Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007-2009 was, at one point, the best selling minivan in the United States. But 2007 owners got the short end of that deal.

Peeling paint, a whining steering pump and an easily breakable A/C condenser are all top complaints about the 2007 model year. And anyone who doesn't think a busted minivan A/C is a big deal has never taken a summer road trip with kids.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,808 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Feb 012013

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda Odyssey. Consumer writes in regards to faulty transmission in vehicle. The consumer stated she was driving down the highway, when suddenly, it felt as though the vehicle had jerked out of gear or if the brake had been applied. The consumer stated she recently drove the vehicle, and the tcs and check engine lights illuminated and the vehicle started jerking again.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #37

May 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I noticed the vibration on our Honda Odyssey about 2 months ago. Then a month ago, had our prepaid service done and asked them to check the vibration and they said it's normal. Then after that I received a recall notice for the vibration and that the van needed a computer update. So had that done 3 days ago (6/27/11) and still vibrated. Brought it back again today (6/30/11), told them it needed a new torque converter and if they can check the motor mounts and they said it needed new tires and a computer update again to fix the problem. So, did that and still had the vibration issue. I am so frustrated and angry. So I brought it back after driving it for about 1 mile and told them again, that it's not fixed. So now I'm seeking some sort of assistance and compensation for all the time and money wasted..thanks

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #36

Jan 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that his vehicle rolled backwards on hills when he releases the brake and attempted to accelerate. The dealer was contacted and stated that the vehicle met specifications. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 35,000. Updated 05/26/11. Updated 06/02/11 the consumer stated the vehicle rolled back on a sloped parking lot and caused an indentation to the middle rear door. Contact was made with the edge of a fence railing. Updated 07/08/11 updated 08/19/11

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #35

Sep 192010

Odyssey

  • 64,789 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Extreme pressure had to be applied to the brakes, in order to get the vehicle to slow down on a downhill road at the same time the clutch shuddered, it not only shuddered, but it made the entire vehicle shake and rattle as if it were falling apart. Scared to take the vehicle on long run. Also vehicle shakes sometimes during normal braking action.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #34

Aug 182010

Odyssey

  • 69,475 miles
Honda Odyssey lift gate support failure. The failure of the lift gate causes head injury to head or body upon failure.

- Malibu, CA, USA

problem #33

May 312010

Odyssey

  • 32,900 miles
I have a 2007 Honda Odyssey with 34K and major transmission problems. I have taken this vehicle 5 times to get fix and the problem is still there. Im afraid to go on long trips with the family. I have a new born and a 4 yr old and don't want to be broken down in the middle of the road. I paid $25,000 for this unreliable vehicle. Honda told me they are aware of a transmission problem but no recall. I really hope this problem gets fixed. Honda Odyssey have a history of transmission failure.

- Philadelphia , PA, USA

problem #32

Jun 292010

(reported on)

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Honda Odyssey. Consumer states problem with brakes the consumer stated extreme pressure had to be applied to the brakes, in order to get the vehicle to stop. Also, the clutch shuddered when driving down a hill, it not only shuddered, but it made the entire vehicle shake and rattle as if it were falling apart.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 202009

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact received a notification of an unknown recall and had repairs made to the vehicle at an authorized dealer. After repairs, when driving at minimum low speeds and driving uphill, the vehicle would violently jerk. The dealer advised the failure was due to the transmission. The vehicle was left with the dealer where the contact was awaiting repairs. The contact was concerned that the repair would not correct the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 52,000. Updated 10/27/10.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #30

May 212010

Odyssey

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated she had her vehicle serviced for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 10V098000 (service brakes, air). When receiving the vehicle back from the dealer, the contact noticed there was an unusual jerk when changing gears. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and she was advised she would need to replace the torque converter. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle then began to exhibit an unusual clunking from the front end of the vehicle when driving at speeds of 45 mph or greater. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure and advised the contact that she should not be too concerned with the noise. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileages were 30,000.

