Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,766 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Odyssey wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 222012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 102,101 miles


Incident date: Tuesday, October 23, 2012 approximately 1pm temperature: Approximately 55 degrees road condition: Dry tires: Goodyear assurance fuel max installed: September 23, 2009 miles on tires at time of incident: 49,051 estimated tread life left: 4/32 number of persons in vehicle: 2 adults, 3 children while on a local shopping trip including travel on an interstate highway the right rear tire of the vehicle blew out. We had entered the interstate highway and had traveled about 5 miles. While passing a semi and in the left lane of the highway, at 70 mph, the right rear tire blew out. The vehicle started to vibrate and the tire was slapping the underside of the fender. Control of the vehicle was maintained and the vehicle was slowed down and moved to the center median. When traffic cleared, the vehicle was moved safely to the right shoulder of the highway. After exiting the vehicle, inspection of the right rear tire revealed a total blow out. The other members exited the vehicle and remained in the grass away from the vehicle while the tire was changed. When the tire was changed we continued to the next exit and used back roads to return home. New tires were purchased on Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012. The tire specialist indicated that the probable cause of the blow out was hitting a pot hole.

- Portland, MI, USA

problem #22

Jul 312012


  • 91,000 miles
While driving on the freeway, rear toyo tire blew out. Required replacing 2 tires, the one blow out and another in front that had tread separation issues identified by tire mechanic. Upon return from trip, taken back to installation dealer and they contacted toyo who offered a $30 refund on each. Since the original purchase was for 4 tires, the two remaining tires were also at risk for similar blow out. Toyo did not want to offer refund unless proof of tire rotation was provided. The issue was ultimately with a faulty blow-out (3 tire dealers stated that this was not a wear-and-tear issue but a defect) and not a matter of getting refund yet toyo's Focus was on proving that the tires were not maintained rather than dealing with an obviously dangerous product out in the market.

- Corte Madera, CA, USA

problem #21

Jul 232012


  • miles
Horrible, horrible, horrible! I had done a lot of research on what type of used mini van was the best on the market. Honda kept popping up, so I went and purchased a 2006 Honda Odyssey touring. I loved it until I got a flat tire. I took it to discount tire store (the same place we took our Toyota). That is where we informed that we have the pax tire system. From there it's been a disaster! I've called Michelin and the Honda dealership, nobody will do anything to make this situation right! it should be disclosed to buyers before they purchase a car with this tire system on it. The tires cost 300$ a piece and I was informed by Michelin that they only last up to 36K miles. The tires that I have right now, still should have 50% of their life, however my rear tire now has a "bubble" on it. It is not safe to drive! shame on Honda and Michelin for not doing the right thing! I will never purchase another Honda or Michelin tire!

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #20

May 102012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 61,416 miles


While driving on I-81. I heard a brief, unusual sound inside my Honda Odyssey, then the left rear tire suffered an immediate catastrophic failure. The tire tread just peeled off the tire. Fortunately the tire did not deflate. I was able to safely park off the interstate and call for assistance. The van sustained significant body damage from the tire thread debris. I was towed to the nearest Honda dealer. They had to replace both rear tires with another brand because they did not sell toyo and it was after 6 P.M. they also were able to make the van safe for highway travel by removing broken body parts and securing other body components that allowed me to continue my journey back home without any further incidents.....updated 05/23/12 updated 06/06/2012

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #19

Apr 062012


  • miles
I purchased a set of 4 toyo versado LX tires about 3 years ago. In the last month, one tire completely disintegrated on the interstate and we were lucky to keep control! the outer tread completely peeled off like you see from 18-wheelers. Just a few weeks later, we had terrible vibration from the front end. Took car to Honda dealer who determined another of the tires was completely defective. The treads were separating from the inside, and the tire was effectively square. All of the tires had plenty of wear left.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #18

Mar 202009


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey equipped with Michelin energy LX4 tires(na), size 235/70R17. The dot number was not available. While having routine maintenance performed at an authorized dealer, the contact was informed that he would need to have all four tires replaced due to excessive tread wear. The authorized dealer replaced the tires with the same type of tires that were originally on the vehicle. Approximately 25,000 miles later, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance. He was informed again that all four tires were exhibiting tread wear and would need to be replaced. The dealer replaced the front tires, but not the rear. The failure mileage was 27,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.

