Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007-2009 was, at one point, the best selling minivan in the United States. But 2007 owners got the short end of that deal.

Peeling paint, a whining steering pump and an easily breakable A/C condenser are all top complaints about the 2007 model year. And anyone who doesn't think a busted minivan A/C is a big deal has never taken a summer road trip with kids.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,141 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Odyssey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Sep 112016

Odyssey

  • 152,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, I took my go to walmart to change the engine oil and filter and the guy that changed, notice that the tank was leaking fuel from the top of the tank, I have let me know what was happening so, I decided to took the go with my mechanic. I used a camera to see on the very top of the tank and I saw the fuel leak coming from the top inside of the tank, he said it comes from the pump fuel system, so I see why my full tank doesn't get me the miles that it suppose to get by gallon. That's why we always notice the van that smells like gas and parking when we can see the gas on the floor. I was thinking it was water coming that from the air condition.. I'm worry about the combination of heat and gas that can cause fire. I live in Texas and here the tempeture is really hot.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #22

Aug 282016

Odyssey

  • 48,849 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. After the vehicle was operated, the vehicle stability assist (vsa) indicator illuminated continuously. When the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to stop completely. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but a diagnosis was unable to be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was unaware if the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 10V098000 (service brakes, air). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,849. Updated 11/17/16

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

Apr 182014

Odyssey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that there was a manufacturer recall in regards to the vehicle stability assist. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer, a repair was scheduled and they indicated that the vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that years later, the failure recurred with the vsa warning light illuminating. The contact stated that the manufacturers recall remedy did not prevent the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA action number: PE13024 (electronic stability control). The failure mileage was not available.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #20

Oct 012014

Odyssey

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter detailing the reacall on my 2007 Honda oddysey' S vsa module. I brought in my vehicle to have the problem fixed. The vehicle did not have any observable issues, before I brought it in to the racine, wi Honda dealership. After the work was preformed I observed that when the vehicles headlights were on, the cruise control, and rear brake lights were no longer operational, and the vsa light would illuminate on the dashboard after the light switch had been engaged for 7 literal minutes. This issue only occurs when the headlight switch is engaged. I have brought the vehicle back to the dealership on 4 seperate occasions, and they have been unwilling, and unable to fix the problem. When they observed the problem with my vehicle, the Honda mechanic says that the error codes that are showing up are impossible to be occuring, and that he's never seen anything like it before. They then try to upsell me, on various components on the vehicle, that have no observable defects. I purchased this vehicle because I have three young children, and was under the impression that Honda oddysey' S were reliable. After getting pulled over several times by local law enforcement for driving without brake lights at night, I have been forced to park the vehicle. I brought the vehicle to the kenosha Honda dealership, and they said that they would not perform the necessary repairs, since the recall work was done at another dealership. As a single father of three, I am beyond frustration with Honda's indifference to this issue, and "catch us if you can" attitude. Because of the defective remedy to the vsa recall, I am unable to drive this vehicle which I still owe $6000 on ($315 monthly). Because of this issue the vehicle only has a resale value of about $800, ,and the Toyota dealership said that they were essentially uninterested, in taking this vehicle in as a trade-in. Help!!!

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #19

Apr 152016

Odyssey

  • 48,000 miles
Vsa light stays on. Braking is soft. After hard stop car shuddered and drove rough upon accelerating. Braking is no longer the same as before the light came on.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #18

Nov 052015

Odyssey

  • 37,000 miles
Honda Odyssey 2007 model is having a recall on vsa with service bulletin 13-098 on malfunction of vsa in the vehicle. My vehicle was performed this recall in 2014. Now my vehicle is started showing "! vsa" orange light on the dash board. Honda of freehold dealer (www.hondaoffreehold.com) performed the diagnostic ($136 charged) and told me that ABS/vsa control unit part number 57110-shj-A61 is bad and need to be replaced. Cost of this part is $1117.50 and the quoted service charge is $256. My vehicle is just completed 37,000 miles. When I search the web for "vsa modulator unit" failure in Odyssey. There are many customers reported the failure of this part. Honda is selling defective parts in their vehicles. This part is very expensive and failed with very less mileage on the vehicle and many of the customers reported failures. Please take an action regarding this defective part in the Honda vehicles. Honda need to pay the part and service for this.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #17

