Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007-2009 was, at one point, the best selling minivan in the United States. But 2007 owners got the short end of that deal.

Peeling paint, a whining steering pump and an easily breakable A/C condenser are all top complaints about the 2007 model year. And anyone who doesn't think a busted minivan A/C is a big deal has never taken a summer road trip with kids.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,627 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Odyssey steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Feb 152013

Odyssey

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whenever I brake from about 70mph, the steering wheel rattles to a point that I have to hold it with two hands. I've research online and many people seem to have the same problem but without a resolution. Please look into this issue before it cause major accidents.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #65

Jan 122014

Odyssey

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the power steering assist exhibited a loud noise. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the reservoir steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 114,000.

- Greensburg, IN, USA

problem #64

Oct 012013

Odyssey

  • miles
The vehicle is hard to steer when starting from parked position or at low speeds. This makes the vehicle hard to maneuver into a parking space, parallel park, or to pull out from a parked position.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #63

Dec 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. Updated 02/11/14

- Selma, AL, USA

problem #62

Oct 022013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Approx 10/2/13 was driving on a road I travel frequently and was accelerating when suddenly my car lost power and slowed rapidly. I thought it was a fluke then on 10/11/13 I was driving a road I travel on daily when suddenly my car slowed by about 30 mph in just a few seconds. I put my foot on the brake and realized it was already engaged and was why I was slowing down. 10/16/13 - car went to dealer to be repaired. Dealer found source codes dtc 26-1 lateral acc sensor, and dtc 27-1 steering angle sensor but could not replicate and told me they did not know what the fix was. 10/17/13 - was driving on the same road as on 10/11 - clanging/grating sound in steering column and then brakes engaged, was accelerating slowly prior to this. Slowed down almost to a stop, then slowly accelerated again. Within a quarter of a mile it happened again (was driving slower at this time B/C I was worried it would happen again), this time the triangle w/ the exclamation point on it flickered (this is the first time it came on, all other times no lights or anything). Taking it back to dealer tomorrow but unless it happens to them was told there was nothing they could do. Repeatedly told them of the investigation but they said they don't know the fix. Thankfully no one was behind me during these occurrences but if they had there would have been an accident due to how fast the car decelerated.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #61

Jul 162013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
I entered a highway and was accelerating to a speed of approx. 35 mph when the vehicle suddenly decelerated, as if the brakes had been slammed on, causing me to lurch forward, triggering the seat belts to tighten. I maintained steering control, removed my foot from the gas pedal, then suddenly the vehicle accelerated rapidly without my pressing on the gas pedal. This happened four times within approximately 60 seconds. I'm stating this mildly when I say the experience was terrifying. I pulled over, turned the car off, and called our mechanic who advised I slowly and safely drive the van to the shop, which wasn't too far away, or consider having it towed. I chose to drive slowly to the mechanics and the problem did not occur again. Upon diagnostic testing, our mechanic said it was a steering sensor that lost its memory and needed reset, an easy fix and that while this problem is rare, it's not unheard of, yet it shouldn't happen again. (we had recently had new tires installed prior to this event, the mechanic suspected that while the tires were being changed, the sensor's memory must have been wiped.) the second event was this past wed., Oct. 2, the same experience as before happened again. Only on this occasion, our mechanic's diagnostic testing did not provide a code as it had before, but recognizing the complaint, they reset the sensor again. In both events, the roads were dry, clear weather, we were driving on new tires and at low speeds, having just moments before turned on the ignition and begun accelerating. We are now being told that our vehicle has two broken motor mounts. We highly suspect this is due to the sudden jerking back and forwards from this involuntary deceleration/acceleration issue; it's an expensive repair! Honda needs to recall this model and get a fix asap. We are thankful this hasn't caused an accident--yet. Bought this van used in 2010.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #60

Jun 302013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. While attempting to turn the steering wheel in either direction the wheel became resistant and difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the an independent mechanic where the O-ring was replaced; however, the contact continued to experience the power steering failure. The vehicle was taken back to the mechanic who stated the steering unit was faulty. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. The dealer replaced the power steering pump. Updated 12/23/13

- Lowville, NY, USA

problem #59

Apr 172013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Normal driving conditions, low battery light illuminates and there is no power steering.

- Gower, MO, USA

problem #58

Feb 012013

Odyssey

  • 97,000 miles
2007 Odyssey makes a clicking noise when turning right or left. Power steering pump was replaced last year but was told the rack and pinion steering needs to be replaced. 97,000 miles with maintenance kept up to date.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #57

Aug 012007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
I would like to file a complaint regarding the 2007 model year for the Honda Odyssey. The car currently pulls to the right while driving on flat ground. There is a current issue with the way the plant assembled the struts and we are not the only ones who have been affected as I have looked online and found other drivers affected by the issue as well.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #56

Nov 012012

Odyssey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that when attempting to turn the steering wheel, the wheel would become resistant and the contact experienced great difficulty in turning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the issue. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 62,891.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #55

Oct 012011

Odyssey

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the contact drove through a puddle of water. The battery light illuminated and the vehicle also became extremely difficult to steer. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's destination. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 47,461.

