Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,117 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Nov 152016

Odyssey

  • 208,563 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The SRS light comes on indiscriminately. Concerned about the air bag and safety relating to it. It could happen driving or while its stationary. Secondly the yellow check engine light is constantly on. Fuel system leak according to a tech. He said it wasn't worth fixing. Thirdly, the door lights and rear courtesy brake light comes on occasionally, but then goes off.

- Mount Horeb, WI, USA

problem #36

Jul 092016

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the SRS warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V344000, 15V320000, 15V045000 (air bags) and 12V573000 (electrical system). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 148,000. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 11/01/16 updated 11/02/16/

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #35

Jul 012016

Odyssey

  • miles
The key can be removed from the ignition without being in park.

- New Market, TN, USA

problem #34

Oct 262015

Odyssey

  • 240,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the ignition key remained in the ignition switch, preventing the vehicle from starting. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was repaired under a manufacturer's recall related to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 240,000.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #33

Feb 032015

Odyssey

  • 220,000 miles
My wife was driving in the highway all of the sudden the passenger door start, it to beep to my wife's surprise the power door never latched, she had to pull over and bump the door to make it latch. When she came home I checked the door and clearly see the door appear as closed but it does not shut and if you don't bump the door it does not latch at all. Evidently this has been going on for a while but she never had it to adjure before very, very dangerous and it should be addressed. We had it looked at once and they said it is fixed but here we go again.

- Mt. Jackson, VA, USA

problem #32

Dec 102014

Odyssey

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. While driving at any speed and making a right turn, the horn independently activated. In addition, the window on the passenger side failed to open. The contact mentioned that the failures occurred after the vehicle was serviced under the manufacturer frontal air bag recall. The contact also mentioned that an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #31

Apr 122015

Odyssey

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the ignition key was difficult to enter and remove from the ignition switch. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously serviced approximately a year ago under NHTSA campaign number: 12V257000 (electrical system). The contact mentioned that the failure was not experienced prior to the recall repair. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 97,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #30

Sep 242014

Odyssey

  • 84,950 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. While driving uphill at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle made a beeping noise and the entire instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle felt as if it were losing power. While driving downhill, the contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle failed to stop. The parking brake had to be engaged in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle stalled once it stopped. After forty minutes, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,950.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #29

Jun 022014

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system) in January of 2014. After taking the vehicle to the dealer the contact was informed that because the vehicle was modified due to a handicap the manufacturer was not willing to pay to have the modified hand controls disconnect and reconnected in order to install the remedy. The contact notified the manufacturer of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/19/14

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #28

Oct 202013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V412000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system) had surpassed reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There are no failures at this time. Updated 06/10/14 MA the consumer stated it has been 18 months, and the part is still not available. Updated 07/24/14

- Scotts Valley , CA, USA

problem #27

Jan 092014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 173,195 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on the freeway and the internal brake system light come on indicating that was any back brake lights, then while driving the vehicle stop going forward light the transmission went into neutral and then the tcs indicator and the engine light come on and then the 2004 Odyssey stopped moving without any indication at all as I was driving in high traffic on a California freeway at approximately 7:30am on my way to work. I am told that there was a recall on these models and that I would cost me over $3,200 out of picket to fix and then, (I was told to take the vehicle to Honda for recall repairs, because it is still under the recall static and Honda has never fixed this problem. At the time I bought this vehicle from the dealer I wasn't told that there was a recall on these Odyssey's and there wasn't any defeats reported on the vehicle fix sheets.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 012013

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system). Two months after the repair, the key became stuck in the ignition. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle had been underivable for about two months. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Selma, CA, USA