Nov 052015

Odyssey

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was a safety recall campaign number 10V098000 for vsa modulator. I went to dealer to fix this recall around in 2014 and now my Odyssey is getting "! vsa" light on dashboard. I checked the code and code is "dtc 66: Vsa pressure sensor inside vsa modulator control unit". dealer is saying vsa modulator is failed and replacement cost is ~$1500. Honda sold defective part on this vehicles and there were many complaints about vsa failures on this vehicles. My Odyssey is only 37,000 mileage. This vsa modulator controls ABS also and we are very concerned about the stability of the vehicle with the failure of this module. Please find the photo of the dtc code read by the auto shop. Fixing this module is very expensive and Honda should pay for selling the defective items which are mainly safety concerns.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #16

Aug 052015

Odyssey

  • 54,831 miles
(1) dealer performed the recall item vsa update 13-098 on 8/5/15. After that driving home the vsa warning light appeared. (2) came back to dealer on 8/28/15 dealer found codes 61-1 and 66-1, claimed it was nothing to do with the recall and wanted to charge for a diagnostic. However, vsa warning light never came on before the recall update for all time before.

- Great Neck, NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 152013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
I had no problem w/ the vsa. I received the recall notice and had the part replaced. This Oct,2014 I was driving on us-2 in nw mt on a slushy road when the vsa warning light came on. I brought the vehicle back to Honda. They told me the brake part of the vsa unit was now faulty. They also told me that it wasn't part of the original recall.(replacement cost of this unit was quoted as $1,100 w/O labor !!! ) was this replacement part also defective"? was it incorrectly repaired?? is this a recurring issue with this recall??? who now pays the repair cost" thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kalispell , MT, USA

problem #14

Apr 012014

Odyssey

  • 80,000 miles
Owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated while driving approximately 45 mph, the entire instrument panel warning indicators remained illuminated. The transmission began to slip gears with slight hesitation & stopped in the middle lane with no power (no lights, no beeps nothing new better was installed on 11/13). After 30 min. Jump started & on the way home the failure recurred. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of this problem on 4/1/14 at 12am est. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Also the warning for this problem is the security system going of randomly for no reason (like doors locking or closing horn going off).

- Denton, MN, USA

problem #13

Jul 292011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the above I was rear ended in two vehicle accident because my Honda Odyssey suddenly stopped. I informed the officer, but the other was charged with the accident. (at fault).

- Ladson, SC, USA

problem #12

Dec 172013

Odyssey

  • miles
I forgot to add the recall number on the vsa device that locks up without drivers involvement and causes accidents. I was told by Honda it is 13-098 in my former complaint today. Bottom line, if I drive it with this unsafe condition and it locks up and causes an accident, who is liable for damages etc" if I don't drive it I have no car until repaired. Does or is Honda responsible to provide us a car until ours is repaired and safe again. I received a recall notice and now tom scott Honda in nampa id said they can't repair it until sometime next year because they can't get parts until then. From my understanding this vehicle is being recalled because the brakes lock up do to the vsa device malfunctioning and causing accidents in which people are getting hurt. What is the answer"

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #11

Dec 172013

Odyssey

  • miles
I received a vehicle recall notice in December 2013 and went into to have the work done at tom scott Honda in nampa id. I scheduled an appointment 12/18/13 for the repair. I received a call at approximately 5pm stating Honda dose not have the parts to correct this unsafe condition and won't until next year sometime. What are we as consumers to do when we been noticed of this unsafe condition and don't want to drive with this condition. Is the dealer responsible to proved us a car until ours is fixed and safe to drive? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #10

Oct 022013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Approx 10/2/13 was driving on a road I travel frequently and was accelerating when suddenly my car lost power and slowed rapidly. I thought it was a fluke then on 10/11/13 I was driving a road I travel on daily when suddenly my car slowed by about 30 mph in just a few seconds. I put my foot on the brake and realized it was already engaged and was why I was slowing down. 10/16/13 - car went to dealer to be repaired. Dealer found source codes dtc 26-1 lateral acc sensor, and dtc 27-1 steering angle sensor but could not replicate and told me they did not know what the fix was. 10/17/13 - was driving on the same road as on 10/11 - clanging/grating sound in steering column and then brakes engaged, was accelerating slowly prior to this. Slowed down almost to a stop, then slowly accelerated again. Within a quarter of a mile it happened again (was driving slower at this time B/C I was worried it would happen again), this time the triangle w/ the exclamation point on it flickered (this is the first time it came on, all other times no lights or anything). Taking it back to dealer tomorrow but unless it happens to them was told there was nothing they could do. Repeatedly told them of the investigation but they said they don't know the fix. Thankfully no one was behind me during these occurrences but if they had there would have been an accident due to how fast the car decelerated.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #9

