Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007-2009 was, at one point, the best selling minivan in the United States. But 2007 owners got the short end of that deal.

Peeling paint, a whining steering pump and an easily breakable A/C condenser are all top complaints about the 2007 model year. And anyone who doesn't think a busted minivan A/C is a big deal has never taken a summer road trip with kids.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,283 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Odyssey drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Jun 262011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 50,802 miles


Car hesitates on downshift at 40 and 20 mph. On 6/26/11 I brought car into local Honda dealer to have a manufacturer product update addressed that was targeting this transmission judder issue. Dealer performed a software update which proved to be ineffective. On 9/7/11 I went back to the dealer to have them check the software update again since the transmission judder was still present. The dealer told me that they would charge me $115 to look at the car, not including cost of any repairs. Since Honda's product update notification indicated this update should be free of charge and the dealer was intending to charge me, I left the dealership in anger without having them look at the car. On 11/19/11 I brought car back in because the issue was still present and agreed to pay their diagnosis fee of $115. They recognized the problem and flushed the transmission fluid to try to resolve. On 12/17/11 the issue was still not corrected so I brought the car in again. The dealer recognized that there was a problem but said it was "slight" and that I should continue to drive the car until the problem became more pronounced. This, despite the fact that Honda's documentation says driving the car without having this issue fixed could damage the transmission. Honda's product update letter to the dealer indicated torque converter should be replaced if software update wasn't effective, but the dealer refused to do that. 12/19/11 I brought the car in again out of dissatisfaction with the conclusion of the 12/17/11 visit. Dealer again attempted a software update, which again proved to be ineffective. On 2/6/12, I contacted american Honda to explain the history. I am now being asked to pay for part of this repair, which would have been free of charge to me had the dealer addressed it during one of my initial visits. I don't feel I should incur any cost for this update.

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 042012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
I am getting a thud sound from the back of my 2007 Odyssey mini van. We called Honda and they said they have had several people come in with this. They found that there is a glazing that happens with the brakes and they said they have to grind the drums and it makes it go away for awhile. They said if the brake shoes are ok it would run about $200. This is crazy if they have a problem with the brakes other than wear and tear they should fix it for free. I have put two sets of brakes on this van since I bought it and I have never had brakes go so fast. I believe they have a very poor design. If I had not bought the extended warranty I would have been out 1000 of dollars with all the problem this 2007 Honda has had. If I had it to do over again I would not buy another Honda. The windshield whistles, the transmission part had to be replaced, the compressor melted, the battery went dead on a trip before a year was up. The bearings in the wheels went bad. The axle went bad. The right rear door motor went bad. The left rear door will open part way and shut. All in all Honda has gone down hill. $37,000 and its a piece of junk. Thank god other than the brakes the dealer has been very very good and has fixed everything at least once.

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #7

Jan 142007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
Bought the 2007 Odyssey ex-L res nav new in 2007, did not notice the 40~50mph judder during the 10 minutes test drive. I did notice that while driving it back home, but that was too late and the money was with the dealer already. Brought it back to the dealer and they said it was normal, even though you can find lots of complaints from internet. I should have done more research before I made this purchase. Too much penalty to trade in for others. From that on, I just avoid that speed range as much as I could. After dealer updated the transmission code last year, the vibration still exists and just slightly improved. But the down shift is kind of rough when cruising to slow down. Sometimes it even stuck at unexpected low gear when driving on a down hill while gas is off. Even though I only have 38K miles on it so far, but worry it might not last long enough to worth the money I paid. Any way, I just told all my friends go get a "Toyota sienna" and definitely not Honda Odyssey. Honda/Acura have lots of transmission issues and they need to recall all those cars. This is the first and last Honda for me, no more Honda....!

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #6

Oct 102011


  • 64,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle began to shake and shudder before down shifting abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the torque converter was locking and unlocking the transmission but they could not duplicate the problem. The contact believed that there was a problem but the dealer stated there was no problem. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #5

Sep 222010


  • 28,872 miles
I own a 2007 Honda Odyssey ex-L. last may, I received two separate recall notices for PCM update for lock-up clutch function and for low and soft brake pedal. There was a delay in taking my van to a dealer because I was on a military deployment. My deployment ended last month and that's when I took my van to get service (recalls). A month had past since I took my van for the recall but the break problem still persist and I think it's getting worst. The breaks is very soft and the pedal is very low when I step on it. Sometimes I have to pump my brakes twice just to feel the brake. I sent Honda customer service a letter requesting another authorization to have my brakes check and service again. Honda's solution to fix the problem did not work. The Honda dealer bled, seal and cap the brake system on my van but it did not solve the problem. This issue should be look at again before someone gets hurt or lose their lives.

- Apo Ae, AE, USA

problem #4

May 292010


  • miles
A transmission judder is felt while driving between 20-45 mph and I did receive a safety recall notice from Honda automobile division regarding that subject upon which I scheduled an appointment with an authorized dealer to fix the problem but he has failed to remedy the defect in my vehicle and the vehicle is still defected.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 202010


  • 30,000 miles


2007 Honda Odyssey decelerated on its own. While driving at about 30 mph the vehicle accelerated quickly and decelerated quickly on its own. The incident lasted about 3 seconds. It did not come to full stop. The recall for the brakes for this model was installed on 6/15/10 by the dealership. This incident occurred days later on 6/20/10. The very same issue happened 2 times before about 18 months ago. The car was taken to the dealership but no issue was found.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 012006


  • 40,000 miles
My 2007 Honda Odyssey has been shuddering for a long time had it to the dealership 2-3 times and they could not find anything wrong with it or get the problem to happen there. My lease is almost up and we thought of buying the van because we are way over our miles but not with this problem for fear it is the transmission. It shudders between 30-40mph or on an incline.

- Waverly, NY, USA

problem #1

Aug 012007


  • 0 miles
About 3 months after I purchased the brand new, 2007, Honda Odyssey I noticed a reluctant feeling when I drove it. Even when I drove it around town for everyday errands or if needed to take long trips I still felt like my car was fighting me. Each time I brought my car in I would ask them to look the car over for a problem that would convey why I was having this bucking feeling. My first documented complaint was in April of 2008. They stated they could not find anything. My second complaint was October of 2008 stating the vehicle hesitates. Everytime I took it in to dch kay Honda in old bridge where we purchased the car they found nothing. It was not until my brother drove in my car in the winter of 2009, when he said there is something wrong with my transmission that I should take it to a transmission dealer and get it checked. I knew that if an independent transmission dealer looked at it or took it apart my warranty would be void so I found one who took it for a road test and stated that the transmission is slipping down to 4th and some how jumping into 5th automatically. After this I took it to dch kay Honda in eatontown and stated what was found out in Feb. Of 2009. They said again they could not find anything. I still have a reluctant feeling when I am driving the car but feel as though my time is being wasted by running back and forth to these dealers. I not only loose time, money but my car while either waiting for it or being without at home.

- Holmdel, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?