If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

6.3

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$450.00
Average Mileage:
45,983 miles
Total Complaints:
55 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (24 reports)
  2. replace the power steering pump (23 reports)
  3. relaced pump resivoir and flushed system (6 reports)
  4. replace inlet o ring with new orange type (1 reports)
  5. replace steering rack (1 reports)
2006 Honda Odyssey steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #55

Nov 092012

Odyssey EX 3.5V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had a loud droning coming from the power steering pump, especially when the car was cold, and the repair shop said it was the pump going out and a bad line to the pump. I saw that there was a recall at one point for the 06s. I called the dealership and of course,they said there was no recall showing for my vin.To repair it would cost $790 plus tax! My car has less than 70k miles. Real Honda quality.

- , Clovis, CA, USA

problem #54

Nov 302007

Odyssey EX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

Since 2008, almost 2 years after we purchase this model, a noise and hard steering issue occurred and have never been fixed. We never complained for the service center always reported the vehicle in good standing every time we had an oil change and inspection. However in 2012 Honda issued an extended warranty for the steering pump only and the dealership replaced the steering pump but it still does not resolve the noisy and hard to steer issue while vehicle is on but not in motion.

Hoping that Honda will re-extend the said warranties for it did not work properly on the said occurrence since 2007 and it might cause significant damage to vehicle and is a safety issue. It is the manufacturer's fault for not ensuring vehicle is safe for use upon delivery to its patron.

- , Austin, Texas, USA

problem #53

Jan 252013

Odyssey EXL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

Groaning sound from power steering system and steering wheel hard to turn at low speeds. Took vehicle to Honda dealer knowing other 2006 Honda Odysseys had power steering problems and that the warranty on just the power steering pump had been extended to 7 years and 100,000 miles. I hoped the issue was just the power steering pump and that the warranty would cover it. Of course not! The problem is apparently in the steering rack and will require $1,200+ in repairs for a new one or the van will be a safety issue. I'm very suspicious that they have an extended warranty on the pump but not on the steering rack. Since I don't want to lose steering while driving and cause an accident, I am forced to have this defective part repaired at my own cost. With only 55,000-56,000 miles on the van, this is not the kind of safety or quality I would have expected from Honda.

I encourage everyone who has this safety related defect problem to make a complaint with the NHTSA at

https://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

Why make a complaint with the NHTSA? If a safety-related defect exists in a motor vehicle or item of motor vehicle equipment, the manufacturer must provide a remedy at no cost to the owner. Your complaint is the first step in the process.

- , Mickleton, NJ, USA

problem #52

Nov 032012

Odyssey EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

DO NOT TRUST THE HONDA STEALERSHIPS. They told me my high pressure line and power steering pump were leaking causing the whining noise when cold. They wanted $550 plus to install a new line and pump when the real problem was the inlet O ring which has been superseded by an orange viton type to stop the air leak which cause the whine and foaming in the reservoir. Honda should recall all V-6's with this problem but will not as it involves 100's of thousand Odysseys from 2005 to 2010. Research online to do the O ring repair before letting the Dealer Rip You Off. It is very difficult to get to the one single 10mm bolt to replace this defective O ring on the inlet line of the pump but a small swivel socket and 10mm stubby wrench works good. New Honda O ring part number is 91345-RDA-A01 and is a whopping $1.62. You also will need to top off your powers steering fluid with ONLY Honda/Acura Type.

Rob Orlando, Fl.

- , Orlando, FL, USA

problem #51

Dec 022011

Odyssey LX 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

very very bad noise every time when we start the van

- , Calgary, AB, Canada

problem #50

May 012010

Odyssey GXE 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Had the loud noise on and off for more than 1 year, called Honda dealer in 2010 and the service people told me they did not know this issue with 2006 Odyssey. However, I got a letter recently (Sept 2011) from Honda that specifically describe the power steering pump issue and extend the warranty to 7 years. I had the car checked at a Honda dealer yesterday (12/5/2011) and the dealer confirmed it is the power steering pump problem and replaced it at no cost as it is still within 7 years. I tested drove after the replacement and looks like the pump replacement does fix the loud noise and hard to turn problem I had, but will keep my finger crossed and give you updates later.