- Rohnert, CA, USA

problem #17

May 152010


  • 38,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the tires wore out after 16,000 miles. The replacement tires, dueler ht 235/65/R16 (na) dot number D684, failed after 22,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to the tire center where the tires were purchased and the contact was informed that the tire wear was caused by the design of the vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected at the dealership at the time of the complaint. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 38,000.

- Pinole, CA, USA

problem #16

May 132009


  • miles
Our 2006 Honda Odyssey touring edition minivan came standard-equipped with Michelin pax "run-flat" tires (energy LX4, 235/710R460A 104T). These tires pose a serious safety threat because of ultra-premature tread wear, and the fact that a different type of tire cannot be used on the vehicle. It wasn't until we nearly slid our vehicle off the road that we realized our tires were nearly bald after only 17 thousand miles. Honda and Michelin claim that "pax system tires should provide treadlife comparable to a corresponding traditional Michelin tire, " but this is clearly a misrepresentation as thousands of complaints about the premature tread life of these tires can be found on the internet. The problem cannot be solved by simply installing different tires because the pax tire is required equipment on the 2006 Honda Odyssey touring edition minivan! Honda itself states that using a different tire will likely void the vehicle warranty. The problem is compounded by the fact that replacing these tires is unusually expensive (about $1,300 usd to replace all four) so people postpone replacing their pax tires to avoid paying the excessive cost, exposing themselves and others to a serious road hazard. I implore you to take action to resolve this dangerous problem. Important: It is not possible to properly enter the tire specifications for this tire on your web site due to its unusual specification format. The proper specification for the tire is 235/710R460A 104T. The "a" in 460A signifies that these tires feature "asymmetric" beads in which the outside bead (450 mm) and inside bead (470 mm) are actually different diameters.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #15

Apr 012009


  • miles
Complaint with Michelin® pax® system run-flat technology: 235-710R 460A 104T. I have to replace the tires a 2nd time in only 45K miles. They wear too fast. Extremely expensive. I was never told by Honda I would have these issues. I have no other options but to purchase the same tires again. Something needs to be done by either Honda or Michelin. I know I am not alone with this issue.

- West Islip, NY, USA

problem #14

Dec 242008


  • 40,000 miles
Bought Honda Odyssey on may,2006;replaced tires on July,2008 for $1300 (35,000K),tire went flat due to improper installation, paid $550 to fix this tire'; it happened on christmas eve, 160 miles away from home, were able to drive only 10miles (not 125),cost $300 to tow a car, tire started shaking right after replacement, fixed for additional $100 on March, 2009. Were told at that time that 1 tire was worn badly, might to replace it soon!"!?!?!?!!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????????"

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #13

Feb 152009


  • 37,000 miles


I purchased a 2006 Honda Odyssey back in Nov, 2006. When I was looking for a van I asked the sales person in rock Honda in fontana, ca that I needed a good car because I had children and I did not wanted to be having problems on the road and of course I'm was a woman that didn't do any auto work, so I needed something easy to maintain, well to my surprise the tires that this van has, but that I was not told at the dealer that these tires (pax system) wear really fast and are very expensive and only a Honda dealer can change them. When I took my van to have the tires changed, I took it to 3 different shops and told me that only a Honda dealer or a certified shop could do it and the cost is $1,500 to change them. I tried to contact the rock Honda and they actually hung up on me 3 times, one of the sales person told me that tires were easy to change that "he could purchase and change tires in his own garage" that the people from the shop did not know what they were talking about. Well I called Honda motor co, Inc and Michelin and the only thing they did was apologized for the inconvenience. If I had known that I was going to have such an expensive maintenance I would not have bought it, but oh well I'm stuck with it now, and to top it all off, the roof is leaking and the warranty does not cover leaks, and the door on the right side makes a loud noise when it opens and closes but it's the same issue with the warranty.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 052009