- Napals, FL, USA

problem #54

Feb 012012

Odyssey

  • 54,000 miles
Vehicle was hard to steer at low speeds also during cold weather we hear a loud whining noise coming from the power steering pump. Took the vehicle to the Honda dealer where we were told the power steering pump was bad. They replaced the pump and told us if we hear the whining noise again it is probably the power steering resovior which was not replaced. There is also a popping sound in the steering which they say is the rack and pinion and it needs to be replaced. Now the vehicle is not under warranty anymore but before the warranty had expired we had taken the vehicle to the dealer to diagnose the popping noise but was told they could not find anything wrong. Magically now they have found the problem. With them now wanting to charge $2000 to fix it. The vehicle only has 54000 miles and should not be having this much trouble. I have never owned a vehicle needing this much work this soon. Although I do love my vehicle I can honestly say I am having doubts of ever owning another one. If they know there is a problem they should fix the problem.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #53

Dec 242011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 58,583 miles
After driving apx. 50 miles most of them at highway speeds upon exiting the highway and waiting to make a turn I heard a loud whining noise from under the hood. When I tried to turn it was difficult to do so. The noise continued and the vehicle was difficult to turn at times as if you had loss power assit. I parked the van and ckecked the power steering fluid level, level was good, but it looked foamy. The van sat for apx. 3 hours I checked the fluid again and it looked normal. After starting the van the noise was not as pronounced and steering seemed ok, but after making the 50 mile return trip home the same problem returned. After checking the internet I find this is a problem Honda is aware of since they have issued at least two service bulletins 07-005 and 10-076 to address the problem. I would think any problem that would affect the steering of a vehicle at slow or high speed should be repaired by the manufacturer. You could loose the ability to avoid an accident if this would happen at either speed or cause an accident. It is not as if this is due to poor or lack of maintance, or high milage. The problems seem to happen way before a vehicle of this cost and preceived quality should start having problems, to a system that affects it's safe operation. Some have occured during the warranty period. I can only speak for my van, but it has been serviced by a Honda dealer since new. I hope human life does not have to be lost or serious injury occur before this on going problem is resolved. Honda knows they have a problem if they will not do the right thing, then somebody needs to make them, and fix the power steering pumps.

- Ashland , PA, USA

problem #52

Nov 212011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 68,700 miles
2007 - 2010 Honda Odyssey owners are targeted to receive notification of a "warranty extension" to replace the power steering pump under certain conditions. I received the notice for my 2007 Honda Odyssey, suffered with the "hard to turn" condition (see tsb 10-076) and associated pump whining noise that is described in tsb 07-005 (defective pump reservoir). Although the pump was extended warranty replaced at university motors (missoula) I was required to pay for the replacement of the reservoir ($66.08). My understanding is that the reservoir defect is what causes the pump to fail. I believe that a recall should be required and all owners that have been required to pay for the reservoir (or pump) should be 100% reimbursed. American Honda automobile refused to reimburse for this replacement stating that the extended warranty applies only to the pump. Please review huge complaint data base.

- Victor, MT, USA

problem #51

Oct 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Power steering pump is failing to provide assistance at low engine speeds every time the vehicle is operated (not intermittent). Condition makes it difficult and slow to manuever the vehicle during parking lot type maneuvers. The first time I experienced the condition was while parallel parking in the city during a time of heavy traffic. Note: Power steering reservoir was replaced under warranty after one year of ownership due to air ingestion problem. Vehicle is a one owner and I can confirm that only Honda power steering fluid has ever been used.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #50

Jul 042011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Dera sir: We bought this vehicle (Honda Odyssey, 2007) in May 2007 in Michigan. Since last 18 months, we have been experiencing serious issues with this vehicle. One issue was power steering (not able to maneuvering), I went to Honda. They changed the power steering unit twice in the last 12 months (I purchased extenede warranty, otherwise it would have been an expensive thing for me). Again, I had same issue this week, then I went to Honda. They mentioned "right side inner and outer tie rods loose and were completely worn out". they did mentiioned to me that it is dangaerous to drive this vehicle. They kept my vehicle overnight and installed a new part. I believe there is serious flaws in the design of this particle year model. Today I am experienceing different problem, shaking engine at 40 mph. They did update the software but still there is problem in this vehicle. I apreciate if nha would take a look into this matter. I almost spent more than $10000 on this vehicle and I realized I bought a piece of junk from Honda which I thought was a reliable maker. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #49

Aug 152011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Have chronically reported excessive force needed to turn steering wheel at low speeds. Correction: Honda is requesting that I flush power steering pump and change the reservoir.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #48

Aug 062011

Odyssey

  • 72,265 miles
Vehicle failed safety inspection because power steering is ineffective at low speeds. My daughter is learning to drive, and we cannot let her use the vehicle since she cannot control the steering while moving below 5 miles per hour. This problem is detailed in 2 Honda technical service bulletins 07-005 and 10-076, but Honda appears to be reluctant to admit a problem to customers.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #47

Jun 202011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I am a owner of Honda Odyssey 2007. We start to hear noise around 2008 winter after highway driving. Then, we begin to experience the difficulty to turn wheel occasionally between 2008 to 2010. In 2011, the difficulty of turning wheel become more frequent at low speed, but manageable. In June 2011, we experienced difficulty to turn wheel during a trip on highway driving. This incident made us to aware the problem of power steering pump. After searching the website, many Honda Odyssey owners complained the same problem and mentioned that Honda installed the problematic power steering pump for their car since 2004, therefore a service bulletin 10-076 was announced by Honda. Please consider a recall service from Honda to protect Honda owners' safety during highway driving. Thanks.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?