Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
106,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Passport body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Passport:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Passport Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Sep 112010

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

9/11/10 while driving 2001 Honda Passport, I heard a loud noise in the rear of the vehicle and simultaneously I lost control of the vehicle. It was towed on a flatbed due to extensive frame rot. The Honda dealer said the frame was so badly corroded there was no place on the frame that they could attach the lower link bracket back onto the vehicle. The loud noise was the lower link bracket breaking loose from the frame because the frame rotted through. I was told the vehicle was not road safe and needed a frame replacement. Since an ea had been opened Honda suggested I go to a garage that can bypass the corrosion and rig something up that would allow a temporary fix until a recall was issued. I did the repair at a cost of $1,200, but it was not guaranteed or road safe for anything but side roads around town. Later a recall was issued on the lower link brackets. My lower link brackets are not defective they are fine and completely intact. The problem is my entire frame is corroded through all layers and is riddled with holes. The bracket cannot be attached because you cannot weld a bracket onto rust and holes. From the date of the recall both Honda of torrington and the independent garage that did the temporary repair said the vehicle was not road safe, fell well outside the parameters of the worst stage included in the recall and that my case would be referred to Honda to negotiate a settlement. After months of calls to the dealer about the status I was told to bring the vehicle down for the recall repair. We requested to be present and did not authorize repairs unless we were. We called the dealer to ask when they would be calling us down. They said to arrive in one half hour because that's when they would be bring the vehicle in. When we arrived 20 minutes later, we were told a stage 2 repair was already done per the tech-line. Which consisted of spraying wax over an unsafe frame. They refused to put on our invoice that it was road safe.

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #51

May 062011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My 2001 Honda Passport went in for inspection for recall for the lower link trailing brackets. The brackets were installed over the rusted frame on 03/16/11. It was stated in emails to the corporate office that even if the stage 3 repairs were completed as instructed the vehicle would be unsafe to drive due to the deep corrosion in other portions as well. Honda told jeffrey Honda to still perform the stage 3 repair as the other corrosion areas do not apply to this current campaign. It is jeffrey Honda's professional opinion that the vehicle remains unsafe to drive due to heavy and deep corrosion to rear trailing arms, rear frame hanging not bolted together. Fuel tank housing rusted and half way portions as well. Honda corporate office refuses to offer a buy back offer for this vehicle. They have bought back other vehicles that were not as bad as mine and tell me that they are sorry but they will do nothing else for me. My vehicle is not safe to drive and still has a 2 year loan on it with full coverage insurance. It is not my fault that Honda used defective steel when making these frames for these vehicles. Case manager [xxx] says the buy back offers are on a case-by-case basis. In our many conversations he can not tell me why my vehicle does not meet the criteria. It is rusted underneath from one end to the other. The trailing brackets installed are like a band aid for a broken leg. I feel discriminated against as others get buy back offers and all I get is sorry. I had to have the vehicle towed home because of safety issues. It can never be driven again with only 80,000 miles and a perfect body because the whole frame is rotted. I feel that the recall should be reopened to include the frame. Many people are still driving these vehicles with the rotted frames as it is their only transportation. They are risking their life and the lives of others on the road by continuing to drive these vehicles. All states should of received a inspection notice for these vehicles. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #50

May 102011

Passport

  • 182,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the frame was completely rusted and exhibited rust holes throughout the frame. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the rust and the manufacturer stated that they could only replace the upper trailing arm bracket. The contact believed the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 182,000.

- Harrison , OH, USA

problem #49

Feb 162011

Passport

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact had the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension: Rear) which was suppose to repair the lower link brackets on the vehicle because of rust. The contact then took the vehicle for state inspection and was informed that the vehicle did not pass due to severe frame rust and fractures. The contact was advised that the vehicle was unsafe to drive because it did not pass the frame test check. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- Seeconk, MA, USA

problem #48

Jun 132009

Passport

  • 98,000 miles
2001 Honda Passport. Rear trailing linkage rusted away from frame. Received recall a year later from Honda. Truck is now at a welder getting the rear frame rails patched due to rusting. Its not only the frame rails that are rusting away. Mileage on vehicle is 125000. I have noticed the entire frame from front to back rusting. This is a serious issue. Can and will cause an accident or death. My experience was with the rear trailing linkage. Was doing 45 mph down a highway, hit a bump, linkage broke away from the frame.. I fished tailed in traffic, luckily not hitting anyone or hurting myself. This vehicle needs to be taken off the road. And customers reimbursed and compensated.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #47

