If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

4.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Mar 292011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 55-65 mph, a rock struck the air conditioner condenser. The contact stated later the air conditioner started blowing hot air instead of cold air. There were no warning lights. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised the contact that the air conditioner condenser was punctured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact stated he filed a complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 85,400 and the current mileage was 85,445. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/13/11

- Rohnert, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 072010

Odyssey

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the air conditioner failed. The dealer advised that the condenser would need to be replaced. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure was approximately 44,000 and the current mileage was 44,200.

- Farmington Hills , MI, USA

problem #29

Mar 202009

Odyssey

  • 37,000 miles
This is to file a formal complaint and request Honda. I purchased a 2005 Honda Odyssey counting on its quality and reliability and unfortunately have been disappointed. The air conditioner stopped working after only 3 years and I had to replace the condenser just at 37,000 miles. Better yet I was told by Honda dealership that it would not have been covered by warranty anyway because it was caused by 'some road debris hitting the condenser¿. what is the odd that hundreds of Honda customers have run into the same issue (evidenced by the discussion forum threads on many that's out there on the internet). Honda's official site states: ¿caution: Radiator and condenser fins are very thin and easily damaged. Do not bend them with high water pressure or brush¿. so why then did Honda put the A/C condenser completely exposed on the front of a vehicle that can legally travel at speeds up to 75 mph? obviously this is a design flaw that Honda should have recalled, or at least install a protective grille before customers are hit with expensive repairs. 2008 and newer Honda vans now come with standard protection guards on the front but it is not fair for all your loyalty customers who have purchased a 2007 or earlier Odyssey. As a reputable auto company, Honda should take responsibilities for this outright faulty design.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #28

Jun 102008

Odyssey 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions, the air conditioning system was activated. Warm air immediately circulated throughout the air vents in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they found a puncture in the condenser unit. The technician stated that the failure resulted from rocks in damaged roads. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 26,000 and current mileage is 38,000. Updated 06/23/09. The passengers side blows cold air and the drivers side blows warm air. Updated 06/23/09.

- Sutton, MA, USA

problem #27

Jun 012008

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
A/C unit (driver side). Condenser had small hole (probably from rock on road). Required replacement. Damage would appear to be related to design weakness--locating equipment in vulnerable spot (front--exposed to common road hazard, e.g., rocks). Repair cost was $750. Dealer agreed to provide free part which saved 50% of this cost--I'm sure this was to appease a long time customer, but this would only be possible because of the evidence, such as on this site, which demonstrated the frequency of this problem.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #26

Mar 152008

Odyssey

  • 57,000 miles
Front grill is designed in a manner that objects can fly through and cause damage to interior parts. A/C condenser was damaged - appearance of a rock shot puncture.

- Rockaway, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jul 052007

Odyssey

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A leak in air conditioning system allegedly caused by rock from the highway. The condenser was replaced at a cost of $720.

- South Holland, IL, USA

problem #24

Sep 042007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
2005 Honda Odyssey has wide opening where condenser sits - allowing rocks to damage it. I have had to replace the condenser twice in a 6 month period because of this rock problem. $750 to fix. American Honda will not admit there is a design flaw nor will they cover the costs. Driving through the desert in 100 degree weather with 3 young children and no A/C is ridiculous.

- Spanish Fork, UT, USA

problem #23

Mar 142008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On Honda Odyssey 2005 model year (potentially other model years too), the flawed placement of air conditioning condenser in the front without any protection cause condenser to fail upon impact from road debris flying into it. When condenser fails and leaks, light smoke is observed. This is a potential fire hazard, not to mention up to $1000 cost incurred to replace the condenser and fix the ac system. Honda needs to fix this design flaw for its customers by either shield the condenser or move it to a location less susceptible to road debris impact. There is no justification for exposing this vital part...

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #22

Jun 202007

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,500 miles
I am the original owner of the 2005 Honda Odyssey with about 15 K miles. In June we noticed loss of the ac system. Upon a visit to local Honda dealer I was told that a rock/road debris punctured the ac condenser and the repair estimate runs about $ $700. In a process of calling 5 other local Honda dealers trying to get a better pricing, I learned that my case is not that rare as it may sound. I was told that on average they replace about 2-3 ac condensers a month. Then I checked the internet and found much more Odyssey's owner with identical stories. My issue is that 2005-2007 Odyssey has a design flaw - too big opening under the bumper that allows any road debris to penetrate ac condenser and/or radiator. I am firm believer that Honda acknowledges that problem because 2008 Odyssey has a very nice, factory installed screen mesh under the bumper without any significant body upgrades for that year model. I called the regional Honda customer service center but they denied any responsibility.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #21

