Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,176 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Odyssey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Feb 102010

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Honda Odyssey rotor brakes problems! in the past 4 years I have replaced my rotor brakes and pads 2 times! Honda did a courtesy replacement in 2007 after complaining to them that the brakes are making screeching sounds and when they found out that just after less than one year the rotor brake is warped. Last Oct 2009, during service check they said the rotor brake is cracked/warped again and we need to replace it and they cannot cover I had to pay. I used the van for work ( 8 miles one -way). I complained to Honda dch oxnard and told them that the rotor brake and pads was just replaced in mid 2007 and how a van that is just used for work could have its rotor brakes fail in less than two years. They gave a lame excuse. Please help.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 282010

Odyssey

  • 20,000 miles
My 2006 Honda Odyssey has a soft spongy brake pedal, often going lower than the accelerator while braking, allowing the brake and accelerator to be depressed at the same time, making it difficult to brake while the engine is racing. This problem causes the Odyssey to lurch forward, and could quite easily cause an accident. My dealer refuses to acknowledge the problem.

- Marco Island, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 102010

Odyssey

  • 55,000 miles
I have a 2006 Honda Odyssey and the brakes are terrible. The brake pedal is soft and sometimes goes to the floor. The brakes also make a grinding noise when applied. I had the brakes inspected but the pads were fine. I have been informed that this is a common problem with Odyssey.

- Perrineville, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 102009

Odyssey

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife purchased a new vehicle and took possession of our 2006 Honda Odyssey van. I immediately noted a very soft brake pedal. When pressure is applied, the pedal goes all the way to the floorboard while stopped at a stop sign or traffic light. The vehicle has not rolled forward while the brake was set but I feel it may if it sat long enough with the brake pedal depressed. No repair has been attempted as I'm not certain of the cause. Brake fluid is not low so I assume air has somehow gotten into the brake lines.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 202010

Odyssey

  • 39,000 miles
I have a 06 Honda Odyssey with 39,000 miles. Rear brakes started making a grinding noise. When I inspected, one of the brake pads had completely worn out with no brake materials left.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 152010

Odyssey

  • 30,100 miles
Tried to stop at an intersection with a stop going 25 miles early on. The car would not stop on time and brake will terminate it distance before the actual car stopped. It has soft brakes from the beginning but now it is getting worse and the brake do not work properly. We were lucky because no other car were around as we stopped 10 feet in the intersection. Is there any recall for sponge brakes for Odyssey 2006?

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 132010

Odyssey

  • 40,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During normal driving the brakes failed then began working again. When slowing for a stop sign using the service brake the vehicle failed to slow as expected despite increased pressure on the brake pedal. This caused the vehicle to roll through a stop sign. There was no collision or accident. Prior the incident the brakes worked normally. After the incident the brakes worked normally. It happened once on 1/13/10 and once in November 2009. It happened during typical rural driving, ~35mph 2-lane roads. The Honda dealer inspected the brakes, road tested the car and pronounced everything was ok on 1/14/10. They made no repair. This appears to be the same as NHTSA investigation PE09024 my wife was driving who is the normal driver of this vehicle.

- Telford, PA, USA

problem #8

Nov 192007

Odyssey

  • 25,000 miles
Rear end collision by Honda Odyssey where brakes locked up. Anti-lock brakes did not engage and soft spongy feel to brakes. Brake applied all the way to floorboard. Confident in use of anti-lock brakes from BMW driving school (other car a BMW). Dealer investigated and found nothing wrong.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #7

Jan 012008

Odyssey

  • 33,450 miles
The complaint is regarding the brakes (front) on a 2006 Honda Odyssey minivan. The chief complaint is a loud grinding sound and a spongy feeling in the brake pedal. Stopping distance is also greater. Problem was reported to Honda dealer and front brake pads were replaced with different pads (around 15K - 18K miles). Problem re-occurred again around 25K or so. Took vehicle back to Honda. Their response was that I over heated brake rotors and "warped" them. I contacted Honda of North America by telephone. They stood by their dealer and nothing was done. Problem occurs on a regular basis during normal driving conditions. Braking distance under emergency conditions (yielding for an ambulance) is poor.

- Ripon, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 222007

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 30 mph she experienced difficulty steering, and heard a loud grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. She also heard metal grinding coming from the rear brake system. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction. The vehicle identification number was unavailable. The failure mileage was 50,000. The current mileage was 69,000.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 222009

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Soft brake pedal on 2006 Honda Odyssey, as documented in investigation # PE09024.

- Andover, NJ, USA

problem #4

Feb 092009

Odyssey

  • 302,000 miles
Front brake pads wear fast and causes steering to shake around 30-40 mph.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 222008

Odyssey

  • miles
Spongy brake pedal -- pedal sinks to the floor under constant application. Brought it to dealers attention. Dealer said this was normal operation. I disagree as do others (professional auto technicians).

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 162008

Odyssey

  • 88,030 miles
Just purchased a used 2006 Honda Odyssey ex on 8/14/08 which had passed safety inspection as required by state of Missouri on 8/13/08. The brakes feel very soft and even on a normal straight road, it requires a lot more travel and pressure to be applied before it will come to a stop. Just today on 8/16/2008, was in a near accident along olive blvd and fee road due to the brake travel was more than necessary. Will be traveling out of country on 8/19/08 for 10 business days. Once back, will seek out huey's Honda advise. But from what see from consumers report, edmunds, odyclub, etc, there seems to be an issue with the ABS modulator unit and/or master cylinder, I wonder what no recall has yet to be done on these vehicles. Very disappointing especially if the aftermath would be an accident.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #1

Sep 262006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,345 miles
I would have to agree with the owner that submitted ODI case #:10169618 (see below), our 2006 Odyssey is experiencing the same problem with the left front brake. It just so happens that I am taking it to the dealer tomorrow just because it has finally gotten to the point that my wife now notices it and can pin point where she believes it is coming from. Honda dealers recommend at 15K as part of their minor service caliber lubrication. If this is such an issue with the calipers why don't they include this as a warranty checkup for the brake pads, instead they decide to charge us for their labor. This problem with the brakes as described below has happened around 8 different times over a span of 4 months. Vehicle currently has 17K on it. Case #10169618 the Honda Odyssey in question was purchased in the 1st week of January 2006 and had about 6000 miles on it. I noticed that the front brakes were making grinding noises while stopping. These noises are not so prominent when the brakes are applied mildly (as in the case of coasting to a stop), but are clearly heard inside the cabin when the brakes are applied a little more firmly (as one would do it to bring the vehicle to a halt quickly). I took the vehicle to a Honda dealership to have this looked at. Later in the day I was informed that and the front brake pads have been replaced and the rotors refinished due to a defect in the front brake pads. I have a reason to believe that there have been more cases of this happening and I would like to request NHTSA to look into whether this is a more prevalent problem than just a random incident.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?