at my expense that one just went in 2 and a half years with just less then 60,00 mls and again Honda does not want to cover it.

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #322

Jan 222012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,500 miles


While driving on the toll way at 65 mph the tcs & engine malfunction lights illuminated and the D (drive) indicator began flashing. As this was happening the vehicle began losing speed and pressing on the accelerator increased the engines rpms but the vehicle was still slowing down. I coasted to the side of the highway with the engine running and discovered no forward or reverse movement when shifting gears. The vehicle was towed to a Honda dealer that night. The next day I was contacted by the service associate and told the automatic transmission and PCM were defective and needed to be replaced at a cost of $6100.

- Minooka, IL, USA

problem #321

Oct 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Although having brought the car in to the dealer under a power train/automatic transmission recall in 2004 as a result of NHTSA campaign #04V17600, the automatic transmission began to fail some months ago and the malfunction indicator light came on with P0730 (gear ratio error) being decoded by my mechanic. Some months later, the transmission was even more problematic and the difficulty in it shifting from second to third gear was so bad that the car could not be driven (95,000 miles). The problem appears to be with the overheating of the torque converter. This problem is even more likely to happen on a V-6 Odyssey, which I have, because the Honda power train/auto. Transmission cannot handle the extra torque of the larger engine. Replacing all the solenoids did not solve the problem and the transmission is currently being rebuilt but not by Honda as replacing it with a factory-rebuilt Honda transmission will only lead to the same issues. There are thousands of complaints on the internet of transmission failure in Honda Odyssey from 1999 up to the present. A class action suit forced Honda to extend the power train warranty to 100,000 miles on 1999-2001 Odyssey... but those of us with newer Odyssey have been left out in the cold. My car is a one-owner vehicle, regularly serviced according to Honda specifications and never used for pulling heavy loads or any sort of irregular driving. In fact, the car has been 'babied' from the day I bought it.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #320

Nov 252011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 123,233 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey transmission failure - while driving on I-65N in Indiana, at 70 mph, transmission locked up in the fast lane at 8:00 P.M. vehicle skidded about 30 feet, stopped and myself and family quickly exited vehicle. I called 911 to get troopers to alert other drivers about immobile vehicle in fast lane of interstate. Ran back about 70 yards to flag traffic over to slow lane to avoid someone getting killed. My wife and daughter are standing out in the median waiting for help to arrive. Thanks to some kind Indiana drivers for stopping and attempting to push van out of road but with tranny locked up, no movement whatsoever. Torque converter locked up. Transmission is completely ruined, need new unit. Estimated cost to repair $ 3,580.

- Oak Ridge, TN, USA

problem #319

Nov 272011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
My Honda odyessy's transmission overheated while on a family trip. I have kept up with the service scheduled outlined by Honda. Van has 122K on it now. I bought a Honda expecting to get the long haul out of it! 122K is not my idea of the long haul! the estimate is a $4000 cost to replace the transmission! I have read about the law suit the was won and want to know why this was not a recall of some sort! there is clearly a big problem, there is a website created just for this issue! if I had not done all of the maintenance or did not take care of the car I would not be so upset. Code P0730, gear ratio failure.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #318

Nov 242011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 128,520 miles
I was told approximately two months ago that the reason the shift was hard was because I had two broken motor mounts. They were repaired and they suggested changing the transmission fluid. Then right before thanksgiving I noticed my car having difficulty shifting between 2nd & 3rd gear and the rpms were going crazy so I took it to the dealer. I was informed the transmission needed to be replaced for $4200. I have spent about $1500 this year on repairs for this van. I always have driven Honda and Toyota and fully expected to get over 200,000 miles out of this van. I'm very disappointed to find many people have had the same problem and that Honda is not helpful. This is my last Honda.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #317

Sep 162011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 154,444 miles
2003 Odyssey left my wife in a terrible situation. It suddenly failed when she was in the middle of traffic with children in the car. With no warning, it would not move the vehicle and ground to a stop, leaving her almost out of control of the vehicle. Honda is supposed to be a manufacturer with well designed, reliable products, but it is not so with this transmission. When a manufacturer realizes there is a problem with a vehicle, but year after year after year does nothing to remedy the problem, it is irresponsible and reckless to continue to manufacture the vehicle with the problematic transmission.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #316

Jun 162011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated the transmission vibrated abnormally while driving 25 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test and found that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised that they would pay $500 toward the repair, leaving a balance of $1500. The contact declined the offer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 97,000. The consumer stated the torque converter was replaced for $500. Since the new converter was installed, and code od P0740 is displaying. The consumer stated the next step is to have the transmission replaced. Updated 10/21/11.

- Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #315

Sep 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
Transmission failure: Travelling up a hill on a freeway at 70mph with family/children in the vehicle, suddenly & without warning, transmission wildly shifts from 4th down to 2nd/1st, back to 3rd, continues lurching/shifting back and forth as RPM's fluctuate wildly; hobbled to next exit, smoke & trans fluid coming from under hood. Called local dealer who "has no idea" what's wrong with it but for $100 will check it out. Result: They tell me that trans overheated & melted down, burned out clutches, needs new trans -> $4800 (rebuilt). Trans was just fine & trans fluid was fine prior to this incident, car was maintained, absolutely no warning of anything amiss. Now I find out via the internet that many, many people have this problem w/2003 Odyssey's. called Honda, they tell me, "there is no known problem with this model year" (lie) and they won't do anything to help with the repair because the car came w/36,000 mile warranty and we are beyond that. He actually asked me, "is this the first time your transmission has blown on this vehicle" are you still on your first transmission"" which is a funny thing to ask if there is no known problem. Internet indicates that when people have trans replaced, 2nd trans frequently blows also. This car had a recall for trans oil cooling, was completed before we bought (new from dealer) & we were not informed about it. This is definitely a safety issue when your trans explodes at 70mph with your children in the back seat. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Okemos, MI, USA

problem #314

Aug 172011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Transmission failure.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #313

Aug 152011


  • miles
2003 Honda Odyssey - transmission failure.

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?