Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,790 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Pilot electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jan 022013

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


When turning on the driver's side seat warmer it got extremely hot. Recently it actually burned the seat foam and began to smoke. I will not use it anymore for fear of a fire. Thank you for looking into this issue.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #16

Nov 012012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Driver seat heater gets extremely hot to the point that burns are possible. Afraid that a fire may occur so stopped using. There appears to be a widespread occurrence when searching the internet. No recall by Honda.

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #15

Feb 152012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that while stopped in a parking space, the key was removed from the ignition and the contact noticed that she had not shifted the gear in park. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the brake switch would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000. Updated 12/28/12 the consumer stated the brake light switch was replaced previously. Updated 01/09/13

- Semmes, AL, USA

problem #14

Nov 202012


  • 106,000 miles


Drivers side back powered window does not work. It went down automatically and does not go up while driving automatically. Almost caused a car crash.

- Voorhees, NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 122011


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that the key came out of the ignition while the vehicle was in drive. The contact was in a rush and turned the vehicle off, but the vehicle was in drive. As a result of the failure, the vehicle rolled back into another vehicle. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the ignition was replaced. The dealer stated there was one cylinder ignition and it was not under warranty. The contact stated this was the second time failure occurred. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 84,000 and the current mileage was 96,000.

- Maywood, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jul 192012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 111,297 miles
Apparently I did not place the car in park but was able to take the keys out of the ignition. Left the car and when I came back to the car, the car had rolled backward and crashed into bushes which stopped the car. This has happened to me twice. I now make sure I engage the parking brake to make sure the car does not roll.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #11

Feb 082011


  • 140,000 miles


Key could be removed without vehicle being in park. No damage occurred, but car did roll at times. Vehicle was repaired by dealer at a cost of $446.03, (10/05/11, 163538 miles). Dates and mileage of first occurrence are approximate.

- Collinsville, IL, USA

problem #10

Apr 202012


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated that the key was able to be removed from the ignition without the vehicle being placed in the park position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnose that the ignition needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 130,000.

- Lake Stevensons, WA, USA

problem #9

Nov 022011

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Drivers heated seat caught the seat on fire.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #8

Jul 052011

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 100,867 miles
On my 2004 Honda Pilot, the SRS (airbag) warning indicator light on the dashboard mysteriously remains on even though there have been no other changes to the vehicle. The Honda dealer wants $80 just to look at it! this is outrageous; it's clearly a failed component that should be covered under the safety portion of the vehicle's warrantee for the lifetime of the vehicle. There are many other Honda owners who have experienced this warning light and they report it is nearly always a failed passenger seat sensor that Honda is replacing under a tsb; however my local dealer claims to know nothing of the tsb and want me to pay for this.

- Benton City, WA, USA

problem #7

May 112011


  • 97,400 miles


Defective shift interlock allowed the ignition key to be removed while vehicle was parked and left in gear. The unoccupied vehicle rolled approximately twenty feet, coming to rest after contacting a parked vehicle (vehicle #2). Owner of vehicle #2 was loading bags into her trunk and was warned by a bystander to get out of the way- which prevented her from being hit by the rolling vehicle. No injuries were reported, and damage to the vehicles was negligible. Police were called and they responded. Information was exchanged between the vehicle operators. It should be noted that this defect was the subject of a recall for other Honda vehicles (Accord, civic, others) in late 2010.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #6

Dec 192010

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 63,500 miles
Overheating of drivers side seat heating elements, followed by failure of units.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #5

Nov 062010


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Pilot. The contact stated while the engine was turned off and the gear selector was in the drive position, the ignition key released from the ignition switch unexpectedly when engaged. Suddenly, the vehicle rolled and crashed into an unoccupied parked vehicle. There were no injuries. The vehicle was able to be driven from the scene. No police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed that the failure was related to a defect within the ignition switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated there was a similar defect on a recall pertaining to the 2002 and 2003 model years under recall 10V364000 (electrical system:ignition). The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Wilmette, IL, USA

problem #4

Apr 012010


  • 120,000 miles
I have a 2004 Honda Pilot and I am having the same problem that a lot of the Honda cars are getting recalled for but my vehicle is not listed. You can remove the key while the gear selector is not in park. My wife rolled forward and hit a safety pole. She is always afraid of doing it again with our kids in the car. I called Honda about the repair and they said it was not a recall. I don't understand how some Honda cars can get recalled but mine will not. I called Honda and asked about the cost of the repair and they told me it was going to be expensive.

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #3

Mar 182010


  • 58,000 miles
Dear sir/madam, my 2004 Honda Pilot has 58K miles on it. I scheduled a 60K major maintenance on 3/19/2010. But on 3/18/2010 on my way back home, the check engine light was on, the car got vibration and smoke. I sent my car to the dealer immediately at about 7:00 pm on 3/18/2010. On 3/19/2010, the dealer called me and said the no. 5 spark plug came out and burned out the coil, it's a very unusual situation. I went to the dealer to check the damages: The spark plug only has the metal portion left, the coil burned out and only 1/3 or 1/2 left, the cylinder head got some damage too and some metal chips remained in the cylinder head and cylinder. I did the oil changes and maintenance at dealership regularly and drove the car gently. I don't think this incident is related to my driving style. It has to be quality issue on either the coil or the spark plug. But I am not a mechanics and don't know if this happened to other cars. Although the car is out of warranty (3 years/36K miles), I really think it's a serious quality issue. Honda needs to take care of this issue. I am unlucky, this happened to me, I am lucky, it happened to me not on highway. Hope the authority can do some investigation and urge Honda to resolve this issue. Thanks.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #2

Apr 202004

(reported on)


  • miles
Consumer experienced hard starting and other mechanical problems. The dealer indicated that this was normal and made no repairs to the vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Oct 162004

Pilot 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 543 miles
Honda Pilot engine light keeps coming on. Since purchase date of 10-12-04 it has been in the Honda service dept 3 times. Engine light keeps coming on and cylinders are misfiring causing the Pilot to lose power while driving. After stopping and turning off the engine for awhile it will start up again and usually the engine light will not come on again. This has happened 3 times since it was in the Honda service dept.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?