Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,604 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Feb 232011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 17,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased 4 Goodyear assurance touring P235/65R16 tires that were installed on 2005 Honda Odyssey LX. Vehicle was aligned and tires rotated, balanced, and pressure checked regularly. The tire was advertised with a 70,000 mile tread life warranty. At approximately 17,300 miles I noticed the tread on all 4 tires appeared to be separating from the tire when viewed from the side. I took it to original tire dealer who told me it was normal and there was nothing to worry about. At the next rotation, I again noted that the separation appeared to be getting worse. Again I was told that this is normal. At 24,000 miles, and within 400 miles of a rotation and balance, the tires developed a very mild vibration, which has never completely gone away, even with further rotation and balance. At 45,000 miles, there were cracks (possibly dry rot) beginning to form all over the sidewalls of the tires. Additionally, the tread had noticeable separation from tire. Lastly, the tires had worn to the 2/32 minimum tread depth. The tire dealer refused service or even prorate the tire towards new ones. I called Goodyear, but they instructed me to deal with the tire dealer, as that tire was made specifically for them. The tire dealer refuses to acknowledge any problem, though they have now offered a minimal preporation amount which isn't enough to offset the cost of the installation of new tires. The dealer refuses to prorate based on actual mileage vs warranted mileage, although their written warranty policy states that is the way the warranty should be handled.

- Arlington, TN, USA

problem #21

Aug 142011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,968 miles
Aug 2008, purchased 4 versado LX tires at 46851 miles. On 14 Aug 2011, had a tire blow on right rear on I-16. There was $75 damage to car as the tire tore the factory mud guard from the fender. Tire was replaced for $53 under warranty at 77968 miles. On 10 Oct 11, returned to dealer and found 2nd tire separating. Replaced for $73 under warranty at 79720. On 23 May 2012, 3rd tire was found to be separating at 84275 miles. I contacted toyo by email. Rep called my local tire dealer, raffield tire, and discussed issue. Dealer was told to re-inspect 4th tire closely while replacing the 3rd tire for $83 under warranty. It appeared to be ok. On 3 Jul 12 the 4th tire was replaced for $79 under warranty at 85676. Had long discussion with toyo customer service. Was told there were "no known issues with this tire". very funny that all 4 tires for my vehicle failed. Tire dealer does rotation/balance/check every 5000 miles. Wanted toyo to replace this tire at their cost due to all of the trouble I have had. Rep refused, stating that the government would not let them do any customer relief other than the limited warranty on tire. Otherwise, "they would be guilty of hiding defect information from the government". I cannot believe there are no known issues if all 4 of my tires failed. They also could not pay for the repair I had done in Aug 2011 since the tire was not turned over to an independent 3rd party for analysis.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #20

May 042011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 91,604 miles
While driving on the freeway, noticed thumping noise coming from tires and vibration in the entire vehicle. Pulled over and noticed a large bulge on one of the tires and the bulge was on the treads. The tire store described this as tire tread separation. This happened twice on two separate occasions within three months while driving on the freeway. Two of the four toyo versado tires on my vehicle failed as a result of tread separation. The retail store where I originally purchased the tires gave me a credit towards the purchase of new tires. They kept the failed tires.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #19

Jan 102006

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Honda Odyssey with pax tire system - tires need replacement much frequently than traditional tires and are very expensive to replace. Honda needs to issue a recall on their pax tire system.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #18

May 132005

Odyssey

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Honda Odyssey, with Michelin energy LX4 tires, tire size 235/710/460A. While driving between 50-65 mph the vehicle began to shimmy. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the tires were balanced. However the vehicle had to be taken to an authorized on ten separate occasions for identical failures. None of the repairs have remedied the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000. The current mileage was 100,000.