Mar 152011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
First the Honda dealership told headquarters that my 2001 Passports frame was in such poor condition and unsafe that the recall repair would not fix the problem. So headquarters requested more pictures of the frame damage for their technical department. Today simon from headquarters called and said they were going to go ahead with the recall repair even though this car will still be unsafe to drive. He told me that the rusted frame was worse in the front than in the rear where they would install the new brackets. The rear of the car was already separating from the back of the frame. So they are fixing a car that will never be safe because they used defective materials on all their frames for vehicles under rodeo and Passport from 1998-2002. This was reported many times over the years of this rust problem and then the recall fix is issued September 2010. What does it take to get some help with these big corporations when they expect us to drive their unsafe cars and sign waivers on the rusted frame pictures. I am not driving that Passport anywhere as human lives are at stake, including mine. How is it that some receive a pay off for their car and I get stuck paying a loan for 2 1/2 more years for a car I can't drive. Where is the justice here? I think this is the most horrific thing a car company can do to hundreds of thousands people who were loyal to that company. How many lives or accidents is it going to take before we get help. Someone in power needs to help us get this resolved with Honda and include the frame in the recall process as they are basically in the same condition. We are supposed to sit back and take this and do nothing about this severe injustice. If someone even reads these complaints would be a miracle as it took many years to even get a bracket recall from Honda. Please help us who have only this car as our only transportation. I can't even look for work as I have no car but I have a car payment to make and insurance.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #46

Jan 152011

Passport

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the entire frame was rusted. The dealer stated that even if they repaired the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear), the vehicle would still not be safe to drive. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 80,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 79,000. Updated 06/02/11 updated 1/13/2012

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #45

Jan 312011

Passport

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000 (suspension:rear) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs however, the dealer advised that the vehicle was unsafe to drive due to excessive corrosion. The vehicle could still be repaired under the recall yet the dealer advised against it because it would not repair the remainder of the severely corroded frame. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage and the current mileage was 117,000. Updated 03/23/11

- Delmar, NY, USA

problem #44

Feb 102011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
After my 2001 Honda Passport was recall due to rotted frame, I brought it to the dealer, they told me it was stage 4, said it couldn't be fixed. 5 weeks later Honda rep said that they were going to try to fix it, but would not do it with out me signing a release that the car will still not be road worthy as the frame out side the recall area was also rotted. They offered to buy the truck at an unrealistic price and I had to decide there and then.

- Cranton, RI, USA

problem #43

Feb 012010

Passport

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that the structure of the suspension mount was entirely rusted and corroded. The contact stated that there was a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000- suspension: Rear) which would only cover the replacement of the brackets but not the frame. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage were 100,000.

- Goshen , OH, USA

problem #42

Dec 082010

Passport

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Honda Passport is under recall due to the suspension bracket rusting off the frame of the vehicle. Most vehicles are being deemed unrepairable due to the condition of the frame. Honda has been doing buybacks quietly on vehicles, some for decent offers and some for ridiculously low offers. Honda needs to recall all 1998-2002 Passports in snow states with the condition of the frame. Frames are so rusty that there are holes in them, questioning the stability of the vehicle entirely. The vehicle are unsafe to be on the road and Honda is aware of the problem but is doing little to take care of the problem.

- Kalmazoo, MI, USA

problem #41

Jan 202011

Passport

  • 164,992 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. While the dealer was inspecting the vehicle for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 10V436000, suspension rear the technicians noticed that the frame was severally covered with rust. The manufacturer stated that the repairs were not covered under the recall. The dealer stated the repairs for the recall would be covered but the frame was the customers responsibility. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 164,992.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #40

Oct 072010

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
My 2001 Honda Passport is included in the recall just released by Isuzu and Honda. They've only recalled the "lower link bracket" but in reading other complaints it is the consensus that this is a frame issue, which should be recalled. I'm in the process of waiting to hear from Honda mitigation about the next step as they have deemed my vehicle not repairable.

- Waterbury, VT, USA

problem #39

Jan 072011

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 118,608 miles
The frame on my 2001 Honda Passport is rusted very bad with holes all through it.vehicle is at the dealer now for the recall on the suspension bracket the dealer say's it will be a stage 4 repair on this recall. I asked them if my Passport could pass a safety inspection when it was done which runs out January 31,2011 and they said it may not.I've been in a rental car since October for this recall and all that time american Honda keeps telling me they are going to fix the problem with the frame and now I'm being told it may not.the problem is not the brackets, the problem is the frame. Someone needs to look at my vehicle the frames are rotting from the inside out just to look at it, it looks good till you touch it and it just crumbles. Can you update your recall to include the frames.

