Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,117 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jun 012012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I parked my car, removed the keys and exited the vehicle. Once outside, the car began to roll backwards and I pushed against it to hold it from rolling into the car parked next to me (the front wheels were turned). I re-entered the car and shifted it into park and applied the parking brake.

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #16

Jul 112011

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda odysssey. The contact stated that the vehicle rolled back although it was in park and turned off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the altenator and ignition might need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been inspected. In addition, the contact mentioned that the key could be removed out of the ignition while the vehicle was in drive or reverse. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 118,000.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 012012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I was able to remove the key without putting the vehicle gear on park and went for a movie with family. After watching movie, I came back, I put the key and tried to start the vehicle, it didn't start. I couldn't realize that the vehicle is not in park, it was late night, myself and my family was left alone trying to start the vehicle, it was very scary, and later realized and started the vehicle after putting it to park.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #14

Jul 092012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that when the vehicle was in drive, the key could be removed from the ignition abnormally. The vehicle had not been inspected by the dealer or a mechanic. The failure mileage was 108,000 and the current mileage was 122,000...updated 11/14/12 updated 11/15/2012

- Southfiled, MI, USA

problem #13

Aug 242012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 64,580 miles
Check engine light came up right after a recent refuel and we pulled the vehicle on the side and checked the manual. We tightened the fuel cap but the light did not go away. We took it to the dealer to get it checked up. Upon diagnosis the deal told us that the transmission has gone bad and needs a total transmission replacement. Got a second opinion from two other auto repair shops and they confirmed what dealer said that the transmission has gone bad and needs replacement.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #12

Dec 192011

Odyssey

  • 91,578 miles
VIN not available: Car currently in service on Monday, 12/19/2011, the Odyssey accelerated even after applying brakes to slow down. Had to pull into service shop and drive until the car could be safely placed in park, and had to shut off the engine. Was told the electronic throttle position sensor (part #047211) would have to be ordered from Honda and replaced. The car was available for pick up on Tuesday 12/20/2011. On Wednesday, 12/21/2011, while traveling East on the New York state thruway the car began to accelerate again above the speed limit without stepping on the gas. The cruise control was not on. The car continued to accelerate after depressing the brakes. I had to pull to the side of the road and into a service station. Continued to drive around parking lot until I could put the car in neutral and, again, shut the engine off. Even when car was turned back on the engine accelerated. The car is currently at a certified Honda repair shop in yorkville, N.Y. being evaluated. They are telling us they will need to check engine and transmission mounts on the vehicle (due to being in an accident in 2009, but was reconditioned in 2010 by another Honda dealer), also will check cable between throttle body and gas. Still waiting to hear if anything has been resolved. This car is the main car for our household which includes 4-year-old triplets (one has special needs). Only the operator was in the vehicle when both incidents occurred.

- Canastota, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 162011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own 04 Honda Odyssey and found the same problem as described in the recall for multiple 2003-2004 Honda models. You can remove the ignition key without shifting to park. The van started rolling, I was pushed by it and injured my knee as I was trying to get in and stop the car. The car hit the rails resulting in minor damage. I tested this problem and it happens all the time, you can remove the key without any effort while the car is still in drive. Why Honda Odyssey is not a part of the recall issued for Honda element and few other Honda models? handa Odyssey 2004 has the same problem as described here: autos.aol.com/cars-Honda-element-2004/recalls/ summary: Honda is recalling certain model year 2003 Honda Accord, civic two and four door, and model year 2003-2004 Honda element vehicles. The interlock lever of the ignition switch may unexpectedly deform, which can allow the interlock function of a vehicle with an automatic transmission to be defeated. Consequences: Removal of the ignition key when the gear selector of a vehicle with an automatic transmission has not been shifted to the park position can allow the vehicle to roll away, increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Dealers will remove the original interlock pin and lever within the ignition switch, and replace them with new, designed components. This service will be performed free of charge. The safety recall began on October 7, 2010. Owners may contact Honda at 1-800-999-1009. This is very dangerous problem, I drive kids and my disabled mother in my van, someone can get injured. I have two more older Honda CRV cars and they don"T have this problem, only Honda Odyssey has this issue.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 152009

Odyssey

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while the vehicle was stopped, he was able to remove the key from the ignition with the shifter in drive. He was also able to use the gear shifter and place the vehicle in park without the key being in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 126,000.