  • 47,000 miles
Pax tires on Honda Odyssey. They quickly wear out, and cost $1300 to replace. The only source for the tires is the Honda dealer -- no other vendors available. If we replace the wheels with non-pax parts we will have constant computer warnings while driving because the tire pressure monitor will register "0 psi" tire pressure. Tires specs provided by this website (width, rim, etc) are not compatible with numbers from tires. Tires say "energy LX4 radial xse 235-710 R460A 104T pax" none of these facts were disclosed by the dealership when we purchased the car.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 202009


  • miles
I own a 2006 Honda Odyssey touring with Michelin pax run-flat system. The pax tires worn so prematurely compared to other regular tires. This problem was first noticed around 25K miles of driving under normal conditions, and a Honda dealer said the problem might be caused by my driving habits, and therefore cannot be covered by any warranties both by Honda and Michelin. Now at the mileage of +40K, all four tires have almost no tread to grab the road and the replacing cost is just ridiculously high around $1200. By observing so many others who have complained on the same defects, I would like to see both Honda and Michelin voluntarily recall these failed product so the suffering owners could swap them with regular performers.

- Savoy, IL, USA

problem #10

Mar 122008


  • 30,413 miles
Bought a 2006 Honda Odyssey touring with dvd/nav in March of 2006. In October '06, had alignment repaired due to van pulling to right. In may '07, requested alignment be checked again for pulling to the right, they were going to charge $85 because warranty expired. Was informed by Honda service tech in March 2008, we needed 4 brand new tires, not alignment problem. Van had 30, 413 miles and almost didn't pass inspection. Tires are 235-710R460A and were worn to 3/32 with regular maintenance and rotation. Was told by service tech that you had to replace all 4 at a time and cost would be $1211.73. Was told you cannot replace pax tire system with regular tires. Did my own research and found out you can, but up-front cost including wheels, tires, and labor would be about $2000. Was not told upon purchasing the van that the tires would need complete replacement between 25K-30K miles! we were told pax system tires had excellent wear rating and would last longer than regular tires! had all tires replaced and van still pulls to right. Now we're being told our brakes need to be replaced. We're stuck with this vehicle because value of van had decreased with pax tire system complaints.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 082008


  • miles
Michelin tire blew up when driving on freeway under normal driving condition. The type tire was 235/65R16 eng LX4 103 T on a Honda Odyssey 2006.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 012008


  • miles
Defective tire on 2006 Honda Odyssey. The consumer stated the rear tire blew out, while driving on the freeway.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 042008

(reported on)

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Honda Odyssey tires wore prematurely. Consumer states that Michelin stated they were eligible for a 30% rebate. Dealer is stalling on giving rebate. They stated that they had to recheck with Michelin to make sure they actually got a rebate. The consumer still has not received the rebate check.

- New Boston, NH, USA

problem #6

Feb 072008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,200 miles
Purchased a 2006 Honda Odyssey with the Michelin pax tire system. We have had no problems to date, but the cost to replace tires are (3) times the cost of regular tires. 90% of people are changing out wheels and tires with regular tires that cost much less to replace. Honda never told us that the tire replacement and labor would be twice that for the tires and (5) times that for the labor to replace tires. Would like tires replaced for the cost of normal tires.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #5

Dec 032007


  • miles
This complaint is not about an accident or injury. The run flat tires with the Honda Odyssey touring - they wear out soon - very expensive to replace (about 3 times the cost of regular tires) - Honda says we can't just remove all the run flat tires and replace them with regular tires. - only select facilities can replace/fix them.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #4

Aug 122007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,480 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Odyssey with Michelin energy LX4 size P235/65R16. He noticed that the left front tire was flat. The repair shop stated that all the tires were worn on the inside and outside. The current and failure mileages were 41,480.

- Archdale , NC, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?