- Punxsutawney, PA, USA

problem #38

Dec 042010

Passport

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. The contact stated that while repairing a flat, she noticed the frame was rotted and corroded. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #37

Oct 112010

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
I was driving my 2001 Honda Passport and as I turned a corner, it felt as if the rear was fish tailing but it wasn't very noticeable. I drove home and later left to bring my daughter to driver's ed and as I pulled out of my driveway, I felt as if I lost control of the vehicle, like I was driving on ice. I had the vehicle towed on a flat bed and repaired, though my mechanic stated that the repair wasn't going to hold for all that long due to the horrible rust issues on the frame. I had the driver's side "patched" a few years ago when I went to have the vehicle inspected, it didn't pass due to the frame. This is a very serious issue! I'd prefer for all of these vehicles be removed from the roadway and for the dealers to properly reimburse their customers. My vehicle has lost a lot of value because of the patches made to the frame. I'm afraid I've lost a lot of money.

- Waterbury, VT, USA

problem #36

Sep 162010

Passport

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Passport. While driving 60 mph the vehicles rear end began to fish tale. He was able to drive onto the emergency lane to inspect the vehicle. He was able to continue driving although the vehicle began to shake. He had to drive onto the emergency lane to inspect the vehicle and he did not notice anything out of place. He drove the vehicle home and the vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who advised him that the entire under carriage of the vehicle was covered with rust. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure and current mileages were 130,000.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #35

Sep 112010

Passport 4WD 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
2001 Honda Passport 4 dr 4WD exl VIN#[xxx] original owner - purchased from danbury fair Honda, danbury, ct on 1/10/2001 meticulously maintained - all service records interior and exterior(excl frame) excellent condition current mileage +/- 100,000 description of incident: While driving my Honda Passport on Sept. 11, 2010 I was turning onto a side St when without warning I heard a noise come from what sounded like the left rear of the vehicle. The vehicle began to "float" or sway out of my ctrl. With the assistance of my fiance I was able to bring the vehicle to rest on the shoulder of the rd. The frame was so severely rusted out that it couldn't be towed in the traditional manner and was removed on a flatbed. This is a critical and severe defect that in other circumstances could have been disastrous and fatal. I was told by 3 highly regarded mechanics that if it had it happened the day before when we were traveling on the interstate we would probably not have lived to file a complaint. Additionally, the defect would likely have cause a rollover of the vehicle which could have easily caused other accidents and/or fatalities. This defect is a silent killer waiting to happen. All these cars appear to be in mint condition. A reasonable person would expect some cosmetic sign in the exterior of the car to reflect such a significant degree of deterioration if it was "normal or expected" wear and tear. It was not normal and there are no warning signs of the impending danger. I take excellent car of my vehicles and have always garaged them. I am shocked and concerned that this is and has been an ongoing issue yet still no one is being warned of the potential danger or advised to have the frame inspected. I urge you to consider our complaints and issue a recall. The lucky ones have a useless Passport or rodeo with a frame rusted beyond recognition and no resale value. The others may not be so lucky. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #34

Sep 052010

Passport

  • 124,700 miles
While driving my 2001 Honda Passport on Sept 5, 2010 vehicle became unresponsive to my steering veering to left of center. I was driving 55mph and thought I had a flat tire so I stopped got out of vehicle and inspected tires. I had no flats. I then thought that maybe I had belts in the tire separate so I continued on my route to destination at lower speeds of 25-35mph. Same thing vehicle was pulling to left and when I made right turn and slowed down to get off road I heard some noise like something rubbing against right rear passenger wheel. I got out of vehicle and noticed the stabilizer bar was detached due to corrosion. I was a few miles from home and drove with my blinkers on and on the right hand shoulder of road at 5-10mph. After researching on internet, I see there are several people with same problem and thought I should report it. The vehicle is a 2001 Honda Passport with approximately 125,000 miles. Body is in great shape but when looking underneath at frame it is severely rusted.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #33

Sep 022010

Passport

  • 74,000 miles
2001 Honda Passport - rusted frame. I detected enormous amounts of rust to the frame of my vehicle when I was going to install a reese trailer hitch. Several holes were present in the frame, completely rusted through. More holes can easily be pushed through with my finger. This seems to me to be a potentially dangerous condition that could cause catastrophic failure of the frame and subsequently loss of control of the vehicle. Incidentally, I could not install the hitch due to the amount of rust in the frame.

- Madison, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?