Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,232 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Odyssey AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

May 032011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. While traveling 30 mph the contact noticed steam coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the air conditioning condenser was replaced. The current mileage was 46,000 and the failure mileage was 39,000.....updated 06/18/12 updated 06/22/12

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 042010


  • 48,000 miles
I owned a 2006 Honda Odyssey with 5 year / 60000 mile extended warranty. On Jan 4, 2010, A/C stop working and I brought the car to the dealer expecting for warranty repair. However, the dealer told me the damage was due to road hazard and will not be covered under warranty. Dealer stated this is very common problem for this model year but they can not do anything about it. I called american Honda customer service center and they told me the same thing. They can not repair any damages due to road hazard. I checked the internet and found many Honda owner had exact problem as I did. If it a well known problem, why Honda is not coming up with a fix to minimize the chance. Dealer is enjoying this "design" flaw by charging innocent customer with more than $1300 repair. Can you kindly investigate this un-ethical practice?

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #32

May 202009


  • 29,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the air conditioner in her vehicle was not working. She called the dealer and was informed that a stone or something placed a hole in the air conditioner, which caused it to leak. The manufacturer stated that the air conditioner was not covered under warranty and the contact would have to pay for the repair. The failure mileage was 29,500.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #31

May 082009


  • 27,152 miles


I have a 2006 Honda Odyssey and is still under warranty period. My A/C stopped working and I brought in to a Honda dealership and was told a rock had hit the A/C condenser and it was not covered under warranty. I refused repair because I believe it has to be a design flaw for a rock to be able to enter through big gap grille and damage the condenser plus my van is still under warranty and should be repaired at no charge because of a design flaw. Mine is not an isolated case as it has happened to many other Honda Odyssey owners who reported it online. It would cost $1000 to repair it. I called Honda corporate office and talked to their supervisor jeremy rudner who refused to talk to me the second time I called in to speak to a manager.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #30

Apr 072009


  • 46,000 miles
We own a 2006 Honda Odyssey. Air-conditioner stopped working. Dealership said it was a hole in the condenser caused by road debris or a rock. Seems that this must be a design flaw because the extreme force it would take for a rock to puncture metal in an ac unit kids are now hot and miserable in back of van. Over $800 to fix and Honda warranty will not cover. Times are tough for a car manufacturer to not fix a design flaw. Looks like design was fixed for 2009, but ignored by manufacturer for previous model years.

- Macedonia, IL, USA

problem #29

Oct 212008


  • 38,000 miles
A/C has went out in my 2006 Odyssey for the second time in the past year I bought it new in 2006 I has cost me 900 both time they tell me its not covered.

- Honolulu , HI, USA

problem #28

Jun 152008


  • 30,000 miles


I have a 2006 Honda Odyssey and just recently my air conditioner stopped working so I brought it to my local dealership to have it checked out. About an hour later the service man came to me to tell me that a rock has hit my ac condenser and it would cost $820 to fix it because it is not covered under warranty or extended warranty. The service man also stated that this has been happening quite often. I decide to google my ac condenser and to my surprise pops up this forum with hundreds of people with the same story. Sounds like a rehearsed story "a rock has hit your ac condenser putting a hole in it". after reading other people's stories, what they have stated is that this is a manufacturer defect, the grill has to much space in between by the license plate so debris is able to get in. This should be paid for by Honda since its their mistake.

- Bedminster, NJ, USA

problem #27

Jun 022008


  • 50,000 miles
I believe there is a design flaw in the air conditioning system that leaves it vulnerable to road debris that can pass through the grill and pierce the condenser leading to loss of freon and no A/C. this happened to us on Monday and after searching the web I see many other Honda Odyssey owners have experienced the same.

- Milton, WI, USA

problem #26

Oct 062006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
My 2006 Honda Odyssey minivan developed a hole in the air conditioner condenser after just 4 months of driving (8K miles) and I was told by the dealer this was a freak accident of a pebble puncturing the condenser that was covered under bumper to bumper warranty or insurance. The warranty is supposed to cover all items that aren't normal wear and tear, but it doesn't. I have also heard countless people claim the same damage to their minivans so it seems to be a design flaw and not a freak accident. There are even special grill covers manufactured by other companies to fix the Honda problem. I feel Honda should stand up their warranty.