problem #25

Aug 162013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
The key would frequently fall out of the lock, or get stuck in the lock. A recall was issued for the interlock lever in the ignition switch. We were unable to immediately bring our vehicle to the dealer for the recall repair because it was our sole source of transportation. While I was away in California attending my aunt's memorial, the key to the vehicle failed to function whether in park or otherwise. The tow truck driver broke the key off in the lock trying to get the vehicle into neutral, because the switch would not properly release the key. The vehicle was brought to the dealer to apply the recall repair to the interlock lever any other necessary part of the ignition switch* per the recall notice. After replacing the ignition switch, the dealer and Honda corporate decided that this was not a recall issue and refused to accept responsibility for any part of the repair cost, even though the notice clearly states that repairs to the interlock lever and necessary part of the ignition switch* should be covered at no cost. [xxx] in the case management division of american Honda corporate (he refused to give me his last name, but indicated that he was the only [xxx] in that division) and [xxx] at the local dealership, crown Honda of greensboro, both refused to acknowledge any responsibility for this repair and forced us to pay full price for the repair in order to release my van. The recall notice clearly states that not only the faulty interlock lever but any necessary part of the ignition switch would be replaced at no cost. It doesn't matter whether there were other issues with the ignition switch. It was still specifically stated in the recall notice that this would be covered at no cost. Apparently, Honda does not feel that it has to honor the recall notice if there are any other minor mechanical issues existing in the ignition assembly. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jamestown, NC, USA

problem #24

Jun 152013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
I was coming out of apartment parking lot and suddenly car stopped. I have to towed car to herb chamber of Honda in westborough, MA. Technician told me that it is a computer failure. I am not sure why computer fail as before this incident my used not to start after parking. To start I had to insert key and move gear from parking to D1 and move it back to P and it started all the time. I not sure this is a computer issue. They are charging me $1500 for this. Could you please help to resolve this. Since I bought this car I am having issues, my car paint is peeling off too, without corrosion or scratch.

- Westborough, MA, USA

problem #23

May 142013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 100,244 miles
I took our 2004 Odyssey mini van to our Honda dealership for a recall on the ignition switch. While there, the dealership identified three of the four engine mounts were broken, resulting in a $858.78 repair. The dealer claims that the problem is not uncommon in vehicles with 100,000. We've had cars much older than this and have never experienced this problem! if it's "not uncommon" in Honda Odyssey, I think it should be investigated. Perhaps another recall from Honda is due.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #22

Jun 012009

Odyssey

  • 105,000 miles
Original owner of this vehicle and I've had to replace the transmission twice, the A/C system 3 times and starter. Numerous electrical problems with the doors and windows and recently had to replace the ignition switch that seized one afternoon. All service intervals have been followed as with my other vehicles that have had tires and fluid changes with no other fixes. The paint continues to flake off even after Honda of concord, nc repainted half of the vehicle. 2 years ago. Vehicle has left my wife stranded on dozens of occasions along with the vehicle's 9th battery since 2004. Selling this vehicle is not an option but replacing it is. It will not be replaced with another Honda product ever and I caution anyone who is ever in the market for one of these vans to avoid them at all cost. The dealerships have been nothing but a nightmare to work with and would not cover any of the repairs I listed above. They are junk.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #21

Feb 072013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 130,515 miles
Safety recall 12V-573 due to this above recall my vehicle rolled down and damage the neighbor storage shed and my vehicle got damage, the total for both damages are $2,313.94. On 02/082013 I had call american Honda automobile division to file a claim and they had turn down my claim# [xxx].. could you be able to help me with this claim? thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #20

Mar 192013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
About a month or so before....key would almost get stuck and not be able to start car. Then, it got stuck officially. Stuck!!!!!!!!! it will not turn, move at all. Car is locked up. Curry Honda says it requires a new ignition switch. $400+ this cannot be the only one seeing as online searches have an incredible amount of Honda Odyssey requiring ignition switches.

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #19

Mar 212012

Odyssey

  • 188,710 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated the ignition switch failed; however, the ignition key could be removed without shifting into park while the vehicle was turned on. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing nor was the manufacturer notified. The failure mileage was approximately 188,710.

- Clarence, LA, USA

problem #18

Jul 152012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Unsure of exact date this first started occurring, but certainly within the last 12 months. We are able to turn the ignition to the off position and remove the key from the ignition while the vehicle is still engaged in gears other than park (D, N, R). Typically happens when we pull into a parking place or driveway. Depending on vehicle orientation, car will start to roll if we do not engage parking brake. Several close calls, fortunately no roll-aways, accidents or injuries. Now having problems with the key fitting into the ignition and starting the vehicle. Almost as if the entire ignition / interlock system is wearing out, very loose tolerances, as if the ignition lock cylinders are not lined up any more.

- Prairie Village, KS, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?