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #29

Jun 082010

Odyssey

  • 28,000 miles
Transmission shudder persists after three software updates and torque converter replacement. Warranty expires at 60K, currently at 57K. Dealer has expressed frustration in dealing with Honda of America in finding a resolution to the problem. Before torque converter was replaced the dealer had to take a "snapshot" of the RPM difference between the engine and transmission. After torque converter replacement and third software update the difference is greater. Hoa now states the RPM difference is within normal range. When asked why the lesser amount reported before was enough to warrant a replacement of torque converter and now no further service is needed, hoa had no answer.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #28

Apr 012010

Odyssey

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Honda Odyssey ex-L-transmission is shuddering while driving at 30-40 mph. The problem seems to happen when I slow down then press on the gas again. It feels like I am driving over railroad tracks. I also noticed that it happened today for the first time at 55 mph. I also notice that the car "pulls" back slightly when I am driving at higher speeds--it feels like I am letting my foot off the gas pedal, but I am not. I took the van into a Honda dealership on May 8, 2010. They updated the software and said that the van was running fine, but it is still giving me problems. I will be taking it back to Honda of serramonte in daly city, ca on May 22, 2010. I am not happy--the power train warranty expires at 60, 000 miles--van has 57,600 miles. I hope Honda will take care of my problems before my warranty expires!

- Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #27

Dec 162009

Odyssey

  • 26,000 miles
Transmission does not shift smoothly, especially when coming to a stop you can feel and hear the transmission down shifting. First we could feel the engine jutter between 35 - 40 mph when upshifting. Dealer said it needed a software upgrade. We got the software upgrade - made it worse. They then said it needed a new torque converter. The new torque converter fixed the juttering, now the downshifting is not smooth. We took it to the dealer again and they are telling us it's fine. I've spoken to a mechanic and he mentioned that he has heard a lot of complaints regarding the Odyssey's transmission.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #26

Oct 012009

Odyssey

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. While driving at approximately 40-50 mph, the contact stated that she heard a noise. The vehicle began to shake as if it were in the wrong gear. She noticed the problem each time the vehicle was driving between 40 and 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000. The current mileage was 54,363.

- Monkton, MD, USA

problem #25

Apr 232010

Odyssey

  • 25,000 miles
While driving on a level and smooth road under light acceleration at around 40 mph, the vehicle began to shudder -- as if driving over a rough road. See Honda service bulletin lock-up clutch judders between 20-45 mph www.in.Honda.com/rjanisis/pubs/sb/A09-053.pdf.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 202009

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
Power steering issue on 2007 Honda Odyssey. No power steering ability in parking, K turn or parallel park. Faster speeds it kicks in, slower speeds you have to muscle it through. Told by Honda service department that no recall to date, need to replace pump and reservoir. It's only 3 yrs old... this is not a normal wear and tear item. Google resulted in several consumer complaints on power steering. Although it did not cause an accident it is certainly a manufacturing defect. Please research further.

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #23

Mar 152010

Odyssey

  • 20,000 miles
Transmission shutters in all gears while on the throttle. Usually speeds between 20-50 mph...vehicle has been to Honda. They are aware of the issue but has no fix for the problem.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #22

Apr 022010

Odyssey

  • 69,000 miles
Failure of transmission due to (in dealer's words) "a crack or porous metal casing." This is at least the third repair of the transmission. Two previous episodes of transmission fluid leakage were deemed by the dealer "caused by a loose bolt." The first time shortly after vehicle delivery bolt was tighten, second time bolt was tighten and set with lock tight which required overnight stay at dealer service center. Third time, entire transmission is being replaced- being covered under dealer supplied powertrain warranty with a $25 deductible.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #21

Sep 172009

Odyssey

  • 35,000 miles
Transmission does not shift smoothly, especially when coming to a stop you can feel and hear the transmission down shifting. First we could feel the engine jutter between 35 - 40 mph when upshifting. Dealer said it needed a software upgrade. We got the software upgrade - made it worse. They then said it needed a new torque converter. The new torque converter fixed the juttering, now the downshifting is not smooth. We took it to the dealer again and they are telling us it's fine. I've spoken to a mechanic and he mentioned that he has heard a lot of complaints regarding the Odyssey's transmission.

- Fallston, MD, USA

problem #20

Mar 172010

Odyssey

  • miles
Honda Odyssey 2007 vibration and RPM change at around 45 mph.

- Adamsville, AL, USA

problem #19

Mar 122010

Odyssey

  • 56,015 miles
Transmission issues with my 2007 Honda Odyssey.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?