- Yonkers , NY, USA

problem #17

May 152008

Odyssey

  • 54,000 miles
Michelin tires energy LX4 235/65/R16-103T-went in to dealer today for alignment. Said they could not do it as all 4 tires are separating on the insides. All 4 at once? this is on a 2005 Honda Odyssey van- this van has been maintained to the utmost. As a saleperson-I live in it. Also in the weekends I put some of my 10 grandchildren in it. The most valuable cargo anyone can have. Reason for the Honda brand. Safety etc. I was in shock when told this took it to a local tire place got second opinion. I rotate tires every 2000 miles as I change oil every 1000 miles. This is very very upsetting as dangerous. As if I drive it they will blow. The steel belts are going to come through the inside sidewalls. What on earth!!! I would expect this from a fly by night company. But someone needs to do something before someone is killed with a blow out. I have been told Michelin will do nothing as they have had other complaints and tires with the same problem. Not to waste my time even contacting them. Go right to this web site and let all know about then problem. Not just one size many many sizes of michelins with the same problems. God bless I found out without damage to my family or someone else's on the highway with me.

- Milton, WI, USA

problem #16

Dec 182008

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a Honda Odyssey touring model with pax tires. I inquired about the tires at the time of purchase and did not want them. At the time I was not educated on the expenses the lack of facilities that care work with the tire and issues related to warranty with this car. It has been a nightmare having pax tires and has created a huge recurring expense for me.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #15

Apr 152006

Odyssey

  • 12,000 miles
The Michelin pax tire system: Honda used this pax system on touring versions of the Odyssey mini van in 2005 (and beyond but mine is a 2005). These tires wear extremely fast and unevenly. They are either an extremely poor design or are defective. Replacements can only be found at Honda dealers. This is mostly an annoyance and ends up costing the owner thousands of dollars more over the life of the vehicle. However, it may lead to safety issues in the event the average owner doesn't think to check their tires as frequently at a rate that would catch a problem.

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 152008

Odyssey

  • 29,000 miles
Premature tire wear on my 2005 Honda Odyssey minivan, Michelin LX-4 tires, completely worn out at 29,000 miles.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 102006

Odyssey

  • 29,985 miles
Poor manufactured Michelin tires. Becoming unsafe to drive after 20,000miles Michelin energy LX4 pax 235/710R-460 104T rb.

- Temple, GA, USA

problem #12

Apr 182008

(reported on)

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Honda Odyssey noise in the front of the vehicle and shaking in steering wheel. Consumer states that the dealer stated the wheel bearings needed to be replaced. Even after the replacement the problem persisted. The consumer was informed the problem he was experiencing with the shaking was due to a inoperative catalytic converter. It was replaced, however the noise and shaking continued. The vehicle had run flat tires, so if the tires became flat the consumer could drive up to 50 miles, however when the consumer experienced a flat, the vehicle would not move. The consumer was informed the tire was defective. The engine light illuminated. The consumer was told the vehicle needed another catalytic converter. When the consumer picked the vehicle up, the engine light was still on.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 022006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
2005 Honda Odyssey touring van have the pax runflat tires. Replaced 9 tires in the first 30,000 miles. One tire was put on and in 2,000 miles and it failed (bubble in side wall). Michelin would not do anything for me regarding warranty. After talking with the local Honda dealer, they told me it is not unusual for this tire to only get 30,000 miles on them before they need to be replaced. I have called Michelin and they said this mileage is the norm. At $250 per tire, something should be done. Thank you for listening.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #10

Dec 282007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. He observed that the tread on all four tires was worn. The contact owns run flat Michelin energy LX pax tires. The tire size is 235-710R-460A. The tire pressure is 33 on the front and 35 on the rear. The tread on the front, rear passenger and driver side tires tread are worn. The treads are wearing on the tires faster than normal. A local tire dealer stated that only Honda can diagnose the tire failure due to the special metric rims. The dealer and tire manufacturer have advised him to bring the vehicle to the dealer to purchase tires. The tires on the vehicle are required to be replaced two to three times a year compared to conventional tires. Honda gave a quote of $2,000 to replace all four tires. He was not advised at the time the vehicle was purchased of the additional cost to change the tires or that the tires last half as long as normal tires. The contact asked Honda to replace the current 710 rims with conventional 17 inch rims; however, he hasn't received a response. The contact filed complaint/case number, N012008-01-0201951 with the manufacturers customer care center. He also spoke with the tire manufacturer and an attorney. The current and failure mileages were 6,000.