- , San Jose, CA, USA

problem #49

Nov 152006

Odyssey EX 3.5L Sohc

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Odyssey has made the whining sound from the first winter. I thought all Odysseys were like that due to poor design. As years have passed the whining has become louder and the steering feels restricted. I rode with a co-worker that has the same year Odyssey and was surprised that there was no whining coming from the steering pump area. She informed me that she complained to her dealer and got it fixed at no cost. After doing some research I see that some owners received a TSB letter extending coverage for 7 years / 100,000 miles. I never got a letter and this compounds my frustration! I'm calling Honda (1-800-999-1009) first thing Monday morning.

Update from Dec 22, 2011: My wife took the Odyssey to the dealer and they replaced the steering pump and reservoir. Honda provided the parts and I had to pay labor, $135.00.

Van sounds much better and there is no harsh steering.

- , Hartford, Maine, USA

problem #48

Jul 012011

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

My 2006 Honda Odyssey makes this ungodly moaning noise when you turn the wheel and sometimes when you are sitting still. It happens all the time but I really notice it when it's cold out. Can't stand it!!!!! I am really thinking about getting another car because of it.

- , Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #47

Dec 152010

Odyssey LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

Contacted Honda America about this problem (noisy power steering pump). I asked if there is an investigation to look into this complaint. The person I spoke with said that he has no information on record about a recall for this problem. He informed me that in order for a investigation to begin they need numerous complaints made to Honda for this problem. I did my part and made my official complaint to Honda America today 2/23/2011. The number is 800-999-1009. Maybe we can get honda to acknowledge this problem!

- , Andover, MA, USA

problem #46

Feb 182011

Odyssey EX V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

Honda makes a loud annoying noise when I turn the steering wheel, seems to be worst when its cold outside!

- , Templeton, CA, USA

problem #45

Mar 082011

Odyssey EX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering pump whining noise began over a year ago, perhaps even when the car was still in warranty in 2009. Over the last few months the noise has been intermittently more intense, and the steering becomes sluggish especially at low speeds.

A search of the problem on the internet showed that Honda has a TSB out for the steering reservoir since 2007, and additionally has a TSB out for the steering pump itself since Nov 2010. The pump TSB 10-076 states that the original pump (installed on 2005 thru 2010 Odysseys) provides insufficient power! Why is this not a safety issue subject to RECALL???

Prior to bringing the car to the dealer, I called American Honda at 8009991009, to try to get the repair covered by goodwill (my car's basic warranty expired 5/09). After bringing it to Schaumburg Honda, I was offered goodwill of 1/2 of the warranty bill, where I would have to pay $242. I feel that at a minimum, Honda should pay for the parts, and I can pay for the labor. However to make this right, Honda should simply recall all the Odysseys (it would be a MASSIVE recall, tens of thousands of them) and replace all the pumps and reservoirs with the new heavier duty design.

Update from Sep 19, 2011: GREAT NEWS. Happy to report that Honda has extended the warranty to 7 years / 100,000 miles for this issue. I just got the letter on Friday. My previous repair will be reimbursed.

Kudos to Honda for stepping up on handling this problem. I do wonder if it should be a recall however, because it is safety-related.

- , Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #44

Mar 012010

Odyssey EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,671 miles

Have had this problem for some time now, never difficult to turn/steer but can be really loud! As if the power steering fluid was empty, but it is full. I've had it in to be looked at twice and dealership says no problem. Just living with it, very disappointed with my van.

- , Dunnville, Ontario, canada

problem #43

Dec 012010

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Like others, I have heard a loud, high-pitched grinding noise that occurs when it is cold outside. It worsens when the steering wheel is turned. After the engine heats up after several minutes (depending on how cold the ambient temperature is), the noise goes away. Was told by a dealer service tech over the phone that he'd never heard of this problem. He thought it was the seals on he power steering pump--estimated repair of several hundred dollars.

- , Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #42

Jan 272011

Odyssey LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

Started hearing a whining noise when I turn the steering wheel, it seems to not do it until the vehicle has been driven for a period of time(about 45 minutes) long enuff for the engine and all to get hot, took in to dealer they said the power steering pump was going bad and I would need to replace it along with the reservoir, and then have it flushed, the parts will be $300.00, the LABOR $350.00.a total of $650.00. I have had nothing but trouble with this van, 1st thing was the heat would not work sometimes, would have to turn it on and off until it would finally start working, of course the service department at Honda couldn't find anything wrong with it. 2nd the compressor failed on the air conditioner with 30,000 miles on it, then 3rd the transmission started acting up, had it flushed for $160.00 seem to help, I would love to get rid of it but of course when I tried to trade the dealership didn't want to give me what it was worth per NADA. I'll never buy another Honda, I always heard they were the best vehicles to own, I do believe I will go back to Chevrolet.