- Burmingham, AL, USA

problem #9

Apr 132010

Odyssey

  • 62,000 miles
I have an 04 Honda Odyssey with this same problem as this recall. You can remove the ignition key without shifting to park. It has happened a few times and the van starts rolling. Since the engine is off the brakes are very hard to press. In one incident I was out of the van when it started to roll. You do not have to force it to turn to lock, there is no resistance. Honda element recalls element electrical system:ignition recall id# 58731 recall date Aug 05, 2010 part affected electrical system:ignition model affected element potential units affected 384220 get details recall date Aug 05, 2010 model affected 2004 Honda element description Honda is recalling certain model year 2003 Honda Accord, civic two and four door, and model year 2003-2004 Honda element vehicles. The interlock lever of the ignition switch may unexpectedly deform, which can allow the interlock function of a vehicle with an automatic transmission to be defeated. Consequence removal of the ignition key when the gear selector of a vehicle with an automatic transmission has not been shifted to the park position can allow the vehicle to roll away, increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy dealers will remove the original interlock pin and lever within the ignition switch, and replace them with new, designed components. This service will be performed free of charge. The safety recall is expected to begin on or about September 29, 2010. Owners may contact Honda at 1-800-999-1009. Potential units affected 384220 notes Honda (american Honda motor co.) R44.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #8

Dec 152009

Odyssey

  • miles
I bought a Honda Odyssey ex about a year ago. The back doors began opening on their own as I was driving and wouldn't close. Then the transmission started leaking oil. I paid to get a diagnostics from the Honda dealer ship which cost me $235. They said I needed to change the entire transmission. I bought it with 64km and now it has 70km. I've paid 5,500 so far and I still owe 10,000.

- New Britain , CT, USA

problem #7

May 012010

Odyssey

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Honda Odyssey van. The ignition switch and turn signal switch fail to operate correctly. The turn signal switch assembly had to be replaced by the local dealership because the relay switch in the steering column would begin to activate while driving producing an electric odor. The turn signal relay switch was replaced at approx 110,000 miles. The ignition switch is now being replaced because the ignition key cannot be inserted to start the car routinely without being manipulated. When this car was relatively new and under warranty the fan switch had to be replaced. The car now has 150,000 miles. My concern is that the electrical components in the steering column are defective and that the turn signal relay switch had the potential to burn; and the ignition switch could fail during operation of the car. The ignition switch is a defective part, or the part is from an a prior recall of 1999 to 2003 ignition switch's recalled by Honda that were used in later year models. Potentially, the 2004 models should have been included in any recalls of the ignition switches.

- Carbondale, CO, USA

problem #6

Feb 102009

Odyssey

  • 76,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the driver's side sliding door opens while the vehicle is being driven. The most recent failure occurred while driving 15 mph. The door can be opened both automatically or manually. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the sensor in the motor assembly was not receiving a signal that indicates the vehicle is being driven. This causes the door to become ajar. The dealer feels that the manufacturer should be responsible for the repairs, but the manufacturer refuses to repair the vehicle for free. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 76,500.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #5

Jul 192007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the sliding door on the passenger side of the vehicle began to close while she was placing her child in the car seat. She became stuck and the door continued to close on her. The contact was literally pushing the door in an attempt to stop it from closing. She stated that if the vehicle is supposed to have a sensor for the door, it is not working. The current and failure mileages were 43,000.

- Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #4

Mar 302007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. While driving, the vehicle shuts off due to intermittent electrical failure. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 60,000 and failure mileage was 58,000.

- Wynnewood, PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 242004

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have brought my Honda Odyssey to the dealer at least three times since purchased less than one year ago. Each time I asked them to look at the air conditioning system. I told them it made a "clunk" noise at start up. It was so loud, I thought it was the transmission. The first time, they told me they told me they could not reproduce the problem. The second time, they told me it was "normal" and gave me an internal copy of "A/C 'clunlk' noise on years 1999-2001" mechanical problem sheet. Hello!!! I bought a 2004 model Odyssey!!. I called, complained, and got nowhere. I recieved another recall notice, and asked them again to look at the A/C "clunk" noise. I told them it was also happing when the heater was on, not just the A/C. of course, they told me they could not find anything wrong. I have researched this problem. In the 1999-2001 Odyssey model they had a "clunk" noise problem acknowledged by you. I do not see it for years 2003-04. However, I do have this problem and feel I have been sold a defective product. On one account, they did acknowledge the problem, but tried to convince me it was a "defect" from 1999-2001. I find this unexceptable.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 012004

Odyssey

  • miles
Multiple failures. Brakes problem, transmission, rough idle & engine surging, steering column controls and others. The automatic door would not open or close, the transmission did not shift properly and the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The brake pedal shuttered, the brakes would catch without being applied. The consumer was told the steering column control switch had a short, however the next day the horn honked and there was an odd noise in the steering column and the interior lights flashed multiple times.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #1

Feb 122004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Honda Odyssey 2004 automated sliding door failure. Upon unlocking car, automated door opened 2 inches and hung long enough for my child to put a hand in and the door closed back on the hand. Failure 1 - partially open and reclose. Failure 2 - was when the door did not auto-sense an object in the door jam before closing.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?