Jul 302013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 41,886 miles
Vsa indicator light appeared and would not turn off. Brought vehicle into dealership. I was told that there was a recall on the vsa system about two years ago and the vehicle was repaired according to the recall at that time. Dealership states does not know reason for current problem. Now dealership orders "replace vsa control unit, replace 47 pin vsa connector, bleed system, perform sensor neutral memorization procedure, and test drive." I am concerned that current problem is associated with previous recall problem or that repair made during recall did not actually fix the problem. Dealership denies this but cannot explain reason for current problem. Dealership refuses to provide me the damaged part(s). Concern: Car had 41866 miles and was serviced as required. Dealership cannot identify reason for breakdown of vsa part or system. As there was a previous recall for this part it appears that the current problem and needed repairs may indeed relate to the previous recall.

- Pebble Beach, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 022013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
While pulling out from work parking lot, vsa light came on, D letter gear was blinking, and engine vibrated abnormally. RPM could not get passed 3000. Also, checked engine oil when got home and it appeared to be low. The vehicle just got oil changed about a month ago.

- Audubon, PA, USA

problem #7

Jul 222013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 74,750 miles
Foot on gas peddle when car accelerated by itself and then the car automatically applied the brakes and the car moved to the right. I was driving about 40 mph when this happened and it felt as though I was braking to avoid an accident. It did this about five times in the distance of about 3/4 of a mile. If someone where traveling close behind me they would have rear-ended me. The car is at the dealer now, but I guess it's called the "eva" (?) light came on. When I took it to the dealer today the light did not show. My granddaughter was with us in the car and looked up the problem on her phone while we were driving and saw that Honda Odyssey had this breaking problem. I don't know what would happen if this where to occur at highway speeds. I luckily was a few miles from home and limped home, but was on the interstate shortly before this breaking problem. Please add my vehicle to your other complaints.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #6

Dec 132012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 74,920 miles
We have a 2007 Honda Odyssey with 76,000 miles. In December 2012 we had been driving for approximately 3-4 minutes, exiting onto the highway and accelerating to reach 65 miles per hour. When we reached approximately 55-60 mph and were still accelerating the car spontaneously applied the brakes for approximately 3 seconds, lurching us forward. We stopped accelerating and began to pull over. It again spontaneously braked as we were slowing down. We attempted to drive slowly along the side of the road, to get to the next exit, and it happened again. Once we were finally able to stop in a safe place we turned off the car. We turned the car back on and it did not do it again. We took the car to the dealer and they only found one code - the steering sensor. They re-calibrated it but were not convinced that was the problem. Sure enough, approximately two months later the same thing happened. We were not going quite as fast and it did not lurch quite as severe. After it did this three times I was at a stop light and pushed the switch to turn the vsa off. It did not occur again. Took it to the dealer and they found no codes. They drove 17 miles and could not duplicate the problem. The weather conditions both times were approximately 30-40 degrees with some snow or wetness on the ground from prior precipitation. The dealer continues to say there is no problem because it shows no code and they can't replicate the problem. Manufacture was contacted and they instructed dealer to drive again and try to duplicate. They deny any other incidents documented (despite listings on this website that say they have been notified of the same problem.)

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #5

Oct 022012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
Vsa warning light went on suddenly during driving. Steering wheel feels not stable when turning after the light is on. Took the vehicle to Honda dealer and was told the communication between the vsa module and the computer is lost and need replace vsa module for $1,600. It is not a problem caused by wear-and tear and Honda should be responsible for making the electronics more reliable in Odyssey models.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #4

May 092010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
While driving in heavy raining conditions or flow of water pool, on roadway or hwy, vehicle wants to shut off displaying no charging, like I have no power for a few seconds. Twice this occurred on hwy speed 70+ or 25-30 +, on roadway with heavy rain and flow of water pool splash during turn vehicle shut off and power up within approximately 3-5 seconds. I was able to move over to the off road medium and regain engine power. This has happen numerous times in the course of 2 yrs. Bringing vehicle to Honda dealership which they cant repeat complaint even with hosing engine belt with water, though the tech stated many customers have reported this during raining conditions. Note no power steering due to this event. Ret nypd

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?