- Burnt Hiills, NY, USA

problem #25

May 202008


  • 50,000 miles
Found my A/C not working. Took it to the dealer and was told that a rock must have hit the condenser and caused a pin hole. Was also advised by the service writer that this was a common occurrence and was due to the condenser being mounted very low to the ground behind the bumper. I asked if there was a shield or other solution to prevent a recurrence; I was told no. I then researched the issue online and found literally hundreds of folks with the same experience. The repair cost is $700 with no assurance that it won't happen then moment you leave the dealership. This is a serious design flaw that Honda is well aware of. In addition, they are referring folks to claim the damage on their insurance to cover the repair costs. Honda has responded by adding a "shield" to their 2008 models.....but has done nothing for previous model year owners.

- Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

problem #24

Feb 282008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2006 Honda Odyssey with a broken air conditioning condenser, which was blowing cold air at all settings. Consumer states that dealer stated that this replacement would not be covered by warranty. Dealer stated that it was a road hazard failure. The consumer stated the condenser was damaged by a rock.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #23

Dec 022007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,800 miles
The air conditioning condenser has leaked with no apparent rock damage. This is the second time it has happened to my 2006 Honda Odyssey. The first time it was eventually covered by Honda usa. The local dealer would not cover it. I have not heard back from Honda if they will cover it the second time.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #22

Dec 082007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
I own a 2006 Honda Odyssey with 22K, bought new in 14 months ago. The air conditioner worked this past summer, but due to warm weather attempted to run it this weekend and only warm air came out. My wife took it to wolfchase Honda in bartlett, tn. And the dealer charged her $95 to tell us that it wasn't covered under warranty due to a stone hitting the compressor. It is an obvious design flaw with the vehicle as I've found countless others now have experienced the same problem at I called american Honda to put in a complaint and the rep said that she has had several of these calls. I do see that the 2008 has a new modified grille that should prevent this. I believe Honda is responsible for a design flaw and should repair under warranty and do something to prevent this from happening again.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #21

Jun 132007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 20,251 miles
The A/C started blowing hot air on 6/10/07. The dealer informed us there would be a $195 inspection fee before repairs were started. We were informed a rock hit the condenser, and repairs would not be under warranty. We were shown no evidence of the damage. The dealer implied this was a rare problem, yet insisted that american Honda would not cover any part of the response, as the dealer had dealt with them on this issue in the past. Not wanting to waste the $195 inspection fee, I gave the go ahead to what I found out later was an over-priced $840 repair. This is an obvious design flaw, one that american Honda told me was addressed in the 2008 model redesign. I am pursuing this issue with the attorney general's office.

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #20

Nov 062007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
2006 Honda Odyssey with 27K miles. Air conditioning stopped working. Driving conditions have always been normal city/highway. Dealer diagnosed it as rock (or similar) damage to the condenser. Charged $693 (not covered by Honda warranty or extended warranty) to replace the condenser.

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #19

Oct 202007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,500 miles
1. air conditioner quit work suddenly. Approx. 27,000 miles on vehicle. 2. no cold air. 3. was told that repair was not covered by bumper-to-bumper warranty since "a rock must have hit the A/C condenser and caused the freon to leak." A/C condenser is located in the grill of the vehicle.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #18

Oct 262007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The air conditioner was blowing hot air. The dealer stated that a rock struck the condenser and caused the failure. The repair has not been made. The current and failure mileages were 13,200. Ac condensor had a leak from a puncture. Updated 11/27/07

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the air conditioner blows hot air. The dealer stated that a stone struck the air condenser and caused the failure. The dealer replaced the part for free once, however, the failure recurred and the dealer would not make the repair. The current mileage was 20,000 and failure mileage was 4,000. Updated 09/12/07

- Chandler , AZ, USA

problem #16

Aug 152007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,609 miles
The ac condenser failed on my 2006 Honda Odyssey at 17,615 miles. The dealer service department claimed "road" damage and charged $665 to repair. Failure was not covered by my extended warranty. This is a widely reported problem, which has happened to many Honda Odyssey owners, some more than once. A serious design flaw: A poorly protected condenser, which Honda has not taken responsibility for.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #15

Aug 112007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Air conditioner failed in my 2006 Honda Odyssey, just one year after purchase and barely used. Dealer claimed rock damage and not covered by the extended warranty that I purchased with the car. Many other Honda Odyssey owners had similar problems as posted in google search. It is clearly a design problem from Honda.

- Fremont, CA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?