- Vandiver, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 242007

Odyssey

  • miles
Honda Odyssey touring, Michelin pax tire system is a consumer rip off. The tire wear is nowhere near what is claimed by the manufacturer and the rubber compound is so soft that they are punctured by every nail or screw on the road. Every flat costs a minimum of $50 to fix because of the jel-pack required when patching. Honda does not provide a spare tire or even a donut spare for emergencies. The tires are supposed to run flat for 125 miles at 50 miles per hour. In rural Arizona, 125 miles won, T get you anywhere near one of their " authorized, proprietary " repair places. I find that this auto is too dangerous to drive any place not near a repair station.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #8

Oct 012006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The vehicle has Michelin pax tires. The contact stated that the tires have excessive outer wear. Pieces of the outer wall began separating from the tires at 15,000 miles. The dealer only changed one of the tires, but all four were experiencing the failure. Honda advised him to speak with Michelin, but Michelin advised him to speak with Honda. Meanwhile, the warranty expired. The contact wanted to change the rims and place regular tires on the vehicle, but Honda advised him that doing so would void the vehicle's warranty. The dealer also advised him to bring his vehicle in every 7,500 miles to have the tires rotated at his expense. The current mileage was 23,000 and failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 02/01/08.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #7

May 202007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
My wife and I purchased a new Honda Odyssey van in 2005 which was equipped with pax runflat tires. At the time, we were told that the tires would wear like regular non run-flat tires, and would be 10-15% more expensive to replace. We were also told that all Honda dealers would have the necessary equipment to service these special tires. None of these statemants has proven to be true. The tires are all worn out at 31K miles, and we were quoted a price of $1300 plus tax to have them replaced. Worse yet, our neartest dealer (flagstaff Honda) does not have the necessary equipment to service them 2 years after their release. To make things worse, we now have a flat and gettign it fixed will require us to drive 50 mph on a busy inerstate (where everyone else is doing 80+mph) which I refuse to do. Because of all these problems, I have elected to purchase new rims, tires and pressure sensors (plus a spare tire) all of which will cost over $1000. I consider this to be a defect and the tire system was not fairly explained, with all it's shortcomings or we would have never purchased this model.

- Sedona, AZ, USA

problem #6

Apr 182007

Odyssey

  • miles
Well, the pax tires that are on my 2005 Honda Odyssey are junk. From my own experience I can tell you I have taken out a small loan to replace 2 of the tires and I do a lot of highway driving. The vehicle is under regular maintenance and I keep it in excellent shape. This is why I was so shocked to hear I needed new tires in 1/2 the time a normal set of tires would be needed. It is shocking but I was told this is the price for security. Hmmm, I thought that is why I was sold the roadside assistance and the extended warranty and etc. Well from what I can tell some one should do something about these tires. Either increase the quality of the rubber, or recall them and give used regular tires and rims. They are just not acceptable. To add to this my vehicle has a shake in it and the shop is not sure but think I need to replace the other two tire as soon as possible. But I was told no promises that will fix the shake. The shake was not there until the new tires were put on the vehicle.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #5

Mar 102007

Odyssey

  • miles
We have a 2005 Honda odessy, with pax tire system. Tires failed at approximately 25000 miles. Neither Michelin nor Honda have done anything. I was asked did I drive the car up and down hills? at the time the car was hydro planing so badly we felt unsafe. We have had to buy new wheels, and tirese and sensors or get out of this worthless set of tires. I would never buy a vehicle with this on. All we got are bills and lies.

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #4

Mar 142007

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,432 miles
Purchase 05 Honda Odyssey in Oct 04. Pax tire was replaced under warranty in Nov 04. In May 2006 I was told tires worn and need replacing and it is not covered under warranty. My car is serviced at Honda dealer as recommended. I didn't replace tires at time, but got a flat while on vacation and had it replaced. Now March 14, 30,000 maintenance I'm told three tires need replacing.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #3

May 242005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
Since I bought my van, I have had nothing but trouble with the pax tire system. I will never buy another Honda. The reputation that held in my personal experiences growing up into adulthood now have been shattered. I have had no support through my local dealer nor Honda headquarters. I am still experiencing problems with the steering even after replacing all 4 tires at my own expense. It is a disgusting that Honda is selling cars they cannot fix. I am totally fed up with the situation with my car and feel hopeless for its future. Please help! I have told everyone I know to stay away from Honda and especially the touring model!

- Adamstown, MD, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?