Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,329 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Odyssey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Jul 152015


  • 155,000 miles


Only driver side window works. All three passenger windows click when power button depressed but don't work. Looked for reasons on line found many people with same problem.

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 292015


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. While driving 65 mph, the all the instrument panel lights illuminated and the brake pedal engaged without being depressed. The contact stated that the warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was parked and unable to be restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #29

Mar 192015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 189,000 miles
Vehicle with driver only was traveling West on I80 a couple of miles before the sf oak bay bridge in the far left lane going approx 60 miles per hour (5 mph below posted limit) in heavy traffic. Car in adjacent right lane darted into the left lane in front of me to avoid an accident and slammed on his brakes at the same time. I hit the brakes immediately and the ABS engaged but since the car trying to avoid the accident, imact occured at a speed less than 60 mph. Car behind me slammed into my back end. There was significant impact to the front and rear of the vehicle. I was wearing my seat belt which I beleive helped save my life but injuries did occur. I sustained serious head (concussion), neck (muscle strain) and back (spinal nerve damage). Head and neck injuries appear to have resolved but continue to have pain and damage to back (spinal and nerve) the reason for this complaint report is that none of the numerous airbags on the Honda odessey deployed during this high impact to both the front and rear of the vehicle. I honestly don't know if this was a good thing or bad but I would have expected the airbags to deploy, which I believe would have helped minimize the injuries I incurred the case is under investigation by my insurance company (progressive) but at this point they have concluded the fault of the accident was the person that shifted lanes in an attempt to avoid an accident in his lane coming into my "safe zone" as the police called it. I asked them to hold the car for inspection by Honda authorities a few weeks after the accident I called Honda to report that the airbags did not deploy. They gave me case number 12015-04-0701544. They called yesterday and said they were not going to check car. I feel it is their obligation to see if there is a flaw in the ab's. I don't want another party to die or be injured as a result of faulty airbags.

- Piedmont, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 192012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


Grinding, crunching noise coming out of the dash behind the steering wheel area. Constant noise, no matter the speed or circumstance.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #27

Jan 162015

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
Mva occurred 1/16/2015 - impact left front quarter. Had trouble opening driver's door. Steering column airbag deployed. However, driver's side curtain airbag did not deploy resulting in head trauma as driver's head hit the driver's side window. Impact should have set off side curtain airbag sensors. Vehicle was totaled & sold by insurance company without dealer inspection of problem. I would not have thought twice about it had it not been brought to my attention by article about recent Honda airbag recalls. I believe that these incidents are under reported and that there are more "failure to deploy" than those listed under complaints. Please contact for police report....updated 02/11/15

- Bryan, TX, USA

problem #26

Oct 112014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
My 2006 Honda Odyssey went up in flame, while I was driving the vehicle, on 10/11/14. Insurance had me tow it to the Honda dealer. After Honda having the car for 31 days the insurance paid the repairs & I paid my $500 deductible. I'm ready to drive my Honda Odyssey away on 11/13/14, and I notice the van began to shake violently and the RPM's dropped to almost 0. no report was given to me about what was wrong with van & what future repairs had to be done. All I got was the present repairs due to the fire, even after we had asked them to do a full inspection of the vehicle. Prior to the fire the van never shook, it never had this problem before. While there, they performed the changing of the fuel pump which had been recalled by Honda, but now we can not be sure that it was done nor can we be sure that it didn't affect the cars status now. Honda still has the van in their lot & insurance adjuster went to see the car and now Honda is saying that the shaking of the car has nothing to do with the fire. According to Honda's final report the "probable" cause of fire was in the alternator area -sub-cord alternator to fuse box. Honda said the shake is caused by the rubber motor mounts. I tried to tell Honda they are rubber pieces and when rubber comes in contact with heat it melts. Honda will not fix without me paying out of pocket. If the problem really is the motor mounts, I have researched that many people are awaiting a recall from Honda on the motor mounts for the fact that theirs prematurely fails. Honda has us on a back and fourth. If they can't be sure what caused the fire and are disregarding the motor mounts going bad due to the fire or the fuel pump recall, then how can they be sure that none of the above is not causing the violent shake on the van.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jul 182012


  • 126,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the rear sliding doors failed to close. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the sliding doors were repaired, but the failure recurred. The specifics of the parts replaced were unknown. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 126,000.

- Natchez, MS, USA

problem #24

Oct 202014


  • miles
Power windows stop working except the driver side.