Oct 142007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that there is a wide opening on the lower grill of the vehicle. A rock entered the grill and created a hole in the air conditioner condenser, which caused a leak. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the air conditioner condenser. The contact researched the failure and found numerous complaints for this same failure. The failure and current mileages were 61,000. Updated 12-12-07.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 082007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,400 miles
I have twice had my air conditioning condenser go out on my 2005 Honda Odyssey, once when it was 2 months old and now again as it is three years old (37,000 miles). The dealer says it is from rocks hitting the condenser unit. I feel this is a widespread problem (see www.topix.net/forum/autos/Honda-Odyssey/tjbopfur3svarkhcj), but Honda thus far is not addressing it as a recall problem. They are making people pay to have them repaired. They covered my first one because the van was only two months old, but the second one is not covered.

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #19

Oct 032007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Small rock damaged ac condenser. This clearly is the design flaw of the vehicle. There is no protective grill for the fragile ac condenser. It's cost $600 to replace the condenser.

- Callaway, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 062007

Odyssey

  • miles
Today I am told by local Honda dealers service shop that my ac condenser needs to be replaced due to road debris (probably a rock) and the cost will be over $900. I have a 2005 Honda Odyssey with less than 30,000 miles. Of course this happened when we were out of town and drove home in 95+ degree temperatures. I have seen hundreds of complaints online about the very same complaint. Apparently it is a design flaw that Honda is well aware of. Now I am faced with paying it all out of pocket or using my insurance with its $500 deductible after having been told that our coverage could very well go up in the future because of it (yet insurance company could not say how much or when). I am between a rock and a hard place... much like the poorly designed Honda ac condenser.

- Lake Jackson, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 102007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Dealership telling me that my ac isn't working due to a rock hitting the condenser, & that it wasn't covered under warranty. I did some research on line and have came across dozens & dozens of people that are having the same issue. This is a manufacturer default and they are trying to make us pay the price.

- Deer Park, NY, USA

problem #16

Apr 012007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,400 miles
I incurred $700 of expense when the air conditioning compressor on my car was punctured by a stone. The compressor is placed in front of an open grill just a few inches above ground level, where it is often damaged by rocks coming up from the road. Honda has had hundreds of such damages, but refuses to take responsibility for the design flaw, even though they have corrected it in 2008 models.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #15

Jul 162007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,709 miles
On 07/16/07 my wife drove about 65 miles to a dr. Appointment. When she stopped smoke came from under the hood. She called me and I drove the 65 miles to check the van. The air conditioner was not working so I took the van to the dealer thinking a warranty repair. They told me a object hit the air conditioner coil in front of the radiator and this was not covered under warranty. It cost me $720.35. They advised me to order a aftermarket billite grill from E bay and this will keep this from happening again. I did and this cost me $104. I did a search in the internet and found this is happening to a lot of people in all areas of the country. Seems there is poor designing for this area of the van allowing objects to damage the vehicle's parts. Please investigate this problem.

- Northport , AL, USA

problem #14

Jun 012007

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Honda Odyssey 2005, air conditioner (A/)C condenser just had no visible hole. The dealer claimed only a little pebble could cause a leak. A/C stopped working as all the fluid leake D out, causing lot of environmental damage as A/C was filled with toxic chemicals. It was costing $100, which was a design flaw from Honda. All over people were complaining but Honda was just riding their high name and making people suffer. www.google.com/search?hl=en&rlz=1B2gggl_en___us207&Q=Honda+Odyssey+2005+ac+not+working&btng=search. www.topix.net/forum/autos/Honda-Odyssey/tjbopfur3svarkhcj/P3.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #13

Jul 042007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
Air conditioning (A/C) problem was diagnosed as having a hole in the A/C condenser which Honda dealer stated was caused by road debris which was not covered by the warranty. After researching further the obvious cause of this was an engineering design flaw.- the A/C condenser was completely exposed to all the elements of the road with no grille/protection in front of it. Honda should recall these vehicles and install a grille in front of the condenser to protect it, and reimburse those of us who have paid to have condensers replaced due to their error. This design flaw also left the radiator exposed which was a safety hazard. Note, the 2008 Odyssey appeared to have a grille for protection.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 152007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Air conditioning system failed due to condenser unit poorly designed. Unit was not protected and kept getting holes in it. As per dealer, widespread problem with Honda on this vehicle. 2005 Honda Odyssey.

- Altamont, NY, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?