- , Bassett, VA, USA

problem #41

Dec 012010

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

Getting a whining from the power steering when turning, don't if is the pump or what

Update from Jan 18, 2011: sounds like the same problem that recent posts

Update from Jan 19, 2011: Took it in to Dealer they only heard noise very faint, Dealer called American Honda and they declined any assistance don't know what to do now

- , Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #40

Jan 152010

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,500 miles

There is a loud and annoying whining sound that happens when the temperature outside is cold. It usually occurs when I turn the wheel,

- , Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

problem #39

Dec 022010

Odyssey Touring 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

Have had difficulty with steering, noise from pump, whining sounds trying to turn the steering wheel, especially when cold. Dealership at this moment wont pay for anything. Have used this site to show that others have had 100% paid getting their power steering pump replaced by Honda. Just initiated complaint and getting Honda to cover the repairs. Will keep you all informed.

Update from Feb 22, 2011: Honda replaced the pump and wanted to make a deal of 50/50 on the price. We would have paid it because it needed to be fixed but our extended warranty came through for us and covered the fix. Honda stated that since it was only a "notification" and not a "recall" they wouldn't pay. We asked for the managers supervisor to cover ALL costs inclusive of our extended warranty deductible of $100. They would said "we have to call Honda California and we'll let you know in a week. But right now ....."

Here we are in Feb. '11 and I received a check for $168 and change from Honda. It stated it was for recall work on the pump??? Ok, so I guess by asking and notifying California, something did happen, just not in a week. Those of you getting it fixed, definitely ask as high up as you can go, for Honda to pay for it. Eventually they will.

- , Denver, CO, USA

problem #38

Dec 012010

Odyssey V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

I took my van to Honda complaining of a whinning noise coming from the front. Honda assured me that there was nothing wrong with my van. One week later I went back to complain again. The whinning noise had gotten louder. They told me I could try flushing the power steering fluid $150-200 but was told that may or may not fix the problem (which I haven't done yet). Now the VSA and ABS light are on and off and on again. I again stopped at Honda and was told I would have to pay $90 to have it looked at again. Oh yea, and I also have vibration in my steering wheel only while driving on the Highway. But there is "nothing wrong" with my van.

- , Independence, KY, USA

problem #37

Jun 012008

Odyssey LS 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

The noise in the steering mechanism started small. Took it to the Honda shop and asked about it.. I was told then that this was normal. This is my wife's car and I almost never drive it. My wife tells me the steering is initially hard in the morning and a little worse in recent cold days to the point of alarming her. She is afraid something will happen that may be unsafe. I took the car for a ride and found the steering noise light at the start and as I drove a few miles the noise got progressively louder. Steering was hard when cold and jerky when turning left of right after warm. Discover another noise coming from one of the rear wheels. (Read the next post. The car is parked waiting for this second problem to be fixed first ) The car is out of warranty with 52,890 miles. I do not have the money to replace the steering pump(I have a little girl with leukemia and bills) so I will flush the system first, then I am up for suggestions.. Since there are many owners with similar problems I wanted to add mine to the list in hope something positive will come of it. Verdi

- , Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #36

Mar 012010

Odyssey EX 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,244 miles

Just like other complaints posted below, we experienced a whinning sounds at low speeds (ie parking the van after coming off of the highway) intermittently for a few months becoming more frequent in the last month. Saw all these complaints below and called Honda Canada --- they would not admit to anything (even when pressed) except told me to get it diagnosed at a Honda dealer. Kitchener Honda dealer diagnosed it as a failed power steering pump for $900 and when asked about TSB on the net for this known problem was simply told those are American service bulletins and do not apply to us. Apparently a power steering failure in CA is totally different than one in Ontario!!

Called Honda Canada and updated them of the situation (the agent just listened) and called me back the next day to let me know Honda Canada will pay for the parts and I would have to pay the labour. I then asked the agent what the rationale was for me to pay the labour for a known Honda manufacturing defect. He put me on hold and then simply offered to pay for the whole repair.

Be persistent they're protocol is not to offer a recall unless customers call and complain. I'm happy Honda Canada paid for the repair even though I was well past my 3 year 60K warranty, dissapointed Honda has not recalled the affected vehicles and disgusted to hear some people below and out there actually ended up paying for this.

- , Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?