- Willamette, IL, USA

problem #23

Dec 202013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the ignition key became stuck, but it finally turned in the switch after numerous attempts. The failure occurred sporadically. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 11/21/14 updated 12/02/14

- Duson, LA, USA

problem #22

Feb 172014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
As I was driving down the highway at around 70 mph with the cruise control on, when the battery dashboard indicator illuminated. Within 20 minutes the vehicle's electrical systems began to die. I was able to drive to an auto parts store and purchase a new battery. Replacing the battery did not eliminate the battery indicator and the vehicle died again on my way home again driving around 70 mph on the interstate. This time the vehicle was towed a service station where the battery and alternator were both tested and found to work properly. The vehicle was then towed to a local Honda dealership to try and identify the cause of the parasitic drain. It does not seem reasonable for a vehicle with a properly functioning alternator to lose all electrical power and die with in operation and indicates a defect in the electrical system.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #21

Jan 092014


  • miles


Experiencing vibration in vehicle during acceleration between 40-60 mph. Took the van to mechanic and was informed that two motors mounts are bad and need replacing. These are not wear and tear items and should not need replacing. This appears to be a problem with Honda Odyssey vans and this problem is not being covered by warranty since the failure occurs around 100K to 150K miles.

- Arlington, TN, USA

problem #20

Aug 092013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 97,900 miles
Power tailgate opened and came right down hitting my wife. She was not hurt. When we purchased the Honda we were told this would not happen that there was a safety system that would make the tailgate go back up if it came down on a person or object. Which is what it has done in the past. We have an appointment to take the car into the dealer Honda of sumner at 7:30 am on 8/12/2013 to have them look at it. We took it into today and a guy ( not a service guy looked at it and said he didn't know what was causing the problem.) I did some research and it appears to be a tailgate strut problem which I understand is a recall on 2008-2009 models. Action number EA08-015.

- Sumner, WA, USA

problem #19

Jan 152013


  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle battery warning light illuminated and the vehicle lost power for 15 seconds before functioning normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was advised that they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #18

Feb 272013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
My car's starter broke and the mechanic then told me that the engine mounts in the front and rear were broken and needed replacing. In doing an online search, I discovered that this is a common and nagging problem with Odyssey owners. I have owned 6 cars and never heard of such a thing! thankfully the problem is being fixed before it caused an accident. Is there a recall or planned recall for this problem? my extended warranty expired 2,000 miles ago. Thank you

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #17

Jan 312013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Multiple electrical problems occur intermittently in wet conditions including failure of window wipers, headlights, door locks, and rear sliding doors. As described in Honda service bulletin 08-078 this is a result of a defect in the trim panel that exposes electrical connector C701 behind the left rear side trim panel to moisture.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #16

Apr 042010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Based on a report today that Honda is recalling 2003/2004 Honda Odyssey where the issue involves the ignition interlock, a device intended to ensure that the key can only be removed when a vehicle is firmly shifted into park. I have a 2006 Honda Odyssey and had a similar issue in 2010 where after parking and removing my keys and I got down, the van moved backwards and the my front door hit another car in the parking lot damaging both cars, and I had to file a claim with unitrin direct. The result being I have a fault accident record on my license and my insurance went up for no fault of mine. I think Honda should recall even the 2006 model and pay me back from my repairs and extra insurance payments that I have paid and work with dmv/unitrin to remove the fault accident record that I have on my license.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #15

Dec 052012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
According to the dealer the ABS modulator is malfunctioning.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #14

Dec 062011


  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 55 mph, the horn failed to sound upon engaging. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer four times for the failure however, they were unable to locate the cause of the problem. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #13

Nov 302005


  • 360 miles
In November 2005 I purchased a new 2006 Honda Odyssey exl. Within a few days the driver's side power window (it is worth mentioning that I have not had any problem with the other power windows) often times did not close when I tried to close it. The worst times are when it rains or the temperature is cold. While under warranty I took the vehicle to another Honda dealer to have the window repaired. They attempted the repairs but were unable to fix the power window. I tried many jiffy lube and liquid wrench to lubricate the window per the dealer's recommendation but the result has been only temporary and the window continues to stay down when it should be closing.

- Cortlandt Manor, NY, USA

problem #12

Aug 062012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Brand new replaced battery and electrical start issue happening again. Sometime the car wouldn't start as if the battery is dead, then wait 10 minute and everything works (tho all the code reset as if the battery was disconnected). This is what caused us to replace the battery after dealer couldn't find any issue. It worked for a few weeks but problem is back. Dealer can't replicate issue since of course it starts fine. But there is some inherent issue with Odyssey electrical issue as a lot of people have this issue.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?