Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Odyssey seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Feb 262014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice on my 2004 Honda Odyssey and immediately called coggin Honda of orlando at the end of February 2014. At the time the service person told me that they haven't received the parts as of yet and that they will contact me. In June I called again and was given the same excuse adding that they were running behind. Last week, on October 7, 2014, I took the Odyssey in for some repairs and asked about when they were going to fix the recall of the air bags on the vehicle and once again were given the excuse of running behind. At this point I have no other choice than to make this complain. The dealer has not showed me any interest on fixing the problem. What are they waiting for? are they waiting to see if I have an accident and hoping that the air bags will function properly.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #24

May 182014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contacted stated that the rear driver side door was difficult to latch in order to close the door. The contact also stated that the lock switch had to be depressed on several occasions in order to lock the door. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 10/23/14 updated 04/13/2015

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #23

Apr 102014

Odyssey

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that she crashed into the rear of another vehicle and upon the deployment of the air bags, both of her thumbs were severely burned from the air bag contents. The contact went to the hospital where she was treated for second degree burns. The vehicle was not destroyed and there was a police report filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Spencerport, NY, USA

problem #22

Oct 202013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V412000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 12V573000 (electrical system) had surpassed reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There are no failures at this time. Updated 06/10/14 MA the consumer stated it has been 18 months, and the part is still not available. Updated 07/24/14

- Scotts Valley , CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 112014

Odyssey

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V412000 (air bags). The contact stated that shortly after the preventive repair was performed, the air bag warning light intermittently illuminated. The dealer was made aware of the failure however, declined to provide a remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 142014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
While coming to a stop for vehicles stopped at the traffic light at the end of my street, I rear-ended an oil truck in front of me. My driver's side airbag deployed as I applied the brakes to stop, causing me to lose control and hit the oil truck. My vehicle was totaled and my injuries were not severe.

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #19

Nov 192013

Odyssey

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that after having the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V412000 (air bags) the supplemental restraint system warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was advised that there was an air bag sensor failure, but one that was nonrelated to the recall campaign. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #18

Dec 262013

Odyssey

  • 145,143 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contacts vehicle was repaired under NHTSA recall number: 13V412000; air bags. The air bag warning lamp in the vehicle remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, it was not inspected. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 145,143.

- Rutherford, NJ, USA

problem #17

Nov 042013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
To whom it may concern: I received a letter in the mail from the Honda automobile division about the recall on airbags for 2004 Odyssey, and I contacted the jeffrey Honda dealer, in roseville, Michigan. A customer representative said they would get back to me about this because they were not aware of this, but it has been nearly a month and no one has gotten back to me. Are the airbags okay, or do we still need to get them fixed" if we do have to get them fixed, when will the Honda dealers know about this" please let me know. Any help would be greatly appreciated! thank you in advance!

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 212013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 189,848 miles
I recently received a recall notice for a module in the airbag system causing it to deploy on its own. The additional problem that I am having is the " SRS " light is on which as I was told by the Honda mechanic that it means that the air bag might not deploy if needed. They also refused to fix the light being on because they said the 2 problems had nothing to do with each other. It would seem to me more of a safty hazzard that the air bag would not inflate when you would need it as apposed to going off by itself. They are making me bring it back another day so they can charge $115 diagnostic fee plus other parts what is needed.

- Owings Mills , MD, USA

problem #15

Mar 072013

Odyssey

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact mentioned that one month later, the air bag warning light illuminated and remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 88,000.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 152012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 61,350 miles
During the summer of 2012 I was parked in a parking lot facing the sun. When I started my car the SRS (air bag warning) light illuminated. As I drove the 3 miles to my home the light stayed on. Within the next two weeks the same thing happened about two times. It has not occurred since then. The airbags did not deploy. My Honda dealer mechanic checked the car and indicated that no codes appeared in the car's computer system to indicate that the SRS light ever came on.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #13

Jun 012012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
The airbag fault light has been illuminating randomly at vehicle startup for about the past 12 months. I'm afraid the system is not working properly and could result in unwarranted airbag deployment.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #12

Nov 232012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 83,504 miles
Beginning around Nov. 23, 2012, air bag light on dashboard stayed on after its initial test (blink on and then off) once ignition turned on and engine running. Over next approximately 5 months, light would intermittently come on after test and then stay on while engine running. Seems to occur more more when the outside temperature is warm rather than cold. However, within the past approximately 1 month (since May 2013), light has been staying on constantly after initial test and ignition turned on. Vehicle has been operating normally otherwise. I've checked all seatbelt connections and fuses and nothing abnormal found. No other dashboard lights are having problems, nor have there been any electrical or mechanical problems with the vehicle, so problem is isolated to airbag system.

- Taylor Mill, KY, USA

problem #11

Jun 012012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 220,000 miles
Air bag light came on.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #10

May 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Indicator shows front passenger air bag is inop. The indication is shown intermittently, does not always stay on. It is unknown if air bag is functional or is not at the time. Cannot reproduce for Honda service center.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #9

Sep 082012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 132,291 miles
Drove the car about 20 yards, then placed it in park to allow the rear van doors to open for our children. When the kids got in, I placed the shift lever in drive. Immediately, both the driver and passenger airbags deployed violently. I was not in motion, was not struck by any other vehicle or object, and my foot was on the brake. An off-duty police officer was parked right behind me saw this and came to help. He noted that the airbag firing mechanisms continued to fire. "I've seen a lot of wrecks" he said "but I've never seen the airbags continue to fire. The horn continued to beep. She sustained powder burns on both arms, and was, of course shocked by the surprise. It was raining at the time of the incident. The car has not been driven further. I had minor powder burns on my arms, and our ears were ringing from the loud explosions.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #8

May 022012

Odyssey

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that as he was accelerating from a traffic stop, a truck crashed into the passenger side of the vehicle while exiting a parking area. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries and the vehicle was towed from the scene. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection nor was the manufacturer made aware of the incident. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were118,000.

- San Digeo , CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 012012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
SRS light comes on and would not come off, dealer replaced driver side seatbelt receptacle. SRS light come off for a week then SRS light comes on and would not come off.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 102011

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph on black icy road conditions, the vehicle unexpectedly crashed into a retainer wall. The crash was due to the slippery road conditions. The contact sustained injuries from the front driver's side air bag, which deployed forcefully from the steering column and caused chemical burns to both of her hands. A police report was filed. The contact was able to drive from the scene. The vehicle was then taken to a collision center. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Stockton, NJ, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?